POTTER'S COTTAGE IN LOVELY MARGAREE VALLEY

Stewart

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Manager

Stewart

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Trust & Security with HomeAway.com.au
Free protection of up to $1,000 for all bookings. Learn more
Protect yourself and never pay by cash or instant money transfers such as Western Union and MoneyGram.

POTTER'S COTTAGE IN LOVELY MARGAREE VALLEY

Photos and Description of this Margarees holiday cottage

3 Bedrooms, 1 bathroom, 6 people

This country cottage is located in the heart of Cape Breton's Margaree Valley, known for its lush beauty, its proximity to the Cabot Trail and the top-knotch salmon fishing in the Margaree River. Located beside the Nile brook, this is the childhood home of renowned potter Bell Fraser, who has an established gallery in a barn on this property, but lives nearby on the coast in Chimney Corner.

The grounds are lovely and the trees put on a colourful show in fall. This home was built in the 1950’s, but has seen many improvements over the years; there's a renovated bathroom, hardwood floors, a fully equipped kitchen (with tile backsplashes executed by the potter). There are also a deck for BBQ’s, a living room, dining room, and a screened porch, which is perfect on a summer night.

There’s salmon and trout fishing, and excellent craft galleries nearby. We offer satellite TV, Wi-Fi and more, so you can unwind after a day on the Trail, the beach or any other day trips.

Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • long term rentals available
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome

Stewart

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2008
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Bell's father built this cottage in the 1950's for his growing family. Bell eventually took the property after her mother and father passed away. By that time, we had already built a house in Chimney Corner, on the coast. We still use the barn on the property during the summers to operate a gallery for our work, Cape Breton Clay, but the barn is far enough from the house to still afford complete privacy.

Stewart purchased this cottage in 1955

This cottage is only two minutes from the Cabot Trail, and in one of the most beautiful, pastoral spots on Cape Beton. There are big lawns, lots of flower beds, trees, and a babbling brook which runs beside the property. The cottage is set back quite far from the road, and there is a generous driveway. You will also be close to a number of excellent eateries- good for brunches or excellent dinners. You're also a stone's throw from one of Canada's finest heritage rivers, the Margaree River, renowned world-wide for its salmon and trout fishing.

In addition to all of the features above, the Potter's cottage is only a couple of minutes from the Dancing Goat bistro, which has gained a reputation Island-wide as the 'go-to' eatery, serving fresh, delicious breakfasts and lunches, along with all kinds of coffees, pastries and other fresh-baked goods. There is also a good general store closeby, which stocks everything you will need, and has its own butchery.

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Trust & Security with HomeAway.com.au
Free protection of up to $1,000 for all bookings. Learn more
Protect yourself and never pay by cash or instant money transfers such as Western Union and MoneyGram.

Reviews

4.7
based on 18 traveller reviews

Write a Review
Potter's Cottage in Lovely Margaree Valley
average rating of 4.7222223 based on 18 reviews
business
Potter's Cottage in Lovely Margaree Valley
http://www.homeaway.com.au/holiday-rental/p236071
902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
5

HOME AWAY FROM HOME

  • 5 out of 5
We love staying at Potter's Cottage. It has become our annual trip and after a long drive it is such a wonderful feeling to pull up to the cottage knowing it is ready for our stay. It is always clean and organized and has everything we would need as we have a young family. We love the cottage feel of the place and enjoy the proximity to many attractions such as the beaches, the town of Baddeck, the music at the Barn, and The Gaelic College. Stewart and Bell are wonderful hosts and are always responsive to any of our questions. We think of it as visiting paradise. We can’t wait to return!
  • Review Submitted: 10/10/2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway, from HomeAway
business
Potter's Cottage in Lovely Margaree Valley
http://www.homeaway.com.au/holiday-rental/p236071
902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
5

A WONDERFUL WEEK IN A BEAUTIFUL HOUSE

  • 5 out of 5
We came from the rough east coast of Cape Breton and arrived in Margaree Valley seaking for a similar pleasent home that we had just left. Potter`s Cottage was the perfect place to be for our little family: a beautiful house with very much space to be, a perfect kitchen and a dining room very similar to a winter garden. After a day it was just like coming home for us.
Margaree Valley is not too far away from the sandy beaches of the west coast of Cape Breton and the nice little villages like Inverness and Cheticamp.
In case of another holiday in that canadian region Potters Cottage would be again our favorite "home away".
  • Review Submitted: 01/09/2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great to meet you Irmela! I am glad you had the chance to see the west side of the island; although we're biased perhaps, we think there's more to see and do here, and the water is definitely warmer! Glad too you liked the veranda/ sunroom- it's a great place to unwind. Hope you can visit again someday!
business
Potter's Cottage in Lovely Margaree Valley
http://www.homeaway.com.au/holiday-rental/p236071
902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
5

GREAT STAY

  • 5 out of 5
We had another amazing stay this year at Potters Cottage...my family has created a ritual of coming to stay for two plus weeks each summer. My two daughters look forward to exploring the cottage each time we return. They remember the little details such as a lizard on the tiles of the sunroom and artistry of Bell's roosters in the kitchen from Cape Breton Clay. We feel it is our home away from home. Both Stewart and Bell ensure that our needs are met by answering any questions we may have. After a day of exploring Maragree, Baddeck or Cheticamp we are happy to return to the cottage as home base. It is so nice to be able to cook and relax when needed and with every amenity I would want in a cottage particularly with having younger children. My kids refer to it as their "cozy cottage"...I think that captures the feeling well. Looking forward to coming back next summer!
  • Review Submitted: 23/07/2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were happy to have you back this year and it’s great your kids feel so at home at the Potter’s cottage! We strive to make the cottage as comfortable as possible. This year, we added a leather couch, new chairs, and new living room windows which improve ventilation and give better views out. The weather was fabulous and we’re glad the kids discovered riding horses this year in Cheticamp-perhaps this is the beginning of a hobby for them!
business
Potter's Cottage in Lovely Margaree Valley
http://www.homeaway.com.au/holiday-rental/p236071
902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
5

POTTER'S COTTAGE IN LOVELY MARGAREE VALLEY

Potter's Cottage in Lovely Margaree Valley
  • 5 out of 5
I brought my mom and two little girls aged 5 and 3 to stay at Potter's Cottage. Our stay was exactly what I had imagined and hoped for. The cottage was cozy and met our needs. We love Bell's beautiful art work in the kitchen and my girls had magical play time in the sun room. I felt that I was able to give them a small taste of my childhood staying at my grandparents cottage in Bobcaygeon, Ontario. It was so nice to connect with Sharon who oversaw the pottery store beside the cottage check in with us. She was always helpful if we had abby questions. My youngest daughter asks when she can go back to her special cottage and one night before going to sleep cried because she missed it so much. Baddeck was a pleasantly close as well as beautiful beaches. I loved the quaint setting and can't wait to come back this summer. My heart is in Maragree! Thank you Stewart and Bell for your hospitality. We plan to come back every year!!!
  • Review Submitted: 21/02/2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your generosity Keira- we enjoyed having your family visit and we’re happy your daughter could connect with the cottage and make these kind of memories. Last year we made some strategic improvements and this spring there will be more, which will enhance your stay further. We are always trying to improve the cottage and the experience people can have while they stay in Margaree, and we hope that you will continue to feel at home here!
business
Potter's Cottage in Lovely Margaree Valley
http://www.homeaway.com.au/holiday-rental/p236071
902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
5

BEAUTIFUL MARGAREE

  • 5 out of 5
We enjoyed our stay at the Potter's Cottage very much! It is a lovely house with lots of space, including a great kitchen, sun porch and comfortable bedrooms. It is spotlessly clean and well maintained and decorated with really beautiful artwork.

The location of the cottage is great as a starting point for exploring the attractions in Margaree and surrounding areas. Just follow the suggestions outlined in Stewart's excellent information packet!

It was a pleasure to stay at the Potter's Cottage. Stewart and Bell are wonderful hosts!
  • Review Submitted: 14/09/2011
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Potter's Cottage in Lovely Margaree Valley
http://www.homeaway.com.au/holiday-rental/p236071
902 235-2467
Margarees Cape Breton Island
PA, USA
1

LOOKS LIKE A DESERTED PLACE NEEDING TOTAL REVAMP

  • 1 out of 5
When we first pulled in, we couldn't believe this was the cute property we saw on the VRBO site. Not seeing a house number and seeing all the overgrown weeds on the front and rear patios and around the house, the dirty picture window etc (did not look like it had been lived in for a long time) made us drive away thinking we must be mistaken. Then we noticed the house number on another house and remembered that there was a barn and a pottery business, we assumed this must be the house and drove back.

While portions of the inside looked nice (living room, kitchen area), the house was not left clean or well maintained (e.g., could not see out of the front window, something sticky on the floor by the couch, broken screens on sunroom door, broken window in laundry room with a piece of wood nailed over it). The view out of the kitchen was one of the broken window and what looked like the old top from a pick-up truck(??) or something similar laying in the yard. The sunroom with the screen torn on the door had filthy windows and the furniture was very old, that we didn't dare sit on it. The small deck off the sunroom was unusable with a tree growing up through the deck.

Upstairs we were very disappointed by the comfort of the beds, the state of the floors with broken tiles, and a mirror leaning against the wall (very unsafe). The website said there were 4 bedrooms, however the 4th bedroom could not be used (no bed or any other furniture). All it had were the skeleton of an old bed. In the bedroom where the mirror was against the wall, the pillow had a stain on it, so we didn't even use that bed.

Of the various properties we have rented on VRBO and other sites, we have never stayed in conditions like this anywhere. The pictures on the website presented this place as a cozy, beautiful place. We were very disappointed to think we had to stay here for 5 nights. We actually considered going elsewhere the first night. But, it was too late. However, we managed to find a place for the 5th night and left early, taking our loss. This property is a run down place with minimal upgrades. The owner really have misrepresented the property on the website.

It took the owner over 3 weeks since we checked out to refund us our security deposit.
  • Review Submitted: 09/09/2011
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Most of these comments are inaccurate, and convey a very distorted picture of our Margaree property. The cottage is cleaned and equipped thoroughly after each visit, and reviews from other guests attest to this (notice all of the other reviews are five-star and are submitted from guests, and not “owner-submitted” reviews). Our lawns are well kept and described as “immaculate.” Other relevant comments: “During our home time, we were very comfortable and fully enjoyed all the creative touches and luxuries the home delivered;” another review from the same period this summer says “It is spotlessly clean and well maintained and decorated with really beautiful artwork.” Or another review: “Everything was clean and up to date. The grounds were immaculate and offered a pleasant venue for relaxation.” We have a pottery gallery on the premises, and there is someone staffing the gallery full-time, seven days per week, who attends to the grounds and cottage. There was a short time this summer where we needed to repair the riding lawnmower, but this was a momentary lapse, and we had a person lined up to do the lawns should the repair take too long. Most of the beds and/or mattresses in the cottage are new, and although the extra room with the mentioned “skeleton bed” was not locked, it was not available to guests this season, because the bed is being replaced and the room is being upgraded. (No one arrived or booked expecting or needing to be able to use this last room/bed, and our listing, which initially mentioned a 4th, bedroom, was corrected during the season). The floor upstairs is original linoleum, but there are no “broken tiles.” The “unusable deck” is a small deck which was built around a tree deliberately, (not a tree growing up, or through), and is usable should someone like. Although there is older, original furniture in the cottage, this is part of the cottage’s charm, and it is clean and perfectly usable, as is the furniture on the screened porch. In terms of the deposit, we were on vacation for the first two-and-a-half weeks of August, and the deposit was returned a week late as a result, but this was an aberration. (In the lease we usually allow for two weeks, but generally return it within a week. We decided in August to discontinue charging damage deposits.) We think we offer a nice, traditional house in a great location at a reasonable price.
Email Manager Email

Map

Car: necessary

You’re close to most of the things you might like to see on Cape Breton. The Cabot Trail is two minutes away, and the ocean twenty minutes; there are four spectacular beaches which await you there. Cape Breton Highlands National Park is forty minutes away. You can also use our Potter’s House as base for striking out to other parts of Cape Breton, like the golf courses in Baddeck and Cheticamp, The Cabot Trail, the historic Fortress of Louisbourg, or the excellent hiking trail networks in Margaree and Mabou.

You’re also next to the Normaway Inn, which offers excellent food in its lovely dining room, and features local musical talent most nights of the week, in addition to concerts and dances at “The Barn” a renowned attraction for local residents and visitors alike. There’s another excellent restaurant nearby at Big Intervale Fishing Lodge, and the Dancing Goat Bakery & Cafe for excellent fresh pastries, sandwiches and soups.

Other Activities: Local paved airstrip closeby.

Email Manager Email

Photos

Email Manager Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Rental Rates for this holiday cottage in Margarees, Nova Scotia

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2014
13 Jun 2014 - 2 Sep 2014
3 night minimum stay
From
C$165
Fri,Sat,Sun
C$1,070
 
 
Early fall 2014
3 Sep 2014 - 2 Oct 2014
3 night minimum stay
From
C$150
Fri,Sat,Sun
C$970
 
 
Celtic Colours
3 Oct 2014 - 23 Oct 2014
3 night minimum stay
From
C$165
Fri,Sat,Sun
C$1,070
 
 
Late Fall 2014
24 Oct 2014 - 31 Dec 2014
3 night minimum stay
C$970
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 15.0%
Notes 50% due on booking; Balance 50% due 60 days before arrival date.
Full refund less $100 for cancellation up to 12 weeks prior to arrival dates in june-july. 120-day notice required for May and August-October dates.
MINIMUM 3-NIGHT STAY
Spring 2014: May 1-June 12 $970;
Summer 2014: June 13-Sept 2 $1070;
Early Fall 2014: Sept 3-Oct 2- $970
Celtic Colours 2014: Oct. 3-Oct 23 $1070
Email Manager Email

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage rental in Margarees, Nova Scotia

Property Type:
  • cottage
Forms of Payment:
  • accepts credit card
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • River
  • Mountain View
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Telephone
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Hair Dryer
  • Paper Towels
  • soap
  • Toilet Paper
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
  • Good-sized, newly renovated 3 pc. bathroom on main floor, with new fixtures.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed , 1 sofa bed/futon , ensuite bathrm.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double bed , 1 single bed
  • Spacious veranda on main floor. I bedroom on the first floor, next to bathroom and living room; two bedrooms on the second floor.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Books
  • books - fiction/non-fiction
Outside:
  • Veranda / Loggia
  • wooden decking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • long term rentals available
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • forests
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • live theatre
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • whale watching
  • paddle boating
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • antique hunting
  • walking
  • horse riding
  • sight seeing
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling/diving
  • basketball court
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • snorkelling
  • water tubing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting small game
  • diving
  • golf
  • hunting
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
'Ultra' high-speed (5 mb/s) wireless broadband. Ipod player available. Satellite TV features movie and sports channels.
Email Manager Email