Not as it appears
arrived at the villa 12th sept 2011, first impression was that it was lovely, as the days went by things started to look less impressive, the standard of the villa is certainly not as pristine as it appears on the website, and is certainly not up the the advertised statement of "luxury villa", the decor is rather grubby and in need of a freshen up, various tiles missing from the swimming pool, one of the coping stone bollards on the pool patio area is dangerously loose, the washing machine was leaking, 3 attempts at repairing it, but when we left 22nd sept, it was still leaking. the microwave was filthy, the chopping boards we had to wash before we used them. as was the coffee machine, there was still the old filter in the top, god only knows how long it had been there, as it was covered in mould. The patio area was not clean, the shower in the first bedroom smelled of urine, and we had to bleach it ourselves. the sofa is so worn and uncomfortable, the beds in the 2nd room with the patio, are basic camp beds, and the mattresses were stained, and one of them was like sleeping on a bed of rocks.
The tv is an old fashioned grundig tv, they advertised satellite channels, mtv etc, there are NO english channels except bbc world news.
we invited the owner to the villa to show him, he never came, so i took pictures of the general dirty conditions, he was dismissive, and told me they were minor complaints and unfounded.!!
I admit that I made a mistake of emailing him after only 2 days to say the villa was great, next time I will wait until the end of a holiday to make final comments.
The area of Coveta Fuma however is wonderful, although very hilly, the locals are really nice, as were the neighbours and the people we met at the local restaurants in the square made up for the disappointment of the villa standards.
I would certainly NOT rent with this company again, a pity, because if they just put the effort into the upkeep of the place, it has the potential to be beautiful.
Owner's Response: Me, as the manager of this property, like to give my reaction;
I received a email from this client 2 days after arrivalsaying: "The VILLA and the Coveta Fuma is beautiful we will most definately return for an other vacation"
I understand that the first 48 hours you were completely satisfied and there were no complains..
And all at once you sent me an email with a lot of complains..... a little strange, don´t you think so too?
Nearly all of them are not correct.
The beds are all in good condition and no camping beds as you say.
The 2 leather sofas are from the known French brand Roche Bobois and are very comfortable.
The house has a satelite receiver with all free satelite channels, also English channels.
There are some tiles missing, correct. But because there is no risk to hurt one self it will be repaired after the summer period because the pool has to be emptied completely.
Unfortunately the washing machine was leaking and you couldn´t use it. Therefor I didn´t charge you for the dirty laundry.
The washing machine has been repaired now.
You are the first person who is complaining about this wonderful property.
It has been refurbished completely 2 years ago and has very nice furniture.
Helpful votes: 8/13
Did you find this review helpful?