check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Betty

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks english

Bungalow, suites or home on East Side of Saratoga Lake, Navy PKG MainHouseFall

18 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this Saratoga Springs holiday bungalow

Bungalow, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), New Bath shower, (Sleeps 5)

Lake view with beautiful sunsets. Level, 150 ' walk to one of the few sand beaches and dock on the lake. Dock with umbrella at end of pier and on deck on beach. Sunroom with deck that has anew retractable awing (but not to be let out during windy days), 3 sliders, and ceiling fan; newer kitchen with Stainless steel major appliances, self cleaning convection oven, excellent SS toaster with convection oven; pergo type floors floors and completely renovated interior. Aqua science treated water. Bath with Corian sink, NEW ceramic tile floor, new shower & fixtures. Slides and mountain climb for children. All relatively level property but not wheel chair accessible with two risers involved. Wooded to the rear. Private, professionally decorated, with generous tile shower. Swimming, boating, and fishing. Cool, lake effect, upstate NY nights. AC for heat waves and as needed. Summer house with main house availability for special occasions. Great area for golf. Historic thoroughbred race track. East side of Lake just above Snake Hill....10 minutes to one of the the most famous and best thoroughbred tracks in the country (family friendly). Much history with the turning point of the American Revolution nearby and historical sights and events. Philiadelphia Philharmonic and New York City Ballet visit during the summer. Numerous other headlining concerts and performances at the Outdoor Saratoga Performing Arts Center. Lake George Opera Chamber Music. Various dance camp opportunities. Numerous art shows. Many public music events. Great scienic downtown (Old Victorian) with a great open park in center of town. Good jazz and restaurants abound. Skidmore and Empire State College with related events. A great jazz festival and a really good country music festival. Many good golf courses and we are at the lake too. We are not in a group camp; only 2 houses on property. One is our private home which rents suites only occasionally.Should you want tickets for concerts at SPAC, we often can get a few as members. The earlier requested the better chance at popular events, preferably as event is announced or soon after. Very close parking might be also be available. We can update availability per event after inquiring.

Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Betty (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks english

About Betty

Decorator....From Indiana and Westchester County.

Betty purchased this bungalow in 1995

Why Betty chose Capital Saratoga

For the wide variety of activities in area and for the lake activities . Quiet and picturesque. WiFi Internet when you sign in the password and the peaceful setting with trees and flowers. Should you want tickets for concerts at SPAC, we often can get them as members. The earlier requested the better chance at popular events, preferably as event is announced or soon after. Very close parking might be also be available. We can update availability per event after inquiring

What makes this bungalow unique

Peaceful and green with shade or sun, swing, and flowers at cottage and beach! Great sunsets. Maybe you will get more lucky and be put in the main house.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Per Gath and Frank as they wrote in our guest book! "AS USUAL YOU ORDRED GREAT WEATHER FOR US. WE HAD ANOTHER FANTATIC TIME. THIS WAS OUR 5TH SEASON AT YOUR COTTAGE. WE HOPE WE WILL BE BACK NEXT YEAR. OUR DAUGHTER & GRANDDAUGHTERS HAD A GREAT TIME. THANK YOU EVER SO MUCH. HAVE A GREAT WINTER AND WE HOPE TO SEE YOU NEXT SEASON."
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 6

Reviews

3.9
based on 18 traveller reviews

Bungalow, suites or home on East Side of Saratoga Lake, Navy PKG MainHouseFall
average rating of 3.8888888 based on 24 reviews
Fort Mill, Sc
5

My favorite place

  • 5 of 5

The Saratoga area of NY is my favorite place to be and had a great time. This cottage was exactly as described. The cottage set far enough back from the main house to be considered private. The owners worked hard to keep things maintained and clean, even after the area had unexpected rain showers that added 8" to the lake. The lake was beautiful. The Blumes were always working on something...just shows that they care about their property, I enjoyed meeting Betty and Bill and know that next time I travel to the area, I will be plan on staying there.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 21, 2008
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 6
5

Perfectly charming again!

  • 5 of 5

Loved it being as charming as I remembered from 2014. The grounds are lovely with lots of blooming flowers and bushes. They have added a canopy for use of the deck in showers and a new large shower stall with an adjustable shower height. They have man really nice things to use and if you need something special just ask they likely will have it to lend. We hope this bungalow is available our next trip!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed having them too." We love it when guests are happy!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Mr & Mrs R.

  • 1 of 5

Filthy & dirty. Combination pad lock & chain to lock the door. Smelled moldy. Mold in shower curtain. Cleaned for 3 days just to be livable. Dirty dishes in cupboard. Dust & cobwebs everywhere. Mouse traps full on mouse droppings spilled out onto the floor. Vacuum cleaner bag full to beyond capacity had to be emptied by hand because no replacement bag available. So much sand under the carpet I thought I was at the beach. Grass a foot tall before they mowed it. Yard looked like a junk yard. Terrible!! Terrible!! Terrible!!! Can not reccomend this place to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Only truths here could be she cleaned, unnecessarily as she told me "its the way I am, I need to clean everything when I arrive" & we do have a pad lock on the door. This unit was totally cleaned prior to their arrival. None of these complaints were made upon their arrival. The only complaint they made during their stay from May 7-June 15th was that the grass needed mowing which was due to the rain and our gardener couldn't get in to mow as scheduled. It was not "a foot high". We did not have nor had mouse traps. We have professionally installed bait boxes around the property to prevent rodents from the woods from entering and one concealed under bath cabinet, designed for safety so pets or children cannot access them. These boxes were just serviced. It is unlikely any droppings were present as I have used these for sometime and have never seen droppings. The only items on the property, that she referred to as "junk" were boxes were from moving and in front of our personal garage opposite side of the property and out of view from their bungalow & some trash that had been placed in trash containers for collection. We did have packing boxes that had been flattened, discarded and that were set out to be recycled & collected. Feed back received from the tenant had been positive to us. Our gardens/grounds were repeatedly admired by them. Their son took several starts and plants for their new home nearby. This review is inconsistent with feedback given us during visit. They needed to leave a couple days early. We are a weekly rental & booked them May 7 through June 18th at a special discounted rate. They requested a refund for those few days. Refund was denied as we rent by the week and had turned down other rentals during the booked reservation. I have to believe their outrageous review of property is a result of being denied a small partial refund. Although they claim to be fastidious, my impeccable glass top stove was left so dirty I had to clean it with a safety razor & clean dirt and blood spots left behind on furnishings. They once lived on this lake, have lots family nearby & should be familiar with upstate weather/lake living. I was told that friends/family had checked out the bungalow prior to booking. If it was trashy, they never would have booked it nor have stayed without complaining that is was unsatisfactory. Please warn other property owners to be hesitant about renting to them.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Convenient- Private- Clean - camping Experience!

  • 5 of 5

My 97 years old Mother and I stayed in this delightful , private Bungalow for two beautiful weeks in Sept 2015. The owners, Bill and Betty were so congenial during our stay! Bill was informative about the area, activities, and local restaurants. Betty was so cordial and provided all our needs to be sure we were comfortable.

We live in Fl but originally from this area so we had family and friends visit helping my Mother celebrate her birthday ! Bill and Betty were so helpful and welcoming to all!

We enjoyed relaxing on the dock, swimming, kayaking, and boat ride! Everything is provided for making a fire by the lake. We enjoyed doing s'mores and storytelling!

If you are looking for a clean camping experience we recommend , Sunset Cottage!"!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 22, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
NY, 11731
4

Beautiful Lake Spot

  • 4 of 5

The cottage discription was accurate, The cottage is on the same property as the owners house so if you are seeking privacy, this rental is probably not for you. That being said, Betty and Ed,( owners) were very warm, friendly people. They offered many tips on area activities. Their two dogs came by for daily visits which was most welcome. The dock and chairs were perfect for the morning coffee and newspaper. Sunsets were outstanding. The race track and downtown were a quick drive away. Had a really nice week.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 1, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Relative to most properties around the lake, this property is quite private even if not secluded. The bichons do like to say hello to dog friendly people. The bungalow has no houses or cottages to its sides or back....trees mostly and it is normally pretty quiet. It is not readily seen by people passing. Our home is about 60 ft away with occupied rooms facing away from the bungalow. The lake frontage, dock and deck is not secluded as there are other docks about every 75-100 feet. I am happy you had a nice week. Hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great location, kind owners, very pet friendly!

  • 4 of 5

Saratoga Lake and area is beautiful. Wonderful and relaxing vacation. Betty and Bill are very kind and accommodating. Listing was accurate and Betty was upfront about conditions of lake water in August with lots of seaweed. Without the seaweed swimming would be enjoyable so I would look to visit a little earlier in the summer to avoid it. Great place to bring a dog! They are very accepting of your pet and treat you like a responsible pet owner. If you have children location is close to Queensbury with all attractions, 15 min drive once you are off the lake road. Convenient location to downtown Saratoga and shopping area to get your necessities. Our only complaint is to get full screens to help eliminate the multiple spiders and other insects that seem to make their way in thru the tiny gaps. Overall lovely cottage, location and owners.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The partial screens get placed in the groves on the side and directly under the rubber under the window pane so things don't come in. It must have been prime spider time and they love the lake area. We had them in our year around home and boats for a short period too. I didn't find webs most of the summer inside either house when cleaning, they love the outdoor house and boat corners though. It is a lake area! We do have ac for the unit. Thanks for your review. Hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Albany
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
4
Nearest Train
8 Miles
station in town to NYC
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
I-87
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
many...Panza's (1.5 miles) none walking
Nearest Beach
150 Kilometres
150ft, sand and dock with deck not steep area
Car: necessary

Should you want tickets for concerts at SPAC, we often can get them as members. The earlier requested the better chance at popular events, preferably as event is announced or soon after. Very close parking in 2016 is available. We can update by event availability per event after inquiring. 10 minutes to Saratoga Springs activities: downtown, tracks, S.P.A.C., spas and museums.

We are near Jibb Drive in the bay North of Snake Hill, as some maps display wrong location (North of Snake Hill) near the currently incorrect Point Breeze Marina which is not near us. l. East Side of Lake

Other Activities: Most Historic Thoroughbred Track (family friendly), Trotters Track & Racino, Turning Point of American Revolution, Yaddo, Saratoga Performing Arts Center, Dance Museum, childrens museum, Congress Park with antique carsoule, a Victorian College Town, Excellent restaurants, coffee and ice cream shops. Lots of Activities...A major water park 30 ish minutes North and a lovely pool in town at the state park if you need more than a lake.

Golf: Saratoga National, Saratoga Spa, Saratoga Lake Golf, Saratoga Golf and Polo Club and lots of miniature golf

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday bungalow on Saratoga Springs, New York

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Off season
6 Sep 2016 - 29 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
A$1,410
 
 
Peak
1 Jul 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
A$2,148
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
A$1,410
A$5,370
 

Additional information about rental rates

$1050 off-Season, 1600 wek in Season
Sept (after Labor Day) through June $1050/wk unless involves 4th July weekend.

July & Aug 1600wk

$650/weekend (excluding July & August and special events)

Rentals Saturday-Saturday
Deposits are non-refundable and rental non-cancelable unless re-rented
Ask re main house which has occasional availability in year-round suites
Prices subject to change

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
This calendar is not current. Please contact the owner or property manager for availability information.

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday bungalow rental in Saratoga Springs, New York

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • City Centre ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Computer Available ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • mobile phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower enclosure , corian sink wopen cabinet wth mirror cabinet & new shower
  • Not tiny, not large, comfortable size.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom - 1 double bed
  • Spacious day room has a twin /day bed for sleeping & chair. TV & sectional with 2 love seats, and corner in cantilevered sunroom with ceiling fan a living/sun room & lots glass to view the woods and green yard, gardens and lake. Eat in or on house deck. You may ask if our main house has a suite is available!
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • deck chairs
  • Boat ...
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Tennis ...
  • Terrace
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wooden decking
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Lake frontage. Swimming, dock with deck on end; water treatment & filtration system. Trees with swings, at bungalow and beach. Lake side chairs. Lakeside shade and sun. Attended beach fires allowed at informal pit area. Children's play platform with mountain climb and slide at beach. Enjoy much local golf, wide range of restaruants, historical sites, Saratoga Perfoming Arts Center 10 minutes plus traffic conditions that vary per concert, and the Saratoga Race Course. The National Museum of Dance, Yaddo, and Skidmore, American Revolution Activities in Stillwater are here as well. Local riding stable nearby. Numerous Fairs. Have a local masseuse to come and relax you. .