Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

Couple's getaway! Entire house, not 1 hotel room. Weekly FROM $188/nite, for 2.

Bedrooms 3
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property


COUPLE'S GETAWAY~special offer: An entire country house for the cost of one Stowe hotel room! Radically REDUCED weekly rates (non-holiday): FROM $188/nite, 2 people. LOW rates for 3-6 people, too. (see rate chart)

Hilltop Country Farmhouse, kept EXTRAclean. Dramatic views from our hilltop location 5 minutes from Stowe Village, Alpine and cross-country skiing/snowshoeing, and Stowe's famous all-seasons Recreation Path. Think fallow field, country road and covered bridge, or evergreens drenched in snow -- that's Deer Hollow!

NO PETS OR SMOKING, please. **The professional team from Picture Perfect Cleaning agrees, Deer Hollow is the most pristine house they clean! **

Please inquire by email or phone.

[NOTE: rate search may not generate accurate info--please inquire directly.]

Wi-Fi Internet access. EASILY ACCESSIBLE, EXTRA-CLEAN 3 bedroom, 2 bath, mid-19th century farmhouse on 2+ hilltop country acres...and maybe a glimpse of our neighborhood DEER that visit regularly! Furnished with antique accents and immaculately maintained. Fully equipped kitchen. Modern, warm, spacious interior has hardwood and ceramic tile floors, plus slate entry mudroom. Wood stove-fireplace + covered porch for summer dining. Perennial gardens, small apple orchard, barn. Dramatic views from our hilltop location 5 minutes from Stowe Village, Alpine and cross-country skiing, and Stowe's famous all-seasons Recreation Path. Generally less than 15 min. to Mt. Mansfield skiing. 40 min. to Lake Champlain and Burlington, VT. Proximity to Boston and Montreal. INTERIOR PHOTOS/slide show--SEE LINK BELOW.

ALLERGIES? Please Note: Pets and smoking are strictly prohibited. All efforts have been made to maintain a reduced-allergen environment.

Any season, Stowe offers excellent facilities to visitors from all over the world. From the highest peak in Vermont (Mount Mansfield) for pristine skiing to a championship 18-hole Golf Course with a view of Mount Mansfield in the distance, you'll be enchanted by Stowe...and you'll be back. DEER HOLLOW AT STOWE offers you rural vistas combined with the comforts of home, and access to all of Stowe's magic within minutes...and maybe a glimpse of the neighborhood *Deer* that visit regularly!! Experience Serendipity: Happy and unexpected discoveries made by accident... or, BY RESERVATION! Interior by ZAN KAYE.

No pets or smoking, please. (Note: JetBlue flies to Burlington, Vermont.)

COMMENT FROM VISITOR: Deer Hollow really did give us the best of everything. Close to Stowe town but also far enough away to feel isolated, a beautiful log fire on wintry nights and in general a place of calm escape. I'll never forget sitting by the fire reading Robert Frost at night, then walking out the next morning through the landscape of his poetry - perfect fields of snow, still roads overhung with branches and an incredible light on the horizon between the distant trees.

ANOTHER COMMENT: We usually try to go somewhere completely different every time for our vacations, but we both agreed we'd be tempted to come back. We've never rented a house that was so spotless or so well equipped, either. Thanks!

aND ANOTHER: Deer Hollow is spacious and very clean, a house with a personality and at the same time easy to feel at home in and we would like to thank Susan for her hospitality + we did see a DEER!

More Details

S. Hertzberg, advertiser, has been with CyberRentals / Homeaway since 1998
Member since: 1998
Speaks english, french, Francais/courriel
Response time
Within a few hours
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
23 March, 2017

About S. Hertzberg, advertiser, has been with CyberRentals / Homeaway since 1998

When I speak with anyone who inquires about DEER HOLLOW AT STOWE, I tell them about the efforts continually made to provide an extra-clean environment, and an especially comfortable vacation experience. As a recent guest from the UK reported, "Everything was as Susan described, and spanking clean." **The professional team from Picture Perfect Cleaning agrees, Deer Hollow is the most pristine house they clean! **

See many INTERIOR PHOTOS at the website slide show. I'll look forward to your visit!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Susan, We had a wonderful vacation. We enjoyed all the comforts and conveniences of your awesome vacation home and neighborhood!….Your kitchen was fabulous to cook in—as we ate all our meals in (or on the porch ;-)

We hope we can stay here again in the future. Thanks again.
Aug 2006
  • 1 of 6


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday farmhouse rental in Stowe, Vermont

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
  • Rural
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Alarm Clock
  • soap
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower enclosure
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom - 1 double bed
    Bedroom - 2 single bed
  • All bedrooms are furnished with comfortable all-cotton sheets, blankets, quilt covers, and pillow shams. No feather blankets or pillows are used. Bedroom floors are carpet-free and are finished in rustic oak (area carpets in living room and den only). Floor mats are provided for your convenience. Maximum effort has been made to maintain a reduced-allergen environment. (Smoking and pets are always prohibited).
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • games - kids
  • Radio
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Tennis ...
  • veranda
  • Yard
  • 6 garden chairs
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Wood stove in brick fireplace and sound system in living room. Den at opposite end of house with 32" LED TV, DVD player and film library. 100% cotton linens, blankets, towels, sofa/covers. Hardwood, ceramic tile, and slate flooring. Covered porch, new gas BBQ, and outdoor furniture (2 tables, many chairs). Kitchen & bedroom fans. Indoor closet for skis. Every effort has been made to maintain a reduced-allergen environment. [PETS and SMOKING are strictly prohibited]


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

Couple's getaway! Entire house, not 1 hotel room. Weekly FROM $188/nite, for 2.
average rating of 4.769231 based on 19 reviews
Brighton, UK

Summertime in Stowe

  • 5 of 5

Susan's cottage is well situated, just a few of miles out of Stowe, both for the peace of the mountains and for the high-life. Stowe proved a lively place even in the 'low' summer season. There's a vast choice of places to eat and drink there, although with such a high-spec kitchen we often ate in - and one evening even entertained friends and family. The place is wonderfully spacious. Everything was as Susan described, and spanking clean. The weather was perfect and we enjoyed breakfast and after-dinner drinks on the porch, entertained by butterflies, birds and dragonflies. Our young American nephews insisted we visit Ben and Jerry's icecream factory and the Magic Hat brewery - free samples included! And we particularly enjoyed a visit to Montpelier. We would definitely recommend 'Deer Hollow' in the summer months to other non-skiers like ourselves.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 23, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: JenandDave cheerfully discovered that Deer Hollow is the picture-perfect place to stay when visiting Stowe or the surrounding areas. In Stowe, the hills are often "alive with the sound of music" because there is almost always a festival or market happening each weekend during the summer: music, food, garden, hot-air balloons, antique cars, etc. (During the winter ski season, the roads are extremely well-maintained to accommodate visitors and locals alike.) I personally take extra-care of the house to make sure your stay is perfectly comfortable. Experience the night silence and daytime beauty of Deer Hollow at'll be quite pleased! JenandDave...come back during the fall PEEK season--I'm sure you'll love it!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lovely clean home in a quiet location near Stowe

  • 5 of 5

We stayed a week in July 2016 in this well-appointed, well-maintained and very clean home. The home is nestled in the hills northwest of Stowe, about a 10-minute drive from downtown. The location is quiet with little road traffic, and the name of the locale (Deer Hollow) is appropriate--we saw several deer in the area.

The home's owner personally gave us a tour of the property upon our arrival. The home is kept impeccably clean and tidy, and everything we used was in good order. The owner was also easy to reach while we made our arrangements to visit and when we had questions.

Some of the days we visited were very warm, in excess of 30 C/85 F, but the home stayed comfortable. The window locations allowed us to get good cross-breezes into the house.

Despite its location, the property receives decent mobile service, even for our major carrier which has a reputation of weaker service coverage than other carriers in Vermont.

We would definitely visit again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Deer Hollow at Stowe: spotless, comfortable, convenient, private…and, this WHOLE house at a fraction of the cost of a local B&B or hotel. Thank you so much for taking great care of the house and leaving it as spotless as when you arrived! I manage the property myself and want to be as helpful as possible, from initial inquiry to check-out. When guests arrive after dark, they are always impressed the next morning by Deer Hollow’s beautiful setting, no matter the season. (They also love the fabulous views on the way to and from the Village.) I'm glad A & FAMILY found Deer Hollow as promised. I make every effort to provide extra-clean accommodations and a comfortable vacation experience…THEN STOWE WORKS ITS MAGIC! Helping guests get settled and keeping the house extra-clean are really important to me--comfortable and happy guests are always best! Not only is Deer Hollow in a lovely park-like setting, but the area offers an abundance of activities and attractions--truly something for everyone. The town of Stowe dates back to the mid-1700s when settlers were attracted to the spectacular mountains and the valley they formed. Historical significance (Deer Hollow dates back to the mid-19th century) and a picturesque setting drawn visitors from around the world who are delighted to discover Stowe's unique qualities—they are often hooked and return regularly. So do the resident deer and I'm so happy you got to see them. VERY CLEAN & COMFORTABLE is absolutely my aim! I’m very happy you enjoyed your stay at Deer Hollow. Come back again to explore the surrounding area—there are so many things to see and do!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quiet Accomodations

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Susan's in the summer of 2014, with 4 adults, and 3 children (incl. a 9 monthes old one).

The house is very well situated close to Stowe town center. It is well taking care off, and absolutely immaculate. I particularly liked that the kitchen is well apppointed, which was great for us since we enjoy home cooked meals! The yard was also great to let the kids run and play and we enjoyed it very much.

On the down side, there is no railing on one side of the stair case. This is not a big issue, but famillies with small children should be aware. Lastly, we have been renting houses through Home away from home many times, and I felt that the reservation/ house takeover process could have been easier.

This being said, we had a great time and would recommend this property for others visiting Stowe.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I really appreciate that Sophie sent a review almost a year after her family's visit, and I'm glad they found Deer Hollow as promised. I make every effort to provide extra-clean accommodations and a comfortable vacation experience…then STOWE works its magic! In reference to Sophie’s note that “the reservation/ house takeover process could have been easier”: During the process of signing this rental agreement (for 5 occupants) and receiving payment, I accommodated Sophie’s requests in a number of ways. For example, when she asked if her sister could also stay at the house with her baby (total: 7 occupants), I agreed and did not charge anything extra—I even waived the extra cleaning fee, as requested. Then, Sophie sent the balance payment to a wrong address. When we figured out what the problem was, she emailed: “great we solve the mystery. Sorry, I did not pay attention to your comment on the postbox, I apologize for the inconvenience,” and, “we received the letter back today. Sorry for the inconvenience.” After so many months have passed since last summer, my file of email correspondence aided in reconstructing this sequence of events. I make every effort to speak with those who inquire about Deer Hollow in order to answer any questions, and I personally meet guests when they arrive, which Sophie also appreciated at the time. Later she wrote: "We'll make sure to contact you if we want to visit Stowe again." Re the staircase railing: The staircase to the bedrooms on the second floor has a full-length railing attached to the full wall. The opposite side of the stairs has a partially closed wall (some stairs are visible from the living room) and a post at its base—this type of staircase is required to have only one hand rail according to the house inspector, but I agree that very small children should not be allowed unsupervised on any staircase. Deer Hollow at Stowe: spotless, comfortable, convenient, private…all at a fraction of the cost of a B&B or hotel…and breakfast delivery options, too! (rated 5 STARS by Sophie and others :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

deer hollow a nice quiet place to go

  • 5 of 5

We got to deer hollow because our other rental did not work out. susan, the owner was great ! She got us into deer hollow on short notice! The property is on a very accessible road but far from any hustle and bustle....we woke up to a beautiful setting but not too far from the stowe mountain road. I would highly recommend staying at deer hollow.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kudos! I'm really glad things worked out well for you. I manage the property myself and want to be as helpful as possible, from initial inquiry to check-out. When guests arrive after dark, they are always impressed the next morning by Deer Hollow’s beautiful setting, no matter the season. (They also love the fabulous views on the way to and from the Village.) It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to Deer Hollow—hopefully you’ll come back to experience another spectacular season in Stowe. Right now, I’m heading out for a walk in the brilliant sunshine…there’s three feet of snow and it’s 12° F!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place, really cute, beautiful area

  • 5 of 5

Great little country house! Very clean and comfortable.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Deer Hollow truly is in a beautiful and peaceful setting, right down to the uncommon stand of ancient oak trees on the property. And, VERY CLEAN & COMFORTABLE is absolutely my aim! I’m very happy you enjoyed your stay at Deer Hollow. Come back again to explore the surrounding area—there are so many things to see and do!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ideal location for 3-generation family holiday

  • 4 of 5

Deer Hollow is well described in the literature and provided perfect accommodation for us grand-parents travelling from the UK to spend time with son, wife and 2 grand-children (9 and 7) who had travelled to Vermont from California. We wanted a peaceful location but one where we could go out and visit interesting places in the area.

The owner was there to meet and greet us and show us the amenities. We were reassured by this in that it showed the level of care that she has for her house which was well appointed and beautifully clean.

We enjoyed renting bikes, visiting Cold Hollow Cider Mill, Morse Maple Syrup Farm, boating/kayaking on Westbury Reservoir, visiting Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream factory. We didn't eat out much, preferring to snack while out and then have a meal together when returning to base.

The whole holiday was very special with only a couple of hiccups:

1) It was promised that the grass would be cut but it wasn't during our week's visit and this curtailed outdoor games etc. with our grand-children. Disappointing

2) Both the payment of the rental fee and re-payment of the security deposit were very costly in bank charges when paying and receiving to/from the UK and took the edge off what otherwise was a brilliant holiday. Perhaps if we could have had the facility to pay by credit card this hassle and extra cost may have been avoided or lessened.

I would recommend this property for a peaceful outdoorsy holiday for people who like countryside and fresh air (which we do).

  • Review Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: As with many UK visitors in the past, Richard and family really enjoyed their stay at Deer Hollow and its easy-access to all area activities. Located in a highly scenic and tranquil setting, Deer Hollow also invites lazing on the covered porch to read or just to watch the butterflies flit by. I would like to note that the grass did not get cut as promised during Richard’s stay because of a number of overlapping and unfortunate occurrences and some miscommunication: there had been continuous, excessive rainfall for many weeks before Richard’s arrival and the grass could not be cut; as well, our property manager had two personal problems at the time: she was hurt in an auto accident, and her lawn-care equipment had broken down. There is, however, a large open area under the ancient oak trees that shade one side of the house (see photos) where the grass never grows much at all, and that area can always be used for outdoor activities. Regardless of these things beyond my control, I apologized to Richard for any inconvenience. I would also like to note that while it is the case that there are bank charges to both me and visitors from the UK when transferring money, these vary tremendously depending on which bank is used by each visitor. Some banks’ fees are minimal. In an effort to try to minimize these costs for Richard, I accommodated all requests to explore various options. This resulted in at least 24 emails—rereading them, including those written after Richard’s return to England, they are all very positive about the family's stay at Deer Hollow and the return of the security deposit; It was clear that we had both been very cooperative. I am exploring other payment options for future guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Burlington International Airport
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Stowe Country Club
Nearest Train
14 Miles
Nearest Motorway
14 Miles
Exit 10/Route 89
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
40+ in Stowe; many others in surrounding areas
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Mt. Mansfield, Stowe
Nearest Beach
13 Miles
Waterbury Ctr St. Park (south); Elmore St. Pk (no
Car: recommended

Enjoy cross-country skiing just down the road, or hike/bicycle to Sterling Valley Gorge. Scenic drives, spectacular Fall Foliage. Downhill skiing, snowboarding, snow shoeing, dog sledding, horse-drawn sledding & horseback riding. Golf (18 hole or mini-golf), canoe, kayak. Fish, swim, sail, scuba in lakes, rivers and pools (majestic Lake Champlain). Mountain Gondola & Mount Mansfield hiking/skiing (highest peak in Vt). Public: ice-skating rink, indoor pool and gym, tennis courts. Public-access full-service health/sport club facilities and yoga classes. Boutique shopping and Stowe Farmer's Market. Varied restaurant options or home food delivery. Art museum, ski museum, theater, films. Stowe Festivals (sum/fall) = music, garden, food and wine, crafts, balloon, automobile and antiques. Stowe has it all...almost endless entertainment & dining options, plus the rural tranquility of Northern Vt. and proximity to picturesque Lake Champlain -- and Montreal, Canada's cosmopolitan showplace.

Other Activities: Canoe or kayak trips, ice skating, dog sledding, snowboarding, snowshoeing, many summer and fall festivals, horseback riding plus spectacular Fall Foliage...and Much More.

Golf: 18-Hole championship course open to the public with spectacular views of the surrounding mountains and Mt. Mansfield, the highest peak in Vermont.

Ski: Mt. Mansfield is the highest peak in Vermont and home to excellent east-coast skiing. Natural and man-made snow provide a long season for great skiing experiences. Trail-side amenities available include internet access, Gondola and mountain-top dining.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday farmhouse in Stowe, Vermont

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
NON-Holiday_SNOW! $212 to $288
5 Jan 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit A$656
check-out cleaning fee A$247
Property Damage Protection A$77
Tax Rate 10.0%

STANDARD RATE >> REDUCED to $288/night for 1-2 occupants (reg. $368/night, max. 6 occ.) [3-night min.].

Special rates for LONGER STAYS >> wEEKLY nON-HOLIDAY (if only 1-2 occupants, lowest rate usually applies_the higher rate usually applies if 3-6 occupants): $188-268/nt. [Spring, Summer, Foliage 2016-17]. $212-288/nt. [SNOW! Jan.5-Apr.30,2017]. Plus taxes and check-out cleaning fee.

ALL HOLIDAY PERIODS $568/nt. [inquire about minimum stays and special offers] NOTE: rate chart design&format may result in rate-quote errors--please inquire!

IF YOU PREFER NOT TO PAY THE STANDARD refundable DAMAGE DEPOSIT ($800), instead you can choose the combination of $500 refundable damage deposit + Property Damage Protection ($59).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total