Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Luxury Architect Designed Seafront Beach House with stunning sea views

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Space 371 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Luxury contemporary 6 bedroomed beach house with stunning sea views and

The Rocks is an idyllic and luxurious New England style beach house recently refurbished and remodelled by the award winning architect Martin Critchell. Sleeping 12 in 6 bedrooms The Rocks occupies a wonderful tranquil position on Coastal Road on the West Kingston Private Estate with direct frontage to the beach.

The house has stunning and far reaching coastal views. The transformation allows stunning sea views visible from most rooms and has a delightful, bright, fresh and light feel appropriate to the location. Features of particular note are the oak floors on the ground floor and the lovely kitchen with pale blue glass splash backs and works surfaces of fossilised limestone. This room is open to the family living area, which stretches across the breadth of the house and has a spacious contemporary feel that offers versatility in the arrangement of rooms. On the first floor the bathrooms are all beautifully fitted and the balcony runs across the width of the house. The first floor contemporary sitting room is furnished to a very high standard with Kelly Hoppen furniture and offers stunning sea views. The second floor provides bedrooms five and six of which the loft bedroom is 30 foot in length and has a separate sitting area. Outside the property is approached by an in and out driveway with parking for several cars. The south facing rear gardens are contemporary with modern deck and sunken swim spa. From the garden there is direct access to the beach. The Rocks is a perfect location for family groups wanting a relaxing beach break.


Owner
Sarah Stewart-Smith
Member since: 2012
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
14 November, 2017

Why Sarah Stewart-Smith chose East Preston

The beach

Stunning sea views

The glorious water

Refuge from city life

The sounds and the views

The laid back atmosphere

What makes this house unique

Spacious luxurious house with designer furnishings

Stunning outside areas with private garden and excellent views of the beach

Set on a quiet area of the beach

Family friendly

Stunning private hot tub

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks for your email. We had a really fantastic weekend at The Rocks - the house was amazing, the photos do not even begin to do it justice and of course we were spoilt with gorgeous sunny weather. We very much enjoyed celebrating my Dad's 81st and my 40th birthday there. We live in Kingston Upon Thames and so it was very apt that the house was called 'Kingston Rocks'! Thank you for a really great family weekend.



My sister and Dad did the check in with Diana and had no issues - they enjoyed being shown all the rooms in turn. We also found the local shop very handy and well stocked. And the Bluebird Cafe, even though it was extremely busy, was great service, value and food.
Jan 2016
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in East Preston, United Kingdom

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 371 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 40
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • We only accept family and extended family groups. No single sex groups or party groups will be accepted. No additional guests. No events or parties.
  • No animals permitted. No guest shall use, ingest, possess or distribute illegal drugs while at the House. No audible music allowed from the House.
  • All guests are expected to respect our neighbours by being quiet. No use of the outside areas or the hot tub after 10 pm. No shoes in the house.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , bath with shower , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Rocks Seaview Bedroom - 1 extra lg. double bed , Ensuite shower room with WC
    Lookout Seaview Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed , Ensuite shower room with WC
    Granny's Groundfloor Bedroom - 1 large double bed , Ensuite shower room and adjacent WC
    Loft Room Bedroom 5 - 1 large double bed , 1 sofa bed/futon , Large 30 ft room perfect for teenagers
    Bed 6 with biggest adjacent bathroom - 1 double bed , Family bathroom with shower, bath and WC
    Seaview Master Bedroom - 1 extra lg. double bed , Ensuite bathroom with bath, shower and toilet
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Deck Furniture
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Veranda / Loggia
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeping
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(26 traveller reviews)

88% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury Architect Designed Seafront Beach House with stunning sea views
average rating of 4.8846154 based on 33 reviews
5

Lovely house by the beach

  • 5 of 5

We had a family get together over a weekend and were blessed with super weather, so spent most of it outside and on the beach.

The house is smart and elegant but we also found it accommodating and roomy for a group of 9 including small children. The hot pool was fun and we loved the "pod" in the garden for the childrens' tea, and our evening drinks.

  • Review Submitted: 30/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Nina Thank you for staying at The Rocks. Your family were delightful and a real pleasure to host. So pleased you all the little children were able to enjoy all the facilities. Do come again. Best wishes Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Suberb property with direct access to the beach

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for 2 nights, Friday and Saturday nights. The house contained everything that one needed for a party of 10 people. The bedrooms were spacious and there were adequate bathrooms. The kitchen was well equipped and there was plenty of room for us all. We were lucky with the weather and we all enjoyed the use of the roomy spa tub on the decking outside. My husband was 70, and our granddaughter and myself also celebrated birthdays during the first week of October. Sarah surprised us by organising for a lovely large carrot cake to be left in the kitchen . This was a great surprise and enjoyed by us all.

Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Review Submitted: 09/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Maureen we loved having you to stay. You were perfect guests that left the house immaculately. Do hope you will come again soon. Thank you for staying.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A beautiful property with slight drawback...

  • 4 of 5

Rock House is an extremely well equipped and appointed property. The welcome cake was a lovely touch. The location has fantastic views and is just a short walk to the local amenities.

Perhaps, due to unfortunate experiences with previous guests, the owners are keen to make you aware of how they would like their property treated and left, with clear guidelines and financial consequences should you transgress.

During our week-long stay, we received text messages from the house-keeper to tell us we had left the cover off of the jacuzzi for too long, while still using it, and to return the garden furniture to it's original positions on our departure. This lead us to feel we were being monitored by the outdoor CCTV system.

We also felt uncomfortable being asked by the house-keeper to leave £120 in cash for the exit clean, although we'd previously paid this through HomeAway.

This is a beautiful property, however, the level of supervision did somewhat detract from the experience.

  • Review Submitted: 01/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jacqueline Thank you for staying. I am sorry you felt there was a slight drawback. To reassure you, there is no CCTV in the back garden, I probably shouldn't say on a public review but they are dummy cameras to deter any unwelcome visitors when the house is unoccupied. As you had left the hot tub cover off all week the housekeeper felt she was helping you. The cake is delicious as you said, I know the cleaning team always hope some is left behind. It can be difficult for them during the summer when a house is left in a poor state, I think your housekeeper felt when you left the house it needed additional cleaning which would have incurred the extra charges, that you refused to pay. It is such a shame you didn't say this when you left your private feedback saying you had a fantastic time and wanted to return.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Wow, idyllic Beach House in East Preston!

  • 5 of 5

Having seen the photos and super reviews for The Rocks Beach House, we were really excited to spend a few family days there with my in laws and family. Three generations of us ,so a lot to cater for !Especially my in-laws who were coming from Paris in their 70's ( and very critical with high expectations) it was crucial I got it right for our stay!

The Rocks simply exceeded our expectations hugely! Wow! It was like walking into Conde Nast Traveller; felt so proud to have booked!

An exquisite place, clearly designed to cater for those want to experience an amazing and exhilarating few days away next to the British Coast.

This place has been interior designed to a standard which would be comparable to a top 5 star London hotel but with much more space and tranquillity next to the sea. The living area was open plan with a superb view of the beach and a great place for us all to relax.

The rooms were so peaceful, beautiful , most with sea views and all spacious, with clean crisp bed sheets,. The bathrooms looked like no one had ever been there before and were so well equipped.

All our amenities were catered for ( we jokingly said we were staying in the RITZ - on sea!)

The hot tub was great for some of the younger ( and older!) members of the family to enjoy quality time plus the close proximity to Restaurants and places to see was excellent.

I must say there were a few requests which I called the owner Sarah about and I must say refreshingly she took a personal interest in this and catered for everything!

She was very patient!

There was nothing left unprepared for our arrival and stay (and we had a few demands!) . She was so charming and we are hoping to book again,! Thanks Sarah for making this a memorable stay.

  • Review Submitted: 03/09/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying. You were all perfect guests and treated the house so well. Do hope you will come again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent. Superb house for 12 and very well equiped with quality white goods.

  • 5 of 5

We were extremely fortunate with marvellous weather and The Rocks is ideally positioned in such weather. All the arragements and instructions were very clear and helpfull.

From a male perspective, only one very,very minor item missing and that was an electric razor socket, but with an adaptor it would not be a problem.Unfortunately I hadn't taken mine. perhaps this should be added to the advanced information pack.

  • Review Submitted: 30/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear David Thank you for staying and looking after the Rocks so well. It's funny you spotted the shavers adaptors were missing but that's too long a story to explain here, probably best just to say the Rocks "wasn't designed by a woman" ! You must however come and stay at Palm Beach - (the beach house designed by me in the next door village). There you will find an equally luxurious house with shavers adaptors in all six ensuite double bedrooms and fabulous sea views! Meanwhile I thought your earlier emailed review was so lovely I have included below this for others to read. From David. "We all had an excellent week-end. We were blessed with amazing weather which meant we enjoyed The Rocks at its best. When we arrived we greatly appreciated your very kind gift of an excellent Carrot Cake – thanks very much. I think we left the house in good shape and I hope you have not received any reports to the contrary from Diana. It is a lovely house and couldn’t have been better for our family of 12. Very well furnished and with the highest quality white goods. I had a chat with your neighbour and apologised if the grandkids were too noisy in the spa whilst they were outside enjoying the sunshine." My response is thank you David for being so considerate to our neighbours. That makes you perfect guests. Do come again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

comfort plus view.....

  • 5 of 5

Well, actions speak louder than words, and as a family we have rebooked for next year - which will be our third holiday in this lovely house. The owner has thought of every little thing that a family might need to make the holiday stay comfortable - and then when you throw in the wonderful beach/sea view you want to nothing.

  • Review Submitted: 23/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You and your family are the perfect guests. Thank you Jill. Looking forward to seeing you again next year. Best wishes Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Gatwick
Nearest Barpub
400 Metres
The Clockhouse
Nearest Ferry
30 Miles
Portsmouth
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Ham Manor Golf Club
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Angmering
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
A24
Nearest Restaurant
400 Metres
Reema
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
West Kingston

The property is within the West Kingston Private Estate, down a private road right next to the sea, the house has access straight to the beach, at only 10 metres away. The area is secure, residential and family friendly.

The area caters for everyone, with a wide range of activities to offer. These include water sports such as kite surfing, windsurfing and sailing, sporting activities such as tennis at the Angmering-On-Sea Lawn Tennis Club, Golf at the Rustington Golf Centre, Boat hire at the Littlehampton Marina and Clay Pigeon Shooting; thrilling experiences such as aviation lessons, horse racing and car festivals at the Goodwood Estate as well as Go-karting at the Oval Racetrack; play days for kids such as at the The Flying Fortress, Playzone, Fishers Farm and Amazon Adventure.

Within walking distance is the local village of East Preston where there are a variety of shops. Furthermore at a two minute drive is the village of Angmering-On-Sea where there is a village shop, Indian and Chinese restaurants, a hairdresser, numerous pubs and more.

Regular farmers’ markets are held in Chichester, Arundel, Lewes and Worthing.

Please note we are not able to accept hen or stag party groups. The Rocks suits families and extended families.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in East Preston, United Kingdom

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Autumn 2017
2 Oct 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
AU$418
From
AU$1,348
Fri,Sat
 
 
Christmas 2017
22 Dec 2017 - 27 Dec 2017
4 night minimum stay
AU$1,696
AU$10,873
 
 
New Year 2018
29 Dec 2017 - 3 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
AU$4,349
 
 
Winter 2018
4 Jan 2018 - 8 Feb 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
AU$696
From
AU$1,174
Fri,Sat
 
 
February half term
9 Feb 2018 - 22 Feb 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
AU$696
From
AU$1,305
Fri,Sat
 
 
Early Spring 2018
23 Feb 2018 - 28 Mar 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
AU$835
From
AU$1,566
Fri,Sat
 
 
Easter 2018
30 Mar 2018 - 3 Apr 2018
4 night minimum stay
AU$1,601
 
 
Spring 2018
4 Apr 2018 - 3 May 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
AU$783
From
AU$1,583
Fri,Sat
 
 
May Bank Holiday
4 May 2018 - 7 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$783
From
AU$1,827
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
May 2018
8 May 2018 - 23 May 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
AU$835
From
AU$1,566
Fri,Sat
 
 
Spring May Bank Holiday
24 May 2018 - 28 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$2,001
 
 
June 2018
1 Jun 2018 - 26 Jun 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
AU$696
From
AU$1,705
Fri,Sat
AU$7,829
 
 
June-July
27 Jun 2018 - 12 Jul 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
AU$870
From
AU$1,827
Fri,Sat
AU$8,438
 
 
Summer 2018
13 Jul 2018 - 23 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
AU$9,829
 
 
August Bank Holiday
24 Aug 2018 - 28 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$2,001
 
 
Goodwood Revival
6 Sep 2018 - 10 Sep 2018
5 night minimum stay
AU$8,699
Flat fee
 
 
September 2018
11 Sep 2018 - 1 Oct 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
AU$957
From
AU$1,653
Fri,Sat
 
 
Autumn 2018
2 Oct 2019 - 31 Oct 2019
2 night minimum stay
AU$957
From
AU$1,609
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
AU$835
From
AU$1,653
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit AU$869.85

Prrices may vary slightly over weeks/weekends which include bank holidays.
Payment by BACS interbank transfer.
Non-refundable deposit of 25% of rental cost to secure booking.
Balance of rental (75%) due 2 weeks prior to arrival.
Damage/Cleaning deposit of £500. Refunded within 48 hours subject to condition of property.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable