Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Traditional Village House In The Heart Of The 3 Valleys

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 70 m²
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

8 person chalet with mountain views

We have recently been awarded 5 Gold Snowflakes by the tourist office of St Martin de Belleville and Les Menuires. This is the highest award for self catered accommodation.

We can also announce that we are now working with Chalet Kitchen ( to provide a catered option for your holiday!

This is a traditional French house in a very traditional French village, just minutes from the ski lift in St Martin de Belleville. Having been completely renovated over the summer of 2013, it has comfortable accommodation for 2 families with parking outside as well as free parking in the village centre, next to the house. The 3 star michelin restaurant, La Bouitte is only a 50m walk away and also has a full spa complex. The skiing is the best in the world and this can be accessed on foot - 800m down hill, by car or the free ski bus that stops by the village. There are free car parks in St Martin de Belleville and Les Menuires. It is possible to ski back to the village at the end of the day.

We have boot warmers to dry your boots over night, free wifi and satellite TV. For the non skier, there are snow shoe outings most afternoons and well marked snow shoe routes from the house. There is also a good sports centre with spa facility

There are 2 balconies to enjoy the mountain views or to have a BBQ in the summer.

The rooms are arranged over 4 floors. The lower ground floor has a family room with king sized bed and bunk bed with an en suite shower room. On the ground floor is a bunk room and a separate family bathroom. The first floor is the living/dining room with a modern brand new kitchen. The top floor has a king sized bed with an en-suite wc.

In the summer there are walking paths and mountain bike trails right from the door. There is a pool in Les Menuires and tennis, mini golf, table tennis in St Martin de Belleville. Climbing and Via ferrata routes can all be found within 30-60 minute walk from the house.

More Details

Natasha Pertwee
Member since: 2013
Speaks english
Response time
Within a day
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
26 May, 2018

About Natasha Pertwee

We have always loved the mountains, in particular the Belleville Valley. It has a magical feel to it in the winter and summer and manages to maintain its charm. We have 2 young boys and decided to buy this lovely french cottage so that they can grow up with French friends and learn about the mountains.

Natasha Pertwee purchased this chalet in 2013

Why Natasha Pertwee chose Saint-Marcel

Le Petit Chalet en Pierre is a typical french cottage and we just loved the village and the views from the balconies. They change every day and as the sun is on the house all day, it is bright and light. The real magic is the feeling of "getting away from it all" and yet still being in the heart of the 3 Valleys ski area!

What makes this chalet unique

Saint Marcel is a well kept secret within the Valley. It has fast access to the 3 valleys but avoids the noise and disruption of the modern resorts. Our village is actually lived in all year round which gives it more of a community feel and of course, we host a 3 star michelin restaurant!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Natasha,

we had a wonderful week in your chalet!!!

The snow was brilliant, the sun was shining and

every afternoon we felt like coming home!

Your house is really well renovated and decorated,

with enough place for all the stuff...

and we enjoyed also cooking! Nearly every day

we went to the ' boulangerie' and 'fromagerie',

the people are really kind in St. Martin.

We all want to come back in your house, perhaps

already next winter! Is it to early to book already

for 2017 ;-) ???

Best wishes

Birgit and family
Mar 2016
  • 1 of 4


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet rental in Saint-Marcel, France

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 70 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Village
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 single bed , bunk beds
    Bedroom 3 - 1 extra lg. double bed , 2 single bed , bunk beds with king sized double
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Tennis
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • ski lift pass
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
A car is highly recommended


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(33 traveller reviews)

78% Complete
18% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Traditional Village House In The Heart Of The 3 Valleys
average rating of 4.757576 based on 37 reviews

Absolutely amazing. Everything you could want for an awesome stress free family holiday.

  • 5 of 5

Le Petit Chalet en Pierre is in a beautiful location.

The house is so well equipped that as a mother of two you have nothing to worry about.

The layout of the kitchen/dining room/lounge made for great family time.

The beds were incredibly comfortable. The bathrooms well thought out.

Area for skis, boots etc made for easy dressing and undressing for ski ing.

My only advice would be to pre book any transport (eg taxi transfers) prior to travelling to France, as there is a shortage of public transport.

Would recommend this chalet to everyone.

Thank you so much from us all for a unique and delightful experience.

  • Review Submitted: 17/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased that you liked the Chalet. We would be delighted to have you back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cosy chalet in a great place

  • 4 of 5

This is the second time we have been and it was as lovely as the first time. Cost chalet in a great ski area. Lovely property manager was very helpful and the owner responded to all requests quickly.

  • Review Submitted: 03/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

eng aber gemütlich

  • 4 of 5

ein kleines Chalet mit Charme ! Bei einer Belegung mit 6 Personen kann es eng werden. Die kleinen Waschbecken machen das Zähneputzen zu einem Balanceakt.

  • Review Submitted: 27/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed coming back to the Chalet again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fabulous quirky chalet

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a week as a family, we are regular skiers and enjoy the 3 valleys. We chose this chalet for its unique character and were not disappointed.

The chalet is great, but lots of stairs! The upstairs bedroom has a beam across the king size bed and a small door to enter the room, but my children thought this was great. The downstairs bedroom was large, plenty of space and storage. The bunk room on the entry level floor was well proportioned with good storage. Plenty of hot water for 4 of us.

The boot warmer in the hall never seemed to be warm but the radiator in the hall is sufficiently powerful that all our gear was dry by morning. If you filled every available bed in the chalet it would feel very cosy, four of us had loads of space, 6 would be a good number.

The power outages resulted in the the radiator timers resetting, but the instruction book was in the house folder and they were not difficult to reset.

The kitchen, living area is spacious, with excellent cooking equipment. The sofas are comfortable and we enjoyed the various books, DVDs and games - thank you.

The nearest shops are in St Martin - not far but you need to think ahead. We did not sample the bread delivery service. The butcher in Saint Martin ( just below the huit a huit - is excellent and actually lives in St Marcel!)

You will need a car, but could ski back from the Loy run if you are red run or above and there is snow!

We hired our ski gear from Togosport ( Skiset) in St Martin and could not recommend them more highly.

There was far too much snow when we stayed, but the French digger driver cleared the road at 7 every morning even on New Years Day so we could get out!

We would certainly consider a return visit.

  • Review Submitted: 18/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Bryony, Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Chalet. I do apologise for the boot warmers, somehow they had been turned off! Please do come and stay again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming little house

  • 4 of 5

This is a lovely little house, well placed in a pretty village offering simple access to skiing in St Martin-de-B or Les Menuires. Everything works as it should and our arrival and departure process was very easy. There is a dishwasher but no washing machine, which would have been useful with small children on board, although there is a laundrette a short drive away. The boot drying rack was a lovely bonus and the TV/Internet provision kept small children well entertained. The most significant issue is the internal headroom. If you are above average height there is a fair amount of ducking to avoid the characterful (but solid) beams! Access to the top floor is through a half height door - not easy, but possible if you're fit enough to ski! Parking for one car is outside the door and we never had a problem parking a second car nearby. We enjoyed our stay and can't praise Natasha enough for all her prompt, online helpful responses to our many pre-booking/arrival questions. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Review Submitted: 20/02/2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased that you had a good time and enjoyed the house.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Thanks Tash and Richard for our stay in your wonderful house. We had a fantastic time.

  • Review Submitted: 09/01/2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
107 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
800 Metres
St Martin de Belleville
Nearest Golf
17 Kilometres
Nearest Train
20 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
La Bouitte
Nearest Ski
800 Metres
St Martin de Belleville
Car: recommended

St Marcel is a traditional French village in the heart of the 3 Valleys. You avoid the noise of the modern resorts and yet maintain the convenience of immediate access to the largest ski area in the world. St Martin de Belleville has many bars, restaurants, an excellent Tourist information office and good shops.

There is a free bus service from Moutiers and a free ski bus that runs past the village throughout the day.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday chalet in Saint-Marcel, France

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
22 Apr 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
1 Jul 2018 - 1 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
2 Sep 2018 - 8 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
9 Dec 2018 - 15 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
16 Dec 2018 - 22 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
23 Dec 2018 - 29 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
30 Dec 2018 - 5 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
6 Jan 2019 - 12 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
13 Jan 2019 - 19 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
20 Jan 2019 - 26 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
27 Jan 2019 - 2 Feb 2019
7 night minimum stay
3 Feb 2019 - 9 Feb 2019
7 night minimum stay
10 Feb 2019 - 16 Feb 2019
7 night minimum stay
17 Feb 2019 - 23 Feb 2019
7 night minimum stay
24 Feb 2019 - 2 Mar 2019
7 night minimum stay
3 Mar 2019 - 9 Mar 2019
7 night minimum stay
10 Mar 2019 - 16 Mar 2019
7 night minimum stay
17 Mar 2019 - 23 Mar 2019
7 night minimum stay
24 Mar 2019 - 30 Mar 2019
7 night minimum stay
31 Mar 2019 - 6 Apr 2019
7 night minimum stay
7 Apr 2019 - 13 Apr 2019
7 night minimum stay
14 Apr 2019 - 20 Apr 2019
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit AU$617.38

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
If you wish to book more than 7 nights please contact owner prior to booking.
Only whole weeks can be booked in the winter unless otherwise specified.
Summer rates do not include cleaning, linen. Tourist tax is also charged in the summer at €0.90 per person per day

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner