check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar


Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks english, spanish

FOR SALE ONLY - Beautiful tropical villa by the beach in southern Cebu Island

17 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights


Photos and Description of this Cebu holiday villa

cleaner lady included 7 days a week

Our home, built in 2008 is a tropical villa sitting on a 2700 sq mts seashore fronting lot, on top of a cliff about 25 mts high with a superb view of up to 7 differet islands on the horizon, including the small Sumillon Island which is a snorkling and diving paradise sitting just right in front of the property + you can snorkle with Shark-Whales just 5 minutes away from the house + diving with a friendly instructor that has an operation only 2 kms away from our house.

We can access our own beach below through a good number of steps and although is mostly rocky it has nice fish to see while swimming in the always warm tropical sea.

The swimming pool, although small it has spectacular views, being an infinity pool as you can see in the pictures.

The house has a separate garage and a separate small house for the full time caretaker.

The garden has plenty of room for you to enjoy a drink and take in the views.

Finally there is nice traditional barbecue 'house' along with an outdoor shower...

All in all a dream location which we very carefully searched for our family long vacations.

There are many buses than can be stopped right in front of the house, all day long, and also traditional 'jeepneys' for your transportation. However we can also rent cars in Cebu City.

in the house we have and you may use;

+ 1 sea-kayak sitting 2 people + there is also 2 bicycles).

More Details
  • long term rentals available
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Jonathan (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks english, spanish

About Jonathan

We are 4, my wife Liza from the Philippines, myself, Jonathan from Spain, and we have two boys 6 and 1.

We live most of the year is Spain, but spend some time every year in our property in Cebu as well as travelling around the world.

Why Jonathan chose Visayas

Incredible views

Swimming everyday in our small but beautiful infinity pool or in the warm tropical sea.

Superb-friendly neighborhood.

Crime-free tropical desease-free area.

What makes this villa unique

we haven't yet found a more spectacular location in our area of the Philippines...


based on 17 traveller reviews

FOR SALE ONLY - Beautiful tropical villa by the beach in southern Cebu Island
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 21 reviews

Horrible experience!

  • 1 of 5

We booked our stay months in advance. Communication with the owner was good, fast response! A 2 weeks before we arrived, the owner messaged us that they had an issue with water lost but "not to worry" because they had a water tank and we'd have 300L a day for our daily usage which was enough and the pool was not affected. We were okay with this. Hours before arriving to the house, we received a message telling us to find another place, there's absolutely no water and the pool is affected.. They've known this for days but was trying to find alternatives.. First of all this is the month of the festival in the Philippines and it's spring break so it's going to be very difficult to find a place, especially after just hours of notice before we were arriving. If they told us this days before when they knew then maybe we could of altered our plans! We arrived to the place with scorching heat welcome. No AC was on in the blazing home after a long and hot travel! Very odd for the Philippines! We had to buy 900P worth gallons to fill the tank ourselves and have us water because the care taker said "you chose to stay with the problem so it's your problem, not ours". We also wanted ultimate privacy but that didn't happen, care taker came in the house at 5am and 5pm when we're asleep and gone somewhere, came into our room to "turn on lights". We were never given a key to the home so the home is left open and random people come in the property from outside and leave their bikes and etc., in the entrance. Totally not private! The owners claim they're not responsible for any loss items yet they won't give you the keys which is very odd! The first I've encountered this out of the many places we've rented and the random outsiders coming in the premises! Just so wrong! Many appliances didn't work with the house either. Oh and you better turn the AC off EVERYTIME you leave the house even if you just go to the store or you'll be paying extra charges for leaving them on and the stores are like 10-15 minutes away because the place is in the middle of nowhere. That's not the humble Filipino way at all, we had a terrible experience! We stayed for about 4 days trying to find alternatives and the 5th day, the owner messaged us BEGGING us to leave aaap so they can work on the water pipes because it broke that's why there was no water. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE! Hope you don't have the experience we had to go through! Such a mess!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: 1 - You booked our home negotiating a discount for 3 weeks for you and your husband ONLY so your contract stated 2 as total number of Guests... (as I mention below you ended up being 15 people!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!). 2 - We have had for 2 months now a terrible drought so we suffer a water shortage in which we receive water only for 3 hours a day. 3 - We did advice you of this with plenty of time and offered to refund your full money but it didn't seem a problem for you 'as you were only 2' 4 - Only 3 days before you came am OFFICIAL ESTATE OF CALAMITY was declared by the provincial authorities as the water shortage was extreme, and our water supply was 100% cut off. This is in the news. 5 - We advice you of this 48h. before you arrival informing you YOU COULD NOT COME to our house and once again offering an immediate full refund. YOU INSISTED YOU WERE COMING ANYWAY... 6 - and then... YOU ARRIVE IN OUR HOUSE WITH ALL YOUR FILIPINO FAMILY OF UP TO 15 PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 - I am sorry but you are a BIG LIAR. 8 - I do not keep answering the rest of your points as they are a mix of lies and ill-intentioned comments. 9 - My staff are incredibly helpful and everybody who has stay in the house loved them! They were incredibly stressed out with your behavior in the house and that of your family. 10 - I asked you from the first day to leave the house, I had to BEGGED you repeatedly to leave my house... (What could I do? call the police???.... thankfully you left in the end. 11 - THIS IS OUR HOME... and all our guests so far respected it as A HOME and really enjoyed it,.... BUT... you treated it like a cheap 3rd world country resort. So sad.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 3

Amazing place

  • 5 of 5

We were staying here for 9 days. This villa is absolutely amazing. Spacious rooms, very clean and a fully equipped kitchen.

The garden, terrace and pools has a very nice view over to Sumilon Island and is perfect for seeing the sunrise.

Everything is in a good condition, well kept and clean.

Evette, the housekeeper is a very friendly and nice person and can give lots of ideas and advices what to do and where to go around the villa.

Its located at a very quiet location, but you have a bus/jeepney stop right in front of the door and also tricycles are passing by, ready for beeing hired.

In the morning there can be limited water supply, and the internet connection is sometimes not really stable, but its not really bothering if you are staying at a place like this.

We highly recomment to go to the close by whale watching and to Sumilon Island.

Thanks to Jonathan for giving us the opportunity to stay at such a nice place. We will come back!

Qiong & Marc from Shanghai

  • Review Submitted: Feb 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind comments, We are are fixing now the water problem... shouldn't be there when you visit next time, so sorry about it. We look forward to see you again sometime in the future, Regards! Jonathan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Absolutely wonderful, friendly, safe place to stay

  • 5 of 5

After a long trip from Australia with my wife and our baby daughter we were greeted by the lovely staff lady and shown around the beautiful property. The gardens and waterfall in the front courtyard were only outdone by the breathtaking views once you entered the house through the front doors. The infinity pool was amazing and clean and the first thing we did after unpacking was jump in and have a swim. We used the provided goggles and flippers and went snorkeling down the privately accessed beach most days and we swam with whale sharks at the nearby town of Oslob. The house, pool and gardens were kept clean and tidy by the great staff ladies and they even helped us out by introducing us to the local lechon cook who did lechon pork (local pig from up the road roasted on the spit) for our daughters 1st birthday party. Dealing with Jonathan (the owner) was easy and friendly. I will mention a couple of negatives and they were more a general issue with the Philippines but we did have issues with no hot water (yes a hot/warm shower is nice even in this climate and for the baby) and sometimes no water at all and a few hours one day with no power, but this can happen anywhere in the Philippines. All in all a fantastic place and area to stay and the positives absolutely outweighed any negatives and the great owners and staff were icing on the cake.


  • Review Submitted: Dec 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind comments, We are happy you had a nice time in Cebu, I am so sorry about the hot water issue, I had no news about this, but I will look into it (although there is a regulator to be played with, and perhaps this was at its lowest...), my sincere apologies. Jonathan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful time spent at this villa

  • 5 of 5

We were a family of 5 adults and 3 kids. We were welcomed by a small waterfall in the garden. Jonathan was kind to arrange foam matresses for the kids. We had fun swimming any time we want. There is more than enough towels to use. The property is well maintained. Caretakers were helpful in where to get stuffs like cheaper beer. The neighbor sold us a huge jackfruit so cheap already peeled to enjoy. The kitchen was fully equipped. We buy food from the market and cook our own meals. Pork in Cebu are so tender, so don't miss the lechon every Sunday starts 5am. We went to Tumalog Falls (cold there) and had mass at the church (nice ruins for photoshoot). There was no reason for us to go to the Sumilon Island as we feel we had the luxury just staying in this villa. The property is a few kms to the whaleshark swimming (the highlight in Oslob). I love the furniture and interior of the house, very European standard. Even with garden there are no much mosquito. A lot of friends and relatives are asking where we found this await more bookings Jonathan. I will definitely come back to this place. Thank you for your nice home, we really enjoyed our holiday.

  • Review Submitted: May 7, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so happy you and your family had a good time in our place! Thank you so much for your comments, Looking forward to welcome you any other time, Jonathan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A Great Vacation Home!!

  • 5 of 5

Home owner Jonathan was very helpful and accommodating, from when we booked the property until after we left. The layout of the house was great, with the swimming pool accessible from nearly every room. The view and the sound of the sea was great, and made you feel calm and at ease. The beach was a gem. We spent many hours there relaxing and playing in the water. The garden and surroundings created a feeling of a sanctuary, where time stood still. Oslob is about 10km's away, where we enjoyed whale watching, and took the boat to Sumilon Island. If you want to break away from city life then this is the place to come and unwind. Well worth the stay and we would highly recommend this property!! Thanks for a wonderful stay !!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind comments! On the other hand we are sorry you found the inconvenience of the wood deck of the pool in need of repair. We are actually fixing this right now so it is not a problem for future visitors. We are glad you had a great time despite this!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The perfect place for family or romantic couple

  • 5 of 5

The great property which is almost impossible find in Cebu area. Perfect for those who need quiet and calm leisure. Very peaceful place. Fab sea view from terrace and from swimming pool. The house was built with love and has a good-hearted aura. Thank you very much!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 6, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Nikolay, You also have been very kind and caring guests! Looking forward to welcome you some other time...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Cebu (128 kms) or Dumaguete (20 kms)
Nearest Ferry
8 Kilometres
crossing to Negros island every hour
Nearest Beach
beach by the property
Car: recommended

Our property is sitting 128kms from Cebu City, the second largest city in the Philippines, lively, colorful, and interesting if you like shopping for which you have very large and modern shopping malls with everything you could like, eating buffets at the nice hotels or casino going... (there are a few cultural sights as well from Spanish colonial times.

The drive from the City and its international airport, is some 3 hours as the 1st half is with heavy traffic, but then for the second half you will come across a beautiful coastal road -with 'colourful' traffic- you could find before reaching the municipality os Oslob, where we are.

We are actually not on a town, but on the coastal road.

There are a few possibilities for dinning out locally, among them some small diving resorts about 10 minutes driving from the house).

...but if you love barbecuing your own food you will be in heaven in our tropical barbecue

Finally Dumaguete (nearest airport that you can reach in just 45 min from the house including the 20 min boat ride to Negros island), is a large university town, also colorful, with plenty of possibilities for dinning and shopping and a fantastic large fresh produce market, and a much more relaxing way to experience the philippines than the much larger Cebu City. (there are some fanstastic diving (APO island), hiking or mountain biking experiences)

To reach Dumaguete, you drive 10 minutes from the house, park the car, take a 20 minutes ride in a boat that crosses every hour from Cebu Island into Negros island, and there you are... into adventure... riding a trycicle to reach the market, all a lot of fun... at least for us.

Our area is not only beautiful but unlike many others in the Philipines is crime safe and tropical disease free, (those were major reasons why we chose this location), the neighbors are nice and always smiling and the level of 'real' poverty is minimal, so it makes it very enjoyable just to ride your bicycle or car slowly and smile back at everyone...

The City of Cebu can be like most 3rd world cities... far less dangerous than most cities in the US but you have to be just alert.

However Dumaguete again is quite enjoyable & 100% safe, being a 'large town' at most.

By the way a nice way to arrive here if flying into Cebu is not convenient for you, is flying international into Manila, and then taking a plane from Manila to Dumaguete... that way you are almost just at home. (no need to waste time visiting Manila... just a personal recommendation).


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday villa in Cebu, Philippines

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
18 Dec 2016 - 8 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit A$286

Price advertised covers only 4 visitors.
If more than 4 people add 15% for each additional person (including children any age)

El precio publicado cubre solamente a 4 personas
Si se alojan más de 4 personas añadir 15% adicional por cada persona extra (incluyendo niños de cualquier edad)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa rental in Cebu, Philippines

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 200 m²
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • - toilet , shower enclosure
    - toilet , shower enclosure
    - toilet , outdoor shower , outdoor tropical shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • - 1 extra lg. double bed
    - 2 single bed
    - 2 single bed
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Toys
  • Bicycles
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Veranda / Loggia
  • long term rentals available
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • mountain biking
  • diving
  • swimming
caretaker; she is in charge of the garden and swimming pool, she will also clean house once daily BUT will not wash or iron clothes and will not cook. She sleeps in her own apartment within the property but separated from the main house.

Other Holiday Properties