Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Cute, clean beach cottage in Scarborough area of Narragansett.

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 69 m²
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3BR, 1 BA

Summer will be here before you know it! Act now to secure your 2017 summer vacation.

This wonderfully clean, bright, rustic summer cottage in sunny Narragansett will provide you with all the comforts of home, including free cable/new flat screen tv and WiFi, while only a short walk to Scarborough Beach (0.6 miles).

The house has a newer bathroom (6-2012), and is freshly painted, both inside and out.

It has a very cute private backyard with newer deck (2010), grill, outdoor shower, outdoor fireplace, and lots of charm. There is water access at the bottom of the street that provides the occupants with a spot to launch canoes and kayaks, go shell fishing, or watch the sunset. Tennis and basket ball courts very close by ... what more could you ask for?

More Details

Owner
Luke Ackroyd
Member since: 2005
Speaks english
Response time
Within 12 hours
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
13 August, 2017

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage rental in Narragansett, Rhode Island

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 69 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , bath with shower
    Outdoor shower - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom - 1 double bed , tv with cable in room
    Bedroom - 1 double bed , tv with cable in room
    office-guestroom - 1 single bed
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • wooden decking
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Cottage renovated in 2008, with ongoing upgrades and repairs... 2 bedrooms with a third room substituting as bedroom. All rooms are freshly painted (ongoing) with new carpets in 2008, and the house has been equipped with a wireless modem and large wall mounted flat screet TV in livingroom. The bath was renovated in 2013, and a new deck was built in the backyard in 2010. This is a very cute, clean place to vacation.

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

9% Complete
63% Complete
18% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
Cute, clean beach cottage in Scarborough area of Narragansett.
average rating of 3.7272727 based on 11 reviews
5

Excellent house close to everything you need

  • 5 of 5

Great little home located in central location. 1 mile gets you to beaches, restaurants and the block island ferry. Fireplace off the deck was a great surprise. Grilling lobster, fish and clams on the grill was perfect. House was clean and Luke is very accommodating.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Beautiful beaches just five minutes away

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time. Beautiful beaches just five minutes away. Can access most of Narragansett activities within 15 minutes. Luke was great to work with and very responsive to any questions or issues we had.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lincoln Rhode Island
4

Spacious Beach house

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay very much. The house looks small from outside however the 3 bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. The living room is also large. Equipt with basic utensils, plates , pots and pans. Bring any extra or special pieces you use. The back yard is a perfect mixture of shade and sun. We spent a great amount of time on the back deck and used the fire pit every night the weather allowed. Luke was very accomodating and took care of anything we needed. The beaches are all a short drive away ( less than 5 min ). The water access at the bottom of the street is only good for a kayak or something of that type. There are lots of bunnies, deer and turkeys in the neighborhood. The neighbors are friendly in the back as well. Would recommend this house to anyone looking for a true beach house.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Mediocre to poor

  • 2 of 5

I have been conflicted about writing this review but I want to do it so people can make an informed decision about renting this property. We feel we paid too much for this rental for what was offered. The beds were horrible. The 3 inch mattresses were poking us every night. One of my children chose to sleep on the floor instead of on the bed. I replaced the shower curtain because it was moldy and scaly. There were basic items missing from the kitchen/house(cutting board, whisk, dustpan, etc.) I contacted Luke about recycling barrels. He said he would bring one, never did. There were ants(we expect those in the summer) and mice droppings under the sink. I took pictures. We rent in Narragansett every year and this house was the worst. I would not rent this house again.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Ms. L, Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. While we would have appreciated a chance to rectify things for you while you stayed, at least we have been made aware so that we can address these items. -We have ordered and will be installing memory foam for all of the mattresses. -Thank you for letting us know about the missing items, we will deliver those ASAP. -I have contacted Narragansett Pest Control, and they will be going out tomorrow to assess and treat for whatever they find. Summer ants are commen in Narragansett, but mice are unacceptable and will be dealt with immediately. -Thank you for the new shower curtain. We are reliant on the tenants and housekeeping staff to let us know when things are not up to par, and appreciate your feedback. -We did deliver a recycling bin to you early the following morning (left in the driveway so as not to wake you), but you may not have seen it. Obviously, a poor review is very disappointing for us, and we will redouble our efforts to make our house as welcoming as possible. We will also discuss this with our housekeeping team so that things that need to be replaced can be dealt with in a timely manner.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Ok but not great.

  • 3 of 5

The house was generally dirty upon arrival. The rooms weren't vacuumed and the area rugs weren't shaken out. Full of sand. There wasn't a broom so we had to go out and buy one. The lawn hadn't been mowed in at least a month. The bushes were out of control. Nothing like the pictures on home away. Tile in the bathroom in front of sink and toilet were cracked and loose. Shower and tub were clean. There are 3 air conditioners. No iron or ironing board. The back porch and fire pit are a great addition as well as the outdoor shower. Beds are very uncomfortable.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you had an otherwise good week in Narragansett. We were out of town for 2 weeks on vacation ourselves, and the management company that we hired did not follow up with the cleaners and lawn service folks (we usually do this personally), the result of which was an unsatisfactory experience for you. We apologize. If you decide to stay with us again, we will provide you with a discounted stay, and make it up to you!!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
4

Very quaint little beach house

  • 4 of 5

I had a great time! Cute beach house. The sink handle was broke and kept falling off and the toilet seat was broken. Other than that we had a great time.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're happy that you had a great time! Thank you for the kind words regarding our property. Those items have been fixed, and all is in good order. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Block Island
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Rt. 4 and Rt. 108
Nearest Beach
0.8 Miles
Scarborough State Beach

Great location... walk to beach ... easy water access at bottom of street, tennis, golf, basketball, Block Island ferry, deep sea fishing charters, world class seafood, all within 2 mile radius.

Other Activities: any and all ocean related activities

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee A$83.08
Damage Deposit A$255.62

-Week nine is a 6 night stay, and runs from Sunday 7/31 thru Saturday 8/6.
-The State of RI has instituted a new and unfortunate short term rental tax of 8%. Rentals booked and paid for prior to July 1, 2015 are exempt from this tax.
-Cancellations- We understand that things happen, and sometimes cancellations of your rental become necessary. We are typically able to rerent stays that are cancelled by vacationers IF we are provided with enough notice (6 weeks often able rerent, 4 weeks sometimes able to rerent, 2 weeks more difficult to rerent). Upon rerenting the property for the cancelled week, we are happy to refund all or part of any deposits that were made. If we cannot rerent the cancelled week, return of any deposits made on the property will be made at the discretion of the property owners.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made