Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

A Beautiful Golden Circle cottage, 3 Bedrooms, hot tub, golf course, Sleeps 6,

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 89 m²
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

A Self-catering Rental with a wireless internet.

The cottage has a ground floor of 89m². There are 3 large bedrooms - two double rooms and one single room – with the possibility of extra mattress sleeping space, living room, kitchen, hot tub and bathroom, towels / linens are provided.

The cottage is situated in the Kiðjaberg area – some 50 minute drive from the capital Reykjavik. Only a 30 minute drive to some of the most popular tourist attractions of the Golden Circle such as Gullfoss (famous waterfall), Geysir, Skalholt and Kerið (crater) A 10 minute drive to a good swimming pool that has a sauna, a nifty slide and a jacuzzi.

The cottage has a well equipped kitchen with a fridge (includes a freezer), microwave, oven/stove and a dish washer. A dining area next to the kitchen and seats for 6 persons easily. There is also a living room with 2 sofas (3 seats + 2 seats) and a table. The living room has a TV, a DVD/CD player and a radio. The bathroom contents of a toilet, washbasin and a shower plus a new washing machine. There is WiFi internet connection in the house.

The cottage has a large patio around it – with a great BBQ grill. The view from the patio is beautiful – with possibility of Northern lights, during the winter time.

In addition:

The cottage is set in a roughly one hectare of land and is extremely well situated for golfers as the beautiful Kiðjaberg Golf course (18 holes) is in a walking distance. (100-150m)

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

More Details

Owner
David Karlsson
Member since: 2014
Speaks english, danish
Response time
Within a day
Response rate
90%
Calendar last updated:
20 June, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Owners

We had a lovely stay in your property and look forward to returning back in the future. Thank you for the welcome basket you gave us but unfortunately we could not eat any of the products due to dietary requirements. We had some extra food left which we have left in the fridge.



Best regards
May 2014
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage rental in Selfoss, Iceland

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 89 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 single bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Veranda / Loggia
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • caves
  • churches
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(42 traveller reviews)

90% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
A Beautiful Golden Circle cottage, 3 Bedrooms, hot tub, golf course, Sleeps 6,
average rating of 4.8095236 based on 43 reviews
leeds, england
5

Fantastic Property

  • 5 of 5

Brilliant accommodation in a wonderful country. We loved Iceland and the house was ideal for exploring the amazing sights of South-west Iceland.

Great facilities - really fast wifi and lovely hot tub.

  • Review Submitted: 04/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice home! Private and Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed mid March and truly enjoyed this property. House is well equipped with everything you need. The beds are SO comfortable! The owner was attentive and responded right away when we asked to have the hot tub temp turned up. The location is out of town, so you can see the northern lights from the hot tub - couldn't be more perfect! Yet it is still right by the main golden circle attractions! We loved it!

  • Review Submitted: 08/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect central spot to explore from!

  • 5 of 5

We (2 Canadian couples) recently stayed at this beautiful cottage for 4 days. The Cottage was very clean, modern, well-equipped and so central to all the Golden Circle must-see locations!

It was nice to come back to this great little place after a day of exploring! We cooked most of our meals in the cottage and found everything we needed. Beds were extremely comfortable! The hot tub was an added bonus!

Would definitely return and stay at this beautiful spot. Booking and arrival arrangements were also simple and all our questions answered promptly....highly recommend!

  • Review Submitted: 17/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome trip!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time in Iceland! What a beatiful, pure, unspoiled country. The property was perfect and in a great location. We couldn’t ask for more, it was a perfect vacation.

  • Review Submitted: 17/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Worcestershire
5

Wonderful home in amazing location

  • 5 of 5

This was the holiday we all needed and both the home and location didn't let us down. The summer house was clean and homely with an abundance of equipment for relaxing nights in. Plenty of cooking utensils, games and music system. The beds were comfortable and, along with the hot pot, provided a perfect end to the day.

The location was ideal for visiting the Golden Circle, but also for the spectacular scenery and walks in the locality. We all loved our snow days around the house, grounds and surrounding countryside.

  • Review Submitted: 27/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Harassed by owners agent

  • 1 of 5

David is the property manager, not owner. He was very responsive prior to our trip. However, once we arrived we saw no one and neither David or the owner Gardar responded to our pleas for help.

One of the beds had no bed linens. We did not have the 6 sets of towels that was to come w the house. Even w a shortage of towels we had to use some as bed linens. No one responded to our requests.

And the worst malfunction was that the main water pipe connected to the toilet burst at 2am early Saturday morning. Water was spewed everywhere and we SAVED his house by knowing to cut the water to the entire house by shutting it off in the locked outside machine room. Again, we contacted Gardar and David at2am and asked that they call at 9am. By 10, with no response, we called Gardar. With an English language obstacle, Gardar had a friend call us back.

We said to her and Gardar that we would no longer be at the house. It was to be our last night and we were not prepared to spend it with no toilets, showers, coffee and kitchen. We left cash (as required by David) behind as our payment and deducted an equal portion for the last night.

We got the first return call from the friend at 6:30pm on Saturday to let us know it was fixed and the plumber took full responsibility. It was nothing we did. And then she wondered where we were and why we did not leave the full payment. She continued to VERBALLY HARASS me that this is not how business is done in Iceland and that she has multiple properties too and would make my name known in the community that I don’t pay.

Again, had this broken pipe happened when the house was vacant or folks who did not know what to do at 2AM, the whole house, including the wood floors, would have been destroyed.

Turns out David was on vacation but no one told us or gave an alternate contact. I emailed David thru HomeAway and asked that he contact when he returns. It’s been almost 2 weeks and no response. Ironically when I was presented w the contract and told I need to pay in cash, I asked that the contract be modified in case something doesn’t work as advertised. He declined and ASSURED me everything worked.

I so wish this property was under the HomeAway guarantee...I would challenge the whole fee.

All that said, the house was nice and lovely scenery. Do plan on 20+ minutes of drive time to get to main road. And no nearby restaurants in off season unlike what I was told.

  • Review Submitted: 08/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are verry sorry about the broken pipe, everything is new in this house and there was some manufacturing fault on the pipe. David was on a vacation and Gardar the owner came as soon as possble to fix the pipe. Then the guest vere gone without paying for these 3 nights. The house is for 6 persons. Carol asked for a discount because they vere only 3 people which she got, but the fact is that they were 4. We only made beds for 3, but there was extra linen in the house and towels. Usual check inn is 4 pm, Carol asked for an early check inn at 8 am, which she got for free. The owner was at work at that time and Carol knew there was no one to welcome her at that time. In prior to this 3 days rent, Carol send me 19 e-mails. I tried to answer all her questions best I could in 13 e-mails, gave her a discount, erlyer check inn, list of names on supermarkets on her way to the house and driving info that show that the cottage is not at the main road (#1). There are 10 min. drive to next restaurant all year around and 20 min. drive to next town which has many restaurants.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
120 Kilometres
Keflavik airport
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Kiðjaberg Clubhouse
Nearest Golf
100 Metres
Kiðjaberg Clubhouse
Nearest Motorway
10 Kilometres
Hringvegur nr 1
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Kiðjaberg Clubhouse
Nearest Ski
50 Kilometres
Bláfjöll
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cottage in Selfoss, Iceland

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Sommer 2018
1 Jun 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$313
AU$2,193
 
 
Autumn 2018
1 Oct 2018 - 15 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$282
AU$1,974
 
 
Christmas 2018
16 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
6 night minimum stay
AU$360
AU$2,522
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
AU$282
AU$1,974
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee AU$125.31

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties