Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Treetop Cottage-Coolfont Mountainside Award Winning Resort

Bedrooms 4
Space 167 m²
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Berkeley Springs is one of the best known arts towns in the Mid-Atlantic. Many practitioners of both the healing arts and visual arts have been attracted to the area for several centuries. It is a town of galleries, good food and a variety of 'alternative' and holistic therapists.

Coolfont is a quiet, rustic retreat just a couple of miles outside of Berkeley Springs-- the roads and cottages were designed in complete harmony with the landscape, maximizing both beauty and privacy. Cacapon State Park abuts the property and features a Robert Trent Jones golf course, fishing, hiking and a great Mission Style Lodge.

Ideal Getaway Cottage: Situated 4 miles from Berkeley Springs, WV - the nation's first Spa Warm mineral springs were used by Native Americans as healing waters long before white settlers arrived. The springs became America's first Spa when George Washington and his friends formed the town of Bath in 1776. 'Taking the waters' has remained a popular sport in Bath - now Berkeley Springs for more than two centuries. There are now four facilities, including the State Park, which offer professional baths and massage.

Berkeley Springs State Park: Roman Bath, Massage therapy. Art galleries, Antique shops.

Other Activities: Cacapon State Park, C&O Canal, White Tail Ski Resort

Keywords: Cottage

More Details

Member since: 2006
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few days
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
22 April, 2017

About The Owner

Carolyn Snyder, I am the broker owner of Snyder,Bailey and Associates Inc. We have had the real estate business for 25 years in Eastern WV. I'm originally from New York and formally taught at City University and for the State University. Coming to WV I was elected to the State Legislature and then worked for Governor Rockefeller for 8 years running his Eastern Panhandle office and working with economic development.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2008

Why The Owner chose West Virginia

For a time I was involved with Coolfont Resort that developed the Coolfont Mountainside as well as the resort. I found the area not only naturally beautiful but found those involved in the community,interesting with varied backgrounds, primarily professional, caring, kindly souls that loved nature and intellectual pursuits. The town itself is one of the top artists towns in the country and has a fun, mix of creative people and activities.

What makes this cottage unique

Located in the woods, private yet with neighbors somewhat nearby, amenities such as hiking trails, tennis, beautiful pool and hot tub in a wooded setting, close to town, easy access where all factors in my decision to purchase.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great time in your lovely home. Thank you very much. It's simply a great place for a family with kids as we are. The house offers enough space and is cozy at the same time. Everything was working perfectly. Located directly in the woods, you just have to open the door and you are already on one of the trails. We enjoyed hiking even in February.
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 2


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage rental in Berkeley Springs

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 167 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Monument View
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Heating ...
  • ISDN Access
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • local restaurant guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , bath with shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed , 1 single bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed , 1 single bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 single bed
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • video player
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • conservatory
  • Tennis
  • Tennis Court
  • wooden decking
  • long term rentals available
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • ski
  • snowboarding
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
This is a comfortable, attractive cottage, in a wonderful private, wooded setting away from it all yet convenient to and with easy access to Berkeley Springs (4 miles) and Cacapon State Park. This is an established award winning community. There are marked hiking trails through out, tennis courts, community pool and hot tub.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

Treetop Cottage-Coolfont Mountainside Award Winning Resort
average rating of 4.266667 based on 17 reviews

Wonderful and Peaceful Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed this idyllic venue. The house was clean and well-kept with all the ammenities as described. We went with out little ones and thoroughly enjoyed the area with its well-kept community pool and natural grounds. Would recommend this one to any one looking to get away and enjoy a few days of quiet.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2011
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 1

Untidy cottage

  • 2 of 5

My family and I stayed at this house Thanksgiving week, Nov. 2016. This home is in a nice community and has some trails that were nice to hike with the kids. The home itself was sufficient on space, as we needed space for 11.

The home was quite untidy in several areas: storage room, laundry area, and some kitchen cabinets. The storage room could barely be entered with all kinds of things piled in it (which is where all trash is to go); the washer and dryer were in good condition and worked well, however the laundry area was dirty and things piled everywhere as well. The house seemed dusty, and affected several people with allergies. We only found two electrical outlets in the kitchen that worked, and many throughout the house didn't seem to work either. We even checked the breaker box to make sure that wasn't the problem (and it wasn't). When making contact with the owner via email, there was no reply to this issue, even though I had just received an email from the owner making sure we got in ok. Much of the utensils in the drawers were old and rusty-looking. Some cabinet drawers didn't work well. The TV is not usable, as there is NO cable or satellite. There was a cable going from the TV to the "bunny ears" on the outside deck.

To be honest, none of us who stayed were satisfied with this rental. Do not want to come across as rude, but it was unsatisfactory. Yes, it had space. But the overall uncleanliness and other issues given, it was certainly not worth the price that we paid!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were very disappointed and stunned to get these comments on February 20th, 2017, from guests who stayed at the cottage in November 2016. We had had a letter at the end of a busy season telling us we were getting shop worn. Since that time we have worked steadily to make improvements to the cottage; dispensing with old items (broken stored furniture and the like), painting, replacing furnishings, dishware, silverware, pots and pans, towels,blankets, linens, shower curtains. We are continuing to upgrade the cottage. Our electrician, has put an additional electrical circuit in the kitchen. The appliances are a heavy draw and additional plug ins will sometimes trip the breaker; this seemed to happen when there were a large number of guests. All our electrical outlets have been checked and are in working order. The TV has always been a source of angst for us; the surrounding trees do not allow the needed access for cable or satellite. We have repeatedly tried to get the service. The association will not allow tree cutting. We are presently in the process of trying a Roku System that will allow streaming and some what more access than we have had. We do have a DVD and CD player, puzzles, games and books. We also have wireless and lots of hiking trails. The original thought of the developer of Coolfont was to design a place to get away with no TV or telephones, of course things have radically changed and we do appreciate that. Our longstanding caretaker couple, who live nearby and are always available (their phone number is provided), work to keep the cottage very clean. That is a priority for us. For that very reason we do not allow pets or smoking. We were sorry to hear it was dusty, that is the last thing we want. Our hope is that the cottage is comfortable, clean and attractive. A respite in a beautiful setting close to town yet tucked away. We have kept our pricing at $250 a night, that includes, linens, towels, fire wood, a fully stocked kitchen and wireless service. We feel it is a very fair price for a good sized 4 bedroom home, particularly when there are a group of 10 people. We will continue to work on updates. Over the last 8 years these few are our only unhappy campers. We have owned and enjoyed the cottage for a long time and we want it to be a place that you enjoy as well. You can count on us to have it in the best of condition. Carolyn Snyder Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
washington DC

In need of TLC

  • 2 of 5

First, the good: our group (three families) had a wonderful time spending a weekend together. The weather was beautiful, and the environs gorgeous. We enjoyed the nice porch and the lovely view from it. The living room features a lovely wooden built-in bookcase that lend the house a very homy lived in feel. The owner was very welcoming and attentive, responding promptly to our questions.

Now the not so good: the house itself is not in good shape. Everything is old and rather shabby (the furniture, the bathrooms, the walls, the kitchen, even the linens). Many lamps were broken, lamp shades precariously perched on the base; many light bulbs were missing. The house is not exactly dirty, but everything is so worn out that it simply does not feel super clean or well taken care of. The dishes and kitchen equipment are in an especially bad shape (many cracked and chipped dishes; frying pans and pots so old and scratched they were practically unusable). That being said, the rent is much cheaper than other houses in the area (we have stayed in several over the years) but be aware that you get what you pay for.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry to hear the property is looking a bit shop worn after a busy season. Time for a 2017 spruce up. We have just painted the exterior. We will certainly replace the dishes, pots and pans, linens, some furnishings and some lamps and address whatever issues are in need of repair. Generally our guests find it attractive and comfortable; always clean. We feel it is very reasonably priced for a 4 bedroom contemporary, all linens included. It is important to us that are guests feel comfortable and well cared for and that the cottage is in good condition. By the way, I am glad you had a good time with your friends.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This Cabin is great!! Quiet spot that's close to town and yet seems like you are in your own world!

  • 5 of 5

We loved this cabin! It's a great location in a quiet community, it doesn't get much better than having your morning coffee on the deck surrounded by the trees! Very spacious, awesome vintage architecture with all of the modern amenities that you would need on a mountain getaway!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Pretty house in the woods

  • 3 of 5

The house can easily sleep 10 comfortably. The house was somewhat run down and had a musty smell. It appeared to have been well used. There were a lot of cobwebs on the second floor and the large bookshelf wash very dusty. We enjoyed the deck and the grill was adequate for us. There was a lack of easy communication and so we never received directions but we got there and it never hampered our fun. Berkeley Springs is a nice small town with wonderful bath/ spa facilities.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry about the communications snafu. We do ask guests to take the written directions provided as a GPS does not work well in the area. I have talked with our cleaning crew. The house is older, but is charming and we get few complaints. I hope you'll come back to stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

New Year vacation

  • 5 of 5

Loved this place. Very well maintained and well equipped. Small suggestion - please add a sink dispenser and change some of the coffee mugs. We enjoyed our 4 nights stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Dulles Airport, BWI airport, Hagerstown, Md (25mi
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Cacapon State Park, Robert Trent Jones Course
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Amtrak and Marc Commuter Train to DC Martinsburg,
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
70W 68E
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Terri's in Berkeley Spring; Earth Dog, Panorama
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
White Tail
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Cacapon State Park Sand Beach
Car: necessary

Berkeley Springs is one of the best known arts towns in the Mid-Atlantic. Many practitioners of both the healing arts and visual arts have been attracted to the area for several centuries. It is a town of galleries, good food and a variety of 'alternative' and holistic therapists. Coolfont is a quiet, rustic retreat just a couple of miles outside of Berkeley Springs--the roads and cottages were designed in complete harmony with the landscape, maximizing both beauty and privacy. Cacapon State Park abuts the property and features a Robert Trent Jones golf course, fishing, hiking and a great Mission Style Lodge.

Other Activities: Cacapon State Park, C&O Canal, White Tail Ski Resort


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cottage in Berkeley Springs

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer 2017
26 May 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee A$99.24 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

If more than 8 guests (including children) additonal $25 per night per person. Rates subject to change any time before reservation made.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message Send a Message

Other Holiday Properties