Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Romance, Nature, Adventure - Whiteface Views from the Hot Tub, Fireplace!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
chalet
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

About the property

2 bedrooms, 1 bath, sleeps 6

The '46er', named for those that have mastered the highest peaks in the Adirondacks, keeps with the tradition of 46ers.

She is well equipped, well oriented and surrounded by beauty, leaving you never wanting to return home.

Unlike just another impersonal rental property, you'll find the warmth and comfort of home.

The chalet is completely remodeled with hard wood floors, skylights, and new fireplace insert.

It is nestled on a hillside facing Whiteface and Stephenson Ranges. Whiteface Olympic Mountain, which is only two miles away and offers the ultimate in winter sports! It was voted the Best Ski Center in the North East!

Lake Placid Village with all that it has to offer is just ten beautiful miles away on the most picturesque road of the Adirondacks. Here you can enjoy shopping, dining, arts and crafts, museums, The Olympic Center, golf, horse shows, movies, festivals, nightlife ... or 'in short' - hustle and bustle of this special, lively Olympic Village.

When your spirit moves you beyond the chalet, so much awaits!

First you'll encounter the large, wrap around deck which sports Adirondacks chairs and an outdoor dining area, and sometimes chickadees that will eat from your hands. You may not get much further for awhile.

The hot tub invites you for that romantic or relaxing dip after the day on the mountain. In the evening, you can sit by the stone ringed campfire and share the stories of your day.

More Details

Property Manager
Renata Grec
Member since: 2005
Speaks english, polish
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
22 February, 2017

About Renata Grec

Nature, Adventure, Tranquility, Beauty and Comfort. Inspired by my own travels and world explorations, with a desire to share some of my favorite and special places with others, I created OurSecretGetaways.net. It is with pleasure that I open the door to our Vacation Homes so you too can create your own unforgettable memories. Being an avid traveler myself, I know what I appreciate when I stay at different destinations. My goal is to use that experience in creating and providing the best atmosphere for our guests.

I strive to create in each of our retreats a unique experience, reflecting the ambiance of the area, the cultural character and natural environment. My joy springs from feeling the soul of each area and property and infusing that spirit artfully throughout the home, the landscaping and amenities provided. A confluence of nature's beauty with interior design is communicated through color harmony, original art, comfort and the intimate warmth of a loved home. Whichever secret getaway that you may choose be assured that you will find a home where you can fully relax, be comfortable and bask in the sensual pleasures of the unique esthetic aspects of both the interior décor and the charming gardens, while drawing strength and energy from the breathtaking beauty of the surrounding habitat.

Renata Grec purchased this chalet in 2001

Guestbook comments from the manager

Beautiful getaway from NYC and busy working life. The house provided us with absolutely everything we needed and we felt very comfortable from the very first moment we came here. Being big nature lovers, you can't but fall in love with the Adirondacks and this beautiful house gave us more than we were looking for when it comes to the Adirondack experience.

We would like to thank Renata for everything and will highly recommend this place for our friends as well as we are sure that we’ll be back here
Dec 2014
  • 1 of 11

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(35 traveller reviews)

Romance, Nature, Adventure - Whiteface Views from the Hot Tub, Fireplace!
average rating of 4.6285715 based on 46 reviews
Burlington, Vermont
5

Amazing Adirondack Hideaway!

  • 5 of 5

My fiancée and I decided we needed a vacation. I was tasked with finding a perfect one-week getaway and The 46'er is definitely it. The cabin is fully stocked with everything you would want for a peaceful romantic retreat in the Adirondacks. Renata and Charly have done an amazing job of stocking this retreat with all the little touches that make it feel as one is coming home to their own magical retreat. Every drawer and nook held another wonderful surprise that made our trip just that more perfect. It is clearly evident that the owners love this cabin as much as their guests. They have left no detail unchecked with property and they were both excited and happy to offer advice on what to do in the local area. For a first time visitor to the Adirondacks, their vast knowledge and willingness to share was invaluable. We went hiking every morning out the back yard on miles of trails that surround the property. For a wonderful early morning view of Whiteface, We highly recommend hiking to a small clearing up a 4-wheeler track out the back yard. We grilled almost every night and enjoyed much needed relaxing soaks in the hot tub on the tranquil privacy of the wrap-around deck. It was a spectacular feeling to relax and simply gaze at the pitch-black country sky full of stars one will never see in the city. A rainy day meant chili in our crock-pot and Casablanca on the TV (thanks to their wonderful movie selection). A second rainy day was no worse. We simply enjoyed the peaceful silence that comes from no outside distractions. The pitter-patter of raindrops on the roof recalled a simpler time while we relaxed on the couch each with a good book. No annoying cell phone calls, no intrusive Internet, no loud neighbors, just the wonderful luxury that is peace and quiet. We loved reading books from their diverse selection, hiking with our Scottish Terrier, canoeing on a nearby lake, shopping in Lake Placid, and wine tasting at some of the local wineries. Dinner at The Hungry Trout was a wonderful experience. Hiking at the nearby Wilmington Flume and up Whiteface was just as fun. The best part of the trip was being able to bring our Scottie. He loved chasing the numerous squirrels and chipmunks that inhabit the property and we loved not having to worry about him in a kennel for the week. It was great to have our entire family (man, woman and Scottie) together on vacation. It truly was Heaven on Earth. We are already planning our next trip!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 13, 2009
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bryan, you make me want to be there! Thank you so much for your kind words! It is truly our pleasure to cater to our guest and the best reward is when we achieve the goal of making lasting impression! Renata
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0
5

Couldn't have asked for more

  • 5 of 5

The 46er trip was a Christmas gift for my fiance and I have to say, it did not disappoint. We also own a vacation rental that we rent through VRBO, so I was pretty selective on which property we'd stay in. We were SO HAPPY with our stay here! It's charming and literally has everything you need. We had a fire every night, so the stacked wood was a plus. We also cooked all our meals there and found the kitchen to have every pot, pan or random gadget that we needed. The hot tub was one of the highlights - very private, star gazing and the strings of lights around the porch made it feel like home. We also spent some time nearby at the Adirondack Wildlife Refuge - I would highly recommend it. My only regret is that I didn't know about the rice in the cabinet before I dropped my phone in the hot tub :) We 100% plan on staying here again!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Always an amazing time

  • 5 of 5

Where can I begin about the 46er.... this is the second time we have been there as a family tradition, consisting of two children and two adults. Plenty of space, always clean, cozy fireplace with wood all ready for us. Plenty of cook wear for you to use if you choose, linens already there! Great new flat screen tv and of course the clean hot tub! Owner is very easy to communicate with and is always available for questions. Smooth check in and check out. Close enough to the heart of Lake Placid (about a 20 minute ride) less than a two minute drive to the animal refuge, and less than a 5 minute ride to the base of whiteface mountain and other hiking trails! Definitely worth the price to stay and we will definitely be back again!!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Relaxing Weekend

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I booked this place last-minute (3 days ahead) for a weekend away with our dog. We live in Montreal, so the drive is only about 2 hours. We drove down on Saturday morning and checked in after a beautiful hike up Whiteface Mountain. About 10 minutes from the Whiteface trailhead, the cottage is small, but very cozy and just what we were looking for. It was very clean and we enjoyed the wood fireplace and hot tub.

The pictures are not current, as there is a new, nicer-looking cast iron fireplace as well as a newer flatscreen TV (which we did not use). When we arrived, it took a while for us to get the lights on, and it turned out that the main light fixture was not working. However, with the kitchen light and lamps (had to take a lightbulb from the upstairs lamp to make the downstairs one work), we had enough light. Overall, the cabin is delightfully decorated and has all of the essentials for a mountain vacation.

Next time we'll bring our own soap for the shower, a cribbage board, and food/condiments from home. We went grocery shopping in town before we checked in, so we weren't entirely sure if there would be things like sugar, ketchup, coffee already present (there were not). Thankfully, the little grocery store is only about a 5-minute drive. The fireplace is a bit small and a tight squeeze for the logs--we ended up chopping some smaller ones and foraging for kindling in order to get the fire going.

The property is wonderful--secluded and backs up against a forest. It was perfect for our Australian Shepherd, who loved exploring and playing with sticks while we relaxed in the hot tub. It is also near the end of a gravel road with very little traffic, so we did not have to worry about fast cars driving by with the dog out.

Lastly, Renata was wonderful. She always replied promptly and was very sweet to call and trouble-shoot when I e-mailed her about the lights not working. We had the perfect relaxing weekend, with 60 degrees and sunshine on Saturday, followed by a Sunday snowstorm. We hope to come stay again sometime!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Katie for your kind and detailed review! We truly appreciate it! Thank you for letting us know about the light not working, we were able to have it fixed the very next day, the dimmer needed to be replaced. We will love to have you as our guests again! All the Best! Renata
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing cottage getaway!!!

  • 5 of 5

My family can't stop talking about our mini vacation. This cottage was perfect for our family of four! So clean and so cute- the owner was amazing to work with and always responded right away. The location is amazing for all that lake placid has to offer. We weren't on top of any other houses- and the hot tub was the perfect ending to a perfect day. We can't wait to stay again next year and have recommended this to everyone!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Adirondack Getaway

  • 3 of 5

The owner was very nice and accommodating. However there were a few little things;

1. VRBO pictures need to be updated as the pictures are not the same as the current look (i.e Fireplace, and it is little more worn than the pictures show.

2. Toilet paper was um lacking half a rol land an emergency run to the corner store.

3. Hot tub water was changed which is good but cleaning staff forgot to raise the temp and we were not able to use until day two of a two day stay. This is one of the thing that was important to me.

4. Fire place blower did not work.

5. Internet modem was overheating had to turn it on its side to get internet to stabilize as it kept dropping. Although it was a mini vacation as the CEO I do not have the luxury of not being in contact with my company.

All in all it is still a nice little place for 800 sq ft and warm with the fireplace going. The surrounding area is beautiful and the wolves howling at night was eerie and a great experience to hear.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m very sorry Carl that your stay with us was not 100% satisfactory, as that is what we strive for. Yours was a last minute reservation, not finalized until 10 pm on Saturday night for the next day-Sunday arrival. We went out of our way to accommodate you, including waiving the cleaning and pet fee. I wish that you would mention the shortness of the toilet paper while we exchanged the emails upon your arrival, we would be very happy to deliver some to you. We do not advertise to provide paper and cleaning supplies but always try to keep them in stock for our guests to use. I just wanted to clarify that the cleaning staff did not forget to raise the temperature on the hot tub. They changed the water so it was clean for your arrival, and it takes several hours for the water to heat up, especially in the Winter time. I wish that you were able to stay a bit longer in order to enjoy all the facilities. We very recently invested in a brand new fireplace insert to make it safer and more efficient for our guests to use. There is no reason for the blower not to work, and again I wish that you would ask for assistance with it as directed in the check in documents. The internet is also a new addition to the chalet, since service for that area has only recently become available. I’m sorry if it was not speedy enough for your liking; I guess there is a price to pay to be 'away from it all.' I am very sad that your experience was worth just three stars. It is personally important to me that our guests are very happy. As always, I will definitely follow-up on your comments. Wishing you the best! Renata
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Car: necessary

We are at the heart of the High Peak Region and at the foot of Whiteface Olympic Mountain.

Behind the chalet there are trails for walking, hiking, snow shoeing and cross-country skiing. You may use our canoe to explore one of the many waterways nearby. We also have two bicycles available for you. Community tennis courts, ball parks, Lake Everest Beach with live summer concerts are just minutes away. If you wish, there are stables and miles of woodland trails for riding. Lessons available for English, Western and Polo.

You can climb the walls of Wilmington Notch, taking in the most breathtaking aerial views of the valley below. For the most exhilarating experience, You've Got To Go! for the dip in the Copperas Pond after climbing.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday chalet in Wilmington, New York

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Last Minute Special
10 Feb 2017 - 9 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$195
From
A$228
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add A$13 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring Skiing
10 Mar 2017 - 30 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$234
From
A$247
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Spring is in the Air
31 Mar 2017 - 27 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$195
From
A$228
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add A$13 per night, per additional guest
 
May Flowers
28 Apr 2017 - 25 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$221
From
A$234
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add A$13 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Summer
26 May 2017 - 23 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$234
From
A$247
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Summer Glory
24 Jun 2017 - 9 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
A$1,693
 
 
Autumn at It's Best
10 Sep 2017 - 17 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$234
From
A$247
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Leaves have Fallen
18 Oct 2017 - 16 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$215
From
A$228
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add A$13 per night, per additional guest
 
Giving Thanks
17 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$260
 
 
Winter Prelude
27 Nov 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$195
From
A$228
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Happy Holidays
22 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
A$260
 
 
Ski Season
3 Jan 2018 - 15 Feb 2018
2 night minimum stay
A$234
From
A$247
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Sweet Valentino
16 Feb 2018 - 26 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
A$260
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
A$247
A$1,562
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee A$98 + Tax
Cleaning and Linen Fee A$111 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit A$260
Tax Rate 3.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet rental in Wilmington, New York

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • local restaurant guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure
  • The bathrooms has a nice glass walled corner unit shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Loft - 2 single bed
    Living Room - 1 large double bed
  • The Master Bedroom is furnished with Queen Size Bed. It is cozy, quiet and romantic. The Loft features two Twin Beds and has a special ambiance of a mountain home. Slanted ceilings with a skylight window , twig work railing and a comfortable oversize chair. A place where little and big kids enjoy being in. There is a Queen Size futon in the living room for extra guest or larger families.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • books - fiction/non-fiction
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • games - kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • wooden decking
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski
  • snowmobiling
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The chalet is really special in that it is comfortable for a family or a group of friends, yet very intimate for a couple alone. It's a great place just 'to be'- sitting up in the loft in the comfy oversize chair, reading a good book while listening to the gentle rain on the skylight or in the living room snuggled on the couch by the fireplace warming your soul.(At the 46er your firewood is cut, stacked and ready to go.) Or perhaps you prefer sitting on the meditation pillow, listening to the transcendental music while receiving the healing energy of this magical place. There is always a soft throw or a blanket at hand to wrap yourself in and many pillows to arrange for that 'just perfect fit'. In the winter, you'll appreciate the hot water radiators for warming-up your towels or drying wet mitts and socks. The new boiler provides(truly) unlimited hot water showers. The kitchen is well equipped, making it easy to fix a simple breakfast or a Thanksgiving Feast!