check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Grand View Chalet: Great Views, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Ping Pong Table, Fire pit

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


Minimum Stay
2 - 4 nights

About the property

Secluded and peaceful, yet convenient to shopping and restaurants.

We offer 10% discount to senior citizens and active duty military service personal.

Grand View Chalet: minutes away from Maggie Valley Club clubhouse and first tee, nice walks, hikes, waterfalls, Lake Junaluska, great restaurants, White Water Rafting, Fantasy Golf, and Cataloochee Ski Resort, just 9 miles away, among many other attractions. Also, close to grocery stores, places of worship and the hospital. Waynesville, a quaint town 5 miles away, has great cultural events, restaurants, shopping, and is a great place to visit. Take a short day trip to Asheville to see the famous Biltmore House or try your luck at Cherokee Casino.

Grand View Chalet is at an elevation of 3100 feet; the view is magnificent. Relax on a tree-shaded deck with a day of lazy reading; unwind in the hot tub on the screened porch; enjoy an evening under the stars on the deck or by the fire-pit.

Golf: Maggie Valley Club golf course is less than a mile from Grand View Chalet. As you drive to the chalet you will pass several of its fairways and greens. Daily rates available.

Waynesville, NC: While Maggie Valley offers many good restaurants and great shopping, Waynesville is just a few (about 5) miles away and adds even more fine restaurants and excellent shopping.

More Details

Paul & Kitty Long
Member since: 2007
Speaks english, spanish
Response time
Within 12 hours
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
19 January, 2017

About Paul & Kitty Long

Grand View Chalet is owned by Kitty and Paul. It’s the only rental/vacation home they own and manage. They purchased in 2006 after retiring to North Carolina. They became familiar with Maggie Valley when some of their children attended college in the area. At one time they planned to retire to Waynesville, which is very near Maggie Valley, but circumstances drew them to another part of North Carolina. They choose Grand View Chalet for its private setting and wonderful view and the fact it is close to shopping, good restaurants, skiing, hiking trails, and many areas of interest such as Asheville and the Smoky Mountains. After purchasing the house they remodeled and refurnished most of the house inside and out. This included new flooring and rugs, painting inside and out, adding central HAC, repaving the parking area and installing a new hot tub. They love to spend time there when they can and managing it keeps them busy when added to the many other activities of retirement.

Paul & Kitty Long purchased this house in 2006


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(33 traveller reviews)

Grand View Chalet: Great Views, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Ping Pong Table, Fire pit
average rating of 4.969697 based on 33 reviews

Enjoyed our stay

  • 5 of 5

Great place. Very clean and has all you need during your stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice quiet getaway

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I traveled to spend time in the mountains for our first experience with the changing of the leaves. The cabin was very comfortable, well stocked and close to the parkway and other destinations. We thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub and the outside charcoal grille. Our trip was nice and relaxing . Thanks for allowing us to share your property.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Our stay at your wonderful cabin was great! The views were spectacular. The home was comfortable and easy access on the motorcycles. We enjoyed every aspect, the hot tub, cooking out on he grill, early morning coffee on the deck! Couldn't have been better. We will be back! Thank you so much! Donna, Houston, MS

  • Review Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This was our second week at the GVC and will not be our last. We have stayed at other locations in the area and this is the best. While this is obviously not a new structure, the owners have maintained it and added modern decor and features such as internet, flat screen HD TV, etc. The mountain view from the large deck and fireplace supplement the relaxing surroundings. The owners are always responsive to questions and provide instructions about the access and features.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very comfortable, very well-equipped, paved roads all the way, warm home

  • 5 of 5

We stayed 4 nights, and cooked breakfast and dinner every night. It was kind of a family reunion, aged range from 13-60+. Kitchen had every pot, gadget, utensil, serving platter, that we needed. Dishwasher works well, washing machine/dryer works well. Beds are comfortable (one of the single beds creaks a little, but not bad). The house is inside of a golf community, so all roads that we took are paved, not crazy steep. The deck is large and easy on bare feet. Hot tub was a hit for everyone. The ping-pong table was a big hit(pun) with my video-game-playing son. He couldn't wait to put the electronic gadget down and try and beat his grandpa/uncle/aunt/dad or just watch others. We used the fire pit, and there was plenty of wood for us. You will have to climb at least one flight of stairs to get up to the main floor from the driveway. But there are handrails, and the stairs are solid, not wobbly. We went into Cherokee a couple of times, hit up one of the putt-putt places, and Ingles grocery store was just a 10 minute drive away. Wifi was ample speed for everyone, even the stow-away PS4.

The one "complaint" I have is very minor, and nothing the homeowners have any control over. The water utility company were doing repairs one day, and water was cut-off for a few hours. We discovered this after finishing up breakfast, so for us, we just lazed around longer than we had planned. Not an inconvenience to have to sit on the deck and enjoy the trees and nature and each other.

We would definitely stay there again, and recommend it for anyone. The house was clean when we got there, with lots of instructions for how to use things. Some of the light switches don't make sense at first, but you'll figure it out quickly enough.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Our overall experience was very good!

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our time in the area and in this house. It was well stocked and the layout was adequate however the loft lends itself to a lot of noise from down below. All beds were comfortable with the exception of the twin beds. (need memory foam or new mattresses). The deck was wonderful but the grand view was disappointing - you only see a sliver. the view may be better in the winter months when the leaves are off the trees. The little extras were nice - the body lotions and robes on back of doors. Well stocked with towels for both bathrooms. The sectional couch was a great conversation pit and we loved the big farm table! The lock box needs to be replaced as the little black slide is jammed and it's hard to roll the number pad. Ample parking with this house. The Fire pit and Hot tub were nice extras but we did not use either one being that it is summer and its already mighty hot! We would definitely like to be refunded for the hot tub cleaning expense since it was never used. Please let us know when we can expect this. Kim & John Nelson

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Kim and John, Thank you for your review. We appreciated your positive comments. Kitty and I are meticulous in making the stay of our guests as comfortable as possible hence, we will consider the issues you have raised. Our hot tub maintenance crew is required to drain and clean the hot tub before new renters arrive; therefore, this fee is specified in the contract and agreed to once it is accepted. We have had guests that do not use the hot tub, but understand this is part of renting the Chalet since we have no way to determine if the tub was used. This is to protect you and future guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Asheville, NC
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Frankies Italian Trattoria
Nearest Ski
9 Miles
Cataloochee Ski Area
Car: necessary

Grand View Chalet is located on the mountainside above the Maggie Valley Club Golf Course.

Other Activities: Biltmore Estate


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Maggie Valley, North Carolina

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Winter-Spring 2017
5 Jan 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
3 Jun 2017 - 2 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit A$265
drain and clean hot tub A$66 + Tax
clean house A$146 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Nightly rates based on minimum stay and Saturday arrival or departure. Periods other than minimum or weekly are priced proportionally. Email us for exact quote based on arrival and departure dates. Other discounts may apply.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Maggie Valley, North Carolina

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • local restaurant guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower , first floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure , second floor
  • Charming dressing room with sink separate from toilet and shower room.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 single bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed , 2 single bed , (twins = trundle)
  • Bedroom 3 is a loft with queen, trundle, desk and TV including cable and wireless internet.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • games - kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • video player
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Golf Clubs
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • conservatory
  • wooden decking
  • 8 garden chairs
  • long term rentals available
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski
  • snowboarding
  • tennis
Full flight of steps must be taken to reach the main floor and another to reach the sleeping loft. One small, well behaved dog consider. Flea and tick treatment required before arrival. Non-refundable pet fee required.

Other Holiday Properties