Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Golden Spanish Steps Apartment

Bedrooms 3
Space 170 m²
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Luxury 170 Sqm Apt On The Top Of The Steps Of Piazza Di Spagna. 3 Bedrooms

This refined apartment, which can accommodate up to 7 people, is located on the first floor with lift of an ancient palace in the most prestigious area of Rome: via Gregoriana which leads directly on top of the steps of Piazza di Spagna. From here you can enjoy one of the most beautiful views of Rome. The apartment is very spacious, almost 170 sqm furnished with good taste and style. The coffered ceilings hand-decorated, high marble columns of the wide living room, the tapestries on the walls, the piano and other special details make this apartment a magical and comfortable place to spend a pleasant holiday. The entrance with its marble portals, leads into the living area and the sleeping area. The large living room is divided by imposing columns in a day - in conversation and a dining area. One of the sofas is convertible into a double bed. The sleeping area has two double bedrooms with two adjacent bathrooms, one with bathtub and a shower and the other with shower. One of the bedrooms has a nice balcony overlooking the ancient obelisk of Piazza Trinità di Monti, in front of the most prestigious hotel in Rome: Hotel Hassler.

There is also another single bedroom with its own bathroom.

The kitchen is fully equipped: double door refrigerator with ice dispenser, microwave, dishwasher and washing machine, kettle, pots&pans, oven.

The apartment is provided with air conditioning throughout, independent heating, wi-fi internet access and satellite TV.

But rather than describe it, are the photos that clearly illustrate the peculiarity of this residence. With certainty a stay in this environment, because of its location and its characteristics, will help to turn the holiday into something really special.

More Details

Property Manager
Member since: 2014
Speaks english, italian
Response time
Within 12 hours
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
27 June, 2017


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment rental in Centro Storico, Italy

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 170 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • City Centre
  • Town
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath (no shower) , shower enclosure , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure , bidet
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower enclosure , bidet
  • 3 en suite bathrooms: one with separate bathtub and shower, toilette and bidet, and the other 2 with shower, toilette and bidet.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 single bed
  • The sleeping area has two double bedrooms with two adjacent bathrooms, one with bathtub and a shower and the other with shower. One of the bedrooms has a nice balcony overlooking the ancient obelisk of Piazza Trinità di Monti, in front of the most prestigious hotel in Rome: Hotel Hassler. There is also another single bedroom with its own family bathroom with shower.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital


3.5/5 -
(4 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
Golden Spanish Steps Apartment
average rating of 3.5 based on 4 reviews

Horrible Stay! No electricity!

  • 1 of 5

You don't want to stay here! This apartment is completely oversold. We arrived to meet the apartment manager. The first thing she did was show us the electrical power box. This concerned us. Immediately upon entering the apartment we noticed that the appliances were blinking "12:00" indicating a power issue. In our 20 minute walk through, the power went out twice. We were in complete darkness. After the apartment manager left, the power went out 5 MORE TIMES in less than an hour. We were getting ready for an important business dinner and it was a real challenge. We alerted the rental company and they responded, "we'll look into it". No results.

It was 95 degrees (35 degrees celsius) during our stay and we could not run the air conditioners. The power kept going out. Consequently, we didn't sleep well during our stay although they actively market that the apartment has air conditioning.

The bathroom off of the master bedroom has an electrical hot water heater. We were lucky to get about 15 seconds of hot water each morning.

The building is under construction. There are braces throughout the first floor entry and around the elevator. We were afraid to use the elevator due to the power issues and didn't feel very good the structural bracing everywhere. The center courtyard is also torn up with what appeared to be stalled out construction work. Very unappealing.

The day we checked in, we arranged for a car service to the airport for our departure date. We were reassured that there would be no issues with a 5:30 a.m. pick up time. The car service never arrived. We scrambled to find a taxi so that we would not miss our flights.

This listing actively markets that fact that it located at the top of the Spanish Steps. It is actually on an adjacent street. What the listing doesn't tell you is that the Spanish Steps are under construction and gated off. You can't see them at this point in time. We asked a restaurant manager at the top of the Spanish Steps how long the construction would last and he told us, "we have no's been going on forever...and they can't tell us when it will be completed."

I have stayed in VRBO apartments a lot. We just came from a wonderful VRBO stay in Paris. I have NEVER written a negative review. This is my first time because I want other potential renters to know what a horrible experience we had. You don't want to stay here!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused to you in July during your stay in the apartment but, as you mentioned in the review, at that time the apartment had the electrical issue caused by a delay of the ending of the restoration in the building, which caused many problems, and, because the power turned itself off often, the water in that specific bathroom was not hot enough and the A/C didn't work properly. Everything has been sorted out. In the listing it is specified that the apartment is on via Gregoriana, which is at the top of Spanish Steps , 50 metres from the church of the Santissima Trinita’ dei Monti, one of the most exclusive location in Rome. I highly recommend this apartment. Regards, The Property Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Terrific location but issues with apartment.

  • 3 of 5

We were a party of four adults: me and my husband, his sister and a dear friend. We rented this apartment as a three bedroom. While I thought it was to have two bathrooms, we were pleasantly surprised to discover that the third bedroom had its own en suite. That said, the third bedroom was in the back of the apartment- it was small with a funky single day bed and a built in desk shelf with a chair and a built in closet with the "owner's clothes" ( per the gentleman that met us at the apartment to let us in) hanging in it. A bit odd. Besides being a tight room, the room was very dark- like a cave. We never used it. Instead we discovered that the couch in the living room was a pull out and so we used that. The main area of the apartment while spacious was, surprisingly, on the dark side too. And given that it was so hot out, we had to keep the window shutters closed during day light hours to keep the apartment from getting hot and so the apartment was that much darker. As for the master bedroom and en suite: the bedroom was comfortable, we had issues with bathroom. The shower leaked. You could see the dark (mildew or mold?) where the water would leak. The bath mat got soaked and never dried out. More important, the shower would clog up (disgusting to me), and, there was only enough hot water for one or maybe two showers between the two front bathrooms. I was the third to take a shower and froze. The fourth person to shower went to the back bathroom and had a hot shower. We discovered that every one of the showers would clog up. I opted to take a hand held shower in the separate bathtub of the master bath. We reported issues and were told that the back bathroom had its own hot water system, front baths can provide only so much hot water, and that issues would be presented to the owner. Rosa delivered to us additional mats and towels. No one came to address the other issues. This brings up an electric issue. One of the first things that the gentleman showed us was the circuit breaker box and he instructed us as to how to reset. We asked if others have had problems to which he promptly said No. On day two the electric blew. Hmmm. We reported the incident to our contact. We were told that we must turn off two of the a.c. units to use a hair dryer or clothes washing machine. The electric was not a big deal but good to know. Note, second bedroom and bath are bright and airy. Fix the plumbing and this place would get four stars.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Margaret, I'm sorry that your stay in the amazing Golden Spanish Steps apartment had a few issues. Unfortunately the drainage of the shower yes had a an issue and , when I sent the plumber to have a look, we found out why! Unfortunately not all the guests look after the properties they rent it. But it is done now. Also about the electric box, for security reason , especially for guests who stay longer, we show it all the time, just in case. Kindest Regards, Francesca
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

We loved everything about the Golden Spanish Steps

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at the Golden Spanish Steps Apartment. It is beautiful, spacious, great bathrooms, comfortable beds, very clean, wonderful location and it is on a great street. It is on the second floor so there are some steps but they are easy to climb. Francesca and Rosie were very helpful. It was obvious that they really wanted our stay to be perfect in every way. The only thing that I could suggest would be a nespresso coffee machine. They have a washer but no dryer. They do have drying racks and our clothes dried quickly. The street could get a little loud at night but the shutters made the rooms basically sound proof and very dark for a good nights sleep. It was nice to have the metro and taxi stands that close to the apartment. If you have to be at the airport at daybreak schedule a taxi to pick you up in advance. They were not at the taxi stand at that time of the morning for us but the Hotel Hassler, right up the street, was helpful in getting us a taxi. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: May 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

We loved this property - it was exactly as pictured and perfect for our family of 5. The apartment was huge and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The location could not have been better - right by the Spanish Steps and central to everything. We look forward to returning to Rome and this wonderful apartment!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 2, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 1


Nearest Airport
30 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
15 Metres
Nearest Ferry
70 Kilometres
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
20 Metres
Nearest Beach
30 Kilometres
Car: not necessary

Via Gregoriana is a quiet and reserved street, though central, despite the traffic. Many Italian and foreign artists and intellectuals lived there for the health and beautiful location. The church of the Santissima Trinità dei Monti is a late Renaissance church. It is best known for its commanding position above the Spanish Steps which leads down to the Piazza di Spagna. From Via Gregoriana you will have a breathtaking view: the monumental staircase of 135 steps and at the base is the Fontana della Barcaccia credited to Pietro Bernini, father of a more famous son, Gian Lorenzo Bernini. During May, part of the steps are covered by pots of azaleas. The steps are usually crowded with people. In the piazza, at the corner on the right as one begins to climb the steps, is the house where English poet John Keats lived and died in 1821; it is now a museum dedicated to his memory. Nice and interesting shopping tour starting from Via Condotti which is Rome's top haute couture fashion street. Here, you can find big brand names such as Gucci, Armani, Dior, Cartier, Valentino and Hermès, and several other high-class shops. However, the streets around the Via Condotti, such as Via Frattina, Via del Babuino, Via Borgognona and the Piazza di Spagna also offer some excellent high fashion boutiques, including Roberto Cavalli, Dolce & Gabbana, Versace, Prada and Givenchy and even more. The area is well connected with the Metro – Linea A – Spagna Stop and there are many buses running along the nearest Via del Tritone. Taxi station is in Piazza di Spagna. The location is extremely fabulous for those who want to visit the main sites: Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Piazza di Torre Argentina, Colosseum, Forums all within walking distance.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday apartment in Centro Storico, Italy

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Low Season
1 Aug 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add A$30 per night, per additional guest
High Season
1 Sep 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add A$30 per night, per additional guest
Low Season
1 Nov 2017 - 10 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add A$30 per night, per additional guest
High Season
11 Dec 2017 - 20 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add A$30 per night, per additional guest
Christmas Time
21 Dec 2017 - 6 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add A$30 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add A$30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee A$133.48
Additional Guest Fee A$29.66 per person per night
Damage Deposit A$444.94

Security Deposit will be given back to the client on the departure day, after the integrity of the apartment has been checked.

Please note that starting from September 1st 2014 a new tax, called “city tax” was introduced in Rome. Therefore you will be charged 3,50 Euro per person per night. The tax shall be applied only in the first 10 days of the stay and children under 10 years old are exempt.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.