check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Clotilde Book

Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks english

Private, Quiet & short walk to the beach...

11 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 30 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this North Forest Beach holiday house

3 Bd, 2 Ba, . sleeps 6-8, Steps to Beach, pet friendly and a Bike Ride to town.

Property was in a makeover with new pictures just posted!!.... Only 500 ft. from the best beach on Hilton Head Island and only a 5 minute bike ride to town. This tropical 3 bedroom 2 bath private home with lots of room to spread out is at the end of a cul-de-sac in a prime location to everything. This home boasts an open Carolina Room to a large backyard that is not fenced because of the deer passing thru with a patio that has a fireplace and pond-less waterfall. The living room has 1 pull out queen, surround sound system, TV's in almost every room, wireless secured WiFi. Parking for 4 cars, a full kitchen and laundry room and a hot water outside shower for you after you come back from the beach! (Wagon included!) How about 'Free' long distance phone calls within the continental U.S. .You will even have the local newspaper delivered to your door every morning so you can relax with a cup of coffee before you start your day!

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Clotilde Book (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks english

About Clotilde Book

A Michigander that flew south after deciding shoveling snow is for the birds!......... But fun to play in...

Clotilde Book purchased this house in 2007

Why Clotilde Book chose Hilton Head

North Forest Beach is still one of the best and most sought after communities even for rentals because it it not a commercial area. It is a quiet forested area with dead-end streets right next to the ocean, but has quick access to town if you are heading out for fun. Expect deer, racoons, possums, Great horned owls and Lunar moths as part of your forest/beach experience.

What makes this house unique

Being in a quiet cul-de-sac and no stairs this house is geared toward the 45+ crowd and the infirm. There are very few pet friendly homes by the beach that are on the ground level. Don't miss this one!

Reviews

4.5
based on 11 traveller reviews

Private, Quiet & short walk to the beach...
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 11 reviews
New Jersey
5

Perfect! Forest Galore Setting!

  • 5 of 5

Nicely lay out of ranch style living. Plenty of space to roam around. Rooms are nice sizes. TV's in every room even the sun porch! Laundry room is nice and big. You have all the amities of home and more. Very clean and well kept. Owner was always reachable and provided excellent service whenever we needed it. Plenty of windows for cross ventilation and beautiful breezes. Outside backyard is like a forest adventure. Plenty of trees and beautiful birds singing their songs. A well placed hammock that in fact did see a lot of use! Easy walk to beach and great paths for biking. A little secret every morning around 7:30 am to about 9:00 am if you head down to the Crown Plaza Access (left on beach about a 10 minute walk) you will be greeted by an “Unofficial Dog Play Beach Time”. Out little “Noah” loved this part and boy did he have a blast… meeting about 20/30 dogs a day. If you do go with or w/o dog you will be happy you did! Say hello to “Jake” (white golden retriever) he is the “Mayor” of the dog park! Tell him “Noah” from NJ says “Woof”! A great place. We will be back!!!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 29, 2008
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
11 0
Cincinnati
5

Great rental, nice location , and pet friendly!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful vacation at this home! Yes, things were a bit dated, but everything worked well, except a brief issue with the air conditioner, which was immediately addressed. The interior was quite clean , and very well equipped. Reading thru the house guide is a must and very helpful. Very close to the beach, maybe 200 yards, outside shower was great for the dogs, and hose was great for cleaning beach stuff. We used the wagon quite a bit, as well as the grill. The location is very woodsy, so there were a number of mosquitos at first. We sprayed some yard guard type stuff, (pet/child safe)though, and it was fine after that. Plenty of equipment, two bikes in good repair- boogie boards kind of busted, may be good ideas to toss them, but they are cheap. Clotilde was very much on the ball and very nice - all in all, would definitely return!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. The home was just worked on this spring and we have kept the decor of the home in keeping with the architecture of the house. We do not supply beach equipment as the salt water takes its toll. So we leave toys and chairs that others have bought and left for others to enjoy. This is quite common in rental homes.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

TRAVELERS BEWARE - Keep Looking!

  • 1 of 5

TRAVELERS BEWARE! I’ve used VRBO 10 + years, rented in Hilton Head lots of times—this was our first bomb. The house wasn’t well-cleaned before we arrived. 1st day we noticed ants/earwigs & owner sent her landscaper over—he sprayed most of the kitchen floor with industrial liquid Raid. It caused an immediate allergic reaction/breathing problems for my children. His solution—turn on fans. We were left to clean the poison up ourselves. Note that this home is “geared toward the 45+ crowd and the infirm.” Glass dining tables in the living/dining areas are a hazard. The “new” photographs seem to have been taken years ago—the metal frame around the mirror in the master bath has rusted & the fake greenery surrounding the light fixture is covered in filth. Towels for bathing are dingy, smelly & threadbare, with the exception of the decorative ones in the picture of the twin room. The “new” beds with memory foam mattresses had lost their memories and were uniquely uncomfortable. The tiny, “newly remodeled kitchen” had circa 1970’s cabinets, flooring & lighting. The “old fashion array” of kitchen equipment included a slew of beat-up and stained, garage sale cooking pans, but no cookie sheet. The house states that it is non-smoking with smoking porches outside, but ashtrays abound & the stale smell of smoke is prevalent. The “Carolina Room” is an enclosed porch that is hot/stuffy during the day, with furniture that smells mildewed and leaves you itchy. The “hot water outside shower” is uncomfortably hot (as in, makes children cry) and not adjustable. It’s surrounded by 4 large, smelly trash cans & a rusted beach cart with decaying toys. Not a place anyone would want to shower. The bikes that came with the house were corroded with rotten handle grips & a flat tire on one. The well-used beach wagon is necessary as you will need to walk down your street, out of the neighborhood, across N. Forest Beach (major road), past 6 beautiful homes, and through the dunes until you reach the lovely beach. When signing your contract, be sure to list the max number of occupants & cars (8 people & 4 cars). Although you may request to add additional people (if you want to invite friends or relatives to join you), it’s at the owner’s discretion if you will be approved after you have signed. Good luck with that. The owner lives directly across the street and keeps an unusually close eye on her source of income. More people=more income—you will likely be charged. Keep looking!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We find this public humilation distastful but we have no recourse but to respond. This is retrobution, the guest was caught in a breach of contract. As Paul Harvey would say "And now for the rest of the story..." Property managers and Owners prefer to be contacted during your stay if there is a problem. We were only contacted once about the sugar ants which when we arrived, there were none to be found by our man. He sprayed a "Bayer" general bug spray from Lowe's under the kitchen sink and baseboards per her request. She was told to use the organic spray in the kitchen for anything above the floor. Nobody else was around in the kitchen at the time. Had Kristi contacted us during her stay about the outside shower being to hot or the bike tire needing some air (both fixed in 30 mins) or a housekeeping issue, we would have addressed it also. The home was clean, no cigarette smoke & ashtrays "Abound" are in fact glass coasters. (There are 2 ashtrays for front and back yards,) and the towels were not threadbare when she arrived. The pictures of the home were taken June 2016 after some remodeling and painting and can be verified. The real issue here is that this home is owned by a Llc (who will apologize to the neighbors for her unkind comments) , and they require a contract for every rental. It requires a specific amount of guests and pets be listed when signed and returned. Kristi who kept saying she was the "Director of Acquisitions" for a large commerical real estate company in Atlanta signed it. Upon arriving Kristi and her boyfriend Ron who also works at the same company, breached the contract and filled the home with unauthorized overnight guests who stayed the duration of the week.This was not what we expected from people like this after we had given them a discount. There is a penalty for this in the contract. Kristi was told not to do it, agreed with us thru an email she would not do it, was dishonest and did it anyways. Kristi was contacted to stop or she would be charged. Kristi did not heed any warnings but in fact, refused to contact us, changed the locks on the door, and after checking out returned to the rental home hrs later and threaten to go to court to fight this and write "The worst review on Homeaway" if we charged her and did not back down. This is coercion. Per our other reviews this is an isolated incident and should be taken with a grain of salt. This is not about income, but about honesty and responsibility. Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
5

Sooooooo glad we chose 18 Sandpiper!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first vacation renting a house instead of a condo and if the chance arises, we would certainly choose this property again. The location was great for us-close enough to walk or bike to Coligny, yet far enough to provide peace and privacy. The neighborhood was so peaceful, but when we did see a neighbor they were very friendly. It was so so nice to have the beach wagon and bikes included and ready to go so we didn't have to find a place to rent them-and there were beach toys galore had we wanted to use them. The home was just that-A HOME! So very comfortable and well kept. The back yard was accurately described as being an oasis, but being the middle of August it was just too hot for us to hang out there very much. We loved seeing a lizard (or salamander), a possum and a couple of raccoons on occasion at night. We appreciated having the well equipped kitchen and laundry room. It was nice knowing I didn't have to remember to pack these items. And of course we were so pleased to find a pet friendly place this close to the beach. Thanks also to Clotilde for being so quick to answer all of our emails leading up to our stay. We had a terrific vacation and staying at 18 Sandpiper was a big part of what made it so great. I hope we get the opportunity to stay here again and I would not hesitate to recommend it to a friend-or anyone.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We are so glad the home met your expectations and hope your wonderful review will help others looking for the same kind of vacation you were looking for. Peaceful but just a short shot to the beach or town. The best of both worlds.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Evans, GA
5

Great for the family and dogs

  • 5 of 5

My family had a wonderful week at 18 Sandpiper! It is close enough to the beach to walk in a few minutes. After some fun on the beach it was nice to have a warm outside shower to rinse off. The home was clean and comfortable with lots of gathering space. There were a few problems in the kitchen but didn't keep us from enjoying our stay. I got an email the day of our arrival that the ice maker was broken but would be fixed mid week. It was never fixed. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We had a repair man in before you arrived for the ice maker. He said he had to order a new one. Apparently it went from an order to a back order and we were not contacted until Friday about this. Being it was a holiday weekend it did not come in until Tuesday the next week. If you have any concerns please give us a call so we may address them.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Winston-Salem, NC, USA
5

Great property, very convenient location

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful week at this property. My booking was very last minute. The property mgr was wonderful to work with. The house is in a great location, very easy walk to wonderful beach, convenient to Coligny Plaza, and very central to all of HHI. The house was very comfortable, the yard was very private, and the neighborhood was quiet and peaceful. The Carolina Room was a great place to hangout, relax, and read. Very pet friendly. I hope to stay here again in 2015.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 9, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Savannah, GA
Nearest Barpub
1.2 Miles
Aqua, Bombora's, Big Bamboo, + around Coligny
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
To Daufuskie Island
Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
Shipyard Plantation
Nearest Train
45 Miles
Savannah, GA
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Hilton Head Island, SC
Nearest Restaurant
1.2 Miles
Aqua $$$, Bombora's $$, Aunt Chilada's $$
Nearest Ski
300 Miles
N/A
Nearest Beach
North Forest Beach
Car: recommended

This home is in one of the most sought after locations on Hilton Head, 'North Forest Beach'. Why? One of the reasons is there is no public parking access to it so only the residents can walk there. But, by beach or bike path you are only a 5 minute bike ride from famous 'Coligny' and all the unique shops, restaurants, public beach, grocery stores, and watering holes. The island has lots of Outlet malls, Restaurants, Marina's, with Tennis and Golf facilities which are just around the corner from this centrally located home. But the best part is, you are in a quiet forest area and only 6 houses from the beach, and includes a wagon. ( other renters sometimes leave some beach things behind.) Take bikes for a ride down the bike paths to town for exploring or shopping.There is secured Wi-Fi, parking for 4 cars and a fully supplied kitchen & laundry. Enjoy our free newspaper delivery every day to search new ideas and events with your coffee in the morning.

Other Activities: Climb the lighthouse in Harbortown, visit old tabby ruins, take your kids crabbing or a dolphin cruise, even a horseback ride on the island. You will not run out of restaurants to try on this island. 'Hinoki's' sushi to 'The Sea Shack', and anywhere in between including the roof top of 'Santa Fe' is all game here. Visit Savannah, Beaufort & Daufuskie Island. All close and all different. Then go shopping in Bluffton and their farmers market for fresh food and eclectic works of art. Hilton Head also now has a farmers market located at the 'Shelter Cove town park' property which is a great family excursion. (See our link page on our website for info on days and times) Buy fresh seafood and have a low country boil in our back yard and finish that off with somemores by the fire.

Golf: There are more than 8 public golf courses within the 8 mile radius of this home. Shipyard Golf Club~843-689-4653. Sea Pines: Harbour Town Golf Links~ 843-842-8484, Ocean Course~ 843-842-8484, Heron Point~ 843-842-8484.

Palmetto Dunes: Arthur Hills, George Fazio Course, Robert Trent Jones Course~ 843-785-1138. Indigo Run: Golden Bear Golf Club~ 843-689-2200 PLUS 9 public courses off island.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in North Forest Beach, South Carolina

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
2016~Holiday season
15 Oct 2016 - 31 Dec 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
A$168
From
A$222
Fri,Sat
A$856
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add A$34 per night, per additional guest
 
Snow Birds~2017
1 Jan 2017 - 28 Feb 2017
30 night minimum stay
A$2,579
 
 
2017~Early Spring
1 Mar 2017 - 17 Mar 2017
7 night minimum stay
A$977
 
 
2017~Spring
18 Mar 2017 - 9 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
A$1,606
 
 
2017~Summer
10 Jun 2017 - 11 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
A$2,700
 
 
2017~Fall
12 Aug 2017 - 13 Oct 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
A$1,606
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit A$403
Departure Cleaning A$202
Pet Fee A$134
Tax Rate 10.0%

Weekly, NO FEES, (commissions, ). Prices for PETS will be regarded as a deposit and refunded if pet is a good guest also. Base rate on the low season $125.00, Median $200.00 & High $343.00 per night.
Thanksgiving/Christmas/New Years weeks $1300 by week only.
Monthly "Snowbird" rentals November- February $2300.00. MARCH will only be available with a January- Feb monthly rental only or stand alone at $4200.00.

Refundable Deposits; $300 for family/$100 for pets.

Cancellations - Prior to 60 days of arrival, guest will receive all monies paid, less $100 cancellation fee. 60-30 days prior to arrival forfeits their deposit plus $100 cancellation fee. 30 days prior to arrival forfeits all monies paid unless we can rebook it for the same rate, plus $100 cancellation fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in North Forest Beach, South Carolina

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Town ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • soap
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Free Local Calls
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • local restaurant guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • water cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Outside - outdoor shower , Hot/cold running water. Great for kids shampoo parties.
    Hall Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure , Recently remodeled, has walk-in stall shower.
    Master Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower , Convenience height comode. Can be used by hall bedrms also.
  • All brand new. One standing shower and one shower/tub combo and one outside heated shower great for after the beach to shampoo n' go. Master bath has 2 doors so it can be used by the hall bedrooms also.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Living Room - 1 sofa bed/futon , 1 new queen pull out.
    Master Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed , Memory foam mattress.
    Bedroom 2 - 2 single bed , New Mattress's. TV and 2 closets.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed , View of backyard, TV and 2 closets. Across from hall bath.
  • We have had several weddings in this large living room that has 2 sofa's with 1 new pull out queen. Which when being used, everyone else goes to the Carolina room for TV and activities. All the beds are new! The master has a new king size bed with a memory foam mattress, 2 twins and a memory foam queen overlooking the quiet backyard. All bedrooms also have ceiling fans, TVs, DVD and lots of closet space through out the house. An added bonus is the large full service laundry room with an outside door for those returning from the beach. Have a baby? We now rent out and set up a crib and linens in the room of your choice which are strictly for this home. Free long distance phone calls in the US.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • books - fiction/non-fiction
  • books - kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • games - kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • video player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • patio
  • Veranda / Loggia ...
  • conservatory
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Yard
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkeling/diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The Carolina room is the most popular room with screened sliders on three sides for that outdoor feeling, great for breakfast or with coffee and with your own delivered newspaper in the morning. 2 Sofa's, a game table, and a computer desk with Wi Fi and a fax machine in the large living room. Games, books, videos are provided in the home. Newly remodeled Kitchen which is fully equipped. There is a large full service laundry room with outside door wonderful for changing out wet bathing suits. Hot/Cold outside shower. Tile, carpet and wood floors throughout. Two smoking patios in the front and back. The fireplace is on the shaded patio along with a pondless waterfall, grill and eating area which is great in the evenings for family gatherings in a private backyard setting. And how about 'Free' long distance phone calls within the continental U.S. and Digital HDTV!