Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Private, Quiet, stroll to the beach...🐬

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,200 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 8 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bd, 2 Ba, . sleeps 6-8, Steps to Beach, pet friendly and a Bike Ride to town.

Only 500 ft. from the best beach on Hilton Head Island and only a 5 minute bike ride to town. This tropical 3 bedroom 2 bath private home with lots of room to spread out is at the end of a cul-de-sac in a prime location to everything. This home boasts an open Carolina Room to a large wooded backyard, that is not fenced because of the deer passing thru, with a patio that has a fireplace, grill and table for 6. The living room has 1 pull out queen, TV's in almost every room, wireless secured WiFi. Parking for 4 cars, a full kitchen and large laundry room with a hot water outside shower for you after you come back from the beach! (Wagon included!) How about 'Free' long distance phone calls within the continental U.S. .You will even have the local newspaper delivered to your door every morning so you can relax with a cup of coffee before you start your day!


Property Manager
Clotilde Book
Member since: 2007
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few hours
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
22 June, 2018

About Clotilde Book

A Michigander that flew south after deciding shoveling snow is for the birds!......... But fun to play in...☃️

Clotilde Book purchased this house in 2007

Why Clotilde Book chose North Forest Beach

North Forest Beach is still one of the best and most sought after communities even for rentals because it it not a commercial area. It is a quiet forested area with dead-end streets right next to the ocean, but has quick access to town if you are heading out for fun. Expect deer, racoons, possums, Great horned owls and Lunar moths as part of your forest/beach experience.

What makes this house unique

Being in a quiet cul-de-sac and no stairs this house is geared toward the 45+ crowd and the infirm. There are very few pet friendly homes by the beach that are on the ground level. Don't miss this one!

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in North Forest Beach, South Carolina

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8 ...
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • We do not supply beach towels, chairs or toys but you are welcome to use what is left behind at your own risk. No guns or explosives.
  • Wash off all sand from people & pets outside w/ hose or heated shower. Pick up after pets. Pets with no signed agreement, you will lose your deposit.
  • Leaving, take all trash out, run dishwasher, run a load of colored or light towels in the washer. Do not move furniture. Or you will be charged extra.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Town ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • soap
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Free Local Calls
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • local restaurant guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • water cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Outside - outdoor shower , Hot/cold running water. Great for kids shampoo parties.
    Hall Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure , Recently remodeled, has walk-in stall shower.
    Master Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower , Convenience height comode. Can be used by hall bedrms also.
  • All brand new. One standing shower and one shower/tub combo and one outside heated shower great for after the beach to shampoo n' go. Master bath has 2 doors so it can be used by the hall bedrooms also.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Living Room - 1 sofa bed/futon , 1 new queen pull out.
    Master Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed , Memory foam mattress.
    Bedroom 2 - 2 single bed , New Mattress's. TV and 2 closets.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed , View of backyard, TV and 2 closets. Across from hall bath.
  • We have had several weddings in this large living room that has 2 sofa's with 1 new pull out queen. Which when being used, everyone else goes to the Carolina room for TV and activities. All the beds are new! The master has a new king size bed with a memory foam mattress, 2 twins and a memory foam queen overlooking the quiet backyard. All bedrooms also have ceiling fans, TVs, DVD and lots of closet space through out the house. An added bonus is the large full service laundry room with an outside door for those returning from the beach. Have a baby? We now rent out and set up a crib and linens in the room of your choice which are strictly for this home. Free long distance phone calls in the US.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • books - fiction/non-fiction
  • books - kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • games - kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • video player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • patio
  • Veranda / Loggia ...
  • conservatory
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Yard
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkeling/diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The Carolina room is the most popular room with screened sliders on three sides for that outdoor feeling, great for breakfast or with coffee and with your own delivered newspaper in the morning. 2 Sofa's, a game table, and a computer desk with Wi Fi and a fax machine in the large living room. Games, books, videos are provided in the home. Newly remodeled Kitchen which is fully equipped. There is a large full service laundry room with outside door wonderful for changing out wet bathing suits. Hot/Cold outside shower. Tile, carpet and wood floors throughout. Two smoking patios in the front and back. The fireplace is on the shaded patio along with a pondless waterfall, grill and eating area which is great in the evenings for family gatherings in a private backyard setting. And how about 'Free' long distance phone calls within the continental U.S. and Digital HDTV!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(26 traveller reviews)

65% Complete
15% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
7% Complete
Private, Quiet, stroll to the beach...🐬
average rating of 4.269231 based on 26 reviews
5

August 2017

  • 5 of 5

Nice quiet property. Short distance to a very uncrowded beach!

Just like being at home, if you needed something then it was most likely in the house.

The property owner was great to work with!

  • Review Submitted: 20/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou Russell! We are glad you were happy with what we advertised. A quiet comfortable place to hang your hat and go play. Life sometimes is just better simple.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

A great place to spend a week at the beach

  • 5 of 5

Property was just as expected and advertised. Private, quiet, and close to the beach. Property was clean, fully furnished - and then some. Every amenity that would be required for a week at the beach was provided. The back yard was great, an extra tank of gas (propane) for the grill was provided. The house was clean and perfect for the two of us and our dog. The owner was available when we had an issue understanding how to set up the TV's for the internet cable service. She was kind and accommodating to our needs.

All in all a perfect week at the beach at a wonderful home rental.

  • Review Submitted: 17/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location!! Easy access to beach and Coligny Plaza!!

  • 5 of 5

Not the most luxurious or modern place but very cozy and relaxing house!! Has everything you need to enjoy a vacation at the beach!

  • Review Submitted: 05/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Bryan for your kind review. We are not luxurious or modern, but comfortable, affordable and pet friendly by the beach. It is the location and privacy we are known for.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Place in a great area

  • 5 of 5

Been Staying for a few years love the house and location. Plus it is dog friendly

  • Review Submitted: 13/05/2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not recommended

  • 1 of 5

We have been visiting Hilton Head for seven years now travelling from Canada. We have never had a problem. We have used VRBO over twenty times and never had an issue. I would not recommend anyone staying here. The house has a good location close to the beach and has a private back yard - both pluses. The house, however, is quite run down, disorganized and dusty. In addition, we had a dispute with the owner and she kept our entire deposit which was unreasonable. This has never happened to us before. I would stay away.

  • Review Submitted: 17/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Paul we are sorry for your unfortunate experience but it was through no fault of ours. Let’s get to the real issue in this complaint. You saw the rules stated on HomeAway and sign by you, that if we were not notified a week in advance by writing and approved by us of any changes, and did not submit a pet agreement per pet you would lose your deposit. This is required for the safety of others. If your pets harm another individual while you are not around we have no record of what shots the animal has had or a way to contact your veterinarian for hospital purposes. Being from another country means this would be even harder for us. We never saw any paperwork for the animals. Even after you arrived and met me you did not mention the extra animals in the cars, but chose to hide them, even though I asked you what other changes besides the extra person you brought was all you were claiming. You were notified by email why your deposit was not going to be refunded by us. You chose anyways to file a complaint with HomeAway which found us in compliance with the contract & rules. We are sorry and disappointed that HomeAway chose to post this review after finding you were not compliant with our rules you read & signed. We thought the matter was settled privately so as not to cause more harm to either party. Being honest with each other develops customer relationships. We take the safety of the neighborhood seriously and they appreciate that gesture. Again we are sorry that you feel this way.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Good value for distance to the beach

  • 3 of 5

I do not like to give bad reviews unless we really had a terrible experience with our stay. With that being said we thought that the home was clean, very outdated, needs new flooring and a lot of internal updates. The bed in the master was very comfortable, and we thought the kids bedroom was the nicest looking room in the whole house.

Our complaints would be, we could not get the outdoor shower to work, one of the beach chairs was broken, the fountain that was supposed to be a highlight in the backyard did not work, my husband even tried to fill it with water and it leaked all over. The outdoor furniture was old and broken except for a chair or two at the outdoor table. The pictures show a hammock in the back yard (we were sooo looking forward to relaxing in that after seeing it listed and it was not there. There were hoses and broken pots and laying all around in what was to be the landscaped section up an around the house and sidewalk.

The bikes were very nice to have. This could be a very nice vacation rental if it were just cared for, inside and out.

We still enjoyed our time at Hilton Head and we are very appreciative of the home and the opportunity to rent it. Unless some upgrades and clean up are done we would probably not stay again.

  • Review Submitted: 04/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We wished you had called us during your stay to correct some of these things. We had a cold hard winter (freezing, snow & hail) and turned of the shower, pumps and put up the hammock. We do not supply beach chairs, people leave them behind. The fountain is called a pondless waterfall. It is water that flows down over rocks. It is not suppose to be full of water for childrens safety. We did find one strap broken on an outside lawn chair, all 6 chairs around the table are only a year old and in good working order. This is a pet friendly home with access to the beach. We do post pictures of the home so you can decide if it might suit you, but please remember everyones "Decor" is different. Were you coming to the beach with your pet to vacation or was decor your priority? As old rentals get bought and upgraded pets are less welcome, this is the new norm in this area. All appliances are new, glasstop stove w/convection oven, Maytag washer & dryer etc, with everything in working order. We feel that a comfortable, clean place for you and your pet is more important than decor for one week, but the choice is yours.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Savannah, GA
Nearest Barpub
1.2 Miles
Aqua, Bombora's, Big Bamboo, + around Coligny
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
To Daufuskie Island
Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
Shipyard Plantation
Nearest Train
45 Miles
Savannah, GA
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Hilton Head Island, SC
Nearest Restaurant
1.2 Miles
Aqua $$$, Bombora's $$, Aunt Chilada's $$
Nearest Ski
300 Miles
N/A
Nearest Beach
North Forest Beach
Car: recommended

This home is in one of the most sought after locations on Hilton Head, 'North Forest Beach'. Why? One of the reasons is there is no public parking access to it so only the residents can walk there. But, by beach or bike path you are only a 5 minute bike ride from famous 'Coligny' and all the unique shops, restaurants, public beach, grocery stores, and watering holes. The island has lots of Outlet malls, Restaurants, Marina's, with Tennis and Golf facilities which are just around the corner from this centrally located home. But the best part is, you are in a quiet forest area and only 6 houses from the beach, and includes a wagon. ( other renters sometimes leave some beach things behind.) Take bikes for a ride down the bike paths to town for exploring or shopping.There is secured Wi-Fi, parking for 4 cars and a fully supplied kitchen & laundry. Enjoy our free newspaper delivery every day to search new ideas and events with your coffee in the morning.

Other Activities: Climb the lighthouse in Harbortown, visit old tabby ruins, take your kids crabbing or a dolphin cruise, even a horseback ride on the island. You will not run out of restaurants to try on this island. 'Hinoki's' sushi to 'The Sea Shack', and anywhere in between including the roof top of 'Santa Fe' is all game here. Visit Savannah, Beaufort & Daufuskie Island. All close and all different. Then go shopping in Bluffton and their farmers market for fresh food and eclectic works of art. Hilton Head also now has a farmers market located at the 'Shelter Cove town park' property which is a great family excursion. (See our link page on our website for info on days and times) Buy fresh seafood and have a low country boil in our back yard and finish that off with somemores by the fire.

Golf: There are more than 8 public golf courses within the 8 mile radius of this home. Shipyard Golf Club~843-689-4653. Sea Pines: Harbour Town Golf Links~ 843-842-8484, Ocean Course~ 843-842-8484, Heron Point~ 843-842-8484.

Palmetto Dunes: Arthur Hills, George Fazio Course, Robert Trent Jones Course~ 843-785-1138. Indigo Run: Golden Bear Golf Club~ 843-689-2200 PLUS 9 public courses off island.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in North Forest Beach, South Carolina

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
2018~Summer
9 Jun 2018 - 27 Jul 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
AU$2,768
 
 
2018~Late Summer
28 Jul 2018 - 17 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
AU$2,096
 
 
2018~Fall
18 Aug 2018 - 12 Oct 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
AU$1,734
 
 
2018~ Late Fall
13 Oct 2018 - 16 Nov 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
AU$168
From
AU$222
Fri,Sat
AU$884
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add AU$34 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
17 Nov 2018 - 23 Nov 2018
7 night minimum stay
AU$1,177
Flat fee
 
 
Holiday Season
24 Nov 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
AU$168
From
AU$222
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
AU$908
 
 
Christmas
22 Dec 2018 - 29 Dec 2018
8 night minimum stay
AU$1,177
Flat fee
 
 
Snow Birds~2019
1 Jan 2019 - 27 Feb 2019
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
AU$168
From
AU$222
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
AU$753
AU$2,580
 
 
2019~Early Spring
2 Mar 2019 - 15 Mar 2019
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
AU$990
 
 
2019~Spring
16 Mar 2019 - 7 Jun 2019
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
AU$1,693
 

Additional information about rental rates

Departure Cleaning AU$201.58 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit AU$403.17
Pet Fee AU$134.39

Weekly, Off season minimum, 4 nights. NO FEES, (commissions, ). Prices for PETS will be regarded as a deposit and refunded if pet is a good guest also. Base rate on the low season $125.00, Median $200.00 & High $343.00 per night.
Thanksgiving/Christmas/New Years weeks $1300 by week only.
Monthly "Snowbird" rentals November- February $2300.00. MARCH will only be available with a January- Feb monthly rental only or stand alone at $4200.00.

Refundable Deposits; $300 for family/$100 for pets.

Cancellations - Prior to 60 days of arrival, guest will receive all monies paid, less $100 cancellation fee. 60-30 days prior to arrival forfeits their deposit plus $100 cancellation fee. 30 days prior to arrival forfeits all monies paid unless we can rebook it for the same rate, plus $100 cancellation fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable