Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Cleugh Manor; Superb Entertaining Space for Families, History and Nature Lovers

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms8
Space 1,200 m²
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

6 bedroom, 8 bathroom Border Manor with spectacular Mountain Views

Built in 1893 by the afamed architect Norman Shaw, this stunning fully renovated 6 bedroom, 8 bathroom house would keep any group occupied, with a pub style games room (with full size snooker table and fully functional bar), cinema room, covered pool(available May- August), spa (with steam room and juccuzi), gym, a chef's dream kitchen, library, and more, your every desire is catered to at Cleugh Manor. If the house isn't enough to keep one occupied, the Manor is ideally situated on extensive grounds which adjoin the reservoir within Kielder Forest, one of Europe's largest forests and National Parks. Ideal for nature lovers and outdoor pursuits, golf, fishing, hiking, and zip lining, only name a few of the activities available close by. Cleugh Manor is also at the heart of countless sites to see both in Scotland and England as a border property smack in-between Newcastle-Upon-Tyne and Edinburgh. Other than these impressive cities Alnwick, Floors Castle, the Holy Island of Lindisfarne, Traquair House for ale lovers, Melrose Village are only a few of the many historic and fascinating places to visit. With so much available, your stay at the Cleugh Manor is guaranteed to be a memorable, and one you will likely want to repeat. If you have any questions please feel free to call 07555104514.


Owner
Cleugh Manor
Member since: 2015
Speaks english, french, Hindi
Response time
Within a day
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
18 June, 2018

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chateau / country house rental in Rochester, United Kingdom

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 8 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
    Bathroom 6 -
    Bathroom 7 -
    Bathroom 8 -
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • 5 bedrooms are doubles, and 1 bedroom has 2 singles. All bedrooms have en-suites. A downstairs (ground floor) room converts into an easy access seventh bedroom with attached half bath.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • forests
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(44 traveller reviews)

79% Complete
15% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Cleugh Manor; Superb Entertaining Space for Families, History and Nature Lovers
average rating of 4.75 based on 44 reviews
5

Surpassed our expectations.

  • 5 of 5

We had an 8 night stay at Cleugh Manor for my 50th birthday celebrations. We needed somewhere that would accept a large party of guests and their dogs and had all we wanted.

A very comfortable and beautiful place within sublime grounds.

We especially loved our walks around the Manor, the river was a surprise and the dogs and children loved the plodge.

We had beautiful weather throughout our stay, the swimming pool was a disappointment even with the best of intentions to help heat it, we only ventured in a couple of times before the teeth chattering got a bit noisy.

The rooms were gorgeous, all our guests had to pull straws on who got which room as there was something in each for everyone.

The men loved the games room, it was hard some days to get everyone together as they had all gone into different areas of the house, but that was all part of the fun.

If I was to have a constructive critique about certain aspects, I'd have the hot tub outside to enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

The gazebo was a great idea but it was too hidden away to enjoy the gardens, however we had such great sunshine, we brought the furniture out onto the lawn.

Maybe a welcome pack with instructions on how to use certain things in the house.

Thank you for the bottle of fizz too that was a very kind touch to make the beginning of my special birthday sparkle.

We all had a great time, the enclosed court yard was a blessing for the dogs to enjoy their holiday too without any stress of them escaping.

I don't have a bad word to say about this property and would wholeheartedly recommend it for the perfect retreat.

Thank you for having us.

P.S. A walkie talkie would be a great idea if we ever came back. It's that vast to find everyone sometimes :)

  • Review Submitted: 24/05/2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The staff are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are going to be installing a second outdoor Jacuzzi next year so please check it out when you come next. We are going to have an instruction pack done up for Cleugh Manor which we will publish shortly. The pool was delayed in heating as it had just undergone some repairs so we were a bit late in getting it heated up. It takes about a day to increase the temperature by one degree, but we intend starting earlier next year so you can thoroughly enjoy it. Thank you for such a warm and lovely comment - we are part of a micro-economy here and your comments and business is a huge help to us. We look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards, Cleugh Manor Staff
Did you find this review helpful?
9 1
5

Second visit so we knew what we were in for - it's an amazing place and we had a great time again.

  • 5 of 5

The Manor is laden with character and facility, comfort, range and extraordinary variety. We were a three generation family party, well received, well looked after and with so much to do, there is no need to leave the place. The vast adjacent woodlands also a delight. Trouble is, you give an honest review and then find it's booked up. I wish I could have said it has a short coming. It has none.

  • Review Submitted: 12/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Lovely house with lots of great facilities but some serious problems with some areas of plumbing

  • 3 of 5

Overall had very good holiday despite some real problems which should have been notified or dealt with before we arrived. One of the ensuite toilets wasn't working which meant people in that room had to go down two floors to toilet at night. Was told it was a major job to fix. An alternative room/dining area with fold down bed on ground floor was offered, but no ensuite.

Also there was awful smell of sewage from toilet on ground floor, which we were told was due to pump not coping,which was being dealt with later in the year. The jacuzzi bath used most of the hot water, leaving other bathrooms short, and just hopeless to use as an ordinary bath/ over bath shower as very slippery and felt unsafe. There was inadequate, in some cases no clothes storage in the bedrooms, and no bedside tables or lighting. The kitchen was well equipped but most of the cook ware and some of the ovens were very dirty. So although the house is very beautiful there are some really basic problems which are spoiling the experience and it would be better to have spent money on those rather than a TV in every possible room. We did accept a small refund because of these issues, but the house certainly did not meet up to expectations.

  • Review Submitted: 02/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to see this review even though we were under the impression that we had satisfactorily resolved all issues. However, I will re-iterate them in this response for clarification. The bathroom in the Celestial Suite has developed a leak just before your arrival, and required the bathroom tiles to be taken up for repair, which there was no time to complete as we did not want to disrupt your stay. We had offered for a plumber to be on site to repair this advising the disruptive nature of the job but that was declined. The alternative bedroom offered has a proper bed, and also an adjoining toilet and sink. Also only the toilet was affected in the above bathroom, the sink and shower were working as normal. This has since been repaired. There are overall 7 full bathrooms, and 3 half bathrooms at the property. The smell was coming from one on the half baths on the groundfloor temporarily and was resolved I believe by Paul. There is a communal hot tub available to use that is not affected. I think what you are referring to is the Jacuzzi in the Queens Bedroom. Of course, if this is used as well as multiple showers taken in a short duration (it takes 500 liters of water to fill) you may be temporarily out of hot water whilst the system reheat the water in storage tanks (which store 2500 litres of hot water at any given point in time). The house (which was built in 1893) is supplied water from a spring, meaning there is only a limited amount of water we can store and keep heated at one time. All baths and showers are standard and we are unsure what would make a bath unsafe. We have never had any complaint about clothes storage, bed side tables or lighting before, with most bedrooms having more than two lights, and wardrobes or storage for clothes available in all but the 'kid's bedroom.' Nonetheless we will take this into consideration to further improve the house. We did offer the housekeeping team is available at all times to go in and rectify any problems you notice during your stay if they been as thorough as normal before your arrival, which again was not availed. Despite our resolutions and solving of any issues we did offer a refund which was accepted. In your message to us you said "that despite some issues we think the house is lovely and we have had an excellent holiday" so we sad to see a review not quite accurate in reflecting the exchanges we have had, but hope you indeed had a good time and to see you again. Regards Jennifer
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
5

Superb Venue

  • 5 of 5

Facilities in the house were great. Weather was poor - rained continuously for 24 hours during our stay - but plenty to do to keep nine adults and four children amused, both during the day and into the evening. Children loved the cinema, guys enjoyed snooker room.

Great venue for family, but I think would also suit six or seven couples.

  • Review Submitted: 21/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

90th Birthday Celebration

  • 4 of 5

We spent a lovely time at Cleugh Manor from the 8th until the 13th of April. We were very impressed by the size, location and the facilities of the house. The weather was not very kind to us to us so we made full use of the games room, cinema room and hot tub. The children had a great time. The surrounding countryside is lovely and we visited Kielder Water on the one reasonable day that we had. We also visited the Observatory which was very interesting but the weather prevented us from viewing the heavens! It's a pity that we were unable to use the swimming pool and barbeque area as these are two lovely areas of the house. There are however a few negative points that are worthy of mention. One of the bedrooms had water dripping through the ceiling which was caused by a leaking toilet in the room above. It looked like that this had been leaking for some time as the room smelt very damp. We arranged an alternative bedroom for the children as we felt that the environment was unsafe and unhealthy. The shower did not work in one of the other bedrooms. A few of the kitchen electrical appliances were broken and the lights above the snooker table were not working. We also had a problem getting the main gate open. The solution was to activate the sensor and give it plenty of time to react. The gates will open eventually! The house could do with a general information folder where these sorts of issues could be explained.

Regardless of these issues, we would recommend the house to anyone and would love to return for another week later in the year when the weather is a bit better.

  • Review Submitted: 19/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cleugh Manor was the perfect place for a family gathering.

  • 4 of 5

The bedrooms are all a great size. We loved the lounge as it was very cosy and warm and well appointed. The weather was not great but we still managed to explore the grounds and lake. The outside courtyard was superb for the dogs. We used the games room a lot and this also is a great room with plenty to keep you entertained. Lots of towels and toiletries in every bathroom was good also.

The only negative was that the kitchen, we think needed more and better tools. We cooked a lot and found it short of baking tins and a few other necessaries.

The hot tub , we feel, is in the wrong location up some tiny stairs but nevertheless was a great addition as is the cinema.

All in all a fabulous house that we would recommend.

  • Review Submitted: 12/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

For local attractions visit: http://cleughmanor.com/explore-the-location.html

For local activities visit: http://cleughmanor.com/activities.html

Photos

Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$401.62
Pet Fee AU$89.25
Damage Deposit AU$624.74

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if cancelled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable