Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

A Lovely Modern City Centre Apartment with Private Parking

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 50 m²
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedroom apartment sleeping 4

Hopetoun Crescent is an excellent location just to the east of the New Town. It is about a 10 minute walk to Princes Street and Waverley Station and less than a 10 minute walk from the tram stop at York Place so access to the airport is very easy. In the immediate vicinity are a host of restaurants and bars thanks to the proximity of the Playhouse Theatre. There is also the renowned Italian deli, Valvona and Crolla on Elm Row, just a 5 minute walk away.

The property is on the second floor (two flights of stairs) of a modern apartment building has the bonus of parking on site. Please note that access to the car park is down a further flight and a half of stairs from the ground floor. The accommodation is well laid out with a good sized sitting room with large TV and DVD player and there is a dining table sitting 6 people. The kitchen has a small dining table and is equipped with a washing machine. The bathroom includes an electric shower. There are 2 bedrooms, 1 double and 1 twin.

More Details

Property Manager
Francois
Member since: 2007
Speaks english, french
Response time
Within a day
Response rate
90%
Calendar last updated:
23 November, 2017

Map

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Edinburgh
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Joseph Pearce
Nearest Train
0.7 Miles
Waverley
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
No 1 Chinese
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Portobello
Car: not necessary

The Playhouse Theatre is less than a 10 minute walk away and next to this is the Omni Centre with its multi-screen cinema and selection of restaurants.

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment rental in Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 50 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • City Centre
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 single bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • restaurants
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(12 traveller reviews)

25% Complete
41% Complete
16% Complete
8% Complete
8% Complete
A Lovely Modern City Centre Apartment with Private Parking
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 12 reviews
5

Simply wonderful

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was wonderful! The Flat provided us with a wonderful place to rest each evening. We enjoyed the quiet of the neighborhood. Grocery stores and restaurants were very close. There were four adults and we had plenty of room. Yes, there are steps--but we were doing steps everywhere we went. It was a great home-away-from-home. We were sad to leave.

  • Review Submitted: 12/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

great except for the toilet

  • 5 of 5

the worst problem was the toilet flush. When you have 4 people all wanting to use the toilet in the morning a 6 minute wait for it to fill up is not helping. I timed it. That sort of problem is easy to fix so,I advise you to get it done.

  • Review Submitted: 06/07/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

No respect for paying guests

  • 1 of 5

This experience starts with the climb from the lower ground car park which makes a second floor apartment feel like a fourth is it worth the climb not really. You are greeted with a grubby tied apartment in need of some tlc

In need of a cuppa after your long journey great if you don't mind chipped mugs or a shower in the horrible bathroom with the towels you have been left that have for you with bleach marks on them and you won't stay long in the grubby bathroom which really needs attention

Perhaps you may decide to relax in the lounge the uncomfortable sofa and chairs will keep you on your toes as you look around at the cracked tiles on the fireplace and bits of wood that prop some of the furniture up the chips on the plant pot holders and the dirty window casings even the drink coasters are damaged and have seen better days

No need to set your alarm clock as the mass exodus of buses from the bus station turn under your bedroom window the excruciating noise is guaranteed to wake you

Don't go near the intercom the cleaner hasn't in years

Attempts have been made with the badly fitted laminate floor which gets some getting used to on a second floor apartment but you will wonder why when they got down on their hands and knees to fit the laminate why they didn't clean the skirting boards

There is no respect here for paying guests here so don't expect much and you won't be disappointed

You may wonder why you haven't been asked for a damage security deposit I think ithe reason is that it would be very difficult to work out what was not already damaged before your stay

  • Review Submitted: 21/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, we do appreciate all comments so we can consider them and act on them for the benefit of our future guests. Firstly we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but we assure you that we do respect our guests. It appears as though your stay started badly as you were unhappy with the number of stairs from the car park. The on site car parking is a very useful facility but it is down an extra flight and a half of stairs from the ground floor. I have amended the advert so it makes it clear that there are more stairs so future guests are not surprised by this. After climbing all these stairs you then wanted to enjoy a cup of tea and were confronted with some chipped mugs. I agree that this is very disappointing as these should have been identified and thrown out especially as we have many mugs in the cupboard that are in good condition. It appears as though after these disappointments we lost your confidence from which were we unable to recover. With regards the bathroom we don't believe it is quite as you have described. True, it is now dated which is why we decided a few months ago that we would refurbish it. The bathroom has already been scheduled for replacement after the summer season, unfortunately it could not be programmed in before this. We are confused about the comments on the furniture. The sofa and arm chairs have a wooden frame so one does not "sink" into a soft sofa but they seem comfortable enough in our opinion but we will certainly consider a replacement for these. We could not identify the furniture that was being "propped up" so we are not sure to what this refers. We are sorry that you were disturbed by the buses but the windows are double glazed so it looks as though one just needs to keep the windows closed early in the morning. The twin bedroom overlooks the quieter one way street, along which no buses run, so one should not be disturbed in this room.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Conveniently located apartment which has all necessary equipment for a comfortable stay

  • 4 of 5

We found this apartment comfortable enough for our family of four adults. Although it requires an update, such as bathroom, a fresh paint and removal of the old carpet in the bedroom, the place was easily accessible from the train station and close to everything we wanted to see without using any form of transportation. It was reasonably quiet when the windows were closed. There is a major bus garage for Lothian buses, which start to leave early in the morning and park late at night which could be disturbing one's sleep. When we first entered the apartment, we could detect the smell of the cigarettes. The previous guests are here to blame. François., although we had no chance to meet him, was trying his best to help us by personally bringing the scented sticks. The TV was not working but we really didn't care about it that much. Also it is advisable to bring your own toilet paper. We have been given one roll for 4 people for 12 days. Obviously we bought our own. Overall, we had a good time in Edinburgh and relatively small flaws had no impact on our stay in the apartment. Thank you François for doing your best.

  • Review Submitted: 17/05/2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments. I am sorry about the smell of smoke but after having the windows open for a prolonged period and with a generous use of air deodourisers the smell has dissipated. It appears as though the TV needed to be retuned after the aerial cable was disconnected so that was a shame. My cleaner only had one spare toilet but we do usually supply the apartment with a few before our guests arrive. On this occasion I was not able to call round before your arrival because my flight back to Edinburgh that day was delayed otherwise I would have been able to attend to these.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Good base for exploring

  • 4 of 5

Stayed with my wife and two young daughters; last minute booking as previous place had cancelled. Fulfilled all our self catering needs comfortably, and in a decent location. Only real downside was the several flights of stairs, but at least it's good exercise! (Be warned the hot water is the temperature of the sun, and the cistern takes 10 minutes to fill after flushing too...)

  • Review Submitted: 23/07/2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Very good accommodation.

  • 5 of 5

Spotlessly clean - very confortable accommodation.

Just a suggestion. Perhaps more drawer space in bedrooms is required - ie small chest of drawers would have been helpful, - I did have to live out of my suitcase for tshirts, jumpers etc., and also (from a feminine point of view) a hairdryer. I did bring my own anyway.

Despite the long trek up the stairs - (think we got a bit fitter during our stay!) - I would happily book this property again and recommend it to friends. Our younger son and daugher in law who stayed with us were also impressed with the property.

Very convenient - in walking distance of Edinburgh - as stated in in description.

Have no comments on Edinburgh itself as our elder son lives inearby, and we are reasonably familiar with the area and visited the various attractions in the past. This visit was purely a family event so we spent most of our time with him and his family and needed accommodation nearby.

  • Review Submitted: 08/06/2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday apartment in Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
5 Nov 2017 - 19 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
AU$185
AU$908
 
 
Christmas
20 Dec 2017 - 27 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
AU$238
AU$1,084
 
 
New Year
28 Dec 2017 - 4 Jan 2018
5 night minimum stay
AU$314
AU$1,621
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable