Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Unique, charming townhouse by river in central Oslo– sleeps 2 to 10 - Unit 3305290 The Whole Townhouse

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 146 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Description

Unit 3305290 The Whole Townhouse

The whole house over 3 floors – that is the townhouse. Kitchen and dining room, 4 bedrooms plus large sofabed in the lounge – and 2 extra bunk beds in the conservatory – which also have a small kitchen. A little garden to relax – this is really unique quiet oasis in the middle of the pulsating arts district of Oslo.


About the property

Grünerlykken Gjestgiveri

The townhouse consists of three levels with ground floor which opening up to a small garden through a conservatory. It is situated in Grünerløkka – Oslo’s «hipster» area dominated by numerious cafés, bars, restaurants, art galleries and music venues. Yet the townhouse is a secluded, quiet spot with its own small garden in the middle of all this. Easily reached from Oslo Central Train Station and Bus Terminal with frequent services to Oslo airport Gardermoen, Oslo Rygge Airport and Torp Airport Sandefjord. Suitable for a couple, a couple with kids or larger parties consisting of 6 persons or more: (maximum sleeping capacity is 10 persons in winter – 12 in summer, when 2 kids can sleep in bunk beds in the conservatory. A detailed info-folder on the apartment and its surroundings will be forwarded you when you make an enquiry.


Owner
Morten PR Russell Wedén
Member since: 2010
Speaks english, german, swedish, danish, norwegian
Response time
Within a day
Response rate
90%
Calendar last updated:
11 July, 2017

About Morten PR Russell Wedén

Trained in London and worked as a graphic designer, film critic and editor. Settled in Oslo with partner and 4 children. Through HomeAway we run 2 rental places in Oslo apart from this one listed here (property 452128 in St.Hanshaugen and property 1729502 also in Grünerløka and one in Malta (property 413710 – Senglea, Grand Harbour). Through 5 years we have only pleasant experiences with our guests.

Morten PR Russell Wedén purchased this house in 1982

Why Morten PR Russell Wedén chose Oslo

The apartment is situated on its own ground floor of the building which dates from 1870, situated at Upper and Cross (Øvre gate and Korsgata between music venue «Blå» along the Akerselva river and bespoke restaurant «KAMAI» (japanese) and «Markveien Mat & Vinhus» and «Dr.Kneipp» in a very quiet yet central area at the lower southwest corner of Grünerløkka. You will also find the art gallery and wine bar «Syng» 50 metres away – perfect outdoor area for sunny days by the riverside. From here a variety of shops, supermarket, «Wine Monopoly», cafés and restaurants are only 2 minutes walk away. Make sure you visit the popular «Mathallen» (Food Hall). There are 3 parks close by, and for recreational purposes a pleasant walk along the Akerselva river is recommended. In the weekends there are both market days and music venues at «Blå» (Blue). The New York Times recently included the walk along the river here in its «Top Ten Streets of European Cities» contest.

What makes this house unique

The Botanical Gardens and The Edvard Munch Museum is well within walking distance (to the east), so is the Oslo Town Hall (to the west) with Akershus Castle and fashionable Aker Brygge (where you can even swim). From here small ferries whisk you out to numerous idyllic islands in the fjord and of course to the Bygdøy peninsula with its Kontiki -, Fram-, Viking Ships- and Folk Museums. But apart from these attractions, there is hardly any reason at all to leave Grünerløkka. You’ll find everything here.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I wanted to write and say "thanks!" for allowing us to stay in your

home recently. Lovely, spacious and perfect for our family. I hope

we left the home in proper shape (aside from dirty towels/linens, and

extra groceries!). We will certainly recommend it to others on

vrbo.com and will definitely return to your property again!



Thanks and have a good evening!
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 1

Available Rentals

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Sentrum, Norway

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 146 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • City Centre
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure
  • Ground floor bathroom has shower enclosure, wc, wash basin. Washing machine and tumble dryer is also installed. Underfloor heating year round. Second floor bathroom has shower enclosure, wc, wash basin. Underfloor heating year round.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed , 2 single bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 sofa bed/futon , Large double sofa bed
  • Ground floor double bedroom has also sitting area in front of wood burning stove, small writing desk. Windows on two sides (east/west). Access to conservatory with 2 bunk beds that can be used during summer. 1st floor bedrom with single bed. 2nd floor bedroom with single bed 2nd floor bedroom with double bed, writing desk and sitting area in front of open fireplace. Windows on two sides (east/west). In addition there is a double sofa bed in the dining/living room, suitable for two persons.
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 8 bicycles
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift pass
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
A comprehensive info-folder on the property with detailed architectual plans, more photos of the apartment and its surroundings will be forwarded you to your personal e-mail when you make an enquiry.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

71% Complete
14% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Unit 3305290 The Whole Townhouse
average rating of 4.428571 based on 15 reviews
5

Cool place in a cool neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

Morten could not have been more helpful as our trip from the US approached. He promised a unique, charming townhouse, and he delivered. We stayed in the "whole house" section, which is actually not the whole building but was three full floors of a 150-plus-year-old house that reminded our family of six (with three kids) of a place we stayed in Amsterdam. Morten saved us a parking spot on his street (he met us upon arrival), and we were able to leave our vehicle there for the duration of our stay without moving it. Oslo is a great walking city as well as one that has terrific public transportation (the excellent RuterReise app is a must), and there is a tram stop only a few minutes walk away. The house was very comfortable, charming and quirky (though lots of stairs if you care). There is a shared courtyard with a table and chairs. We all felt like we had plenty of space -- four bedrooms and a bed and sofa in the living room/dining room area. The bathrooms were modern and clean. A huge bonus is the house's prime location in the hip Grunnerloka neighborhood. There are tons of restaurants, bars, ice cream shops and stores along with parks, a river walk and a huge food hall. We were about a half hour's walk to downtown Oslo as well as in walking distance of the beautiful botanical garden. Don't miss the fantastic graffiti and huge, colorful murals throughout the neighborhood. Also worth noting that you are a 5- to 10-minute walk from a hospital and all-night drugstore with very helpful staffers who all speak perfect English. We had to make a visit for one of the kids, and we were happy it was so close. We will fondly remember staying in Morten's historic and colorful house.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am happy you enjoyed your stay - I certainly enjoyed both your stay and the gifts! Kind regards, M O R T E N
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pacific Palisades, California
5

Grunerløkka Townhouse

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely time at this Oslo townhouse. Morten, the owner, was very accessible and helpful. Our family of 5 had plenty of room, and it was great to be able to do laundry. We walked to many of the tourist sites, including the National Museum, Opera House, and City Hall. There was a grocery store very close by, and we cooked several meals. We would highly recommend this comfortable property!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The Grünerløkka district is a very dynamic and exciting place, yet the townhouse is in a tranquile corner of it all.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sewanee, TN
4

Fantastic location!

  • 4 of 5

This is a really great neighborhood to bring a family- good restaurants, park areas, and right on the bus/tram lines. It was really easy to get everywhere. Morten was a good communicator and we enjoyed our stay a great deal.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Truly Funky

  • 3 of 5

This residence is on three different floors connected by extremely steep narrow staircases. They could prove hazardous. The room on the first floor is extremely dark. The washing machine and dryer are inefficient. It is close to downtown and bus lines. It is quiet. OK for the young and agile as long as they are sober.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: A detailed, comprehensive info-folder with lots of photos and descriptions of this townhouse from 1870 is always sent guests prior to their booking. I agree that the townhouse is better suited for the young than for the elderly, but this should be an easy conclusion for guests themselves to draw from the photos and descriptions forwarded them in advance. Although the automatic lit stairs are pretty steep, they are wide enough for two persons to pass each other easily. As for the washing machine and tumble dryer in the bathroom of the ground floor, they are new and certainly efficient if you understand how to operate them. And yes, the ground floor double bedroom might be dark, especially if you don't upen the blinds and curtains on both sides of the room. I refer future guests to earlier reviews.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
St. Paul Minnesota
4

Funky Digs for a Large Group that Gets Along Well Together

  • 4 of 5

It was a great place for three generations of our family to bond and be together. It meant for tight quarters and bed-sharing, and a sign-up sheet for the 11 of us to use the two bathrooms. For the older folks, the stairs were a bit of a challenge, so they were quartered on the two floors that had bathrooms. Communication with Morten and his son Axel was friendly and welcoming, and promptly responsive to our questions. We liked the neighborhood, and found the 10-minute walk to public transport quite convenient. The kitchen could use more glassware and dishes, but otherwise was adequate for our needs. As well, the dining table/chairs can only seat about 6, so don't plan on meals together for a large group. In the end, our group was happy and satisfied with this unique and funky lodging for our first four days in Norway

  • Review Submitted: May 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: 11 persons is pushing it past capasity, but even so it apparently worked out well for you! Equipment and household items are constantly being improved - this will include dishes and glasses! M
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Fayetteville, Georgia
1

Dirty conditions forced us to leave

  • 1 of 5

Here is the final communication I had with Morten.

You completely ignored the main complaints (dirty dishes, dirty refrigerator, sanitary pad). The weather was the least of our worries. Based on your posted pictures we expected clean and bright rooms. Instead we got rooms that had not been dusted in a while, dirty dishes in the cupboard, dirty and bad smelling refrigerator, chewed gum in a piece of paper in the bed, and worst of all a used sanitary pad on the floor behind the toilet in the upstairs bathroom (you should have the pictures that were sent). Maybe, if you had been there you would have taken care of the problems before we arrived or made sure they were taken care of after we arrived. The caretakers you left in charge had the opportunity to fix things but never offered except to say “Maybe there was a problem with the cleaning lady.” I asked for the issues to be corrected and gave your son a time expectation. The only response from him was that he would contact you.

I don't know about you but when I rent a place the one expectation I have is cleanliness. I can deal with worn and old and even some dust, but when things in the kitchen are nasty, it is another matter.

I have not posted a review yet as I was waiting on a response from you. Your reviews were all very positive about your being concerned with guest stays. I do not feel you are very concerned at all with our stay. I should not be held responsible for washing the dishes someone else left, picking up dirty/used personal hygiene items or dusting tables. You may be comfortable with that, but I certainly am not. We met some very nice and interesting people during our visit. However, when someone asks about the trip, the first thing we remember is the miserable conditions of your townhouse.

The six of us believe we are seasoned travelers. We have stayed in places a lot more worn than yours and had a very good time. The difference was they were clean. Your policy, as you have the final say may be not to give “reductions.” If it were for any reason other than cleanliness, I might understand.

  • Review Submitted: May 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: These guests wanted to cut short their stay and asked for a partial refund. When I referred them to the agreed cancellation policy of the rental agreement, which states that cancellation must be done 60 or 30 days before arrival, I got the response and later review above. While things might not always be perfect, the accusations of this guest is simply untrue, a fact that previous and later guests have attested through their reviews. To me these guests seemed not seasoned travelers, having failed to supply date of birth, passport number etc as required in the rental agreement. They also managed to lock out other tenants of the building in the middle of the night. Out of curtesy to her, I did not rate these guests, but I hope they take a more professional approach to holiday rentals in future.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
48.8 Kilometres
Oslo Airport Gardermoen
Nearest Barpub
130 Metres
Dr. Kneipps Vinbar
Nearest Ferry
3.1 Kilometres
Oslo Town Hall
Nearest Golf
10.7 Kilometres
Oslo Golf Klubb, Bogstad
Nearest Train
3.1 Kilometres
Oslo Central Station
Nearest Motorway
650 Metres
Trondheimsveien
Nearest Restaurant
140 Metres
Markveien Mat- og Vinhus
Nearest Ski
13.8 Kilometres
Oslo Vinterpark
Nearest Beach
3.7 Kilometres
Tjuvholmen Oslo Centre or Huk Bygdøy
Car: not necessary

As Grünerløkka is very central, it is a pulsating area with lots of activities going on. You will find anything you like while shopping or just strolling along here. Emergency hospital (Legevakten) is 650 metres away from the apartment, so you are in safe hands for any eventuality.

Photos