check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

WeeKey Rentals

Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks english, spanish, italian

CANALE - Stunning apartment with all comforts, in the heart of Venice

11 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this Cannaregio holiday apartment

Wonderful split level apartment suitable for families , up to 10 people

This wonderful apartment is ideally located in the central Cannaregio, one of the most popular and characteristic district of Venice, five minutes from the Rialto bridge and seven minutes from Piazza San Marco. The apartment is on the third floor with no elevator and situated inside the ancient Palazzo Maggiani: the building has a double entrance, on the street and on the channel. It has been recently renovated but maintains its classic atmosphere thanks to the unique features and period furniture, typical Venetian style. The soaring ceilings and the top floor position makes the apartment really bright and airy, with an amazing view over the Venetian roofs. It comprises two levels offering generous space and can host up to 12 people. On the ground floor there is a comfortable and cozy living room with dining area and sofa bed for two, a fully-equipped kitchen, three double bedrooms (two with double beds and one with two twin beds) and two bathrooms. On the upper level there is a large studio with a sofa bed for two, two bedrooms each with one French bed and one bathroom. The apartment is very quiet and equipped with A/C, Wi-fi connection, washing machine, dishwasher and Tv. The location is excellent with convenient stores, shops, bakeries and “Bacari” (traditional venetian restaurants) nearby. In this lively area you can also find many markets, antique shops and the famous Teatro Malibran. With its lovely characteristic design and modern comfort you will fully enjoy the magic of this amazing city

WeeKey Rentals (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks english, spanish, italian

Reviews

3.5
based on 11 traveller reviews

CANALE - Stunning apartment with all comforts, in the heart of Venice
average rating of 3.4545455 based on 11 reviews
5

Beautiful and charming large apartment!

  • 5 of 5

This apartment is everything as advertised. The furnishings were beautifully done and comfortable. The apartment is well maintained and managed. Our group included three couples and two single adults. Everyone had their own bedroom. The upstairs sitting room was very charming and we enjoyed watching the sunset and listening to the church bells in the evenings. Definitely recommend to friends and families. We enjoyed our home in Venice!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Find somewhere else to stay...

  • 1 of 5

I would have choosen another property. This unit Has ONLY has 3 true bedrooms. There are 3 stated bedrooms upstairs. The 2 of the bedrooms are closet size and smell like mold and the third has no blinds so the sun comes in with force at 5:30am. When We were sleeping upstairs, I found the reason for the mold smell...IT RAINS THRU THE CEILINGS AND MGMT DID NOT RESPOND WHEN CONTACTED. While the bathrooms are modern and up to date the kitchen is dirty, completely out of date and not worth using. We stated in an apt to have meals with our family and chose never to use it.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello the description of the apartment is very clear, there are also pictures of all the bedrooms. We have checked the ceilings when you contacted us, we responded immediately and we sent someone to check the ceiling: this issue and the smeel of mold were due to the heavy rain of those days, the apartment is located in an historical bulding so it is old but we intervened promptly contrary of what you have written
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Poor Maintenance and Hospitality

  • 1 of 5

The photos looked great, the location looked good; however, the lack of care and maintenance overwhelmed the pros:

1) kitchen is old and when we checked in we were told the dishwasher could not be run with other electronics in the kitchen... So we didn't use;

2) no coffee maker of any sort;

3) the kitchen did not have enough dishes so that our party of 8 could eat together;

4) the clothes washer did not work - this amenity was one of the reasons we chose this apartment:

5) there was no toilet paper or soap in the bathrooms;

6) we found an empty condom wrapper under the bed in one of the rooms;

7) one of the beds upstairs did not have a top sheet and we question whether it had been changed at all;

8) the ceiling in one of the upstairs bedrooms and the upstairs living room leaked when it rained.

We travel a lot and prefer to rent apartments or homes. This was by far one of the worst maintained private properties we have ever stayed at. Until the maintenance and hospitality issues have been resolved, I would not recommend staying at this property.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello I am sorry you didn’t enjoyed the flat. Since is a big apartment with many rooms and many electric devices, we kindly ask our guest to not use AC/dishwasher/washer at the same time because power might go off, it is an Italian problem... regarding the kitchen, we have checked the features and there is a coffee machine as well as dishes and glasses for 12 persons: I’m sorry if you didn’t fine them in the apartment, if you had asked we could have helped you. The accommodation is self-catering, this means that we provide toilet paper and soap only for the first night. As for the empty condom wrapper, we are really sorry. We clean carefully after every check out and before each check-in, clearly it was our fault.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Terrible Property DO NOT RECOMMEND!

  • 1 of 5

I honestly don't know where to begin. The place was a mess. The rental agency who handles the property completely ignored our calls when things did not work as promised. And I called the owner while in Venice who never called me back. I think this property is misrepresented. It does not sleep 10 people. The rooms upstairs are extremely small with no ventilation. On top of it there were no sheets for the fold out couches. The list below sums it up. And honestly I want my money back. Another traveler left there complaints too so added them to this list. DO NOT STAY HERE!

-No sheets for bed

-Air condition only in select rooms

-Bugs all over the place which led to all of us being bit and with welts

-Dishwasher full of dirty dishes.

-Toilets had remains all over them

-Toilet lids all fell off

-Shower upstairs did not work

-Washer malfunctioned and clothes got stuck inside had to hand wash, owner never called me back

-Powerpoints come out of wall - DANGEROUS

-Not enough towels all like dish towels.

-Knobs came off drawers

-4 flights of stairs no elevator

-NO glassware or tpee

-Sink had old food in it

As I said I called the agency who manages the property and they completely did not help. They gave me the owners info who in turn never called me back. Venice is an amazing city but this was the worst place I have ever stayed. EVER. I am so angry and plan on complaining to Homeaway. I want a refund. There should be some sort of compliance for properties.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello I am sorry but we have to contradict you. Our staff in Venice has been very extremely responsive and patient. You have called them so many times complaining about everything since you stepped in the apartment. The apartment you have rented has no elevator (you can clearly read it in the description) and we have detailed pictures of all the rooms online. The rooms upstairs are smaller compared to the others but they have windows as you can see in the pictures, they are smaller but they are well ventilated. The sheets for the sofa beds were not provided since we prepare the flat for the numbers of guests who are staying. You told us you were 10 persons so we prepared for 10 persons. We also provide 3 towels for each person, we believe they are enough but if you wanted more towels you could have asked. The washer works fine: when you contacted us telling that the clothes where stuck inside we explained you that it was because you tried to open it before the cleaning was finished. If you try to open it before, the windows doesn’t open because there is water inside. We sent our staff to check powerpoints knobs and upstairs shower, they have been repaired it immediately. Again, if you told us we would have come right away. No sign of bugs… We are sorry that you didn’t have a nice experience, we will keep doing our biggest effort to have happy guests… fortunately, as you can see on the many reviews we collect, we make it most of the time.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

Great Location in Venice

  • 4 of 5

Great location, clean had everything we needed. 4 stars only due to flights of stairs with luggage. I had only a carry on but some traveling companions had several suitcases so made it hard for them. We had a great stay. We were 6 adults but could have been a larger group. Lovely view from the apartment. Remember you are in Venice & there are stairs to climb. Would definitely stay here again.

Owner arranged water taxi from the airport for us, they were available if we needed them but never had any issues. Escorted us to the apartment. I highly recommend!

  • Review Submitted: May 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thanks
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

location excellent

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was elegant, well furnished, very spacious, with plenty of rooms and a wonderful view. The beds were OK, very comfortable living room and location excellent.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: not necessary

The apartment is located in the most central area of Cannaregio, close to the San Marco and Castello sestriere and to major attractions such as the Rialto bridge and market, Piazza S.Marco, the Mercerie (shopping area) and the Fenice.. Developed along the Grand Canal, Cannaregio offers a picture-postcard, in which there are always gondoliers with striped shirt and artists painting bells marked by time.

As always in Venice, the best way to get around is on foot. The most appealing part of Cannaregio lies quietly to the north, waiting to be explored. Three parallel canals run through a very peaceful area near Venice's northern shore, where the exploring traveler will find a couple of the town's more interesting churches. The quieter stretches of canal here can be amazingly silent and attractive. Heading back southwards you'll come to a livelier stretch of canal along Fondamenta della Misericordia, where there are some good canalside bars and places to eat. It's buzzing in the evenings but not enough to spoil the Venetian atmosphere, and the tourists are mixed with locals.

Cannaregio highlights and attractions

Fondamenta della Misericordia - an attractive canalside walk, with bars and restaurants.

Campo dei Mori - a small square famous for its turbaned statues; reminders of Venice's wide trading links

Madonna dell'Orto - a pretty gothic church with a brick facade

Ca' d'Oro - just about the most beautiful palace on the Grand Canal, it's now a gallery with lovely views over the Grand Canal

Santa Maria dei Miracoli - our favourite church in Venice is in the far east of Cannaregio; an unmissable Renaissance marble treasure.

Cattedrale di Santi Giovanni e Paolo, the biggest gothic church of Venice with the beautiful Scuola di S Marco facade and the characteristic cafès of the area such as Rosa Salva

La corte del Milion where Marco Polo was born and raise

The Casino - housed in a grand Renaissance palace, Ca' Vendramin Calergi, Venice's casino is always keen to attract tourists, offering a free boat shuttle from Piazzale Roma and free entrance with a special leaflet. Richard Wagner died in the building: his rooms can be visited at pre-booked times.

Eating and drinking

I like La Cantina, a little bar with outside tables at Campo San Felice. They serve good food as well as a selection of excellent wines. There are more nice bars on Fondamenta della Misericordia, including the famous Paradiso Perduto, and a range of restaurants including the good Ostaria da Rioba and the Ristorante Diana. Up by the ferry stops at Fondamenta Nove is Algiubagiò, a fine, slightly pricey restaurant which has a more affordable pizza menu. For a quick meal close to the station, try Brek on the Lista di Spagna, the Venice branch of an efficient self-service chain.

Hidden charms

At Campo San Felice, look out for the tall skinny house set back from the canal: a very bizarre sight. Around the corner from Campo dei Mori is Palazzo Mastelli, famous for its stone relief of an odd-looking camel. Further along the same canal (Rio Madonna dell'Orto) there's a picturesque little bridge from which you can see over an unexpected marina.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • OCCUPANCY
    The rates refer to an occupancy of 6 people, each extra person will be charged 30 Euro per night.

    FINAL CLEANING AND LINEN
    This amount depends on the destination and the number of guests, it must be paid in cash at the arrival:
    1-2 persons = 90 Euro
    3-4 persons = 120 Euro
    5-8 persons = 150 Euro
    9-12 persons = 180 Euro

    SECURITY DEPOSIT
    200 Euro to be paid at the arrival - this amount will be returned at the end of the stay, after verification of no damages.

    CHECK IN/OUT
    Check in time is between 1.00 p.m. and 6.00 p.m from Monday through Saturday.
    In case of check in on Sundays, Bank Holidays or from 6pm to 10pm, additional 30 Euro will be charged on your bill.
    Check in after from 10pm till midnight is charged 50 euros
    Check out time: 10.00 am.


    CANCELLATION POLICY
    Cancellation before 30 days of arrival: 90% refund of total price.
    Cancellation before 5 days of arrival: 70% refund of total price.
    Cancellation after 5
  • Non-contractual booking deposit: 30.00% rent
  • Contractual booking deposit: 30.00% rent
  • Damage deposit: EUR200.00
Enter dates to see total
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment rental in Cannaregio, Italy

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Forms of Payment:
  • accepts credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 180 m²
Location Type:
  • City Centre
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure , bidet
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , bath with shower , bidet
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double bed
    Living room - 1 sofa bed/futon
    Studio - 1 sofa bed/futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Television
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services