check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Luxury Condo in Historic District Close to Convention Center

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

1 queen bed in Bedroom, 1 full bed in 2nd bedroom , Sleeps 4

Welcome to the Chestnut Lofts. Located at 2nd and Chestnut.

A boutique condominium building centrally located 3 blocks from the Liberty Bell, Independence hall and 1 block from Penns Landing and the waterfront. Step out your door to dine at cafes and restaurants or explore Old City in a horse drawn carriage. If visiting for a trade show, we are just a short walk to the convention center as well.

PLEASE DO NOT USE THE BOOK IT NOW BUTTON FOR STAYS LESS THEN 4 NIGHTS BEFORE CONTACTING US

Our 900 square foot condo has granite counter tops, brand new stainless steal appliances, exposed brick walls and beautiful exposed wood beams. This condo also has Wifi. The building is a certified historic landmark and is a unique blend of both new and old. If you’re coming to Philadelphia to experience the history or enjoy the fine dining you could not ask for a better location. As we do own 2 apartments in this building one facing north towards chestnut and one facing south. This unit faces south toward a parking garage. Please see notes below for pros and cons of each unit.

***There are pluses and minuses to each of our properties and we want to make sure you select the one that you and your group will enjoy the most. Please see short summaries below with the pros and cons of each of our properties below.

The Chestnut Lofts ...HomeAway # 179041 (faces rear of building)

The Chestnut Lofts is located is located in Old City which although is steps away from the liberty bell and independence hall also has a very lively night time scene with cafes and restaurants and bars. The pros of this unit is that it is located on the top floor of a 5 story building and oriented facing south toward a parking garage not facing chestnut street so it's much much quieter. Drawbacks being there isn't a waterfront view as you have in the front unit, it doesn't have those huge 20 foot ceilings and the main bedroom is a platform style (the second bedroom is fully enclosed). Please see link here for full listing. https://www.vrbo.com/141917

The Chestnut Lofts ...VRBO # 477685 (faces front of building)

This unit does have a water view, has soaring 20 foot ceilings and gets great sunlight. The drawbacks being it's located on Chestnut St so noise can be an issue especially on a weekend night. Please see link for full listing. https://www.vrbo.com/477685

(Panama St )Cozy Home in Historic Washington Square ...HomeAway # 3165419

This home is located directly next to our other home listing #583380 (Townhouse in Washington Sq) on a quiet cobblestone walking street. Both homes are nearly identical although "Townhouse in Washington Sq" was recently remodeled with a new kitchen and new bathroom. On the upside it has a washer and dryer where the other does not. You can not be more centrally located than this, very easy walk to Rittenhouse Square, Washington Square, 13th and Sansom as well as Old City. The location is hard to beat. Drawback wise these places are small and they have very challenging stairs.

(Panama St) Townhouse in Washington Square ...VRBO # 583380

Please see above summary

Charming on Historic Street ... VRBO # 619713

My personal favorite of all our properties. This home is located 258 S. Quince street, if you google images of "Quince street Philadelphia" you will see it has been the subject of many a painting and photograph. The street with all it's cute little walking streets and off shoots is very European/ Old World. It's very tough to drive a car down, more of a cobblestone walking street, making it very quiet, almost an oasis in the middle of the busy city. It's still not too far from the historic sites but certainly not as close as The Chestnut Lofts are. It also has a private back patio with table and 4 chairs. Although it is a trinity, its much larger than the ones we have on Panama st. Drawback wise, Id say it has a lot of stairs and could be an issue for a toddler or someone that has any sort of mobility issue. Please see link for full listing. https://www.vrbo.com/619713

****Very Important

Please read our notes about 2 and 3 night stays in the rates section. We take them on a case by case basis and rates can be much higher. Please do not use the book it now button for 2 or 3 night stays before contacting us.

More Details

Property Manager
Josh Russell
Member since: 2007
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
16 January, 2017

About Josh Russell

My grandfather purchased this building in 1930 using it as his furniture store. My father developed the building into 20 offices and 16 condos selling off several while keeping this penthouse unit for himself.

Josh Russell purchased this condo in 1990

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(53 traveller reviews)

Luxury Condo in Historic District Close to Convention Center
average rating of 4.8301888 based on 53 reviews
San Antonio, Texas
5

Great accomodations in perfect location

  • 5 of 5

The property was just as advertised. My group of 4 was very comfortable. The apartment is in the perfect neighborhood. We stayed over New Year's Eve and were able to walk to the great historical sites like Independence Hall and The Liberty Bell and were right down the street from Penn Landing and had a beautiful view of the fireworks. The area is also packed full of restaurants and bars and there are grocery and liquor stores nearby as well. Try Pete's for pizza and Jim's for cheesesteaks. We were also a short uber ride away from the Eagles game and the airport so the location was ideal. Our host was super responsive and check in and out was super easy. Thanks Josh, if we ever have the opportunity, we would be thrilled to stay again!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location- warm and cozy loft

  • 5 of 5

Loved this loft. Had the perfect space for our family of 3 adults. Close to amazing restaurants and the river rink. A fun Christmas holiday return to our home town. Josh was very responsive to our questions. We highly recommend josh and the chestnut lofts!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

nice condo...great location

  • 5 of 5

the property was clean, well appointed and the location was fantastic.

josh was great...from booking to refunding the security deposit, he was very responsive and professional. highly recommend.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Thanksgiving at the Chestnut Lofts

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful stay at Chestnut Lofts on our trip to Philadelphia with our family over Thanksgiving, 2016. Josh and Miranda have provided everything one needs for a perfect vacation-very clean property, great beds and bedding, and easy to follow directions to enter the property and to operate the TV and wifi. The location is superb-we parked our card in the parking lot across the street; and, we were able to walk to the historical sites. Josh promptly answered our emails and gave us good advice about our car. Thanks for a special time!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Birthday Weekend

  • 4 of 5

Apartment was clean and well located for Old Town Touring.

A rowdy, bustling night life on the street but quiet in the apartment.

Naturally quiet in the day.

Apartment on the 5th floor and thankfully there is an elevator.

My only problem was with the reservation people at Home Away. I was assured by two Home Away people that parking was included, so I booked with them. When the contract came from the owner it stated that NO parking was included but there were near by public lots.

Addressing my concern with Home Away I was told to contact the owner as they only did the booking. The misinformation did not come from the owner but from the people at Home Away. I was told to file a complaint which I did, but again I was told to contact the owner.

The error was at Home Away and of course now I could not cancel the reservation because of time constraints.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Im so glad you enjoyed your stay with us that really makes me angry that HomeAway gave you misinformation about our home. Parking is not included in any of our properties and runs roughly $25/night in the local garages. Im very sorry that happened. Safe Travels, We hope to have you back again soon. Best, Josh & Miranda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome home, awsome location!

  • 5 of 5

You cannot beat this location in Philly! The home was perfect and had all that we needed on our 5 day trip! Penn's Landing and so many historical sites, good restaurants and nightlife all within easy walking distance! Josh was readily available with communication and very accommodating! We will stay here again if we ever get the opportunity to return to this great city!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

The Hipstoric™ Old City District (OCD) is a place of unique people, significant history, charming shops, intriguing night life, and just loads of entertainment. Come and find out why it's a great place to visit, work and live. We look forward to seeing you in the neighborhood! Independence Hall, Independence Visitor Center, the National Constitution Center, the Liberty Bell Center are but a few of the countless historical attractions the OCD has to offer. Learn about our important history and the Old City of today, while eating and shopping at fun and interesting places!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday condo in Center City, Pennsylvania

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
18 Jan 2017 - 10 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$199
From
A$221
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
11 Mar 2017 - 13 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$216
From
A$199
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
14 Mar 2017 - 17 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$209
From
A$227
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
18 Mar 2017 - 20 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$199
From
A$227
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
21 Mar 2017 - 26 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$209
From
A$235
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
27 Mar 2017 - 28 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$217
From
A$216
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
29 Mar 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$320
From
A$331
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
1 Apr 2017 - 2 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$239
From
A$331
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
3 Apr 2017 - 11 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$221
From
A$251
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
12 Apr 2017 - 17 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$231
From
A$252
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
18 Apr 2017 - 19 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$239
From
A$239
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
20 Apr 2017 - 21 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$256
From
A$274
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
22 Apr 2017 - 24 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$269
From
A$288
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
25 Apr 2017 - 26 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$294
From
A$294
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
27 Apr 2017 - 28 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$319
From
A$331
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
29 Apr 2017 - 4 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$248
From
A$317
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
5 May 2017 - 7 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$276
From
A$276
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
8 May 2017 - 15 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$331
From
A$331
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
16 May 2017 - 17 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$304
From
A$304
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
18 May 2017 - 19 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$273
From
A$327
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
20 May 2017 - 24 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$256
From
A$314
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
25 May 2017 - 26 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$265
From
A$284
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
27 May 2017 - 31 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$262
From
A$301
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
1 Jun 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$270
From
A$270
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
3 Jun 2017 - 9 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$236
From
A$296
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
10 Jun 2017 - 11 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$305
From
A$318
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
12 Jun 2017 - 13 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$288
From
A$288
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
14 Jun 2017 - 18 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$269
From
A$290
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
19 Jun 2017 - 24 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$278
From
A$292
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
25 Jun 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$268
From
A$286
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
22 Jul 2017 - 26 Jul 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$281
From
A$293
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
27 Jul 2017 - 28 Jul 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$302
From
A$331
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
29 Jul 2017 - 3 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$274
From
A$331
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
4 Aug 2017 - 1 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$266
From
A$284
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
2 Oct 2017 - 6 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$262
From
A$274
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
7 Oct 2017 - 8 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$233
From
A$286
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
9 Oct 2017 - 14 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$261
From
A$269
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
15 Oct 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$252
From
A$270
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
28 Oct 2017 - 29 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$285
From
A$314
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
30 Oct 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$291
From
A$290
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
1 Nov 2017 - 3 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$259
From
A$269
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
4 Nov 2017 - 14 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$247
From
A$263
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
15 Nov 2017 - 18 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$265
From
A$272
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
19 Nov 2017 - 29 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$251
From
A$270
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
30 Nov 2017 - 20 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$260
From
A$274
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
21 Dec 2017 - 28 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$252
From
A$277
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
29 Dec 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$268
From
A$268
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
1 Jan 2018 - 6 Jan 2018
2 night minimum stay
A$257
From
A$277
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
7 Jan 2018 - 15 Jan 2018
2 night minimum stay
A$263
From
A$281
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
A$251
From
A$272
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee A$53
Refundable Damage Deposit A$331
Cleaning Fee A$166
Tax Rate 8.5%

Important Note with regards to two night stays! With Regards to 2 and 3 night stays. We do take 2 and 3 night stays on a case by case basis. Please inquire for a quote.

Rates Subject to Change

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo rental in Center City, Pennsylvania

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • City Centre
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Historic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
Entertainment:
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • tennis
Notes:
I recently put a 47 Inch Plasma in this Condo.