Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

We sleep up to 6 adults and 4 children in wonderfully comfortable beds

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Space 371 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4000sq ft house, 5 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, Ideal for 3 couples ( 6 adults) + 4 kids

THE LUCKY DUCK”

Our beautiful 9 acre lake Waterfront Property is only

9 Minutes to Dreams Park

5 Minutes to Cooperstown Village

and the Baseball Hall of Fame!

6 adults (3 couples) and 4 children work the best.

Our home is nicer than most and it is that way because we want a great group of people who apprecaite getting a clean beautiful property.

YOU ARE RENTING AN IMMACULATE HOUSE WITH ALL YOUR BED LINENS, SHAMPOO, CONDITIONER AND HAIR DRYERS SUPPLIED.

YOU JUST BRING YOUR CLOTHES, FOOD AND A WINNING TEAM.

Unlike other homes in Coopertown our home is just for rentals only We do not personally live it during the year and move out when you arrive nor do we rent it out in the off season to some local for a low rate just to keep the heat on.

Our home is immaculate and just for you,

Our bedroom layout is as follows

2 BEDROOMS

ARE AN AWESOME KING MASTER SUITES W/PRIVATE BATH

Two lucky sets of parents will spend the week sleeping in comfort.

A third bedroom

with 1 QUEEN BEDROOM THAT CONNECTS AND SHARES A LARGE BATHROOM WITH THE BUNK ROOM NEXT DOOR. A great setup for a couple traveling with 2 children.

The fourth bedroom is the bunk room mentioned above

The fifth bedroom

Is our main floor handi cap bedroom with 2 TWIN BEDS and its own private bathroom

Our luxury custom built Cherry wood gourmet kitchen with Granite and Corian counters top and lots of cupboard space is well outfitted with lots of dishes, glasses, pots pans, and brand new appliances. Gas BBQ by the outside tables and A WATER VIEW LIKE NO OTHER.

Now for the story.....The “Lucky Duck” is so named because we feel that we are just about the Luckiest of Ducks on earth to be the owners of such a Glorious property. You will feel the same to be a guest here.

First it is very Important for you to know is that the house we are renting to you is NOT A HOUSE THAT WE LIVE IN DURING THE YEAR, THEN MOVE OUR 'STUFF' OUT OF IT WHEN YOU WANT TO RENT, like so many of the homes for rent in Cooperstown.......YUK!

This was built just for guests like you and is immaculate and will be your very own private retreat when you are here. It is like a hotel but oh so very much better.

Christmas 2007, we purchased this wonderful property from a man who had once owned the New England Patriots. Sitting on 50 wonderful acres, is a lovely house but there was also a beautiful old stone based barn.

The barn was in disrepair and as we felt it would have been a real shame to lose such a wonderful structure. So starting in 2008 and not finishing till Aug of 09, we decided to take almost all of it down and rebuilt it into a new a stunning 4000 sq ft 5 bedroom 4 bathroom residence.

With 5 bedrooms and 4 baths,(full description below) and huge living spaces, we have invested meticulous attention to detail in this property while succeeding in maintaining the integrity of this historical building, and creating a wonderful space for all to enjoy. Some of the original barn exterior wood now adorns the walls of the interior living and family room.

Enter the fabulous glass front doorway to a breathtaking view of the lake and gardens as seen thru the floor to ceiling glass windows directly across on the other side…….quite an entrance.

A balcony framed totally in glass allows the beauty of the land and nature to flow right in.

25 ft high, hand honed beamed ceilings, huge floor to ceiling windows throughout allowing for amazing views of the lake, lush perennial gardens, forests, and wildlife. What more could you want?

The living room faces the lake and features, again, two huge floor to ceiling windows, a gas fireplace with a massive cedar log mantel sofa and chairs, a 50' flat screen TV, wireless internet service and an old sugaring off sled that makes quite a statement as the coffee table for this fabulous area.

Dinning at the 10 ft dining room table, under an old wagon wheel that has old lanterns creatively converted into modern lighting, you will experience a cross view of both sides of the property.

The lake side, the gardens in the morning on the pasture side, the fabulous sunsets at night.

The family room area has an 8 person poker table with lots of room for a second game table, yet be decided on....

A lovely cedar paneled laundry room, HUGE, with a washer, dryer, coat room, wet sink and cupboards completes the house.

Outdoors welcomes you with a 7 acre perennial fringed lake.

The lake is stocked with large and small mouth bass, perch and carp that practically jump on your hook. We have a dock where you can fish from or you can stroll around to the far side and walk the board walk to Meditation Island.......

If you like you can also walk or jog the whole perimeter of the lake on a dirt path. State land boarders our property so hiking and exploring the woods is a must do.

Wildlife abounds, deer, wild turkeys, George the blue Heron, red tailed hawks, ducks and birds galore, so bring those binoculars. Everything to see and enjoy…..nothing here to hurt you.

We guarantee the area has so much to offer you will never be bored.

To book our home we need you to email us your home address and we will discuss sending you out a contract. Your deposit is 50% the weekly rental rate with the balance due 90 days before your vacation date. Pertaining to the Dreams Park season bookings, once you book it is a guaranteed non refundable booking so make sure of your dates.

We have had wonderful guests here wave have appreciated and taken good care of our homes during their stay. We are sure you will be the same.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Kate Sullivan
Member since: 2003
Speaks english
Response time
Within 12 hours
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
15 April, 2017

About Kate Sullivan

It is just my husband and I and we still work for a living. However we have the luxury of working from home so can be around for anything you need or want.

Really important for you to know

We didnt build this home intending it to be a rental so it is built with quality. We dont sleep or live in there and move out when you want to rent it or pick up some check rental money by renting it out when out of season. It is just truly a vacation rental waiting for you to come and enjoy the area and your time here.

This is why our home is immaculate and we want guest who will appreciate this and keep it this way.

Kate Sullivan purchased this house in 2008

Why Kate Sullivan chose Central - Leatherstocking

WITHOUT QUESTION ONE OF THE NICEST PROPERTIES IN THE AREA.......I WOULD SAY ONE OF THE TOP 3 IN COOPERSTOWN. WELL KNOWN IN THE AREA. ONCE A BUSH (BEER) ESTATE.

What makes this house unique

PEACE, QUIET, LUXUARY, IMMACULATE.

WE HAVE WEEKLY STAFF TAKING CARE OF THE HOME AND GARDENS TO MAKE SURE THE MAINTANCE IS KEPT UP AND YOU’RE STAYS WITH US IS THE BEST

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Cooperstown, New York

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 371 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • City Centre ...
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Town
  • Village ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • soap
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • local restaurant guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 17 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure , LOVELY BATHROOM........TOTALL IMMACULATE AND COMFORTABLE
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure , REALLY NICE COMFORTABLE BATHROOM.......IMMACULATE
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower enclosure , WALK IN HANDICAP SHOWER.......LOVELY LARGE BATHROOM IDEAL
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , bath with shower , LARGE, IMMACULATE, SHARED BATH WITH QUEEN & BUNK RM
    MASTERS HOUSE - toilet , bath (no shower) , shower enclosure
  • All our bathrooms and Large and Modern and immaculate no groddy tile work or leaky or dirty toliets and showers If you appreciate clean surroundings then you will love our home and we will love you for taking care of it during your stay,
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed , WITH PRIVATE BATH AND WATER VIEW
    Bedroom 2 - 1 extra lg. double bed , WITH PRIVATE BATH AND WATER VIEW
    Bedroom 3 - 2 single bed , HANDICAP ROOM WITH PRIVATE BATH AND WATER VIEW
    Bedroom 4 - 1 large double bed , QUEEN BED WITH JOINING BUNK ROOM & SHARED BATH PASTURE VIEW
    Bedroom 5 - 2 bunk bed , BUNK ROOM, 2 BEDS, SHARED BATH WITH QUEEN ROOM
  • King size beds (2) Two King Master suites both so comfortable you will deffineately want to sleep in, Queen Beds (1) with a view of the pasture......truly comfy and wonderful, Twin or Single Beds (2) beautiful comfortable twin bed with a trundle twin underneath that can be two single or pushed together for one king, Baby Cribs (1) Crib for young non climbing child provided upon request at no additional cost, Bunk Beds (1) awesome, comfortable and clean clean clean.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • video player
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • wooden decking
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
WE ARE NOT THE KIND OF HOME THAT YOU SEE HOW MANY GUESTS YOU CAN SQUEEZE IN. OUR PROPERTIES ARE LUXURY AND A HOME THAT AFTER A GREAT DAY OF ACTIVITIES YOU WANT TO COME HOME TO RELAX AND ENJOY. OUR HOME IS AS NICE AS YOUR OWN HOME AND WE WANT YOU TO TREAT AND APPRECIATE IT AS SUCH. WE KNOW YOU WILL.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(26 traveller reviews)

We sleep up to 6 adults and 4 children in wonderfully comfortable beds
average rating of 4.8076925 based on 26 reviews
Lambertville, NJ
5

Lucky Duck was Luck for us

  • 5 of 5

We were lucky enough to stay at the Lucky Duck for our Dreams Park week and it was a real pleasure. Everything, the house the property, location and especially the owners couldn't have been better and to top if off our boys did great. This was an experience we will never forget. See you in two more years when our youngest comes of age.

Thanks

  • Review Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: See you in 2
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles CA
5

Thumbs Up for the Lucky Duck!

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from Cooperstown and Dreamspark, and were very fortunate to stay at the Lucky Duck. A short, beautiful country road drive from Dreamspark and Cooperstown Village, this home had all of the comforts, property, open spaces and views we could ask for. Great for families, friends, and just a fanstastic respite from the ball fields and City life. Very well appointed, and Kate and Mike make sure that we are comfortable and needs are met. Highly recommended!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 19, 2009
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Just the best guys........all were so great.........thanks for spending your time with us........Love to have you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

GREAT experience

  • 5 of 5

We were in Cooperstown for my sons Dreams Park experience. The whole trip was wonderful. The park is amazing and I cant say enough things about it but what made it even better was our stay at the Lucky Duck.

The property and house are far better than the pictures show. The house is huge and immaculate and the property right out of a magazine. After a day or hanging out in the dug outs going back to the peacefulness of the Lucky Duck was just the ticket .The house is only ten minutes to the Dreams Park and it is only 6 minutes from the house to downtown. The town is small and quaint so if you are looking for a Starbucks for that morning coffee or a ripping bar to hang out in the evening you will be disappointed.

All in all i give this vacation a 10!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks you were a great guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rockville, MD
3

Cool place but too quiet for us

  • 3 of 5

We rented the Lucky Duck for a Cooperstown week. We booked it the day our week was announced for the tournament. I would have preferred to pay VRBO online. But you have to work through the owners. I sent my check immediately, but it was not cashed for about a month - so I was a bit nervous (I found out afterward the owner was out of the country). Also, if you pay through VRBO, they remind you when the down payment is due.

The place is a renovated barn and is very cool. The place is decorated nice, there is plenty of room, it is clean and the deck is relaxing. The place is 20 minutes from Dream Park, and is very secluded. It was a bit too quiet for us. The wifi did not work. They say the wifi is not good in bad weather, but even on sunny days we could not be connect. I like to jog, and the remote road did not feel safe to run on. There are also roosters and chickens next door. The rooster will wake you up as early as 5 am, but really gets going at 7am. Lastly, there were several rules posted in the house - I am all about rules, but the rules made me feel a bit nervous all week.

Overall it was a lovely home, but for the money we paid, I had hoped for a 4-5 star. If I had to do in again, I would stay closer to town so we could walk everywhere. But if you like peace and quiet, this place could be for you.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This renter is very confused. Sad that they did not appreciate the lovely life we all have in Cooperstown 1. WE ARE (wish I could underline or bold this out) only nine miles from the Dreams Park just as we say. I don't know what route they were driving but it takes us 10 mins even in winter to get to the Dreams Park and no other guest has ever had an issue. 2. Yep we have 1 old rooster (cant have more than one) it is a guy thing. He is in bad shape and can hardle get a decent crow out. And next door (about 1/2 mile away) our neighbor has sheep, goats, etc and others in the area have cows & horses. We are on 50 beautiful lush acres and are Cooperstown County living at its best. This is what makes us so special. NO condos, NO name brand stores, NO sky scrappers. NO Dunkin Donuts and If you want a Mc Donald's or Pizza Hut you will have to drive 20+ minutes out of town. because they are not allowed within the town limits. 3. What also ISN'T allowed is people owing homes in town to do weekly rentals to Dreams Park people. Only B&B's are allowed. This town is small town America and we want to keep it this way. 4. Rules? Yep we have them 1. No team parties 2. No sniveling and 3. if your children misbehave they will be captured, given a double espresso and a new puppy and sent home. Boy we are tough. 5. You can certainly book our home via VRBO or if you have been referred by a previous guest, as so many of our bookings are, you can email or call us direct 6. Quiet? You betcha.....Certainly not apologizing for this. But town is 6 mins away and we have a fantastic state of the art Sport Center just 3 minutes from our house with a world class gym, work out classes, Olympic pool and acres of land to run around on or she could have just parked her car there and run into town in less than a 4 min run. 5. It is true we did have WiFi problems that week. Clarity Connect our service provider was repairing the tower. They were waiting to install a piece of equipment but as the weather was windy and wet most of the week, for safety reasons they took days to get us back up and running. Not only did we have this problems but so did 400 other customers. We explained this to them upon their arrival and gave them references to other hot spots nearby if what they needed was was an emergency. This was a fluke and out of our control On parting they never made any mention of being disappointed or upset over their stay. Oh well what can you do?
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Louis, MO
5

Lucky Duck

  • 5 of 5

What an incredible home!!! Beautifully furnished with every want you might have covered... Bbq, fire pit, kayaks! We enjoyed every minute... A super relaxing week of baseball!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago
5

Cooperstown Best

  • 5 of 5

Kate and Mike

What a great place you have. We can say enough good things. The place was immaculate and so comfortable for our two families. The only problem we had was getting the kids off the dock from fishing long enough to have dinner. You are truly blessed to have such a beautiful home. Thanks for sharing with us and we will be back in 2 years when our youngest is Cooperstown bound.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 12, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Albany
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
lots. we are a drinking town w/ a basebal problem
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Leatherstocking and 3 others
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Albany
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Lots of them
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
hunter mtn
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
fairy springs
Car: necessary

IN ADDITION TO BEING IN THE HEART OF BASEBALL, and the Home of J. Fennimore Cooper the famous author of Last of the Mohicans........OUR HOME IS A WONDERFUL PLACE FOR ARTIST TO PAINT.......WRITERS TO WRITE......MEDITATE........DREAM......AND JUST PLAIN ZONE OUT.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Cooperstown, New York

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Dream Park Stays
20 May 2017 - 8 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
A$5,557
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add A$48 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
A$973
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit A$1,323.15
Tax Rate 4.0%

OUR RATE WILL VARY BASED ….LENGTH OF STAY….AND TIME OF YEAR……..HOLIDAY RATES ARE FOR THOSES SPECIFIC DAYS BUT MIN STAY IS 3 TO 4 NIGHTS. WANT TO GET MARRIED HERE......WE CAN SUPPLY THE WEDDING OFFICIAL TO DO IT ..... IN ADDITION TO THE HOUSE RENTAL THERE IS A LAND USE CHARGE. TBD

THE BEST THING TO DO IS CALL TO CONFIRM PRICING

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable