Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Spectacular Mountain Log Cabin for Outdoorsmen, Sports Fans & Romantic Couples!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 55 m²
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cozy 1-Bedroom + Convertible bed(s) - 1 Bath - (Sleeps 2-4)

Escape the city life, getaway to this pet and child friendly mountain log cabin with extraordinary nature scenery all around you. Enjoy breath-taking sights and sounds of the outdoor from the deck while sitting in the hot tub or enjoying the gas barbeque. This cabin has year-round appeal for fishermen, hunters, golfers, couples retreats or friends hanging out. In winter drive 1 hr. 52 Min. to Winter Place Ski Resort in Ghent West Virginia. Cabin is close to Virginia Tec and Martinsville Spedway.

It is located on Native Trout Stream near New River in Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia and is a short distance from the Blue Ridge Parkway at Meadows of Dan. Trout fishing, hunting, hiking, and four wheeling are available on site. Bring your own equipment. Golf, swimming, boating, antiquing, wineries and horseback riding are all within a few miles. For those that must stay connected, the house has Satellite Flat Screen TVs.

For further information about this property an links to area attractions, visit website. There you will find links to local golf course, a local winery, a park with swimming, beach and boat rentals, etc.

Payment Information: Payment is due at the time of reservation. Payment may be made by check or credit card.

Cancellation Policy: We know that plans can go astray, however, we rely on advance reservations, and cancellations may not be readily refilled. To be fair to all concerned, our policy is as follows:

If a reservation is canceled 30 days or more prior to the arrival date, then the pre-payment will be refunded less a $50.00 administrative fee. If a reservation is canceled within 30 days of the arrival date, refunds will be dependent upon re-renting the property. You may not change your reservation to new date within the 30 day cancellation period. The reservation may not be changed to a shorter length of time. Extension to stays is subject to availability. All guests are financially responsible for the time reserved; there will be no refunds due to weather, change of plans, or early departures.

Trip Cancellation Insurance is available at:

Copy & paste to Browser.

More Details

Owner
Bob Chamberlain
Member since: 2008
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few hours
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 May, 2017

About Bob Chamberlain

We are private homeowners who live in Florida and this is our small guest cabin that sits below and at the bottom of the mountain from our 5 bedroom home, which we also rent when we are not there ourselves.

What makes this cabin unique

Sits on stream near waterfall with a great deck and a hot tub effective May 1st.

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin rental in Dugspur, Virginia

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 55 m²
  • 1 story
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • smoking allowed ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • River ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • soap
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
  • Ceiling Heat/Fan
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double bed , Sofa Bed
  • The master bedroom features traditional design with queen-size bed. Wooden television cabinet and dresser are featured for comfortable relaxation. In the living area, extra guests can stay by cabin’s fireplace and a short walk to the kitchen for those midnight snacks. Everyone sleeps comfortably and enjoys this amazing log cabin in the woods.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • wooden decking
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • diving
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
HOT TUB & Expanded Deck & Gas Grill Added 4/18/13. CHILDREN: Children are absolutely welcomed. This is the perfect and safe environment for children and family vacations. PET POLICY: Pets are accepted with a $50.00 cleaning fee. SMOKING: Smoking is permitted outside on the deck, but not inside the home. Privacy and seclusion is offered. Cabin is in a great location for fishing, hunting or just relaxing by the fireplace watching satellite television. Bring your four wheelers. Trip Cancellation Insurance is available at: http://www.travelguard.com/agentlink.asp?ta arc=268515&ASPP2agencyemail=george@cccruisefl.com. Copy & paste to Browser.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(61 traveller reviews)

Spectacular Mountain Log Cabin for Outdoorsmen, Sports Fans & Romantic Couples!
average rating of 4.7419353 based on 62 reviews
5

Fantastic accomodations even in the rain!

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a weekend get away from the city and our jobs and this cabin provided all the comforts and relaxation we needed even during a weekend of rain and thunderstorms. The half covered deck provided a shelter from the rain while still enjoying meals, the hot tub, and lounging on the chairs just to re-connect. It is in a very secluded place and features the sound of water going over a river dam within eye sight of the deck. Thanks Bob for sharing your cabin with us.

  • Review Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Little Cute Cabin next to Roaring Creek

  • 4 of 5

LOved our stay at the cabin. Bob was great and very helpfull

  • Review Submitted: May 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Everything was beautiful

  • 4 of 5

Our stay was great! I really enjoyed all the peace and quiet. We will definitely be back.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Review of cabin in Dugspur

  • 3 of 5

I have stayed in this cabin before and it was kept very well. Unfortunately,this time there were a lot of things that needed to be addressed.

1. Both of screens doors were damaged and "duck taped". Frame was

bent!

2. Shower head needed to be replaced. Not able to adjust properly.

3. Bugs on ceiling in bedroom and falling in bed while I tried to sleep. All

over floor.

4. TV didn't function properly. Friends who live there said it wasn't satellite

cause theirs was fine.

Must admit I was floored to see all these things were being neglected after once being such an awesome place. Was not up to par to be rented at the fee that was charged

  • Review Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry you encountered these issues. I understand that you also had trouble entering because we use guest phone numbers for the code and you did not know your phone number. This is a five star property based on prior reviews so it appears you should not return. This cabin is remotely located in the mountains. This means bugs can be present and satellite TV can have issues occasionally. The shower head was checked and is fine so it appears that the lower level was not pulled completely. It is the same shower head as your previous visits and shower heads don't go bad. It is simply the means to spread the water with the use of multiple holes and have no moving parts. As for the doors, someone must have attempted to break in since both doors damaged is not likely with normal use. We are sorry you feel things were neglected. Seems the bugs are still doing well and we just installed a new TV so the old box TV was removed and permanently neglected by replacing with a better wall mount. We really don't control satellites or bugs nor doe we feel we need instructions for operating the shower. Those "Friends who live there" live on top of a mountain and not in the valley so have no clue as to reception at the bottom of the mountain. As for the door, we rely on renters to tell us if they break something. I might suggest the Holiday Inn in in Hillsville. The rate is the same. The Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Breathtking views

  • 4 of 5

We would definetely stay agin, but the shower needs fixing & the power was out when we got there with no candles or lamp oil., but hey it was our hooneymoon so dark was ok ha. The power came back on later & Bob came to check on us & was very friendly & helpful. We loved the nice hot tub & fire pit & sounds of the river,. We loved it!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Picturesque Cabin in the middle of nowhere

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was exactly what me and my boyfriend wanted for our first Valentines Day together. Sweet cabin in the woods, with hot tub and fireplace. The fact that we could cook the entire time we were there and didn't have to leave was great. And we took full advantage of the hot tub. We were in it atleast 3 hours everyday. We will definitely be back. The only problem we had was the water pressure in the shower was pretty bad. Might want to check on that. But other than that, PERFECT! Juse know that you are about 20 minutes from anything resembling a store or restaurant. So stock up before you get there. We did and it was perfect!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

This property is located on 500 feet of frontage at a waterfall on Laural Fork Creek in Laurel Fork, Virginia. It is close to Floyd, Virginia and Mt. Airy, North Carolina and Meadows of Dan on the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is near the junctions of Interstate 77 & Interstate 81 The closest Exit off Interstate 77 is at Hwyay 58 in Hillsville, Virginia.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cabin in Dugspur, Virginia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring
1 Apr 2017 - 31 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$167
A$936
A$1,873
 
 
Memorial Day
26 May 2017 - 30 May 2017
5 night minimum stay
A$803
Flat fee
 
 
Summer
1 Jun 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$167
From
A$214
Fri,Sat,Sun
A$1,204
A$2,676
 
 
Fourth of July
1 Jul 2017 - 5 Jul 2017
5 night minimum stay
A$803
Flat fee
 
 
Floydfest
25 Jul 2017 - 31 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
A$1,070
Flat fee
 
 
Fall
1 Sep 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$167
From
A$187
Fri,Sat,Sun
A$803
A$2,274
 
 
Labor Day Flea Market
2 Sep 2017 - 5 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
A$870
Flat fee
 
 
Winter
1 Nov 2017 - 31 Mar 2018
2 night minimum stay
A$147
From
A$167
Fri,Sat,Sun
A$803
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee A$66.89

Trip Cancellation Insurance is available at: www.cccruisefl.com

Copy & paste to Browser.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable