Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Luxurious Villa 15 min drive to down town Reykjavík. Toxin free cleaning.

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms2
Space 340 m²
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Sleeps 14 +

370 square meter luxurious Villa, 15 min. drive to down town Reykjavík. Perfect for a family away from home, or bigger groups. 2.5 bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen, dining table which easily sits 16 people, spacious living-room with a projector, big garden with a Hot Tub, private parking for 6 cars.

Tiled, heated floors in entry hall, kitchen, laundry room and master bedroom bathroom. Hardwood floors in all bedrooms and living room. The hole house is cleaned without toxins.

Close to Reykjavík.

My house is in the Capital area, even closer to Reykjavík center than some of it´s own suburbs.

If you look out of my kitchen window, there is only one row of houses between my house and Reykjavík.

There are no long distances in the Capital area, compared to bigger city´s.

It will take +/- 15 min to drive to downtown Reykjavík, depending on the time of day.

You are much quicker out of the city, if you come to enjoy nature you are on the ring road (highway1) within 10 min from my house.

If you come for nature, you are better located at my place. If you come for the night life you might be better of down town, but I doubt that you´ll find a better place to spend time together with your friends or family, hot tub, lots of open space and perfect kitchen and dining area.

If the Northern lights will show you the courtesy to dance around the sky, it only takes you 5-10 min drive from my place to get out of the light pollution, you might even enjoy from my garden.

I can be pretty flexible with the check in, as long as there is not a same day exchange, you can have an early check in. I offer those who would like to secure an early check 50% of the nightly rate. Or you could take the chance you´ll have it anyway.

More Details

Owner
Vilborg B Hjaltested
Member since: 2015
Speaks english, dutch, Icelandic
Calendar last updated:
20 July, 2017

About Vilborg B Hjaltested

I´m Icelandic, with a Dutch partner, living together apart, so I do a lot of travelling. Most of the time it´s back and forth to Amsterdam.

I built my house and moved in to it in 2002. It was built to house 4 daughters and the ability to host my employees at home. So much nicer to invite people to your home, rather than renting a facility. Thats the reason why my kitchen is designed for a chef, with all this space. Asking for a private chef for one ore some of the evenings is an option. Or you could ask for a meal already made, you just need to heat it when you come home.

Why Vilborg B Hjaltested chose Reykjavik

My house is perfectly located for those who would like to explore nature and the capital city - Reykjavík. It only takes you 5-10 min to drive out of the light "pollution" to get a better look at the Northern Lights.

One of the better swimming pools is in a walking distance. An Icelandic swimming pool is one of the must do´s in Iceland. Geothermal heated pools and Jacuzzi's, sauna, steam-bath, slides, massage pools and streams for very little money.

Supermarket in a walking distance, a bakery a little bit further.

If you come for the night life in Reykjavík, you might be better located down town. But you will not find a better place to spend time with your friends / family, with all these open spaces, big kitchen and dining / living area.

What makes this villa unique

Private parking for 6 cars.

Big living room, dining table sits 16, easy.

Big fully equipped kitchen, big stove, 7 pits. Ceramic coated pot and pans.

Spacious bedrooms.

Hot Tub

Projector

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa rental in Breidholt, Iceland

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 340 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Bathroom connected to the master bedroom, WC, bathtub with a shower. Bigger bathroom on the ground floor has 2 sinks, a shower, a extra long bathtub, and an apart WC with a sink. Geothermal heated tiles. There is also an extra WC on the upper floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 single bed
    Bedroom 6 - 2 single bed , 2 singles, 90x200 cm each, can be made double, 180x200.
    Bedroom 7 - 1 double bed , 1 single bed , 1 sofa bed/futon , The sofa bed is in the entry Hal.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 single bed , 2 singles, 90x200 cm each, can be made double, 180x200.
    Bedroom 5 - 2 single bed , 2 single beds, 2x95x205cm, or 1 double 190x205cm
  • The basic price is for 8 persons, 4 bedrooms. 1-2 additional guests will add the 5th bedroom, 3-4 additional guests will add the 6th bedroom, 5-6 additional guests will add the 7th bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • medical services
Notes:
NO BACHELOR PARTY´S

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

93% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxurious Villa 15 min drive to down town Reykjavík. Toxin free cleaning.
average rating of 4.866667 based on 15 reviews
5

More than one could have possibly hoped for!

  • 5 of 5

Truly incredible experience! From the property itself to Vilborg our host. Vilborg went out of her way to make our Trip perfect. We were celebrating a friends 60th birthday and had a large group of people travel to Iceland from the USA to celebrate. Vilborg not only made sure that the house was impeccable, but she arranged for a chef to prepare a private dinner for us for our friend Ed's birthday, brought Ed a special birthday gift and made us feel like part of her family. The information she provided to us prior to coming about activities and travel companies as well as local restaurants proved invaluable. Her hospitality was truly amazing. The property was fantastic. We were never at a loss for anything. The hot tub was relaxing after long travel days, the kitchen was well equipped, bathrooms were stocked with fresh towels to last the entire stay and all the amenities of home were supplied. I could not recommend this place enough and would not think of staying anyplace else when I return in the future. Truly a special place and Vilborg is truly one of a kind! Can't thank her enough!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: OMG - my heart jumps. I am so happy to hear that I helped with making your trip unforgettable, it was my pleasure. It is sooooo much fun to help such joyful people - I hope we meet again :-) Greetings, Vilborg
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Berkeley, CA
5

Great home for a group

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay with a group of 10. Took full advantage of the well equipped kitchen, the hot tub and central location to activities around Reykjavik.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great place with problems

  • 3 of 5

Spacious house but there were a few problems and the owner wasn't around to help. Luckily her lovely daughter made time to come help us out and without her it wouldn't have been such a nice trip. Chronic problems with the electrical breakers continually blowing even when nothing was plugged in, alarms on the freezers going off nonstop and the washing machine leaked at every use. Also the hot-tub wasn't working because of problems with the drain which was a huge let down. Luckily we had an electrician with us otherwise we would have had to call everyday to get something fixed. Slightly overpriced for what it has to offer. We found some other houses when we were there that offered a bit more for a better deal. Location was nice, near an incredible pool-house that should be visited. Nice walking path and GORGEOUS views.

  • Review Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: OMG what happened in my home? If you would have told me, it would have been taken care of! One of the things Home Away means is, that if you rent someone´s home, that someone is away. Yes, I was away, but I have 4 daughters, 3 sons in law and a sister in law living next door who will come running to help out. But we need to know if there is something wrong. I did not get one phone call from you! If I´m going to be able to help - I NEED to know there is a problem. After I heard of electricity not being OK and my daughter had taken care of that, I sent you a message and asked how things where going. I explained the importance of me knowing if the electricity was working, specially because of the freezer. It was sad for me to come home and find out that everything in my freezer was gone sour. It would have been so much nicer of you to tell me what was going on, so that I could have gotten it taken care of. If you look into it, you´ll find out that power supplies in Iceland are very reliable, you can have every electrical device in use at the same time, and it will not even blink. If the fuses burst, it has to do with an electrical device in use, it has to do with security. Could it be that you had plugged a 110V device? I find it so strange that for one week everything goes out, and then when I come back home everything works. No electrician needed! I so often have guests from Canada and always have good experience. I felt that I had gone out of my way to help you out, even made up 12 beds, to take care of coming and going guests, though there would be only 9 guests in the house at a time. So sorry that you had such a bad experience, absolutely nothing worked? You did not enjoy the house at all? The big kitchen? Dining table for all 12 of you? All the space to stay together? If you read former reviews nobody has your experience, this is totally new to me. Never had a leaking washing machine, not before, not after, just this week you tell me about. The only thing I can think of is to much washing powder. To much foam will make any machine leak. Pricing is always a matter of opinion, up until now you're the first one not happy with my home........... makes me sad. You will be welcome if you ever decide to visit Iceland again. Maybe I can make it better for you next time? Kind regards, Vilborg
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Monterey, California
5

Wonderful for a large group

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful home to stay in. We were all delirious from travel and having such an open, clean, and family friendly place to land and lay our heads. Vilborg was a fantastic host. She was very attentive and available if we needed anything. I'd definitely recommend staying here if you're considering it.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Scott, It was nice to meet all of you, seeing you all around the big dinner table making plans for coming days, brings a smile to my face. Kind regards, Vilborg
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic stay in Iceland...what a place!

  • 5 of 5

The villa we rented while we stayed was out of this world, spacious, modern, well equipped & best of all luxurious! We were all raving about the beds they are so comfy...some of the best nights sleep whilst away!! Location was great bus stop close to get to down town Reykjavik or taxi was easy and reasonable. The local swimming pool very close to the house is brilliant we had a lovely afternoon there in and out of the hot pools and hardly cost anything!

Vilborg has been pleasure to deal with, so helpful since our first enquiry into our possible trip to Iceland...it is hard to organise 12 women and Vilborg made my life a lot simpler with her knowledge of the area and suggestions to make things run smoothly!

Overall we all throughly enjoyed our trip and stay and the next time we visit Iceland we will be hoping Vilborg has availability for us!! Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, thank you. So glad I could help. You´re the first bachelorette group I host and from my experience I gladly welcome them. Good to hear you took my advice on the swimming pool, Icelandic swimming pools are the best! And with a big group of women, you can all get ready together, after the relaxation the pools offer. Welcome back anytime! Kind regards, Vilborg
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location, Great House, Great Trip

  • 5 of 5

I celebrated my 40th birthday with a group of friends and family that totaled 13! We had the time of our lives. The location of the house was fantastic. We were only a 10-15 minute drive from downtown Reykjavik, where we spent several nights dining out and drinking at local bars. In addition, we were far enough away from the city lights to get a glimpse of the northern lights while having a quiet glass of wine in the hot tub. The House had everything that we needed and was well appointed. Indeed, the gourmet kitchen was amazing and with a house full of foodies, it was put to good use. Although it was a bit tricky to manage such a large group with only two full baths, we managed with flying colors. Since my group was so large, the many parking spaces were fantastic, as was the layout of the villa. It allowed people to be able to hang out as a group at the large dining room table or to sit on the entryway sofa downstairs and read a book. It truly met everyone's needs. But, the true gem of this property is Vilborg. She was amazing. She was available for any questions we had both before the trip and during the trip. She was kind and courteous and very accommodating. I would highly recommend this house for anyone who wishes to travel to Iceland with a group. It was perfect!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words Tiana, Yes, again my beautiful kitchen gets compliments, and the huge dining table. If it gets to busy showering, there is this fantastic swimming pool in a walking distance, 2 min by car, very fairly priced. After all going to an Icelandic swimming pool is one of the must to do, there you´ll find Jacuzzi´s with different temperatures, stream lane, water massage, slides, steam-bath etc. If I can help - I´m all for it :-) Welcome back anytime. Kind regards, Vilborg
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
49 Kilometres
Keflavíkurflugvöllur - Leifs Eiríkssonar
Nearest Barpub
2 Kilometres
Spot
Nearest Golf
5 Kilometres
GKG
Nearest Motorway
6 Kilometres
Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
2 Kilometres
Íslenska Flatbakan
Nearest Ski
29 Kilometres
Bláfjöll
Nearest Beach
10 Kilometres
Nauthólsvík
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday villa in Breidholt, Iceland

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2017
1 Jun 2017 - 15 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$1,182
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add A$66 per night, per additional guest
 
OCT 2017
21 Sep 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$916
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add A$66 per night, per additional guest
 
NOV 2017
1 Nov 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$916
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add A$66 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas 2017
23 Dec 2017 - 26 Dec 2017
4 night minimum stay
A$1,713
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add A$66 per night, per additional guest
 
New Years
29 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
A$1,713
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add A$66 per night, per additional guest
 
Easter 2018
29 Mar 2018 - 4 Apr 2018
4 night minimum stay
A$1,182
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add A$66 per night, per additional guest
 
APRÍL 2018
5 Apr 2018 - 30 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
A$916
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add A$66 per night, per additional guest
 
MAY 2018
1 May 2018 - 23 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
A$916
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add A$66 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2018
24 May 2018 - 20 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
A$1,288
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add A$66 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
A$730
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add A$66 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit A$1,179.09
Cleaning A$280.04
Tax Rate 11.0%

The check-in time is 4 PM / check-out time is 11 AM. I can be pretty flexible on these times, depending on if there is a same day arrival / departure.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties