check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Roger Smith

Member since: 2011
Speaks english

Honey Pot Cottage. Broad Oak Estate circa 1565. Lake District National Park

13 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage


Photos and Description of this Underbarrow holiday cottage

Located on Broad Oak Estate circa 1565. Beautiful, peaceful tranquil retreat.

You are currently viewing Honey Pot Cottage: NOTE: PLEASE VIEW: Nanny Goat HomeAway Reference: 1887603 & Broad Oak Estate Circa 1565, HomeAway Reference number: 1887602. THESE PROPERTIES are ALL properties located on the Broad Oak Estate, that sits on 60 acres of private land, comprising of two small lakes, woodland. The driveway that leads from the main road ensures a secure location for your families retreat. .

  • long term rentals available
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
Roger Smith (Property Manager)
Member since: 2011
Speaks english

About Roger Smith


Roger Smith purchased this cottage in 1990

Why Roger Smith chose Kendal & South Lakes

Fabulous location, and amenities.

What makes this cottage unique

The Lake District.


based on 13 traveller reviews

Honey Pot Cottage. Broad Oak Estate circa 1565. Lake District National Park
average rating of 4.3076925 based on 13 reviews


  • 5 of 5

Another great stay at the Broadoak Estate. Honey was great, we stayed with a guest so

This cottage was perfect size. We had an issue but it was sorted straight away. Everything is there that you need like home from home. Log burner was great too!! Leanne again was a great host, a very warm welcome and a great asset to the cottages and the big house, she works really hard and always available to help. Definately coming back again!!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Deposit not repaid yet

  • 1 of 5

Owners are ignoring my correspondence about non repayment of my deposit of £150 since my return from the stay on Sunday 4 September 2016. I've had to insert one star, to be able to submit this review, but sadly if the owner is not going to refund a deposit, is this property worth one star?

  • Review Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Shairon the client was very rude to our manger, and made excessive noise, and the deposit was refunded per our agreement within 14 days, yet she demanded the deposit back the day she vacated. The 1 star is an attack, as you can see all the other reviews are excellent.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Well located but cottage not clean .

  • 3 of 5

Great location in a quiet and tranquil setting but very disappointed in the standards of cleanliness of the cottage particularly in the kitchen where food debris was found on top of the fridge and in the freezer .

It appeared that housekeeping standards were inadequate and at best only a surface clean had been carried out before we arrived .

Another example of standards slipping was the filthy condition of the Barbeque containing ash and other remnants of a previous Barbeque . We were looking forward to having a Barbeque as the weather was very good but it was unusable . This should be thoroughly cleaned between guests staying .

We will not be staying again .

  • Review Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mr. Mackrell (client) originally sent this email below stating he was writing a nice review see details: Hi Lyn and Roger, Please can you respond to my last email in respect of the return of the refundable damage deposit ? I will be putting a positive review on the website about our stay but not until I receive the £150 deposit back. Kind regards Pamela and Paul Ss you can see, this is very unethical, and we have to completely disagree with this client, since he was very happy, and NO complaints had been made, it states in our agreement, that if the client is unhappy with the property upon arrival, or during the course of the rental that we should be informed, and we can make good of any bad, or complaint within 24 hours, unfortunately this client did not make any remarks or complaints during their stay, even after visiting personally, and asking if they were happy. We have a very strong rating and apologies for this misleading information. This person was rude to my manager and no pictures or proof was provided per her false remarks, that are truly insulting, and incorrect. Our best, Roger & Lyn .
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Absolutely fantastic accommodation. Every comfort you can imagine in beautiful surroundings.

  • 5 of 5

It's just lovely. Private, quiet, beautifully decorated (dog friendly but you wouldn't know from the clean and tidy furniture). Key code meant that arrival time was flexible. Very comfortable and with the log burner and comfy sofas, a fantastic place for a winter break too. Definitely would stay again!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Greatly appreciated ... Thank you very much ... !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A charming cottage in delightful grounds

  • 3 of 5

We have stayed several times at Honey Pot and have always been satisfied, however, this time we were disappointed with the general upkeep of the place. Housekeeping was not up to standard, the couch covers needed cleaning, and bedding in the raspberry room needed to be replaced. Sheets were old and too large for the bed. There was also a problem with damp.The laundry room was unavailable,no paper towels in the kitchen, and we were told only one roll of toilet paper per person for the week. Unfortunately Honey Pot is no longer 5 star,..... it certainly was several years ago.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Quaint cottage in a beautiful setting. Very relaxing and peaceful.

  • 4 of 5

Lovely, well appointed cottage. Suited our needs perfectly. Would deinately return. Easy to find, Great instructions and additional information available. Enjoyed a delicious meal at the Punchbowl in Crossthwaite. Not much to fault it except rubbish store was in need of attention. Also one large pan for cooking pasta and some wooden spoons would be handy. DVD player did not work, but sky tv appreciated for the grandchildren.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
82 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
Punch Bowl Pub, Underbarrow
Nearest Golf
3.3 Miles
Kendal Gold Club
Nearest Train
5.6 Miles
Oxenholme Lake District
Nearest Motorway
9.7 Miles
M6 Junction 36
Nearest Restaurant
1.7 Miles
Punch Bowl Inn, Crosthwaite
Car: recommended

This unique cottage circa 1565 lies within a small Cumbrian Estate.

The extensive grounds also include two tarns, and sixty acres of private woodland which guest can use at their leisure the old country gardens are a pleasure all the year round. Furnishing are in keeping with a luxurious country cottage which holds a 5 Star Gold Star Award.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cottage in Underbarrow, United Kingdom

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Autumn Winter
2 Sep 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay
Seasonal Change
23 Dec 2016 - 29 Dec 2016
Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay
Christmas & NY
30 Dec 2016 - 5 Jan 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay
Low Winter Season
6 Jan 2017 - 2 Feb 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay
Low 2 Winter Season
3 Feb 2017 - 16 Mar 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay
Easter Start Week
17 Mar 2017 - 30 Mar 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay
After Easter Holiday
31 Mar 2017 - 27 Apr 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay
Early May Bank Holiday
28 Apr 2017 - 29 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay
30 Jun 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay
Autumn Winter
1 Sep 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

See "NOTES" on Fees A$0
Pet Fee A$34
1 ben use cleaning fee A$77
2 bed use cleaning fee A$128

Full weekend Friday to Monday or Monday to Friday, or Full Weeks: "No Cleaning Fee" OTHERWISE Cleaning Fees are charged.
1. Payments: We accept full payment upon securing your dates.
2. Damage Deposit: We dont take a damage deposit but we ask that if any damage is done, that you report the damage and pay for it.
3. Logs: Starter pack:12GBP Bag of logs 9GBP.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage rental in Underbarrow, United Kingdom

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 200 m²
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure
  • All very well maintained, and kept very clean.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 extra lg. double bed , Bedroom with en-suit bathroom
  • Both bedrooms are individually styled one having a king size bed, with an extremely comfortable mattress, beautiful hand made curtains and bed drapes. The TV in the bedroom has a DVD player and a seperate CD player, this room has a bath with a contained shower and bidet, shower, wash basin, and toilet, the French country furniture lends this room to a very relaxed atmosphere. The second bedroom Has a genuine half tester victorian bed again with beautiful drapes and hand painted walls with nice antique furniture to match and again TV with DVD player, and seperate CD player.the ensuite is also recently replaced.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Veranda / Loggia
  • long term rentals available
  • children welcome
  • pets considered ...
  • smoking allowed ...
  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Honey Pot Cottage nestles in Broad Oaks Circa 1565 country estate in the Lake District National Park.The private Gardens and grounds are for the use of Guests. There are two Beautiful Lakes, which are nice to picnic by, and lots of woodland. The surrounding area has a wealth of good places to eat out, ( for all Tastes ). Lake Windermere is 7mile drive through nice country lanes passing many nice country Inns.The historic town of Kendal is but a short drive away where there are local markets and museums. Lots of lovely walks and drives out even to go along the coast and visit Barrow or Ulverston. This area remains an unspoilt part of the National Park, come along and see for yourselves.