Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Superior Rentals in Madeira - Lido (FREE PARKING)

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Space 140 m²
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Luxury Sea View 2 bedroom penthouse in the most premium area of the city

Luxury oceanfront 2 bedroom penthouse located in one of the most premium areas in Funchal (aka 'The Hotel Zone') right next to its best-know beaches & lidos and still within walking distance of the old town and the main tourist attractions.

This is a modern and quite unique venue occupying the top floor (yeah no neighbours around!!!) of a seven-story closed condo, embracing the Atlantic Ocean and offering not only sweeping views but also best-in-class amenities (luxurious private garden, oceanfront infinity pool, high speed wireless internet, smart TV, music surround system...)

The apartment is very spacious and elegantly decorated, offering 2 large bedrooms (one of which is a seaview suite with a private bathroom) with king sized beds and ample wardrobes, a luminous living room with large windows and a seaview balcony (where our guests can enjoy a perfect breakfast...), a fully equipped kitchen and a second big bathroom.

====================

The Neighborhood

====================

The location is in one of the most sought-after areas of the city, well served by beautiful beaches and public lidos (that offer the warmest ocean water in Portugal) with very nice restaurants and beach bars around, as well as a spectacular coastal promenade.

There are also many hotels nearby offering top quality entertainment and a great ambiance overall.

On the opposite side of the street there is a modern shopping mall ('Madeira Forum') with a large selection of shops, a big supermarket, a food court, a multiplex movie theater and several ATM machines.

====================

Getting around

====================

There is a bus stop right in front of the condo and a frequent bus service to the city center operating from 6:20am to 23:40pm in every 10 or 15 minutes (lines 01 and 02 heading downtown). The trip takes about 15 minutes and bus tickets normally cost 2€/person if bought on-board (or 1,35€/person if bought in advance) although there are cheaper alternatives such as 3-day tickets (11,8€/person) and 5-day tickets (16,30€/person) that offer unlimited trips.

Taxis are also relatively cheap in Madeira and, depending on the hour/traffic, a ride downtown costs less than 10€ and takes about 10 minutes.

However, if you prefer to enjoy some magnificent views then you can also walk to the city center (~25 minutes) or to the old town (~50 min) although I don't recommend it on a regular basis.

====================

Other things to note:

====================

The venue is not suitable for guests with limited mobility because of a stairway with 14 steps (2 flights of stairs with 7 steps each) leading from the elevator hall to the front door.

====================

Included (free) services:

====================

- Private secure parking space

- Bath towels and bed linens

- High-speed wireless internet (30Mbps) available in every room

- Cable TV with 140 high quality channels (English, French, Spanish, German, Portuguese) and free video-on-demand service (excellent for watching movies)

- Hi-fi music surround system (CD/DVD, USB & MP3 compatible)

- Nespresso coffee machine

- Full range of kitchen appliances (induction hob, oven, pans, tableware, fridge, microwave, dish washing machine, laundry washing & drying machine, toaster, electric kettle, steam iron and board...)

- Hairdryer

====================

Optional (paid) services:

====================

- Transfer from the airport (60€ roundtrip max. 4 persons with limited luggage space available)

====================

House rules:

====================

- 200€ damage deposit required upon arrival. It must be paid in cash and will be fully returned at check-out if no damage is done to the property.

- 50€/week housekeeping fee (not included in the balance of the rental) is due for stays longer than 7 days in order to guarantee that the Property is properly serviced.

- 25€ charge applies when checking-in after 8:00pm.

- No pets allowed.

- Smoking only allowed in the balcony.

More Details

Owner
Miguel Filipe
Member since: 2014
Speaks english, portuguese
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
14 May, 2017

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment rental in São Martinho, Portugal

Property Type:
  • apartment
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 140 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 12:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Elevator
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • - 1 extra lg. double bed
    - 1 extra lg. double bed
  • The bedrooms both have large closets fitted to the walls providing great space for clothes and luggage.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • diving
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(23 traveller reviews)

91% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Superior Rentals in Madeira - Lido (FREE PARKING)
average rating of 4.7826085 based on 23 reviews
Birmingham
5

Superior location - well presented and maintained - pleasant and amenable owners - reasonably priced

  • 5 of 5

This is the second year we have stayed with Miguel Filipe and his associates having visited Funchal several times previously. For us the apartment is well located, adjacent to the Forum Shopping Centre and with convenient bus stops too and fro central Funchal. Likewise good local eating establishments. Well furnished and equipped with good security to the premises - all-in-all it was good to know what we were coming to and let us rest easy. We hope to be back again next year!

  • Review Submitted: May 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chelmsford
1

Not as nice as expected and awful treatment by owner

  • 1 of 5

Its ok but didnt live upto expectations. Had to pay for last night and move to hotel. I said 1400 is only acceptable check out time as uk flight etd 1825 but they took money and mid stay said get out at 1200. They could have offered extra night or not taken money 9 months before stay. Would never consider again and hotel was much nicer.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest said that we ruined his holiday because we could not comply with his last-minute request to checkout a couple of hours later. Can you believe it? Well, although we always try to offer late checkouts to guests, sometimes it's simply not possible due to having other customers arriving on the same day. That was precisely the case and, unfortunately, Mr. Martin Wilson did not have the capacity to understand it. This review is obviously biased and represents his little revenge. But that's just fine with us because 99,99% of our guests LOVE our service and our apartment. And we're really proud of that!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A high quality apartment in top location

  • 5 of 5

This 2-bedrooms 2-baths apartment is of the highest quality. It is spacious, elegantly furnished, and well -equipped. The location, with sea-view, close proximity to large shopping centre (200 meters) and numerous restaurants within easy walking distance, is ideal. The descriptions on the website was accurate, the property is well-kept and top customer service was provided. Not only would I recommend the apartment to family and friend, we have already book the apartment for another 4 week for 2017. Highly recommended!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much Michael for reviewing our property in Funchal. It was a real pleasure to accommodate you and our team is really glad that you've decided to return next year. We'll make sure that you have awesome holidays once again! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

1st class apartment with amazing views

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was a class above a lot of holiday rentals, it was definitely a home from home, it was beautifully decorated and equipped with everything we needed for our stay. The pool and gardens were beautifully maintained and provided a lovely place to relax and look out to the sea, during our stay, early October, most of the time we were the only one’s by the pool. There are a number of restaurants close by, thanks to Miguel for the detailed information he sent us before our trip, we particularly liked Bombay Spice. Shopping for a few essentials was easy, there’s a large supermarket on the lower ground floor of the Forum Madeira which is within a few minute’s walk from the apartment. We walked to the Town of Funchal, which is about 2.5 miles, but there is excellent public transport for lazy days. We missed out on the Levada walks, I hurt my ankle on the first day, when we to go back to Madeira we would head straight back to this apartment.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location and outlook

  • 4 of 5

Apartment was all we expected, spacious, clean and very well equipped. Victor was very helpful, showed us some of Funchal after picking us up from the airport & sorted a problem with the TV. Lovely walk part way into Funchal but you need bus or car to get to town centre. (Buses easy to use, buy ticket first time on bus then top up for future rides, it's cheaper that way) Suggestion for Miguel? Comfy chairs on balcony would be good!

Madeira generally? You need a car to see the island, but lots to do in and around Funchal (unless you want clubbing) Chris's restaurant five minutes walk away, not cheap but worth every penny if you like fine dining, you need to book. Final point, Madeira is warm most of the year but it gets more than its share of cloud so if you want wall to wall sunshine it's probably not the place for you. Having said that, it didn't spoil our holiday.

Thank you Miguel, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Barry & Lynne

  • Review Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

"Superior home away from home"

  • 5 of 5

We stayed 13 days at this property and loved every minute of it! Everything you see on the listing website is accurate and there is no misrepresentation in any sense. However what the website cannot convey is that you will feel at home once you open the door to this property. From the lovely original artwork, high end appliances and very comfortable beds, you will find all the comforts of home. My wife especially loved the dryer and as she can wash and dry without having the added chore of drying clothes on racks on rainy days which there were quite a few on this trip!

After staying a few days in the apartment, we also realized how quiet and peaceful it was. As the property is located on the top floor, there are no neighbours and we really enjoyed the privacy. The property is very clean as other reviewers have mentioned and of course there is the ensuite bathroom which overlooks the ocean. What a pleasure to take a bath on a rainy day listening to the waves crashing against the shore, 6 or 7 floors below!

Last and certainly the most important intangible about this property are the owners. Miguel and Victor are really courteous and helpful in making sure that our vacation is what is should be......stress free. From initial inquiries, booking, through to check-in and check-out, Miguel and Victor have been extremely professional and helpful. We had a small issue one night with tripping the electrical circuit (probably our fault for having too many appliances running during one of those rainy days!) and Victor turned up five minutes after our call and resolved the problem.

Half-way through our stay, Miguel (who was away) emailed to follow up whether we were comfortable in the apartment. A small gesture but it goes a long way to show that the owners do take every care to ensure that their clients have a great vacation.

Last of all, the property is located in a wonderful part of Funchal, close to wonderful restaurants, supermarkets, shopping centers and most important, the seaside promenade, a place to relax, swim or just to take strolls.

A small piece of heaven.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday apartment in São Martinho, Portugal

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
July 2017
1 Jul 2017 - 31 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$147
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add A$29 per night, per additional guest
 
August 2017
1 Aug 2017 - 17 Sep 2017
5 night minimum stay
A$118
From
A$133
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add A$29 per night, per additional guest
 
New Year 2017
23 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
A$147
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add A$29 per night, per additional guest
 
Carnival 2018
6 Feb 2018 - 12 Feb 2018
5 night minimum stay
A$133
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add A$29 per night, per additional guest
 
New Year 2018
26 Dec 2018 - 3 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
A$147
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add A$29 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
A$96
From
A$111
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add A$29 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning A$73.69

- 200€ damage deposit required upon arrival. It must be paid in cash and will be fully returned at check-out if no damage is done to the property.
- 50€/week housekeeping fee (not included in the balance of the rental) is due for stays longer than 7 days.
- €25 charge applies when checking-in after 8:00pm.
- No pets allowed.
- Smoking only allowed in the balcony.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties