Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

Grand Retreat-Spring Sale! 3 nites for the price of 2! April and May only

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 3,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

About the property

5 Bedrooms, game room, huge kitchen, 3 Baths, Sleeps 12, FREE Wi-Fi & FIREWOOD

The Grand Retreat is sure to please the entire family with its large great room, a deck overlooking Jonvick Creek, large fire pit for evenings around the bonfire, full size pool table and a dedicated theater room featuring a 50” flat screen TV with surround sound. This home sits on a large wooded lot with no neighbors. It is only 5 minutes from Lutsen Mountain and centrally located for hiking, fishing, snowmobiling, waterfalls, and scenic drives. Free WIFI and *one rack of firewood.

This custom home is a large two level timber frame home with two complete family rooms – one featuring a full size pool table and game table, the other features a stone wood-burning fireplace with gorgeous views. There is a custom full kitchen with a large dining table that seats 12, five bedrooms, three full-bathrooms and a two-car garage. It has hickory floors with in-floor radiant heating, granite countertops, vaulted ceilings with exposed beams and warm cedar. It is furnished with high quality furniture – comfy rich leather couches, four-poster beds with thick mattresses, double bunk beds and comfy sofas in the theater room, one that has a pull out Lazy-Boy double bed.

There is room for a maximum of 5 vehicles.

More Details

Property Manager
Greg Amundson
Member since: 2006
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few hours
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
18 March, 2017

About Greg Amundson

Greg and Betsy live in Scandia, Minnesota. A previous home building contractor, Greg built more than 50 custom timber frame homes on the north shore, including all of the Lutsen Lodges homes. Currently, Greg and Betsy own and operate Lutsen Lodges vacation rental homes and are also business entrepreneurs.

Greg Amundson purchased this house in 2006

Why Greg Amundson chose Minnesota

Lutsen Lodges was established to provide families and friends a high quality vacation in an “upper end” post and beam retreat. Our properties are located in the Sawtooth Mountains just 5 minutes from Lutsen Mountain Ski Resort and in the midst of numerous lakes, streams, hiking and snowmobile trails, waterfalls and much more. In addition, these retreats are in secluded and quiet locations for those seeking extreme relaxation or outdoor activities.

Lutsen, Minnesota is the ultimate outdoor recreation area. Whether your interests are hiking, fly-fishing, lake fishing, hunting, kayaking, mountain biking, photography or snowmobiling, the Lutsen area is unsurpassed for any outdoor activity. Close to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area, wildlife abounds and you may see moose, wolves, deer, loons, black bear and much more.

What makes this house unique

Our properties feature only the best in amenities: radiant heated floors, free wi-fi, large stone fireplaces, granite countertops, flat screen satellite TV's, outdoor fire pits, comfortable furniture, pool tables/game rooms and best of all large custom kitchens. All our properties are located 5 minutes from Lutsen Mountain Ski Resort and centrally located for hiking, fishing, snowmobiling, waterfalls, and scenic drives.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Twelve women from church thoroughly enjoyed your beautiful home. We thought it was especially thoughtful of you to have a large dining room table that seats 12 and was perfect for our group. We enjoyed 2 days of hiking, lots of laughter, sunshine, game playing and wisdom swapping. We are GLOW(God Loving Outdoor Women)
Sep 2011
  • 1 of 6

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Lutsen

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 12
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • River ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • local restaurant guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Main Floor Bathroom - toilet , shower enclosure , Access from great room and bedroom.
    Master Bathroom - toilet , bath with shower , Private bathroom accessed only from the master bedroom
    Basement Bathroom - toilet , shower enclosure
  • Three full bathrooms. Master bathroom includes tub/shower combo. Two bathrooms include stand-up showers.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom - 1 large double bed , Includes private full bathroom
    Main Floor Bedroom - 1 large double bed , Private room for 2.
    Basement Bedroom 1 - 1 double bed , 1 single bed , Bunk beds include a full-size and twin-size mattress.
    Basement Bedroom 2 - 1 double bed , 1 single bed , Bunk beds inlude a full size and twin size mattress.
    Basement Bedroom 3 - 1 sofa bed/futon , Comfy queen size sofa bed in theater room.
  • Two private rooms on main floor with queen size, two basement bedrooms, each with bunk beds including a double mattress on bottom and a single mattress on top and the theater room converts to a private room with a new pull-out sofa bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • patio
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • wooden decking
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Dedicated theater room with 50-inch plasma screen and surround sound' system including a Blue Ray DVD Player

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(26 traveller reviews)

Grand Retreat-Spring Sale! 3 nites for the price of 2! April and May only
average rating of 4.6923075 based on 32 reviews
5

Executive up north home. Beautiful home inside and out.

  • 5 of 5

This is our 6th time staying here and we wouldn't have it any other way. Greg has very clean and very updated homes. Will be back again without a doubt. Thanks again Greg. 1st class all the way.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Erik and Brooke! We appreciate your business and comments. Greg and Betsy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice!

  • 5 of 5

The layout was great for family gathering.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Gordon; Thank you for your review of the Grand Retreat. Were always glad to hear from our guests whether it is praise or helpful suggestions to improve your stay. Greg and Betsy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alexandria, MN
1

Never received code to get in, horrible experience

  • 1 of 5

We were very excited for our annual ski trip, booked this house for the family! During travel up north, we realized we had never received confirmation email with instructions on how to get in. We searched through email after finding nothing other than payment receipts, called the owners cell, and left multiple messages. After 4+ hours of travel with an infant, we started to get worried as it was late and still no way into the house. After no response from multiple emails, phone calls, voicemails… Our family started to arrive with no way in. Now after 11 pm, options for other places to stay was not looking good in secluded Lutsen area. After two couples had managed to check into separate hotels, one of our couples arrived and noticed the garage door was accessible, luckily finally found an unlocked door allowing half our group a place to stay for the night. Mid morning the next day, finally received a call from the owner. After explaining our nightmare, he offered minimal compensation for the issues. After a month of waiting, no communications or check received as we discussed. Very disappointed in how things were handled, awaiting updates from VRBO complaint.

The house fit our group ok, heating (or lack of heating) seemed to be very touchy and kept our group up at night.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nicole; Were not sure what to say, we feel terrible about the experience you suffered arriving late at night with an infant and not having access to our home. We also feel terrible about not hearing your phone call late that night. We very much regret that you never received the information sheet, which we emailed you, containing the directions and door code. Sometimes spam filters perceive these attachments as spam and block them. In reference to your comment about reimbursement, we did cover the extra costs of your guests that stayed at a hotel that evening even though you were able to gain access to the home. The check was delayed because we were waiting for your response as to whom and where to send it. A lot of these issues were due to email problems and we always recommend to all of our renters to contact us prior to their trip if they are missing ANY information or have questions. We have been in business 8 years and have never had this type of situation occur and will do our best to make sure it can never happen again. We must admit, your 1 star review stings and will, unfortunately, be a part of our listing forever, but we will learn from the experience and continue to strive for 100% satisfaction for all of our future renters. Our best Betsy and Greg
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home with great amenities!

  • 5 of 5

Our experience with this home was fantastic. Not only was the home in great shape, it offered a beautiful view that was wonderful to wake up to each morning. Would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a weekend getaway up on the North Shore.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Nick, we value your reviews and strive to offer the highest quality rental homes in the Lutsen area. Regards, Greg and Betsy Lutsen Lodges
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cottage Grove, MN
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5

A group of 12 friends shared this house for a long weekend. It is fantastic! Comfy beds, lots of things to do, and very clean. We all had a great time and hope to come back next year. The only thing that would be nice is to have some newer cookware and bakeware in the kitchen. We cooked all our meals and with 12 people, it would have been nice to have a bigger frying pan and we also had to go out and buy some tinfoil pans. But all in all, great house!!! Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kristin; Thank you for your comments on our Home up in Lutsen. We will look into the cookware inventory and get it updated ASAP. Unfortunately, some renters are very hard on cookware and we usually need to replace every 6 months or so. Hope to see you again in the future. Regards, Greg and Besty
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Family Accomodations!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic week at this wonderfully clean and comfortable cabin home! It had everything we needed for our family group of 9! We especially appreciated the lower level for our teenage children who enjoyed the pool table and hockey table!! The kids also enjoyed exploring the creek area behind the cabin which was beautiful. The kitchen is very spacious and so are the bedrooms! The lower level bedrooms accommodated the 5 kids well (3 teen boys and 2 tween girls) and they loved the movie room too!

This cabin is in the perfect location to go to Lutsen Mountain or Grand Marais and really close to many state parks and waterfalls!! We enjoyed days out exploring and nights watching the Olympics and campfires. The furniture including the beds was extremely comfortable! It was great to have access to the washing machines too!

Our only recommendation is for guests to bring a small fan for the lower level bedrooms if you are there in the summer. We had ours along and it helped move the air in the lower level rooms at night. There were plenty of blankets and pillows and again it was great to be able to do loads of laundry to wash towels. Otherwise it was super comfortable and we are hoping to go back again next August! Thank you to the Amundson’s for sharing their beautiful cabin with us. We took great care of it.

The description of the cabin was spot on. Great customer service...this was easier than booking a hotel room. The Bristol Family

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Christina; Thank you for your review. Your comments about fans will prompt us to purchase some small fans and have them in the closets. Hope to see you next year and thanks again! Greg and Betsy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Duluth, MN Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Papa Charlies
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Superior Ridge
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 61
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Moguls
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Lutsen Mountain
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Car: necessary

Wilderness Concierge - If you looking for assistance on personalized activities such as hiking, photography, moose viewing, fishing, hunting, canoeing and much more simply let us know and we can customize a guided or unguided package for you and your guests

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Lutsen

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Memorial Weekend
25 May 2017 - 28 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$820
 
 
July 4th Week
30 Jun 2017 - 8 Jul 2017
5 night minimum stay
A$820
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
1 Sep 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$820
 
 
MEA Weekend
19 Oct 2017 - 22 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$820
 
 
Thanksgiving
22 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
A$820
 
 
Christmas and New Years
22 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
5 night minimum stay
A$820
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
A$774
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee A$112 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.38%

If you utilize the "Book it Now" feature you will be charged a Service Fee by VRBO from 4% - 10%. You can make a reservation without this fee by contacting our office directly.

All homes have a 3 NIGHT MINIMUM stay.

Cancellation Fee 60 days or more before 12:01 AM of your first nights rental is $250.00. If cancelled within 60 days of your first days rental there is no refund unless we can re rent the home for AT LEAST the same amount of your reservation.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable