Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

This 3 bedroom home has lots of amenities and a great central location!

Bedrooms 3
Space 153 m²
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


About the property

3BR Forest/Park Vacation Rental South Lake Tahoe, California USA

Come and experience the majesty of Lake Tahoe, surrounded by gorgeous mountains,forests, streams. There is so much to do and see here that it is impossible to do it in a week. We have four South Lake Tahoe Rentals to choose from, and all of our homes have either foosball tables or pool tables and hot tubs, plus great locations. Our homes have some of the best rates in Lake Tahoe, so please take a look at our personal website link. Our homes include the Tahoe Ski Chalet, Skyland Retreat, Black Bear Chalet and the Zephyr Cove Chateau.

The Black Bear Chalet is a lodge-style chalet which has three bedrooms, two baths, and sleeps eight people maximum, including children. It has an over-sized great room that features a vaulted ceiling with refreshing ceiling fan (for those hot summer days), and a gorgeous ledgestone electric fireplace insert, and an entertaining Foosball Table. Capture the outside views from the large bay window, or the windows on each side of the fireplace that look out to the conservancy land. There are large windows looking out the third wall also. It has such open views that are especially wonderful when the snow is falling. After a long day on the ski slopes, washing coins in the slots, or shopping the outlets, sitting in front of the fireplace with a glass of wine or a mug of hot chocolate can't be beat! We have just added a 50" flatscreen TV in the living room and a 32" flatscreen TV in the master bedroom. Of course, the Hot Tub just outside the door will help unwind those tense muscles.

This Non-Smoking home is centrally located within five to seven minutes of world class skiing, casinos, restaurants, and, of course, beautiful Lake Tahoe. Although it is so centrally located and away from traffic, it is less than a block away from national forest preserve which is perfect for hiking and biking in the summer. For the adventurous hiker, there is a fabulous view from the top of the hill of Lake Tahoe, which makes the hike through the National Forest worthwhile. On your way, there is a meandering stream complete with falls, where the kids can enjoy water fun, while the adults enjoy a picnic lunch. It is perfect for those educational nature hikes.

After a long day of sporting activities or even shopping the outlets, enjoy the soothing waters of the HOT TUB. The large deck is perfect for relaxing while the steaks are on the barbecue. Enjoy the quiet and hear the sounds of nature. It is truly peaceful!!

Keywords: Chalet Home, Romantic Retreat, Girls retreat, Retirement, home, cabin, bungalo, vacation home, vacation cabin, vacation retreat, Honeymoon hideaway, Honeymoon Cabin, hunting cabin, ski cabin, Pool Table, Foosball Table, Wi-Fi, Hot Tub, lakeview, private beach, Heavenly Valley, Sierra at Tahoe, Kirkwood, Harrah's, Harvey's, Montbleu, gambling, casinos, fireplace

More Details

Cheryl Black
Member since: 2000
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few days
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
6 April, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for Norma's Black Bear Chalet! It is better than we expected. The pictures on the internet do not compare! We camae up here to celebrate my sister's wedding and had a blast!
Jan 2005
  • 1 of 5


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet rental in Montgomery Estates, California

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 153 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed
  • There is also a sleeper sofa in the living room.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • books - fiction/non-fiction
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • video player
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • wooden decking
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing


Good! 3.8/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

This 3 bedroom home has lots of amenities and a great central location!
average rating of 3.8333333 based on 11 reviews
Lodi, CA

Guestbook Comment

  • 5 of 5

We had a very enjoyable stay at our home. Everything was very nice, clean and comfortable. The house was well supplied. We enjoyed the nice furnishings, and the good mattresses. We like the quiet neighborhood and our children had fun riding saucers right outside the front door. Durning our stay it snowed about 10 inches. It was beautiful. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 22, 2005
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2004
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

we have 3 days family gathering in the comfortabe home . kids can play safely in the yard.

  • 4 of 5

We are happy overall, wish the owner would have contact us more actively after we registered and paid. kitchen exhaust vent have water dripping down to the cooktop.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Dead ants falling from the ceiling, live ants in the kitchen, & a dirty diaper found in the bedroom.

  • 1 of 5

On Tuesday, December 29, the second night of our stay, my daughter called my attention to an enormous collection of dead ants on a console table in the living-room. Upon further inspection of the living room, we found scores more dead ants on the coffee table, in the crevices of the couch, in the rug, and tangled in spider webs spun within the corners of the baseboards. Live ants were also found crawling on the kitchen counters and bar area. We cleaned all surfaces in both the living room and the kitchen, and vacuumed the entire area. Then we called Cheryl Black, the manager of the property, and left a message. A man named Steve called us back and said that a week prior an ant infestation had been discovered, and that an exterminator had treated the attic with poison. This led us to conclude that DEAD ANTS WERE FALLING FROM THE CEILING IN THE LIVING ROOM. He said that he would arrange for a cleaning service to come the next day, Wednesday. On Wednesday morning we found more dead and live ants in the same places, cleaned them up, and left for the day. When we returned that evening, we found more ants, and an email from Cheryl saying the cleaning service would actually be arriving the next day, Thursday. On Thursday morning, more ants, and upon arriving home that evening we found, of course, more ants, and no evidence that the home had been cleaned. As dinner guests arrived later to celebrate New Year's, my other daughter discovered a dirty diaper in one of the bedrooms. As of today, Friday, January 8, I have sent Cheryl two emails (Jan. 3 & 6) , with photos, requesting a refund of the cleaning fee and 10% of the rental fee for our troubles; she has not responded. Furthermore, she has not refunded our $300 security deposit. We left the home in excellent condition, following all of the checkout prodecures as indicated in our rental agreement. My next communication will be to my lawyer.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is truly disappointing and frustrating to have a situation, act of God if you will, that is beyond our control. These guests called to tell us about dead and live ants in the living room and kitchen. We had actually been staying in the house, preparing it for the guests who arrived on the 26th. Prior to our leaving on the 24th, we noted some ants, which we were not happy to see, but we immediately had the house sprayed. These ants are not a usual occurrence, but this type of activity does happen with extreme changes in weather, which we had. We felt that by the time the guests arrived the situation would be handled. We were somewhat taken aback by the guest’s outrage concerning the ants and told them that we would have our cleaners come by as soon as possible, given the holiday week hectic schedule for the cleaners. Again we thought they would understand that this was not an intentional situation. On New Year’s Eve day, the owner of our cleaning service called from the house phone, so I know she was there, and she told me that she really couldn’t see anything, but she sprayed and wiped down all of the counter tops in the living room and kitchen and then vacuumed the living room and down the hallway to the bedrooms. I have been charged for this service. As our guest said, she demanded 10% of her rent and the cleaning fee refunded. Since there was never anything negative said about the house itself, and I would consider everything that distressed her a cleaning issue, I refunded her security deposit and her cleaning fee on January 8th. As we said in our email to her, we were trying to accommodate her for her negative experience. It certainly isn’t our intent to ruin anyone’s vacation, but sometimes there is rain, snow, closed roads, ants, etc. We don’t have any control over these types of issues, we can only react to them. In this case, we have had the house sprayed again, and we have not seen a reoccurrence.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
San Francisco

Fun Tahoe Weekend

  • 4 of 5

We've stayed at this cabin a few times before and every time we're very pleased. It has a lot of space, a fooz ball table, and hot tub. It's a great cabin!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 26, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

My stay at the Black Bear Chalet

  • 4 of 5

Great house, 10-15 min from town, depending on weather. Comfy cozy, lots of room for 4 to 6 people. Property description was accurate, dissapointing that garage is not part of rental. Jacuzzi was large and nice. Owner was available for any questions we had, and provided a quick response to other emails. Would recommend anyone to stay at this property. Enjoyed ski resorts that were 10 to 1 hour away. ( We had 6 to choose from). Gambling was gambling, shows and concerts were good. Had a great time. Go and see Lake Tahoe. Daytime fun and Night time fun.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 12, 2008
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Guestbook Comment

  • 5 of 5

January 14, 2004

My family is the first to use this very nice and well appointed ski chalet!

We found the location to be very convenient to all the areas attractions ( ski run blvd & Ceasars). While my wife gambled the kids and I went skiing every day. We look forward to using this home again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 21, 2004
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2003
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Car: recommended

Just 3.5 miles to the casinos - Harrah's, Harvey's, Horizon, Montbleu, and Lakeside. Also there is the gondola ride up to Heavenly Valley. Great access!


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday chalet in Montgomery Estates, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
1 Apr 2017 - 25 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
Memorial Day Holiday
26 May 2017 - 28 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Early Summer
29 May 2017 - 14 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
15 Jun 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
July 4th Holiday
2 Jul 2017 - 5 Jul 2017
4 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Labor Day Holiday
1 Sep 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
Flat fee
4 Sep 2017 - 21 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
22 Nov 2017 - 25 Nov 2017
4 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Early Winter
26 Nov 2017 - 18 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
Early Christmas
19 Dec 2017 - 20 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Christmas Holiday
21 Dec 2017 - 25 Dec 2017
5 night minimum stay
Flat fee
New Year's Holiday
26 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Non-refundable Cleaning Fee A$180.6
Refundable Damage Deposit A$401.34
Tax Rate 10.0%

There are no refunds except as stipulated below. We encourage Guest to acquire Travel Insurance as through Homeaway, to protect their investment in the event that they must cancel for an unexpected emergency or other reason.When cancelling over 60 days in advance, we will make every effort to re-rent the specified reservation and if we are successful, we will refund the reservation less a $75 fee

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message Send a Message

Other Holiday Properties