Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Schooner Ridge Ocean Side/View 8 BR 8 1/2 BA, Duck, ~NC~

Sleeps20
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms8
Half Baths1
Space 353 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 8 Bedrooms, 8.5 Baths, (Sleeps 16-20)

Property Information: 181 Schooner Ridge Drive, Duck, NC 27949

'Footprints' in Schooner Ridge, Duck, NC - Owner’s Email for Questions and Info:

Town: Duck

Subdivision: Schooner Ridge

Location: Oceanside

Address: 181 Schooner Ridge Drive

Bedrooms: 8

Baths: 8 full, 1 half

Sleeps: 20

Check In Day: SAT

Schooner Ridge Subdivision Guests enjoy complete access to SR REC Center Facilities which include:

1st Class Exercise Facilities with Free Weights and Complete Exercise Equipment and Aerobic Machines and Showers

Tennis Courts

Racquetball Court

Playground and Play Gym

Meeting Room with Wired and Wireless Internet Access

Exceptional Children’s Game Room with Pool Table, Air Hockey and Numerous Video Games

Year Round Indoor Heated Swimming Pool at Recreation Center

Ocean Front Pool and Gazebo and additional Outdoor SR Recreation Center Pool

Private Beach Access exclusively for Schooner Ridge Guests

You won't need to leave footprints behind, because you will be back year after year! Come enjoy the splendor of this wonderful custom built home with spectacular ocean views and lots of personal touches. Snuggled on the high dune of Schooner Ridge, great ocean views can be had by all. This stunning vacation retreat is conveniently located between the Rec Center and the oceanfront pool with dune top gazebo.

You're sure to appreciate the fine furnishings and open floor plan featuring an expanded living/dining room with vaulted ceilings and hardwood floors, spacious kitchen with breakfast bar, Florida Room, and 6 master suites. Another grand feature is the Rec Room/Den located on the ground floor with full size refrigerator and wet bar.

Spend your days sunning by the gracious 14 x 32 Private Pool and your evenings soaking in the hot tub or stargazing the Carolina Skies from the expansive 3 level decking.

Additional Amenities

Non Smoking

Tennis

Private Pool 14 x 32

Large Screened Porch - 14 x 22 Beautiful Ocean views

Hot Tub

Fire place

Community Pools - Indoor Heated and Outdoor & Oceanfront

'Footprints' Amenities Include:

Video Library, Cable TV, VCR, DVD Player, Stereo CD Player, Home Theatre System, Deck Furniture, BBQ, 14 x 32 Private Pool, Hot Tub, Rec Room with game table, Video Games, Ship's Watch.

Ground Level: Rec Room game table, Wet bar and full size Refrigerator with Ice Maker, Stand alone 60 lb. Ice maker, Full Bath, MBR w/K, MBR w/ K, MBR w/K, MBR w/ Q. Pull out Queen sofa in Rec. room

Level 1: Master Bedroom Queen, Master Bedroom Queen, Bedroom 2 Bunks, Bedroom Pyramid Bunk & Trundle with pull out single, Full Hall Bath.

Level 2: Expanded Living and Dining Area hardwood floors, New Florida Room with hardwood floors, New Kitchen features Double Ovens and Double Dishwashers, Breakfast Island, 50lb. stand alone ice maker, Half Bath, Screened Porch.

Keywords: Panoromic Ocean View Home

More Details

Owner
Wade Schmidt
Member since: 2007
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few days
Response rate
60%
Calendar last updated:
16 August, 2017

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Duck, North Carolina

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 353 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 20 people
Bathrooms:
  • 8 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
    Master Bathroom 2 - toilet , bath with shower
    Master Bathroom 3 - toilet , bath with shower
    Master Bathroom 4 - toilet , bath with shower
    Master Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower enclosure
    Master Bathroom 6 - toilet , shower enclosure
    Den Ground Level - toilet , bath with shower
    Hall 2nd Level - toilet , bath with shower
    Half Bath Top Level - toilet
  • 8.5
Bedrooms:
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed , Master 1
    Bedroom 2 - 1 extra lg. double bed , Master 2
    Bedroom 3 - 1 extra lg. double bed , Master 3
    Bedroom 4 - 1 large double bed , Master 4
    Bedroom 5 - 1 large double bed , Master 5
    Bedroom 6 - 1 large double bed , Master 6
    Bedroom 7 - 2 double bed , 2 single bed , Bedroom 7
    Bedroom 8 - 2 bunk bed , Bedroom 8
  • King size beds (3), Queen size Beds (3), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Bunk Beds (2), Pull out Queen sofa
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • video player
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Veranda / Loggia
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Amenities Include: 3 zone Cen A/H, 10 Cable TV, 4 VCRs, 6 DVDs, Microwave, 2 dishwahers, 2 Refrigerators with Ice Makers, 51 Lb. Clear Cube Ice Maker, 40LB. Clear Cube Ice Maker, Washer/Dryer, Fireplace, Stereo with CD/DVD/VCR player, Rec Room with Home Theater Surround System, Foosball Game table, Wet bar, BBQ, 14 x 32 Private Pool, 7 Person Hot Tub, Deck furniture, Screened Porch 14 x 20, and Ship's Watch with Ocean/Sound views. Ground Level: Entry. Laundry, Large Rec Room with Game table, Den/Pool Full Bath. Level 1: private access to decks with Hot Tub, 2 Bunk Beds, trundle Bed, Full Hall Bath. Level 2: Living Room, Dining Area, Large Kitchen with Island, Florida Room, Screened Porch, Half Bath, 2 Decks. Upper Level Deck: Ship's watch, bench seats, Spectacular Ocean views. Over 2800+ Square Feet. REC Center with Tennis, Racketball, Fitness Center, Game Room, Indoor/Outdoor/Oceanfront Pools, Playground, Wired & Wireless Internet (Included).

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(24 traveller reviews)

79% Complete
12% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Schooner Ridge Ocean Side/View 8 BR 8 1/2 BA, Duck, ~NC~
average rating of 4.625 based on 24 reviews
1

Poor communication with the owner and several things not working

  • 1 of 5

The location is great and the house is nice, but the communication with the owner was less than desirable. When we arrived we found out one of the dishwashers didn't work, the cleaning people did a subpar job (I will spare all of the details), the grill didn't work, etc. I reached out to the owner. He didn't call back for another day. He was not willing to do anything for the cleaning. He asked us to go find a part to fix the grill. On the last day we were there someone showed up to look at the dishwasher and washing machine. The dishwasher will hopefully be fixed for the next guests. He was slow to respond and basically said sorry but nothing else. I also reached out about our deposit getting returned and he slowly responded about that. He said it would go out on a Monday and then when I had still not seen the check he said it went out on a Tuesday. I think a phone call, an offer to refund a little bit of money for cleaning (we asked for this and he never responded about it), or a little hand written note would have gone a long way--instead of days of waiting around for him to return calls or texts and then very abrupt and unfriendly responses. We will not be returning. Again, the location and house were nice, but the experience with the owner was less than desirable.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you felt we were not available. We have many returning guests and are always willing to listen and address any concerns and recommendations. We have had the same cleaning service for 10 years. If we had known of any issues the same day as you arrived they would be more than willing to come back and address them. A previous renter mentioned an issue with the gas grill and how they fixed it. We were just relaying that information till we could make repairs. We had put in a service call for the one dishwasher to be repaired. The call for the washing machine was for routine maintenance. Soon as we are notified of any issues we put in a service request with our home warranty service the same day. As always our guest are our highest priority.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

Great Getaway!

  • 4 of 5

This was our second stay at footprints. Our family of 19 were very pleased. The house has everything you need from pots, pans, dinnerware to pool toys and beach chairs. Only a very short walk to the beach and I noticed this time, our house had the highest and best shipswatch view, you could sit up there in the evening and hear the ocean, loved it. So close to the little town of duck and all the shops, We can't wait to go back!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Will visit again!

  • 5 of 5

This home is perfect for our summer vacation. We love the space and the pool is a plus! Short walk to the beach and to the Duck boardwalk with shops and restaurants. Very comfortable home that meets all our family's needs. Love this beach house!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Amazing family rental in Duck, NC!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I (17 people total) stayed at footprints and we couldn't have been happier!!! The home is large and spacious. 8 bed, 8 1/2 baths made it possible for everyone to be relaxed and comfortable the entire time! All of the outdoor living space is amazing! Multiple decks on each level, large backyard with amazing pool. The kitchen was great! Made preparing dinners for everyone a breeze! Plenty of seating for eating or just kicking back and watching tv. The home is located in a community (schooner ridge) and as a guest you have access to all of the rec facilities. The ocean front pool was our favorite! The rec center also has an outdoor pool, playground, tennis, indoor pool, game room, and fitness center! It was great having access to this! The beach was never overly crowded, plenty of room to sprawl out. We are really very pleased with our decision to rent this home and look forward to renting it again. The entire process was seamless when working out the lease details with Wade and Sue. Can't say enough good things about them! Two thumbs up, for sure!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

Amazing vacation home!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Footprints in Duck, NC was the best vacation our family has ever had! This home has everything, the pool and hot tub are very nice and right out the back door with a cool sound system going outside so you can chill and listen to your tunes. You don't need to take anything, right down to the sand toys, boogie boards, and beach chairs. All the kitchen supplies you could imagine, even a crockpot! The 2 dishwashers sure made clean up easy and more time for the beach. We had 18 people in this home and it was so comfortable plenty of room for everyone. Just a very short walk to the beach, but there is a wagon there for you to pull all your supplies. Very close to the cute little town of Duck, where you can do everything from shopping to parasailing. Everyone is so friendly in this area as well, nothing but smiling faces for a week :) We loved this so much we are giving up a trip to Disney World to return to Footprints for our family vacation next year, we can't wait to go back!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

What more could you want ??

  • 5 of 5

Footprints has it all...we had a family reunion - 15 of us - and this home still felt roomy! With 3 king masters and 3 queen masters - everyone felt comfortable. There are two ice makers, two refrigerators, two coffee pots, two kitchen tables...you get the idea! The owners have thought of everything so you can relax and enjoy your stay. The pool is large and the hot tub was enjoyed by all. We LOVED the crow's nest up top and enjoyed cocktail hour at sunset most every night. Short stroll to the beach or to the shops and restaurants in Duck. Stop in at the Riverside Grille at dark to enjoy outdoor drinks and cornhole. Wave Pizza is a good place to eat and watch the sunset too. Very large, clean home with all you need for a perfect vacation!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Other Activities: racquetball, boating, shopping, kayaking, wildlife viewing, spa, miniature golf

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit A$630.55