Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Barn on the Banks of Yellowstone National Park

Bedrooms 3
Space 102 m²
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights


About the property

Barn, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Wow..what a the loft! You may not have been 'Born in a Barn', but here's your chance to stay in one and VACATION 'Till the Cows Come Home'! We invite you to stay in our barn loft and call it your home, while you relax and enjoy our nation's largest and oldest National Park.

Barn on the Banks is located in a quiet area on the outskirts of Gardiner, Montana. We are less than 1 mile to the park's North Gate Entrance, famous for the Teddy Roosevelt Arch, and within walking distance to down town shops, restaurants, a grocery store, post office and excellent trout fishing.

Yellowstone river runs through this small town that is nestled at the foothills of Electric Peak, a majestic mountain that carries snow throughout most of the year. We are located at the end of a lane with no through traffic. Our loft overlooks the confluence of the Gardiner and Yellowstone rivers, and has unobstructed spectacular views of the mountains. We border the river and we are directly across from Yellowstone Park.

A short walk down the bank takes you to the river's edge where you can sit and enjoy nature, including frequent fliers of ducks, geese, bald eagles, and osprey, or possibly see a family of otters playing in the water.

From our deck you can view hummingbirds, mountain songbirds, and wildlife including deer, elk, Big Horn sheep, Pronghorn (antelope), or possibly see a bear, wolf, coyote, or bison.

One summer while sitting on the deck of the barn, my husband witnessed a doe deer giving birth to twin fawns. We frequently saw mama deer and her little ones close to our house and barn throughout the summer. Now we've seen yet another 'Near Barn Birth'! Over Memorial Weekend, we and our guests witnessed an Elk giving birth just a few feet below the deck of the Barn! This is truly an area you'll be able to experience nature.

The barn has never housed animals, the bottom of the barn is used for private storage. The barn loft was renovated in 2008-2009, and features a full kitchen with all new appliances, comfortable seating in the living area, and a large deck that looks into Yellowstone Park. You can sit by the fire on a chilly night, or cool down with air conditioning on a hot summer day.

There are amazing views from all areas of the loft made easy by several large windows. The master bedroom has a king bed, private bath, air conditioning, a fireplace and your own private balcony to sit, relax and enjoy the sunset.

The 'Queen Room' catches the morning sun, and has the ambiance of a fireplace as well. The 'bunk room' has two bunk beds, one which is a double bed topped by a twin, the other is a single over a single. The sofa in the living room converts to a full size bed.

The deck above the river features a gas grill and seating for your outdoor relaxation and enjoyment. So come and stay with us, enjoy our 'Barn on the Banks', and make your vacation one you will remember.

- Your Hosts, Ken and Linda.

Keywords: Barn Loft, cabin, River frontage

More Details

Member since: 2009
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
12 October, 2017

About The Owner

An answer to prayer brought us to this little piece of heaven. We moved to Montana in 1977 with our then small children to follow a teaching job in Gardiner. We both grew up in the Midwest on Farm and Ranches in Rural Nebraska. We have always loved the mountains and have enjoyed horseback riding, hiking, skiing, hunting, canoeing, and lots of other outdoor activities in beautiful Montana.

Why The Owner chose Yellowstone

We love animals, Mountains, the great outdoors, and wanted to raise our children in a small town... so what better place to live than in Montana next to Yellowstone Park!? The barn was built in 1994 but was never used to house animals, even though we had horses, along with several other animals our kids raised. As our kids left home, so did most of the animals...thank goodness! In 2008, a long time dream began to take shape as we began renovating the barn loft into a 1100 SF 3 bedroom, 2 bath apartment. 'Barn on the Banks of Yellowstone Park' was open for business as a Vacation Rental in the Spring of 2009. Much of the decor was directly inspired from my early childhood memories of Country Life. Several old things from the Ranch & Farm... 'treasured Junk', have been re-purposed as part of the Barn decor it an eclectic charm to make you feel right at home...even if you weren't born in a barn. So please come stay in the 'Barn' while you vacation in the Nation's oldest National Park. has all the modern conveniences and comforts of home...even running water and indoor plumbing! :)

What makes this barn unique

We are located just 1 mile from the North Gate Entrance to Yellowstone Park which is the only entrance open year around. The 'Barn on the Banks' is open year around as well, and has views that will take your breath away as you look directly into Yellowstone Park, the Yellowstone River below, over our small town of Gardiner, or gaze upon 'Electric Peak'. Our property borders Yellowstone Park and the Yellowstone River which means that we have lots of wildlife around our property. We have had 3 'Near Barn Births' as a doe deer gave birth to twins and a cow Elk gave birth to her calf just a few feet below the Barn deck! The 'Near Barn' experiences are something our guests and we are still talking about. Because we border Yellowstone River, some of the best trout fishing around is directly below the Barn. Our convenient location is perfect for experiencing Yellowstone in the Winter as we have some of the best cross-country skiing, wolf watching, and snowshoeing just minutes away. We absolutely love it here and have never regretted the move from Nebraska to God's Country! :)


Nearest Airport
80 Miles
Bozeman Montana

Access to a hiking trail and excellent trout fishing directly below our rental. Property borders Yellowstone River and Yellowstone Park. Easy access to Cross-Country Skiing in the Winter. Check us out for great deals during off-season!


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday barn rental in Gardiner, Montana

Property Type:
  • barn
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 102 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • City Centre ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • River ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • soap
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower , In the master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 bunk bed
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sofa bed/futon , In the living room.
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Bunk Beds (2), which is a double bed topped with a single bed and a single over a single in the bunk room. The couch also opens up into a double bed. Child Beds (1) We have a Portable Crib available upon request, Baby Cribs (1) We have a portable crib available upon request, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) The sofa opens up into a double bed which is located in the Living Room, Bunk Beds (2) We have 2 sets of bunk beds. One is a double bed topped with a single bed. The other is a single over a single.
  • Books
  • books - kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • games - kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • video player
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Small Cooler
  • wooden decking
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
We provide linens, towels, hand soaps, dish soaps, shampoo, Body wash, Paper towels, Toilet Paper, Some coffee, coffee grinder, Tea, and general Spices. There is a hairdryer, Iron with full sized ironing board. A few kids fishing poles and small tackle box and lots more. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions. We hope you choose the 'Barn on the Banks'


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(103 traveller reviews)

97% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Barn on the Banks of Yellowstone National Park
average rating of 4.92233 based on 103 reviews

Tucked Away, Quiet, Private, Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

The Barn was perfect for our group of 5. We had plenty of room for relaxing after long days of our adventures into Yellowstone. The Barn is located in the town of Gardiner, very close to the North entrance to Yellowstone and very close to restaurants, grocery shopping, gift shops etc... Although the Barn is very close to anything you may need, it is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the town. It was lovely to spend evenings on the quiet, private deck listening to the Yellowstone River and gazing at the stars. It was nice to be able to use the very well stocked kitchen to prepare most of our meals. We spent our days traveling in and out of the Park. Whitewater rafting with the Yellowstone Rafting Co. was one of the many highlights of our trip! So was the Huckleberry ice cream! I would highly recommend the Barn to friends and family, and if lucky enough to visit Yellowstone again, I would love to stay at the Barn again. Thank you, Ken and Linda, for providing our family with such a beautiful, spacious, perfect place to spend our vacation.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our Barn on the Banks. We really enjoyed meeting you and truly hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Helena, MT

Nice property, great location, but we didn't complete our stay

  • 2 of 5

It has been two weeks since we stayed at Barn on the Banks. We debated about writing a review, but then decided that our experience may help someone traveling in a cold climate late in the summer. We booked in July for mid-September. We were going to stay 3 nights; our son, his wife and our 1-year-old grandson were going to stay one night with us. Driving through Yellowstone prior to checking in, it was snowing. We checked in around 4:30, went out for some groceries, then spent the evening watching TV. We called the owner because we could not locate a toaster for the next morning. We did not get a return call. At 1 a.m. in the morning, the property lost power. We used our tablet to try and find a flashlight. We found a flashlight, but with dead batteries.The gas fireplace is controlled by a thermostat, with backup batteries, but they were dead, too. So no heat. Reluctantly, we called the owner. Still no answer, so we left a message. We got back in bed. Power resumed about 5 hours later. When we got up at 7, we had coffee. We were getting ready to cook breakfast when the power went out again. Our son called saying our grandson was ill, but they were going to try and make it for the day. We told them not to, as we did not know when power would return. At this point, we had received only a 6:04 a.m. welcome email from the owner saying they were traveling and in/out of cell phone range. And another email at 8:08 a.m. saying hopefully we had power now and would have a better day. Finally, using our hotspot and tablet (no power, no wifi), we located the power company, called to report the outage, but were unable to learn how long it was expected to last. We waited and, when we could not shower, cook breakfast or stay warm, we left shortly before 10 a.m. We called the owner and requested a refund. She said she could not do it, that she was not in control of the power. We weren't, either, but we also were in a high-end property that had been unusable almost half the entire time we were there, and with limited access to the owner. To her credit, she did eventually refund us one night out of three. There is no way to predict a snowstorm or cold front two months from the time a booking is made. We had travel insurance, but it only covers a 24-hour power outage. (We asked, but the electric company could not tell us the entire extent of the outage.) We think we did all we could to ensure a nice trip. Wish we could have finished it.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry that during your first night as our guests in the Barn, an early winter storm caused a power outage for thousands of people in the area. Because we were out of town at the time, we were not aware of the power outage, or that you had struggled during the night until I contacted you by email early the next morning to see if everything was going well. The location of the toaster in the kitchen was resolved, and additional clarification on how to operate the gas fireplace was given. Replacing the flashlight batteries was easily done after you left, and because of your comments, I added backup batteries in a well labeled box for future guests. We always appreciate feedback from our guests as it helps us make necessary changes to make the barn more comfortable for future guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Amazing place!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the barn! From the deck you see both the Yellowstone and Gardiner rivers and Yellowstone Park vistas. One day several elk were at the water just across the river. Inside the barn is perfect. Comfy bed. Kitchen had everything we needed. Loved the touches of things from the old family farm including hand forged horse bit toilet paper roll! We felt very grateful that Linda shares this wonderful place. I strongly recommend it!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Barn on the Banks. We appreciate your comments and hope you will be back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

Two of the three bedrooms were too small to walk around in. Our bedroom had the bed up against the wall so the person sleeping on that side of the bed had to crawl over the other person in the bed. There was no room for anything or any place to sit your suitcases. Our door would barely close because the lamp table and lamp were in the way of the door closing. I could not recommend this place for more than a couple and maybe 2 small children. Also, it has several steps to climb when getting inside.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry that the Barn did not meet your expectations. We try extra hard to check in with our guests without bothering them, to see if all is well. We had no indication during your stay that you were unhappy in anyway. We were happy to have you stay in the barn, and you assured me that the accommodations would fit your family's needs even though I had expressed some concerns prior to your final booking regarding the large number of adults. While other guests have commented on how comfortable they were as a large group in the barn, we understand that it is a personal preference. All guests are encouraged by us in advance to read our VRBO/Homeaway site about the barn and view the photos so there are no surprises and visitors can plan well. We always aim to be one of the least expensive, well equipped and cleanest family friendly places in the Gardiner area. We appreciated your feedback and we will consider how we might rearrange some furniture to make our future guests more comfortable.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Comfortable and charming

  • 5 of 5

Barn on the Banks was a wonderful home for our week in Yellowstone National Park. It was delightful in size, comfort and practicality. We love staying in the beautifully decorated bedrooms. Meals in the comfortable kitchen were a breeze. This kitchen is stocked with all the comforts of home from coffee beans to cookware to dish soap. The family room is stocked with games and books for the whole family. Outdoors we enjoyed seeing elk and a buck in the stunning yard space on our very first day.

The owners, Ken and Linda, were always close by or available by text to answer any questions we had about the area. Thanks to them, we enjoyed an outstanding horseback ride near by and made sure to include Artist Point on our adventures. It turned out to be one of our favorite sights at Yellowstone.

I would love to return to magical Yellowstone. If I do, I will most definitely stay at Barn on the Banks - it is a real gem.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your feedback and kind review. We were happy to have you as our guests. We do try to go beyond the basic amenities anticipating what folks will appreciate and we're happy you noticed. We truly hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful stay at a really neat place!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our time at Barn on the Banks! Linda was great to work with, and the home was really well stocked and taken care of. So many neat things to look at and enjoy in the home. LOVED the doors and latches by the grill under the porch... So fun! Thanks for opening up your home to us. We had a great time!!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kindness! We really enjoyed meeting you and hope you are able to stay with us again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday barn in Gardiner, Montana

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
1 Sep 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
1 Nov 2017 - 1 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
2 Dec 2017 - 13 Apr 2018
1 night minimum stay
14 Apr 2018 - 31 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
High Season
1 Jun 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
6 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee A$0
Refundable Damage Deposit A$637.35
Tax Rate 10.0%

Email us for special discounts if staying longer than 1 week June through August. Two person discount of $150/night September through May. Rates subject to change. Closed December 1st- April 15th

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner