Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Cedar Cabin at Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 102 m²
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Sleeps 6, 3 bedrooms, private dock, Ideal for Reunions

**Please see www.SilverBayView.com or call 434-953-6747 for more information**

The Cedar Cabin at Silver Bay View Cottages offers grand and spectacular views of the lake and Smith Mountain in a quiet, private setting populated with beautiful Loblolly pines and sweeping lawns. A private deep-water dock offers easy access for boating, swimming and sunbathing. The cabin is located on a point that marks the entry to Witcher Creek, one of the best fishing areas on the lake. Between the Cedar Cabin and the Main House, the Point offers a combined capacity of up to 16 people, making it the ideal location for family reunions. We can accommodate up to 24 people between four properties that include the Main House, the Cedar Cabin and Cabins 1 and 2 that are a 3 minute walk away. Be sure and check out these other properties as well.

Swimming: There is nothing more enjoyable than to stretch out on the dock with a good book, and then dive into the clear, warm water for a refreshing swim. The lake is one of the cleanest in the East Coast and as you swim or relax, you can look across to undeveloped wilderness.

Hot Tub: The 7' 8' Hot Tub accommodates up to 6 people with views of the lake and mountains.

Boating: There may be no better lake in the Mid-Atlantic region for boating. The 20,000 acres of Smith Mountain Lake and its 40-mile length make it a perfect place for water skiing, speed boating, canoeing, kayaking or sailing. Power boats and wave runners can be rented at several locations on the lake, including: Bridgewater Plaza Marina (Boats can also be picked up at the State Park), Parrot Cove (Parrot Cove also rents Kayaks), Parkway Marina (formerly knows as Saunders Marina), Mitchell's Point Marina or Virgil Naff Sea Doo (wave runners only). The closest boat launch and boat rental is Mitchell's Point Marina.

Fishing: Fishing opportunities at Silver Bay View Cottages are unbelievable. The properties are located on Witcher Creek where the stripers spawn every spring. The lake is regularly stocked with game fish, and contains striped bass, large and small mouth bass, muskies, northern pike, and an assortment of small game fish. Fishing guides are available to introduce you to the lake, including: Captain Bert's Fishin' Charters, Mike's Striper Guide Service, Rockfish Adventures.

More Details

Property Manager
Jim Erler, Manager LakeAway Vacation Rentals
-
Member since: 2009
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
13 November, 2017

About Jim Erler, Manager LakeAway Vacation Rentals

Jim is an engineer/entrepeneur who, in addition to running Silver Bay, designs Arts & Crafts homes and advises emerging technology companies.

Catriona is a garden author/photographer/ speaker who has written 9 books and countless articles for national and international publications. See her articles in the Smith Mountain Laker Magazine (free at local businesses).

Jim Erler, Manager LakeAway Vacation Rentals purchased this cabin in 2002

Why Jim Erler, Manager LakeAway Vacation Rentals chose Huddleston

The Erlers purchased Cabin 1 in 1993 and began offering it as a rental a few years later. As the rental business grew, they purchased Cabin 2 and soon learned that there was a desparate need for accomdations large enough for reunions. When the Main House and Cedar Cabin became available in 2002, they purchased them and began major rennovations to prepare them for large reunions. Since 2003 Silver Bay has been a first choice on Smith Mountain Lake for reunions.

What makes this cabin unique

The Cedar Cabin is at the Point View location and offers lovely vistas of Smith Mountain Lake. It is the largest of the open beam cedar cabins, capable of accommodating up to 6 overnight guests.

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin rental in Huddleston, Virginia

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 102 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • mobile phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed , Master Bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 2 single bed , Bedroom 2
    Bedroom 3 - 2 single bed , Bedroom 3
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • games - kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wooden decking
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Call us for any special needs or vacation planing. What to Bring-- * Sheets and pillow cases * Towels and wash cloths * Bath soap and shampoo * Laundry Soap * Flashlight * Paper towels * Charcoal, lighter fluid * Condiments Note: *Bed linens and towels are available for an additional fee. What not to bring: Worries and stress! What you'll wish you had brought: Camera, film, DVDs, water toys, sun block, fishing gear.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(20 traveller reviews)

65% Complete
20% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Cedar Cabin at Silver Bay View Cottages on Smith Mountain Lake
average rating of 4.4 based on 20 reviews
stafford va
5

Charming Lake Cabin

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful lake vacation at Cedar Cabin! The cabin is cozy and well appointed with nice appliances and comfy furniture. The beds were comfortable and it is so quiet and dark at night! The deck is very large and lovely for outdoor meals or just watching the boats. The lake is very clean for swimming, and you can fish right off the dock for little panfish. The hill to the dock is quite steep so be ready for a leg workout! This was a great introduction for us to the charm of Smith Mountain Lake and we hope to return soon! Thank you Mr. and Mrs. E.!

  • Review Submitted: 14/07/2009
  • Date of Stay: July 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
11 0
3

Great view

  • 3 of 5

I was somewhat disappointed by the cleanliness of the cabin - old coffee grounds in the coffee maker, dirty dishes in the dishwasher, bathroom not very clean, food crumbs on the sofa and love seat and then there was this very musty odor in the house for the entire week. My 92 year old mother is on oxygen and I have lung disease so the musty odor in the house was hard on the breathing.

The view was wonderful and so relaxing. Did not get a chance to use the hot tub so don't know about it.

Jennifer Roberts

  • Review Submitted: 17/07/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Clearly the housekeepers failed to properly clean the property prior to arrival! While this is a relatively rare event it does occasionally happen. A welcome sheet in the property encourages guests to let us know immediately if they find any problem and we always respond quickly to correct it. In this case, I spoke to the guests upon arrival on several occasions during the week, asking them if everything was okay, and was told every time that everything was perfect. Regarding any "musty odor," we have not observed it nor have other guests brought it to our attention. We are dedicated to providing clean and pleasant properties to our guests. It is very disappointing when there is a mistake, and even more so when guests tell us about it weeks after they leave through a less then complementary review. If we had been told, these issues would have been corrected immediately!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Overall impression of the property was very positive.

  • 4 of 5

While my overall impression was very positive, the only complaint that I had was the fact that the cabin apparently had not been vacuumed prior to our arrival, which was puzzeling because the cleaning fee we are required to pay is substantial. Other than that we were very pleased. Beautiful view from cabin and deck and the hot tub was wonderful.

  • Review Submitted: 17/04/2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! I'm sorry to hear about the vacuuming problem. While we do our best, there are occasionally mistakes and we are prepared to address them immediately if we are informed. The welcome sheet includes our phone number and the housekeepers number and strongly urges guests to call if there is any problem. If we don't know, we can't fix it! We hope to see you again soon. Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very clean property in beautiful location.

  • 5 of 5

We stay here every year and have never been disappointed. Easy communication makes everything a breeze.

  • Review Submitted: 23/01/2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great family getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at Cedar Cabin. The lake and mountains were beautiful, and the view from the deck was great. We would definitely stay again! Thanks to Jim for all of his help with directions, and the boat rental. When we had a problem with wi-fi, it was fixed very quickly. Customer service was outstanding!

  • Review Submitted: 14/10/2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Winchester, VA
5

Relaxing and Peaceful!

  • 5 of 5

The property was perfect! The house was very clean and had all of the necessities! My husband and I got away for our 5th year anniversary (sans children) and had the perfect getaway! We had the luxury of a hot fall weekend so we were able to take a dip in the lake but also rent a jet ski! The hot tub was a perfect way to relax when the sun went down! We were able to go to town to get dinner without too much effort and enjoy the wonderful scenery! The owner was very helpful in planning our trip and was very approachable and quick to correspond! I hope we will come back in the near future!! Thanks for the wonderful time!!!

  • Review Submitted: 09/10/2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Grand and spectacular views of the lake and Smith Mountain in a quiet, private setting populated with beautiful Loblolly pines and sweeping lawns. Private deep-water dock offers easy access for boating, swimming, sunbathing and world class fishing.

Ideal for Family Reunions--

The house is located on a point that marks the entry to Witcher Creek, one of the best fishing areas on the lake. The Cedar Cabin sleeps 6 and is one of the four Silver Bay View Cottages that comfortably accommodate up to 24 people. * Beautiful lake views

* Kitchen with all the modern conveniences

* Laundry Facilities

* Spacious deck with seating for 6

* Large Floating Dock

* High Speed Wireless Internet

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cabin on Huddleston, Virginia

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2017
4 Sep 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
AU$344
AU$2,065
 
 
Spring 2018
1 Jan 2018 - 24 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
AU$344
AU$2,065
 
 
Memorial Day 2018
25 May 2018 - 27 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$516
AU$3,098
 
 
Early Summer 2018
28 May 2018 - 15 Jun 2018
2 night minimum stay
AU$516
AU$3,098
 
 
Mid Summer 2018
16 Jun 2018 - 24 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
AU$3,415
 
 
Late Summer 2018
25 Aug 2018 - 30 Aug 2018
2 night minimum stay
AU$516
AU$3,098
 
 
Labor Day 2018
31 Aug 2018 - 2 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$516
AU$3,098
 
 
Fall 2018
3 Sep 2018 - 31 Dec 2018
2 night minimum stay
AU$344
AU$2,065
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
AU$344
AU$2,065
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit AU$330.95
Housekeeping/Hot Tub AU$165.47 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.3%

Optional linen fee: $100
Damage Deposit is due 30 days before your arrival date. We accept payments only by credit card through HomeAway.com.

NOTE: Shorter stays are possible in Mid Summer if a property is not booked 2 weeks in advance. Nightly rate is $390. There is a three night minimum on major holiday weekends.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable