Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Ocean Front Home Oak Island, NC with WIFI and direct beach access

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,100 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Windrift is a unique beach front cottage that has a cozy cabin feel. With direct beach access you don't have to lug all of your beach items back and forth everyday. Windrift is also located near many turtle nests so if you are lucky enough to be there at a specific time of year you may have the rare opportunity to watch baby turtles hatching.

From our cottage you can enjoy the sunrise and sunset. It is also fun to take the short 15 minute drive into Southport where there are many things to do like go antiquing, browse through art galleries, eat on the water, go biking, crabbing or just take a swing on the waterfront. You will love the old fashion flavor found in this unique coastal town. If you are up for a day trip take the ferry to Bald Head Island or Fort Fisher to the NC Aquarium or drive to Wilmington or Myrtle Beach where there are endless possibilities for fun. Oak Island is a laid back family beach where you can truly relax, but when you want more excitement it can be found a short distance away.

The best way to reach me is through email. Please be sure to check the calendar for availability since I update it regularly. Thanks!

Keywords: House

More Details

Member since: 2006
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few days
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
25 April, 2018

About The Owner

We currently live in Greensboro, but were fortunate to spend two great years living in Southport and Oak Island. We have three kids who love the beach and will hopefully always have found memories of our trips to Oak Island.

The Owner purchased this house in 2000

Why The Owner chose Long Beach

Windrift is a special house with 'great karma.' This is not only the way we feel about our home, but we are told this over and over from our guests that come back every year. It is very light and bright cottage with a charming feel. We have exceptional house keeper who excel in customer service so you never have to worry. If there is any problem with your stay we make it a point to do whatever we can to make it right.

What makes this house unique

Windrift it a house that you can see and hear the ocean from every room. You will not want to leave I promise!


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Long Beach, North Carolina

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • There are two jack and jill bathrooms. In other words there is a bathroom on each side of the house that is shared between the ocean front bedroom and back bedroom.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed , Ocean Front Bedroom
    Bedroom 4 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 single bed , Street side bedroom with TV
    Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed , Ocean front bedroom with cable TV
  • Top quality Queen size Beds in three of the bedrooms and two twin beds in fourth bedroom.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • video player
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkeling/diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
If you are planning a special get away please let us know. We can help with making plans for a girls getaway trip or romantic week. Just let us know and we will do our best to help you make it special.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(64 traveller reviews)

76% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Ocean Front Home Oak Island, NC with WIFI and direct beach access
average rating of 4.703125 based on 64 reviews

Fantastic location with everything you need!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this home over Thanksgiving and were concerned about making that happen in an unfamiliar location. It could not have been more perfect! It was well stocked down to tiny details, such as hand soap at the sinks, plenty of hooks for hanging anything you may need and kitchen gear 4 all styles of cooking. It is brilliant to not have carpet and to allow our fur baby to be with us! The key box was difficult for my mother who arrived first to operate because it is beginning to be affected by the outside elements and she does not see as well anymore. It worked out fine I would just suggest replacing it at some point. The netting on the Ocean Side Porch was sturdy and perfect for kids or dogs. There was even a gate for the front porch if needed. The beds were the most comfortable of any home we have rented. The communication was ideal and not intrusive to our stay. We cannot wait to come here again!!!!!!

  • Review Submitted: 07/12/2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location

  • 5 of 5

Good vacation with great weather. Being on the water next to the beach makes it really enjoyable.

  • Review Submitted: 08/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Ocean View, but we had some issues

  • 2 of 5

We were very pleased with the view that we had of the ocean. Driftwood was comfortable and clean. However we experienced some difficulties with the air conditioner not working during the week that we were there. We contacted the Property Manager when we could no longer cool the house down. She responded very quickly and had a maintenance person come out immediately. Unfortunately the air conditioner was so old that it needed to be replaced. The owner obviously does not have periodic maintanance checks on the unit to avoid this type of issue. The following day we had 2 window air conditioners placed in the living room. They could not place them anywhere else because all other windows were so jerry-rigged that they would not accommodate the window air conditioners. The house never cooled off so we had to sleep in the living room on our final night. We attempted to contact owners following our return home to discuss a partial refund or at least an explanation due to the heat and discomfort that we experienced. We have not heard back from anyone about this and it has been 10 days. We have traveled to this area of North Carolina for many years and have never experienced this lack of communication ever before. We were advised by locals to always rent through a realtor. We liked the Oak Island area but will NOT this house ever again.

  • Review Submitted: 07/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I apologize for the delay in responding to this review and for the troubles these renters experienced. I wanted to respond to let future guests know that we have a contract through a professional heating and AC company who responded immediately once we are aware of the situation (which was at 4:45pm on the 5th day of our guest's vacation). Last summer we had record breaking temperatures and humidity which placed a lot of stress on many systems in the OI area. The condenser, fan motor and blades were replaced and we continue to have the unit checked and serviced on a regular basis. It is scheduled to be checked again late April 2018 before the spring / summer season begins and the Heating & Air company have assured me it is in good working order. We have also invested in all new energy efficient windows for the whole house which will make a huge impact on keeping the house cool in the summer and warm in the winter. If you should have further questions feel free to contact me.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

The view was amazing. Loved looking out windows or deck at the ocean.

  • 5 of 5

The house was so nicely stocked, had everything we needed.

Will book it again!

  • Review Submitted: 01/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Windrift the place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Everything you'd ever need! Right on the ocean! Beautiful sunrises and sunsets! Oh did I mention the Eclipse! Too good to be true! I will recommend Windrift to all my friends and family!

  • Review Submitted: 30/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family Vacation 2017

  • 5 of 5

Our family of eight (5 adults, 2 teens, 1 toddler plus fur babies) just returned from a wonderful week at Oak Island. This cottage is in an excellent location with easy access to beach. The porch has rocking chairs for relaxing and picnic table for outside dining. The kitchen is small but well equipped. The marsh is within walking distance to cast nets. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 13/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Ferry
8 Miles
Bald Head Island & Fort Fisher
Car: necessary

While on Oak Island we enjoy buying local seafood at Haag and Sons and using the grill to eat fish right on our back porch. If you like to eat out it is fun to take a drive (15 minutes) in to Southport and eat at Fishy Fishy or Provisions Company. If you go to Southport during the day be sure to check out Lantanas art gallery on Howe Street. Our son Will and other local artist sell unique gifts and paintings at Lantanas so it is a must see. If you have kids you should also take them to Bullfrogs on the corner of Moore and Howe and Spikes or Flavas for ice cream. Also take some time to sit in the swings on the waterfront and view the Oak Island lighthouse as well as Old Baldy. Southport is a quaint little town that should not be missed! While on Oak Island we love taking long walk with our dog and just enjoying the view and breezes from our porch. Oak Island is a family oriented beach so it is mostly quiet and relaxing. There are not big hotels and limited amount of commercial development. Mainly just families enjoying the beach. Since Oak Island faces south you will enjoy seeing the sun rise and set. We also love watching for the dolphins playing in the water. This is actually a pretty common site on Oak Island but still a thrill. If you are here during turtle season it is a real treat to see the turtles hatch and make their way to the water. This is a rare opportunity and takes much patience to go to the nest each night hoping to see this happen. If you need a few more magazines to read on the beach be sure to go to the Oak Island library on Oak Island drive where you can pick up used free magazines. We also have some magazines in our home as well. We hope you love your stay on Oak Island as much as we always do!


Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$197.31
Pet Fee AU$65.77
Damage Deposit AU$263.08

Our preference is to always rent for a full week, however we will be flexible with our minimum night requirements if we are not booked and you are calling in close proximity to the date requested. If you have a question it is always best to call us at 336-254-8502.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.