check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Dr. Michal Roucka

Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks english, french, german, spanish, russian, italian, czech, slowak

Central and quiet apartment in a garden district closed to the Prague Castle

33 Reviews
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this Brevnov holiday apartment

We offer an accommodation in a big apartment in our family house. This apartment has a separate entrance and it consists of a hall, 2 double rooms, a bathroom (with bathtub) and a kitchen on the first floor; and a double room with kitchenette, as well as a shower and WC on the second floor. All bedrooms are very spacious (we can put an extra bed there) and they face south.

Enjoy our hospitality: We are a young family speaking English, German, Italian, French and Czech.

Pick up from the airport/railway station or garage: If you come by car, a garage is at your disposal free of charge. Coming by plane or by train we are able to come and meet you at the airport or at the railway station

Some tips where to go and what to see:: After your coming to our house, we can give you many useful informations and special tips for your stay in Prague, including maps of the city, tickets for the public transport, cultural events programme - we can book in advance for you tickets for theatre etc.

Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Dr. Michal Roucka (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks english, french, german, spanish, russian, italian, czech, slowak

Reviews

4.6
based on 33 traveller reviews

Central and quiet apartment in a garden district closed to the Prague Castle
average rating of 4.6060605 based on 33 reviews
1

Invasion of privacy

  • 1 of 5

It is with a great deal of sadness that I write this review. When we first arrived we were met by Michal's wife who was very helpful. All seemed fine it is a large house, we were informed that they where going away for the weekend from Friday and we would be in the house alone as there were no other guests. When we arrived home on the Friday at 8.30 pm after 12 hours sightseeing in Prague, we found an old plastic bottle on the dining table amongst our personal documents. We were quite distressed, we could not contact the owners to see if they had an explanation, or if someone else had a key to the apartment, we hardly slept that night as every noise we heard we had to check the hallway and we felt insecure leaving the apartment for any length of time. We emailed the owners and didn't hear from them until two days after we had left the property. We were given the explanation that Michal's wife had gone into our apartment to water a window box and had left the bottle behind. Our problem with that explanation was "A' if the bottle was not left behind we would not have known somebody had been in our room and "B' if someone came in to water the plant why was the bottle put down on the table ? It was a very very sad way to spent our last two nights of a four night stay in a city we had been looking forward so much to visit. Barry and Jenny from Australia

  • Review Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear guests, It´s a great pleasure for us you´ve enjoyed your stay in our apartment and you were very happy there. We try to arrange our apartment so enjoyable as possible also with the flowers at the window, that must be watered regulary and naturally not only you like guests but also the owner has the key and access to this apartment. According to your description you already know how did it happen with the plastic bottle for watering of flowers. Thank you for your understanding.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay in this apartment! We are a family of 5 (kids ages are 7, 5 and 3) and after two months of experiencing apartments of various sizes throughout Europe, we were immediately impressed by the roominess and homeliness of the apt. It was such a relief to have a bit of space for the family and everything we needed. I might also add that the cleanliness was excellent.

Michal's efforts were outstanding. His generosity in meeting us at the train station, orientating, organising, leading and informing us right at the beginning was key to a very enjoyable experience of Prague.

One of our objectives for travel was to provide our children with authentic experiences in the places that we visited. In Michal's apartment, we were able to live like a Czech family for 9 days and experience genuine Czech hospitality. We were very blessed by Michal and his family's efforts.

While the apartment is in Michal's home, I can heartily affirm that it is very private indeed. In fact, we felt very secure.

Also, while the accommodation is not in the city centre, it is easily accessible by the #22 tram (which sure beats any hop on hop off tourist bus! Don't waste your money in that!). So, if you're happy not to be walking distance for the major sites, then this apartment would be a great option for you. There is a little incline on the walk from the tram stop to home, but we saw this only as a good opportunity to burn off all the Czech food we had been eating!

A beautiful Czech family, hosting a homely apartment in a safe and quiet suburb just out of the city. A taste of the real Prague!

Thank you, Michal!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 22, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Really great you´ve enjoyed your holiday in our apartment! Thank you and see you next time
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Mendota Heights Minnesota
5

Thoroughly enjoyed this property!!

  • 5 of 5

We were two couples using this property. My husband and I used the top floor appartment and our friends used the apartment below with the full kitchen. Michal was MORE than helpful and kind when we each arrived at different times. He gave us brochures, maps and recommended places to see and places to eat. This property is a bit out from the main areas, however, the tram was SOOO easy to use. Michal even had tickets that we could purchase from him making our first adventure out very easy. Billa grocery store is about a 10 minute walk so all the things we needed were easily gotten. We would highly recommend this property to people who like the B&B atmosphere.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 19, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great, we love it to give our best for our guests staying in this very spacious apartment just in the Heart of the Middle Europe - in the Golden City Prague. Welcome to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Pennsylvania, USA
5

Felt like a home away from home

  • 5 of 5

My husband, myself and our college-aged daughter stayed in the two bedroom apartment for a week while visiting Prague. Michal, the owner, met us on arrival and oriented us to the city and the public transit system. He had pamphlets for various sites in Prague and had researched event times for activities in the city the week of our stay. Overall, he was quite helpful and accommodating. The apartment itself was pleasantly spacious and comfortable. It is, as other reviews have mentioned, about 2 blocks from the tram line. It is on a small incline, and probably not well-suited to people with physical limitations. The #22 tram takes you from the neighborhood in Brevnov to the older, touristy part of Prague in about 10-30 minutes (depends on where you are headed - Prague Castle is quite close). It was great to get familiar with the tram and metro - we went to many sections of Prague during the week and traveled easily on public transit. A 24-hour pass for all transit lines costs 110 korunas (about $5). #22 is a great line, because it travels to many interesting parts of the city. Brevnov itself has the Brevnov Monastery. There is a view of it from the apartment. We had a very good Czech meal in the tavern there our first night in Prague. If you do stay here and are traveling on Tram22, do jump off the tram at Marjanka and walk toward the city to Moje Kredenc (Belohorska 26) for hot chocolate. It was a delicious way to start the day. We saw many beautiful sights, but would recommend taking the audio tour through Lobkowicz Palace and catching a classical music performance at St. George's Basilica at Prague Castle. Also, be sure to see the Astronomical Clock chime on the hour and hang out in Staromestske namesti one evening to watch the street performers.

Overall, this was a great place to stay and I would not hesitate to recommend it to a friend or to come back. I gave it 5 stars for value: it is a clean, quiet, comfortable place and well worth the price. It is convenient to the city (the tram runs frequently and is available all night, although less frequent after maybe 11 or midnight), but we never planned to return to the apartment until we were done sightseeing for the day since it does take some time to get back and forth. Then we would take advantage of the cozy kitchen to have a glass of wine or cup of tea and plan our adventure for the next day!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 19, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
5

Highly recommend this place

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at thus property while visiting Prague for 3 days. We was perfect place to stay. We had 3 babies with us and the owner was very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this property if you are planning to visit Prague !

  • Review Submitted: Sep 14, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Great place, great neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

Our family of eight stayed here for two months and had a wonderful experience. The apartments are comfortable and well-equipped for long or short stays, and the view of the monastery is really lovely. Michal was an excellent host and helped us so much with our arrival and during our entire stay. He is quite knowledgeable about Prague and its history. It's easy and quick to get to Prague Castle and just a bit further to Old Town. A great place to stay!

  • Review Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Kilometres
Prague-Ruzyne
Nearest Train
8 Kilometres
Prague central station
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
via Pilsen, the end of motorway
Car: not necessary

The vacation villa is situated in a quiet garden district called Brevnov, westward of the Prague Castle. There is a very good connection by tram No. 22 to the city (5 minutes) and a direct public bus transport to the international airport (15 minutes).

Other Activities: inline skating

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday apartment in Brevnov, Czech Republic

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Nebensaison
7 Nov 2016 - 15 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
A$26
 
 
Hochsaison
16 Dec 2016 - 28 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
A$29
 
 
Hauptsaison
29 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$36
 
 
Nebensaison
3 Jan 2017 - 15 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$26
 
 
Hochsaison
16 Mar 2017 - 5 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$29
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment rental in Brevnov, Czech Republic

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 125 m²
Location Type:
  • City Centre
  • Town
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • 2 doubles, 1 twin, 1 family bedroom, 2 rooms with 3 beds
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Radio
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
8 people, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms