Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Mountain Crest, Deadwood, Auth/Hand-Hewn, Secluded, Free WiFi, Skiing,100mi View

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms + Other (see description), 1 Bath (usually sleeps up 1-5)

Beyond the 'usual' cabin experience... Mountain Crest is a beautifully hand-hewn, non-smoking, authentic log cabin located 6 miles from Deadwood and 7 miles from Lead. From its mountaintop perch you can see as far as 100 miles. (See the video.)

This cabin occupies five acres on a mountaintop northwest of Deadwood, off county-maintained, Maitland road, the 'backdoor’ road to Spearfish, SD. Only a short drive to skiing at Terry Peak or scenic Spearfish Canyon. While wonderfully secluded and private, you still can enjoy free WiFi.

This unique log cabin makes for a delightful romantic getaway. The trees that grew on my mountaintop are still there. They repose as a part of this handmade log cabin. There is something about the massive logs, the warm, cozy setting and natural serenity, the evening’s celestial beauty, and the amazing views. All of these combine to set human nature at ease and conjure up a special feeling of closeness.

Mountain Crest is well suited for gatherings. The acreage provides a large adjacent parking area that can accommodate multiple vehicles. It is a great location to come together with friends, entertain visitors, conduct family reunions, etc.

It is very clean and well maintained and provides guests complete privacy from the hustle of the outside world. A recent guest and his family have the cabin featured on the tube website as Mountain Crest.mp4.

Secluded, with dual access, well-maintained roads, this cabin works well to enjoy winter sports, delightful spring and summer activities, or to just escape and re-charge oneself.

Snow Mobilers: Mountain Crest enjoys abundant snow fall. Given its relatively secluded location and being adjacent to national forest land and trails, it is ideally suited to have fun playing in the snow. Where else can one drive their snow mobile up to their front door?

The cabin provides excellent support to its guests. While delightfully secluded, there will always be guest support available to assist and answer area questions.

The special appeal of this cabin... I bought 'Mountain Crest' in 2005, a dream come true. I accidentally stumbled upon this unadvertised/unlisted property when I encountered its owner while off-roading in my jeep exploring old settlements and mines. Watching eagles soar, deer graze, chipmunks play, or turkeys strut and simply enjoying nature, is something I always yearned to be able to do. By sitting on the veranda or looking out of the kitchen windows, you can, too. I love having the freedom to adventure out and not come across barbed wire limitations.

More Details

Owner
Tom McCord
Member since: 2009
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few hours
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 June, 2018

Why Tom McCord chose Lead

And why the Deadwood area.... Since the Air Force assigned me to South Dakota in the late 80's, I have loved the Black Hills. They are always open and accessible (public land), safe (no bears), and the people here are so very friendly and welcoming. They genuinely do appreciate visitors and enjoy mingling with those from out of the area.

The northern 'hills' are especially beautiful and have so much history and fun things to do. I very much enjoy my stays at Mountain Crest. I take great interest in making sure my visitors are able to enjoy and appreciate it as much as I do.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hey Debbie, Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mountain Crest and that it was especially meaningful for you. In addition to its natural beauty and ambiance, I strive to provide guests a lasting, memorable experience. Maybe we 'hit the mark' during your stay. Unique to Mountain Crest, Bob & Lynn are more than cabin greeters or maintainers; they genuinely do set the tone for our visitors to enjoy a delightful experience in the hills.
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin rental in Lead, South Dakota

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5 ...
  • Max. adults: 5
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
  • Sturgis reservations require a larger deposit, cancellations are different, and final payment is due 90 days prior. See 'Note' on the Rates page.
  • Reservation requests are normally dollar quoted for about one year out. Further extended dates/rates will need to be discussed unless already shown.
  • If you are staying with a pet, please inform the owner. If more than one pet is staying, additional fees and deposits may apply.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
  • Here, there is also a full sized washer & dryer.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed , 1 double bed , In addition to the queen bed, there is a double bed fouton
    Other options - The cabin also has a queen size blow up bed and a couch.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • patio
  • Veranda / Loggia
  • wooden decking
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Comfortable, friendly, and easy to use, one can enjoy: a fully furnished kitchen with native wood handcrafted cabinetry, full sized washer and dryer, expansive, rocked, Forest Service approved fire pit and outdoor dining area, a covered veranda wrapping around three sides or the view from the balcony off the master bedroom. There is plenty of wildlife to see, including deer, turkeys, chipmunks, and eagles. VISA, Master Card, and Discovery credit cards may now be used.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(79 traveller reviews)

92% Complete
5% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Mountain Crest, Deadwood, Auth/Hand-Hewn, Secluded, Free WiFi, Skiing,100mi View
average rating of 4.886076 based on 80 reviews
Matthews, NV
5

Peaceful Mountain Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Great mountain cabin! My wife and I stayed at Mountain Crest for 6 nights. The log cabin is in a very quiet and peaceful setting. We saw deer on the property almost every morning and night. Our dogs loved their walks and were very happy at the house. The interior of the home is very comfortable and clean and has everything you'll for your stay. The home is located about 25 minutes from either Deadwood or Lead (mostly travel up/down the mountain). We will definitely stay here again on future trips.

  • Review Submitted: 02/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Rick, Appreciate you taking the time to share your Mountain Crest stay experience. As a vacation property owner, I routinely use the word 'guest' in correspondence. We genuinely do strive to provide a quality, fun, and unique experience to our customers. However, you, your family, and the others, are truly my 'guests'. You will always be treated that way. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. Would love to welcome you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

So relaxing. The views out there were really beautiful.

  • 5 of 5

This was exactly what I was looking for, a getaway from everyday living and just go back to nature. It was really an experience that I will be doing again, next time it will be with the family lol.

  • Review Submitted: 13/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Josh, there is something special about not having to focus on our daily living needs/concerns and escaping to a setting that is both immense and wholly different. After a period in such an environment, it seems to reset and refresh our outlook and our ability to go forward. Pleased to know that your stay was 'just what you needed.' Would love to welcome you back and let your family feel it, too.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely loved it!!!

  • 5 of 5

Such an amazing place! We loved the beautiful views and breathtaking attention to detail inside the cabin! We wanted a quiet peaceful place to relax and enjoy some family time and this was the place! The owner, Tom, was great! He was there whenever we had a question and the process went so smooth. He is a great guy! Thank you Tom for this opportunity to have quality family time together. Anyone planning a trip to the Black Hills must definitely check this place out!!!

  • Review Submitted: 12/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Secluded, very clean, amazing views

  • 5 of 5

Arrived around 5 and the first trip up the mountain roads was a little tricky. The owner told us some commercial mapping sites had the area wrong. Both my car's GPS and google maps were wrong but I found Mapquest's app to be accurate. The house is very secluded and the views didn't disappoint. The only other visible homes are from the view of Spearfish 6 miles away and down the mountains.

Everything was very clean inside and many things were provided between the kitchen and bath, which helped make the stay feel more homey and less hotel. We brought two young kids and they also enjoyed the whole experience of being in the woods, seeing deer every morning, campfires, etc. It was very convenient to Deadwood/Lead and Spearfish, and we took two trips to the Rushmore area and Custer State Park while we were there which were easy drives. Overall great place and stay

  • Review Submitted: 05/06/2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Mathew, thank you for your detailed feedback. Happy to know that you felt that Mountain Crest was a great place and you had a great stay. So, MapQuest’s app seems to be the most accurate. That’s good info. Years ago, I tried to think of a descriptive name for the cabin. It is at the crest of a mountain... Hence the name (smile) and the necessary drive. I always find it fun, glad you did, too, that this cabin provides some seclusion as well as the opportunity for guests to enjoy extended views during their stay. Pleased to know that the cabin's cleanliness and those items we provide helped make your stay feel homier, less hotel-like, it worked well for your local sightseeing trips, and that the kids enjoyed their outdoor experience. Would love to welcome you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The views were absolutely breathtaking

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we came up the drive we felt relaxed and that feeling never left. The cabin was clean and had everything you would need for a peaceful stay. We brought our dog with us and so appreciated this opportunity. Tom, the owner was fantastic to work with and even though we never met we feel we have made a friend as he makes you feel that way.

While staying at the cabin I would highly recommend paying attention to the weather as with mountain roads there are conditions you would not want to travel in 😉

I could go on and on but will stop now. We would highly recommend Mountain Crest Cabin. Jon and Rhonda Brinkman, Palmyra NE

  • Review Submitted: 30/05/2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Will go again place

  • 5 of 5

Loved it. So clean. Beautiful view. Steps going upstairs could be difficult for elderly but pull out bed on main level is good. Tom (owner) is very helpful

  • Review Submitted: 10/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mike, glad you loved the place and would go again. We always try to be as informative as possible with pictures and words. Thank you for the personal compliment. Would like to welcome you back and give you our 'repeat customer' discount.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
55 Miles
Rapid City Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Deadwood, SD
Nearest Golf
17 Miles
Spearfsh, SD
Nearest Motorway
13 Miles
Interstate 90 (I90)
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Central City; Deadwood
Nearest Ski
9 Miles
Terry Peak
Car: necessary

Nearby, one can hike, fish, bike, explore, 4WD/off road, snow shoe, cross country or down hill ski, or snow mobile. It is only a short drive to ski at Terry Peak or Deer Mountain or to hike/bike the Mickelson Trail. It is adjacent to forest service/public land, trails, and nearby rustic, Carbonate Road (back way to Terry Peak skiing).

Mountain Crest is located close to the fun, historic, and exciting communities of Deadwood, Lead, Spearfish, and Sturgis in the 'northern hills' (arguably, the most beautiful area of 'the Hills').

These communities also offer the traditional services one might expect, including parks, recreation centers, libraries, restaurants, grocery stores, etc.

One can easily drive to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, scenic Spearfish Canyon, or other hills destinations.

Other activities available: Cross country skiing, snowmobiling, snowboarding, wildlife viewing, rock climbing.

Ski: Mountain Crest is a great location from which to enjoy snow mobiling or riding one's ATV. The area is relatively secluded, borders forest service land, and there is very little traffic on nearby roads and trails. One can actually drive their snow mobile up to the cabin's veranda and steps.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cabin in Lead, South Dakota

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring/Summer Rate #2
29 May 2018 - 1 Jul 2018
2 night minimum stay
AU$237
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$47 per night, per additional guest
 
Independence Day
2 Jul 2018 - 5 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$271
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$68 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring/Summer Rate #3
6 Jul 2018 - 20 Jul 2018
2 night minimum stay
AU$237
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$47 per night, per additional guest
 
Days of 76
22 Jul 2018 - 29 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$271
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$68 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring/Summer Rate #4
30 Jul 2018 - 3 Aug 2018
2 night minimum stay
AU$237
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$47 per night, per additional guest
 
Sturgis Rally
4 Aug 2018 - 12 Aug 2018
5 night minimum stay
AU$339
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$102 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring/Summer Rate #5
13 Aug 2018 - 30 Aug 2018
2 night minimum stay
AU$237
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$47 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day
31 Aug 2018 - 4 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$271
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$68 per night, per additional guest
 
Columbus Day
5 Oct 2018 - 9 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$271
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$68 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
AU$237
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$34 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit AU$271.3
Housekeeping AU$176.35
Pet Fee AU$67.83

(1 of 5) If you are staying with a pet, please inform the owner. There is a pet fee requirement. If more than one pet is staying, additional fees and/or deposits may apply.
(2 of 5) Sturgis Rally Stays - As mentioned in the Rental Agreement and here, Due to the amount of inquiry turmoil and increased demand, Rally stays are handled slightly differently from the standard site rate notes. There is a $400 refundable reservation/security deposit for this period. Should a cancellation occur, this is fully refundable if this takes place at least four months prior, otherwise, there is a $100 cancellation fee and the HomeAway/VRBO standard stated agreement applies. For this period, the final payment is due 90 days prior to arrival.
(3 of 5) Winter Special,11/1 - 3/20, Receive a 10% discount off of the already reduced winter rate when staying 5 or more nights. This can be added to any repeat guest discount you may already have.
(4 of 5) Any isolated, single, 'open' dates available may be rented. Please inquire.
(5 of 5) Double weekend premium - Guests often prefer a stay that includes a Fri & Sat/Sun or a Sat and Sun. Stays beginning on a Sat or Sun and ending on the following Sat or Sun limit other guest’s travel opportunities. There is a $150 double weekend charge for such stays. (Double weekend stays are generally not avail Jun, July, and Aug)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable