Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Picturesque two-story apartment in historic house walking distance from Ferry

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 74 m²
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 5-6

Step into another world in this duplex apartment on the top two floors of a 140 year-old hilltop Victorian home. Relax in the evening with the lights from the bay and the Verrazano Bridge outside the window. Yet you are just a 20 minute downhill walk to the Staten Island Ferry, the greatest free ride in the world.

The house is surrounded by a garden and trees, creating a peace and quiet rare in New York, and a cool spot in the summer heat. Descend from the hilltop into downtown Staten Island, a diverse, up-and-coming real New York neighborhood with a convenient strip of restaurants and small shops.

Highly recommended for romantics, antiquarians, visitors who want more than the standard tourist experience, people who are not afraid to climb stairs. Less recommended if you would really rather be in a shoe-box hotel in Midtown for three times the price.

We offer three bedrooms, two with queen-size beds, one with a full. (That one is quite small, but cozy). One full bathroom with tub and shower, eat-in kitchen and large (by NYC standards) living room. Not luxurious, but comfortable. A view to remember.

The Ferry to Manhattan: The Staten Island Ferry is by far the loveliest way to enter Manhattan, a 25-minute cruise across the harbor. You pass very close to the Statue of Liberty and watch the skyscrapers grow enormous as you approach. The boat runs 24/7, usually every half hour. It runs more often in rush hours, hourly very late at night. And it's FREE.

The walk to the Ferry from our house is an easy downhill stroll. Coming back you may prefer to hop a bus 2-3 stops, or a cab for $5-7.

Staten Island: If you stay more than a few days, you may want to see the sights of Staten Island itself, New York's 'forgotten borough.' These include Snug Harbor, a 19th-century sailors' retirement home turned museum and cultural center, the Jacques Marchais Tibetan Art Museum, and the Alice Austen museum, a beautiful waterfront house devoted to a pioneering woman photographer. The south shore of Staten Island offers many miles of sandy beach and boardwalk if you want to take a few hours off from being a tourist.

The island is famous for its Italian food, but newer immigrant groups are making their contributions as well. You will find the prices for restaurants, like lodging, far more reasonable than in Manhattan.

More Details

Owner
Helen Shustikov
Member since: 2008
Speaks english, french, russian
Response time
Within 12 hours
Response rate
90%
Calendar last updated:
22 November, 2017

Why Helen Shustikov chose Tompkinsville

We already owned one house in downtown Staten Island, when we came into some money and started looking for another one. Helen spotted this property by chance walking around and knew it was the one we needed. The owner was ready to take it off the market, but we tracked him down and persuaded him to sell.

What makes this apartment unique

This is a unique house on a unique street, a row of eight identical Victorians, all preserved intact from the 1870s (we think), set back from the street by an elevated sidewalk with abundant trees and greenery.

Our neighborhood is one of the more racially and economically diverse in a city famous for that -- with hippie cafe owners, struggling immigrants and infiltrating hipsters all sharing the same territory. Again, not for everybody, but we love it.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I want to thank you and Craig personally for the pleasant week that we spent. I like the house very much. It's so romantic.



We hear that you are an artist, and you can tell that from the atmospher of the house. Enormous thanks for making the apartment available to us. We immediately felt at home there.



Я бы хотела лично вас и Крейга поблагодарить за приятно проведенную неделю в городе. Дом мне очень понравился. О его "древности" говорят скрипучие ступени лестниц. Это так романтично!

Мила сказала, что вы - художник. Я это поняла по антуражу дома.

Еще раз огромное спасибо за аппартаменты. Мы сразу там себя почувствовали "как дома".



Ирина
Apr 2017
  • 1 of 5

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment rental in Tompkinsville, New York

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 74 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Quiet hours 11 pm-8 am.
  • Conduct must be appropriate to a residential neighborhood.
  • Having fun and loving New York is required!
Location Type:
  • City Centre
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • soap
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking On Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath (no shower) , shower enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double bed
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • video player
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Child's Swing
  • Lawn / Garden
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(57 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
31% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
Picturesque two-story apartment in historic house walking distance from Ferry
average rating of 4.122807 based on 62 reviews
5

Beautiful property and super sweet owners!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in Staten Island! I visited from Florida with my family. We were very grateful for the affordable cost for the amount of space! The walk from the ferry was great for me and my friends (who are in our 20s). But, I would definitely recommend utilizing the taxi service from the Staten Island Ferry for those who aren't very active. IE my mother did not enjoy the walk as much! Thank you to the owners for letting us stay in your beautiful historic home!

  • Review Submitted: 19/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

House was very adequate. Large rooms. Very convenient location to ferry. House could’ve been cleaner

  • 3 of 5

Overall experience was good. Traveled with my 75 year old mother and 3 teenage girls. LOTS of steps up to and inside the house. Ferry was accessible by walking or bus. Better to get cab back from ferry. Owners were accommodating with early check in time. Although, living room could use more furniture, the house worked out great for us! Would rent again and recommend to budget minded travelers

  • Review Submitted: 17/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Sounds like a little more than a three-star experience! The house probably would have been cleaner if we had not allowed this guest to arrive at 9:30 in the morning instead of the normal check-in time at 4 -- that is, almost get a day for free. Some mix-up resulted with the crew. There definitely are a lot of steps, but the view is worth it, and our guests lose an average of three pounds per visit. (Just kidding.) Congrats to Mom for sticking it out at 75. Do come back, but stick to the arrival time, please.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

My stay was not satisfactory, would not recommend staying here.

  • 1 of 5

Do not stay here! There are a ton of stairs, which I wasn’t aware of, and there were spiders on our bed and on the ceiling, as well as a cockroach. I really wanted to love my stay, but it was unfortunate that this happened. The floors weren’t cleaned and there were webs in the nooks and crannies. I had to request a refund, because me and my friends left after one night. Unless they do some serious TLC and deep clean the house, I would not recommend staying here. The area was really sketchy too.

  • Review Submitted: 16/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is a result of us bending over backwards and trying to be helpful. This guest wrote a few days before arrival and asked if she could come at 9 am instead of the normal check-in time of 4 pm.. We agreed, but there was a mix-up with the cleaning people and the place was not entirely cleaned when she showed up. When the guest called to complain (a day and a half later), we explained the situation and offered to send the cleaner back. She said she would rather leave. We gave the money back for the rest of her stay. Other guests immediately booked in her place and wrote a five-star review. (See the next one down.) We did find a few small spider webs in the corners, but no cockroaches! Unfortunately, we will not be able to do these favors of early arrival anymore, after this result. As for steps, the first sentence of our ad says "top two floors of a hilltop house," and the lead picture shows a steep stoop leading up to the entrance. Hard to see how the guest was unaware..
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very Awsome

  • 5 of 5

The property was all right. What really sold me was the hospitality and kindness of our hosts, Helen and Craig. They were very attentive and made our stay very pleasant and comfortable

  • Review Submitted: 10/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice house in a great location

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I with our two teenagers stayed here for 12 days, travelling from the UK. I really liked the house, particularly the bold colour scheme and the wall decorations. It had everything you need from a holiday home and was bigger than I had expected. It was pretty hot when we were there, but the aircon units worked well. The neighbours were super friendly - always taking the time to say good morning. There was one guy there who feeds some local cats - I really liked seeing him each morning. We looked forward to the walk to the ferry in the morning and back later in the day. It really is not as bad as some of the reviews suggest - about 20 minutes each way, and some great views and experiences along the way - you can see the Manhattan skyline. Finding the house was easy - the instructions are spot on. It was easy to park on the first and subsequent days just down from the garages. The supermarket at the bottom of the road (Key stores) has everything you will need, quality is good and prices are reasonable. The best thing about the house was its location. Close to Manhattan, but on Staten Island which has loads of stuff to do that I had not realised - there's a great beach, a quite large shopping Mall and even a zoo. Given it's close to Manhattan though, it's so green and relaxing. I didn't meet Helen and her family, but found them all extremely helpful, and responsive, whenever I asked a question by email or phone. Overall we had a fantastic time - the only downside was having to leave at the end of the holiday. I would definitely recommend this property, and it is far better than the hotel option. We absolutely loved it!!! Thanks Helen for letting us stay in your home, and enabling us to have such a great holiday!

  • Review Submitted: 01/09/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We have had many guests from U.K, over the years. We (almost) always find them cultured, friendly and appreciative of our historic home. May the pound rebound so we can see more of you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We loved it.

  • 5 of 5

We loved it and property owner was also very helpful.

Overall we enjoyed our stay .

  • Review Submitted: 10/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. Please come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Newark Liberty
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Staten Island Ferry
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Penn Station New York
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
I-278, Exit 12 or 13
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
South Beach
Car: not necessary

Our neighborhood is known as either Downtown Staten Island or St. George, a vibrant, multicultural "up-and-coming" area across New York Bay from Lower Manhattan. If you enjoy urban settings where people of different skin colors and economic groups live close together, you will fit right in.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday apartment in Tompkinsville, New York

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Thanksgiving
20 Nov 2017 - 24 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
AU$199
 
 
Spring
2 Apr 2018 - 14 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$159
From
AU$225
Fri,Sat
AU$993
 
 
Summer
15 Jun 2018 - 3 Sep 2018
5 night minimum stay
AU$199
From
AU$265
Fri,Sat
AU$1,191
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
AU$146
From
AU$185
Fri,Sat
AU$927
AU$3,177
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning AU$79.43
Refundable Damage Deposit AU$132.38
Tax Rate 8.88%

$100-$170/night, $500-$900/week
$100-$170/night, $500-$900/week

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable