Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

BEST LOCATION!! EASY WALK TO TOWN/BEACH! AMAZING VIEWS!

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Space 334 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

5 bedrooms, 3 full baths, sleeps 14, 3600 sqft, 3 levels all with decks & views

Once part of the historical Grandview Hotel that overlooked the bluff in 1905, this recently renovated home is 3 levels with decks on each level, front & back - spectacular views up & down the river & to Lake Michigan! You'll enjoy amazing sunsets as well as watching the boats up and down the river. It has 3600 sq ft of beautifully decorated entertaining space with gourmet kitchen that seats 6 at the granite bar with full amenities, 10 person dining table, large family room with multiple seating areas, backyard deck entertaining area with gas grill, firepit, dining table, 4 bedrooms on the 2nd level that sleep 6, one lower level queen sleeper sofa (open in living room), lower level bedroom with queen bed and twin trundle, 3rd level family room loft (has 4 twin beds loft style) with outdoor covered deck with views of river & Lake Michigan!! Home is equipped with 3 LCD TVs, DVD players, dish TV, kids playroom/toys, pack & play, beach toys. Two minute walk to town & 3 blocks to the beach - the Perfect location to easily walk to beach or town & enjoy the view! Stairs to the river were just installed right by the house making it easy to get down to the riverfront and beach!

Few blocks to Kids Corner!: Kids tired of going to the beach and want something different to do?! We are just a short walk over to Kids Corner which is a huge wooden play center with towers, bridges and hidden tunnels! Also slides, swings, tire swings, etc., basketball hoop/court, baseball/softball diamond, picnic tables and lots of grassy area to play other games!!

Concerts and Festivals: We are steps away to the river area where a lot of the free concerts and festivals are held. New stairs were just installed right by the house! So, you don't have to pack up everything for the whole day - you can get home quickly any time you want to stop back in and take a break then right back to the festivities in minutes!!!

House made for entertaining: This is a place where we entertain and host our large family every year so we are set up with plenty of places for everyone to sit for eating and lounging around in the family room to watch TV. No more crowded seats with some people left out!!! Same goes for the outside back deck area. There are plenty of tables and chairs, plus a built in bench that lines the perimeter of the deck for extra seating.

Additionally, the third level family room/bedroom loft area is one large open space with 4 twin mattresses (two can be put together for a king bed) in the front of the space, and a large sectional and club chair with flat screen t.v. to the rear of the space and a 3rd level deck with plenty of comfy seating for viewing all of those spectacular sunsets or taking an afternoon nap!

More Details

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in South Haven, Michigan

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 334 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • City Centre ...
  • Lake View
  • Town ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • soap
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • local restaurant guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower , 1st floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , bath with shower , 2nd floor
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower enclosure , jacuzzi , Master Bath
    Outdoor shower - outdoor shower , After beach use
  • Master bath has jacuzzi tub and large walk-in, glass enclosed shower with stone floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed , Master bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 single bed , one of these twins can be relocated to the 3rd story
    Bedroom 4 - 1 single bed , one of these twins can be relocated to the 3rd story
    Front living room - 1 sofa bed/futon , downstairs pullout sofa
    Bedroom 7 - 1 double bed , 1 single bed , One queen/full day bed with a twin pull out trundle
    3rd level loft - 4 single bed
  • Also one pack and play available for use anywhere in house. Additionally please note that the third floor is a loft so the bed area is open to the TV area.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • books - fiction/non-fiction
  • books - kids
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • games - kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • deck chairs
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Veranda / Loggia ...
  • Small Cooler
  • veranda
  • wooden decking
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Absolutely No Smoking!!!! Game, beach toys, chairs, coolers, etc stored in basement. Please note, that although we do not allow dogs for renters, the owners do stay at the house once per year and they do have dogs..... FYI for allergy sufferers.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(48 traveller reviews)

70% Complete
25% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
BEST LOCATION!! EASY WALK TO TOWN/BEACH! AMAZING VIEWS!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 48 reviews
New Baltimore, Michigan
5

Absolutely Perfect

  • 5 of 5

My girlfriends and I had the best weekend in South Haven. The house is incredible - Clean, spacious, beautifully decorated, and in the perfect location. The view from the third floor balcony is priceless. Jill was so very easy to work with and great with communicating! Will definitely be back for another visit!!

  • Review Submitted: 17/05/2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your gracious review! We are so happy you loved your stay at our place and enjoyed the very close proximity to everything. I hope you took in a couple sunsets from that third level - they are amazing! Hope to see you back again in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Winter vacation

  • 5 of 5

Had an amazing time will definitely be back soon. Thank u so much

  • Review Submitted: 04/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great House and Location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here the week of July 4, 2017, and had an amazing time. The location was perfect for July 4 - super easy walk to the parade and perfect view of the fireworks (top deck). The town was an easy walk for my parents, as well (senior citizens). The beach is about a 10-15 minute walk, so we drove my parents, but brought the car back to the house and walked down ourselves. We were able to fit two cars in the driveway, which was critical during the holiday week, as street parking is not easy. Also, the house is fantastic. We loved the open lay-out of the first floor, which allowed all of us to gather in one place without feeling crowded. Also, we had family over for dinners, and they were able to fit with no problem at all. We also loved the back deck, where we spent a lot of our time (grilling, reading, eating, hanging by the fire-pit, etc). The top floor is amazing, which was a great spot for watching movies, playing card games (on the top deck), and viewing sunsets. The house was clean and updated. Overall, I love this house, and we were very happy with our stay.

  • Review Submitted: 02/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place for a family get away

  • 5 of 5

Everything was comfortable and as depicted. It's a very walkable location.

  • Review Submitted: 09/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay In South Haven and the proximity of our house to everything!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Louis, MO
4

Beautiful location but needs some updating

  • 4 of 5

The home was in a great location. Easy walk to the beach and town. We barely got in our car. The first floor is a great room for gathering and eating. When we arrived the home was less than pristine. The floor and ceiling fans were less than clean. The furniture was adequate but "tired". The carpeting on the second floor had many stains, three of the four bedrooms. I believe the guest's information book needs to be updated. We found discrepancies from the website and what we were told by the owner. We were also a little disappointed when we arrived and had to go out and buy toilet paper, paper towels, napkins, and kleenex as well as propane for the bar-b-q pit the very first evening we arrived. I think this house could be spectacular but it needs some attention.

  • Review Submitted: 14/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First off let me say that you will be hard pressed to find a house that is as updated and beautifully decorated as mine. Your accusation that my furniture is tired is completely untrue and this is a situation where someone is just finding things to complain about. My pictures accurately represent my furnishing and decorating so anyone can check pictures for themself. You did contact me about some cobwebs in the lighting fixtures over the island which I did talk to my cleaning crew about. As much as we strive for perfection sometimes in the rush to turnover a property in four hours we miss something small. As far as the other items there were paper towels and toilet paper provided and extra in the drawers - you were just not satisfied with how much was there. In an effort to make you happy I immediately sent over more toilet paper and paper towels the very next day even though you already had a sufficient amount. And lastly it is true I do not provide propane tanks anymore for my renters because the gas always gets left on and wasted and I was replacing it every week. I offered to credit you back the cost of the tank if you wanted to get gas. In all of my years of having renters I have never had someone launch so many petty complaints about my house or the service I provide.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5

We had our family vacation there and theire were 14 of us, plenty of room, never felt crowded and the sunsets from the third floor balcony were spectacular! We were within walking distance of everything we wanted to do.

  • Review Submitted: 03/07/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad the house accomodated your large group easily and that you had a great stay and enjoyed the awesome sunsets from the third level! Hope you will come back and stay with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Property Manager

Jill Panella - Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few hours
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 February, 2018

About Jill Panella - Owner

I grew up in South Haven and lived there until I attended college at Michigan State. My immediate and extended family, as well as friends, still live there and I come and stay in my own home every summer! I currently live in Tampa, Florida.

Jill Panella - Owner purchased this house in 2005

Why Jill Panella - Owner chose South Haven

This property was lovingly renovated by me after I purchased it in 2005. It was made for entertaining with upgraded amenities and a spacious feel for accomodating your family and friends. It is over 100 years old and was originally part of The Grand Hotel that overlooked the bluff.

What makes this house unique

Three levels of decks with views of the lake and river from both the front and back of the house!! Very open floor plan for entertaining, as well as extra large seating area in the family room for large parties. Additionally has a third floor family room with amazing views of lake and river and SUNSETS!!!! Outside back deck is huge with large dining table/chairs and a fire pit with surrounding chairs and a bench that surround the entire deck. Plenty of seating for your back yard party!!

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
South Bend Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Jake's Bar and Grill
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Blue Star Highway
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Venezia's Italian Restaurant
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
South Beach
Car: not necessary

A hop, skip and jump to beautiful Lake Michigan! Enjoy plenty of beach days swimming in the waves and magnificent sunsets as well as climbing or touring the sand dunes. South Haven has many free summer concerts and festivals, a quaint downtown shopping and restaurant area as well as nearby wineries and antique shopping.

Golf: Local golf facilities.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Contact Manager

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$316.15
Damage Deposit AU$632.3

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. There is also a $250.00 cleaning fee. NO PETS ALLOWED - Rental agreement must be signed and strictly adhered. PLEASE PRINT the rental agreement upon reservation. DOOR CODES WILL BE LISTED UNDER THE HOSPITALITY SECTION!!!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if cancelled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable