Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Charming, Eco-Friendly Cabin Retreat, Heart of Deep Creek

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9

Our cabin is a charming retreat in a native woodland setting. It's in the heart of Deep Creek Lake, offering recreational activities year round. Wisp Ski Resort is 3 miles and the lake is a short stroll away. Stay at our cozy hideaway under the stars. In winter you'll find a snow filled wonderland as you relax by the crackling fire. Spring, summer or fall take a swim, explore nature or go boating. Go to the nearby cafe or stay and have cappuccino on the deck. Take a day trip to Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater. Our cabin is an accommodating, truly hip, cozy getaway for families and singles. It's the place for a wonderful healthy break at an affordable price.

We will continue to make changes to the property in keeping with a greener world. We would appreciate your insights in creating a 'greener' cabin as well. Here's to a healthy body, mind, planet and lifestyle. We look forward to sharing our cabin retreat with you.

Eco Friendly Living: It's our goal to have the cabin completely renewable(green)and self sufficient, as soon as technology and financing allows(keep renting and we will get there sooner!) Currently we have used eco-paints that do not emit harmful gases. We've furnished the cabin using Craig's list which means most everything is recycled at least one generation. We use renewable products and recycle whenever possible. Water is renewably drawn from our well and heat is enhanced by the fireplace.

More Details

Owner
Sean Surla and Dale Denton
Member since: 2009
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 July, 2017

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin rental in Oakland, Maryland

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Full 1 - toilet , bath (no shower) , shower enclosure
    Full 2 - toilet , shower enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double bed , 1 single bed
  • Ceiling fans in King and Queen bedrooms
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • video player
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wooden decking
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horse riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Fire Pit on the large boulder next to the deck

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(44 traveller reviews)

79% Complete
13% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
Charming, Eco-Friendly Cabin Retreat, Heart of Deep Creek
average rating of 4.659091 based on 44 reviews
4

Loved it! It was just the right size for my large family.

  • 4 of 5

I loved how well stocked the cabin is. If you need it they have it. It's also centrally located so doing activities up and down the lake was easy.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: How nice of you to submit a review! We really do try to make sure that the cabin is well stocked with things that you might need. Thank you for noticing! We are glad that you took advantage of the good location. Hope you will visit again sometime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing and well kept

  • 4 of 5

My family rented the cabin because we were attending a wedding in the area and were very happy with our choice. It felt a lot more like home than staying at a hotel. It was cozy but we all had plenty of room to get ready without getting in each other's way. It was walking distance to the lake and convenient to anything that we needed. We loved it!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your lovely review. We really do try to make our cabin feel like "your home" while you visit. Glad that you felt at home!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful and Relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 enjoyed the cozy cabin in the woods. It was wonderful to unwind. The owners were great to work with and all their recommendations were quite helpful. We enjoyed so many activities in the area and found the cabin to be centrally located to everything. Another plus, was a very well stocked kitchen. We hope to come again, maybe in the winter!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful review! We're happy that you were able to unwind AND take advantage of the many summer activities at the lake. Yes, come again in the winter - it's a completely different kind of adventure!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was cozy and very well furnished cabin. The kitchen was well supplied.

  • 5 of 5

Me and my friends had such a wonderful time at this cabin. We made great memories with fire pits, playing board games and cook out. We were thankful about spending time at this cabin. Highly recommended for a weekend trip!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you had a great visit! You enjoyed some of our favorite things - cooking out, the fire pit and fun board games. Even though there is wifi, it's refreshing to enjoy the simpler things in life. Thank you for you very sweet review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming and rustic return to simpler life

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I eloped on Wednesday, we booked this place last minute and we were so happy we did! It was great. Private, romantic, and charming. We enjoyed just snuggling up and watching VHS movies. And we relaxed in the hot tub as well. It was so great, thank you! A honeymoon we won't forget <3

  • Review Submitted: May 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you had a wonderful honeymoon at our cabin! Please let us know if you ever decide to return for an anniversary visit. It's thrilling for us to share this special place with people who love it. And, if you run out of VHS or DVD movies, there is always the Smart TV in the king bedroom!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Such a perfect, cozy cabin!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed the weekend for a bachelorette party. There were 7 of us girls and the space in the cabin was just right. It's so cute, charming and cozy! The deck with the lights and hot tub was definitely our favorite part/setting. We would 100% come back for another girls trip in the future. Also, the owners of the cabin are so great and patient answering all of the emails/calls we had. The location was also in an ideal spot. Close enough to the lake, the coffee shop and of course the Honi Honi Bar. It was a perfect weekend at this cabin!! Wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else :)

  • Review Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review! I'm delighted that you had a great time. I discovered Deep Creek 27 years ago when I came with a group of friends for a bachelorette party - and now you have done the same! You were able to celebrate AND leave the cabin in perfect shape. Very impressive.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

The landscape is a native hemlock and pine forest with moss strewn boulders and ferns. At nearby Swallow Falls, a 12 minute drive, you can see spectacular waterfalls and Maryland's last stand of old growth hemlock forest with 300 year old trees.

Other Activities: Kayaking, snowboarding, rock climbing, miniature golf

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cabin in Oakland, Maryland

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
19 Jun 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$207
From
A$333
Fri,Sat,Sun
A$1,509
 
 
Winter
1 Dec 2017 - 31 Mar 2018
2 night minimum stay
A$220
From
A$333
Fri,Sat,Sun
A$1,603
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
A$207
From
A$333
Fri,Sat,Sun
A$1,257
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit A$125.71
Cleaning Fee A$157.14 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Bed Linens and Bathroom Towels are included!
If possible, please bring your own towels for the hot tub.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable