Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Serene & Private Nature Escape, Private Lake, fishing and campfires..ahhh

Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6 comfortably) CHECK OUT IS 11am

Beautiful 3 bedroom (sleeps 6 comfortably - 2 double and 2 single with( extra futon available) 3 piece bathroom(no tub), log stack wall cottage, nestled on a quiet motor-less lake in between Dacre and Griffith approximately 1 1/2 hour drive west from Ottawa. If you want to get away from it all this is the place for you and your family. This unique cottage is a nature lovers dream. Equipped with new solar panels, open concept living, perfect for viewing the changing of the season. Just steps away the pristine lake is well stocked with trout and bass perfect for fishing, swimming. Included in your rental is a cedar dock with seating area, an aluminum boat, canoe, kayak, life jackets and paddles. Just minutes away at Griffith is a very developed hiking trail called "The Griffith Uplands Trail", google for details. TENTS ARE NOT PERMITTED.

Winter renters; We provide heating firewood, nearby we boast the highest vertical ski hill in the east. Hundreds of km of OFSC Ski-doo trails just a km away, numerous Ice fishing opportunities, and a sliding area with sleighs.

Keywords: Lakefront four season country home, swimming, fishing, pristine quietness.

More Details

Julie Vincent
Member since: 2010
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few hours
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
22 August, 2017

About Julie Vincent

My wife and I live in Guelph Ontario. I am a geologist at the University of Guelph, my wife is a practitioner in Biontology. Our property manager is a long time resident of Griffith. Julie is a graduate of Travel and Tourism and Esthetiques, currently working from her home and is a talented jewelry artist.

Julie Vincent purchased this cottage in 2009

Why Julie Vincent chose Ontario

This property is very private and nestled on beautiful & clean Jeffers Lake. It is surrounded by lush forest. As well as the lake there are 2 ponds that support so much wild life. The cottage boasts that it is completely off the grid. We are the second owners to this unique cottage of cordwood construction. The nearby village of Griffith is home to so many talented artists. The beautiful Madawaska River flows through, all the way to the Ottawa River and houses several hydro dams.. It's lower portions, Centennial Lake and Black Donald is one of the largest, most underdeveloped lakes in Eastern Ontario with approximately 250 miles of shoreline and provides excellent fishing and recreation. There is over 40km of boating. Public boat launch only approximately 12 minutes from the cottage on Matawatchan Rd.

What makes this cottage unique

This property captivated us from the first time we were visiting with the original owner who was the designer and builder. We shared the same dream of being away from the crazy pace of life, and being so close with nature. It's just quiet and peaceful. To sit on the dock with a book and just breath and notice how in tune you become with singing of the birds, the croaking of frogs, the splash of a fish grabbing is supper from the surface of the water....... its just priceless. We could never spend enough time here, so we decided to rent, we knew others needed to see this piece of paradise.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage rental in Greater Madawaska

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Cottage cleaning required.You are expected to leave kitchen very clean, pot lids, glasses and cutlery spotless.
  • Required to do a thorough sweep through all rooms and porch.
  • Return all furniture to where is was found, no garbage or cigarette butts in fire pit.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Fireplace ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure , THERE IS NO TUB. We provide toilet paper & liquid handsoap
  • There is no bathtub ( issue maybe for small children)
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 single bed , Open concept
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double bed , Open concept
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double bed , No linen provided for any beds
  • Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2) and an extra futon for possible additional occupant. There are floor fans in every bedroom. Mattress cover on all beds. Plenty of pillows provided. No linen provided. CHECK OUT IS 11AM. CHECK IN IS 3PM.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • long term rentals available
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • swimming
THERE IS NO GARBAGE PICK UP, YOU ARE REQUIRED TO TAKE IT WITH YOU OR TAKE IT TO THE LOCAL DUMP AT GRIFFITH. WE PROVIDE THE DIRECTIONS AND HOURS IN THE COTTAGE INFO BINDER. The cottage provides plenty of pillows, all newly bought, they come with a cover on them. Also provided are comforters, duvets and blankets. You are required to bring your own pillow cases and sheets.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

85% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Serene & Private Nature Escape, Private Lake, fishing and campfires..ahhh
average rating of 4.857143 based on 21 reviews

one of a kind cottage

  • 5 of 5

It was great, clean on arrival. The necessities were there and more. We fished and caught Rainbow and Speckle trout. Paddled around in the boats, had a bon fire every night, watched movies on a evening when it rained, cooked on the bbq. Great cottage experience.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ottawa, Ontario


  • 5 of 5

Had such an amazing weekend. Was so happy to be back. As my grandparents built this home it was our family's getaway for 23 years before they sold it. So happy to see it being used and such great condition :) Thank you for taking great care of a very important place on the lake! <3

  • Review Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toronto, On

One of a kind cottage getaway

  • 5 of 5

To start, this is a really cool cottage. The building itself is one of a kind, the lake is amazingly clear with an awesome dock for relaxing and checking out the stars at night (which were certainly a sight worth staying up for), and the property has tons of privacy. Bonus points for being off the grid too!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

clean, private, peaceful, everything you need for a getaway

  • 5 of 5

We came across this and thought it would be perfect for a unwinding get away. It was so clean, especially for being a cottage, no bugs or cobwebs. It has great character and the touches of decorations really made it all come together. You have everything you need there, just bring bedding, clothes and food. There were alot of games there, and horseshoes. We fished the whole weekend and caught Rainbow and Speckle trout. Paddled around in the boat, had a bon fire, watched movies, cooked on the bbq. It is so peaceful and serene! Perfect cottage experience. The cottage is built uniquely so it makes the experience even better. Even though the bugs are bad this time of year, we dressed right and used bug spray and we were fine. We took a few walks around the property, and the store in only 10 minutes away if you forget anything..or if you need cell service. It is conveniently located but yet off the grid. We loved it and will return in the future. While we were packing up a moose walked right through the property. How much better could our much needed relax weekend be?

  • Review Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

It was a great time, for us was just about perfect.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time, the proximity to where we needed to be was superb.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Exactly as advertised and more

  • 5 of 5

We arrived for the weekend and did not want to leave. Every inch of the cottage was immaculate and the decorating touches throughout are refreshing. The beds and comforters were good quality and the additional blankets and pillows were appreciated, since the nights were chilly. All instructions are detailed, from directions to the cottage to buttons on the oven; leaving you feel completely equipped for a fun filled worry-free getaway. The lack of cellular service surprised us - we found a cell phone booster in the book case, sent some messages and everyone disconnected for the rest of our stay. Our daughters experienced a bit of withdrawal (especially when you want to Google something!) but we quickly adapted since disconnecting is the main part of the cottage experience. Julie met us early in our stay and was as pleasant in person as she seemed over email. She answered all my questions (and there were many) before booking and after, within 24 hours ; most of the time, within an hour. What I will remember most about this destination is the quality of care put into making our experience the first of many. Nothing was left out of place, mismatched, broken or dirty. All the furniture is good quality and in good repair and we enjoyed playing the piano. Till next time!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Guys, I am so glad you had a good time, sorry about the poor cell phone signal, I wish I could do more about that. We were thinking of taking out the piano, but maybe we better leave it. Winter is a really cozy at the cottage with the fire crackling, and a blanket of white everywhere. We are buying some snow shoes for guests and some more board game. We have some new wintry duvet covers that I can't wait to put on. We sprinkle pine boughs everywhere and hope that guests feel a world away. If you are lucky you will get snowed in. Thanks so much, Julie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
7 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
35 Kilometres
Renfrew, and Calabogie
Nearest Restaurant
7 Kilometres
Pine Valley and Calvyns Take Out
Nearest Ski
30 Kilometres
Calabogie Ski Resort

This area is some of the most beautiful in Ontario. We are located minutes from Griffith, approximately 30 minutes south of Renfrew. At Griffith you will find "The Griffith Uplands Trail", check it out on google. There are numerous small lakes for short shoreline fishing trips. Also at Griffith is The Greater Madawaska Canoe Rental and Shuttle service. The Madawaska River at Griffith is one of Ontario's most beautiful waterways. The Madawaska flows in to the lower portion known as Centennial Lake and Black Donald where you will find over 40km of boating and fishing with absolute stunning scenery.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cottage in Greater Madawaska

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
1 May 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
Late Fall
1 Oct 2017 - 30 Apr 2018
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit A$502.86

There is a $50 fee (for sorted garbage), and $75 fee if left behind and has not been sorted properly), that will be subtracted from your security deposit if any garbage is left behind. Renters are expected to use our local dump during it's hours of operation, or take it back with them. We have strict rules for sorting at our local waste management site. The rules for your separating are in the cottage information binder. PLEASE TAKE TIME TO READ THE INFORMATION BINDER, IT IS VERY IMPORTANT. We will provide you with directions and the hours that they are open so that you can take your garbage there. There is also a $50 fee if you have not picked up after your dog, you are responsible for picking up all your dog messes.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner