Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Bright 3 BR 3.5 Bath Townhouse Condo, Central AC, Private Jacuzzi, Convenient

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 1,600 sq ft
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 3.5 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 8 / 11

This bright, tastefully decorated, comfortable mountain getaway is yours to share. New (spring 2016) HVAC system features 4-zone heating and (new) central air conditioning. A private state-of-the-art Jacuzzi hot tub on the deck, perfect for unwinding and sharing exploits of the day. Very well priced for the location, size, quality and amenities, this place will feel special without being absurdly pricey. Recent renovations include a 'mud room' upon entry with electric boot dryer, cubbies and hooks for outdoor clothes and gear -- all stored and ready for your next day out on the slopes.

Location is a major feature of this condo. Old Town is less than a 10 minutes walk away. Free shuttle buses stop right below the condo, with 9 scheduled per hour in winter. The buses go pretty much everywhere, including all 3 ski mountains.

The townhouse condo is an end unit on the sunny side of the valley (earning the name 'Sunspot'). It has an interesting multi-level design, with a nice flow and tasteful decor, topped by an atrium and skylight. The 3 bedrooms are on separate levels with attached bathroom. All bedrooms have flat screen TVs (people seem to want them on vacation), and there's a 42-inch HD TV in the living room. The place has cable and wifi. A gas fireplace keeps things cozy; same for the reclining couches! The infrared gas grill is on the same outside deck as the hot tub, overlooking the valley.

8 adults can sleep in the 3 bedrooms. If needed, the living room has an inflatable full (double) bed and a couple of camp mattresses more suitable for children. In practice, people more often just throw bedding on the super-comfortable couch for any extra sleeping space. There's a trundle rollaway bed under the twin-over-full bunk bed.

Two covered parking spaces in the garage underneath the complex accommodate almost any vehicle (don't rent a super-tall SUV and you'll be fine.) The ski locker in the garage keeps your skis on the most convenient level. You could go green and save green in the winter if you only intend to ski the 3 areas near Park City, including Deer Valley, Park City Mountain and the Canyons. (You'd want a car to reach Snowbird / Alta or Brighton / Solitude.)

The kitchen offers modern appliances and utensils, a mounted flat TV, and countertop and table dining. It isn't tricked out with granite and custom cabinetry, but it guests tell me it's more than sufficient for vacation meal prep. We stock basic cooking supplies and spices; guests are asked to use and replace on an honor system.

A note on bed configuration:

Lower bedroom: Bunk bed with Twin on top and Full on bottom, plus a pull-out trundle most suitable for a child.

Middle bedroom: Queen bed and Twin bed.

Upper bedroom: Queen bed.

Living room: Inflatable full (double) bed + 2 camp style inflatable mattresses most suitable for kids. (Couches do not pull out into beds, but folks have been known to toss a couple of sheets and blankets and crash on them.)

More Details

Owner
Harry Matz
Member since: 2010
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few hours
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 April, 2018

About Harry Matz

I live and work in Washington, DC as an attorney for the Department of Justice. In my spare time, I hang out with friends and family, get culture, do yoga, pretend to stay fit by running, biking and the like, read, volunteer, learn, do stuff. I like real books with physical pages. I lay off of Facebook, more or less.

Harry Matz purchased this townhome in 2010

Why Harry Matz chose Deer Valley

Convenience to everything, both skiing and town, and the feel of the place. It's bright but comfy, quirky but efficient. The floor plan allows great privacy in the bedrooms (they have no common walls or even floors, and each has an attached bathroom). The common space also flows nicely.

What makes this townhome unique

If you happen to prefer a car-free ski vacation, it can be done.

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday townhome rental in Deer Valley

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Town ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • soap
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Macintosh Computer
  • Parking ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Full 1 - toilet , bath with shower , shower enclosure
    Full 2 - toilet , bath with shower , bath (no shower) , shower enclosure
    Full 3 - toilet , bath with shower , bath (no shower) , shower enclosure
    Half 1 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Upper - 1 large double bed
    Middle - 1 large double bed , 1 double bed
    Lower - 1 double bed , 1 single bed , 1 child bed , Twin over Full+Trundle
    Living Rm - 2 child bed , TV/DVR, games, Inflatable camp mattress
  • The condo fits a maximum of 8 people in beds, not counting the trundle bed. The trundle is a roll-away and sleeps 1, most likely a child. There is a large inflatable mattress (full bed) + 2 additional camp-type air mattresses, more suitable for youngsters, in the living room (coffee table / chest). The couches don't technically convert into beds, but many adults would probably find a better night's sleep on one of them than one of the air mattresses.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • ski
  • tennis
Notes:
The fireplace is gas and is as simple as flipping on/off a light. What it lacks in old-school romance it makes up for in convenience. I employ an honor system for supplies, especially in the kitchen, where basic cooking supplies (butter, oils, spices) are provided on a use-and-replace basis, so they are there when you arrive. Guests' cooperation (including replenishment as you go) is appreciated. A preferred Comcast cable package is in place that allows recording of programs for later viewing. The owner will provide an access code for a limited number of paid programs and movies during your stay. An older model, large Mac desktop computer is available for the convenience of guests who want to lug it up from its closet.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(45 traveller reviews)

84% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Bright 3 BR 3.5 Bath Townhouse Condo, Central AC, Private Jacuzzi, Convenient
average rating of 4.8444443 based on 45 reviews
5

Outstanding Condo, Great Value & Top Quality

  • 5 of 5

A long overdue review, and thank you for our lovely host, Harry.

We loved this place! We strongly recommend it and look forward to our next visit.

We planned our trip at the last minute, and our off-season timing afforded us a large number of options. But Harry's lightning fast, helpful detailed responses sealed the deal. We are so glad!

It’s was terrific vacation spot. Bright and sunny as advertised, but so much more. Simply beautifully appointed! Everything was in new condition—and spotless.

The layout of the condo is well suited to having a group or large family. We all enjoyed our own bedroom, bathroom and personal space. We had asked Harry if our adult children could share the bunk-bedded room. It was a great space for them with generous, comfortable twin mattresses and an en suite bathroom. Out of his genuine concern that we find the perfect place for our stay, Harry actually understated the accommodations. The beds and bedding were very comfy and we all slept great each night.

We enjoy eating in, and the kitchen is certainly a chef’s kitchen, fully stocked and fully equipped with everything you could need. The dining area is sunlit with huge windows. We were delighted with the large number of staple food items (e.g., spices, condiments, cooking oils), and even some snacks, available for guests. Everything was just comfortable and easy. We felt truly at home.

As much as we loved our time in the condo, its best feature is the amazing location. It’s described as ‘walk-able’ to town and it truly is just a hop-skip away. There’s no need to walk though, as the free bus stops literally across the street if you’re heading to the slopes and a couple doors down if you’re heading into the fun, vibrant Main Street downtown. What a pleasure to get around so conveniently—without a car.

Be sure to spend some time in the rooftop Jacuzzi—complete with views! What a perfect way to end the day!

Thank you Harry, for our wonderful get-away at your home-away!

  • Review Submitted: 14/03/2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lisa Thanks for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and comprehensive (not to mention glowing) review. I do try to make the place comfortable so others may enjoy as I do.Come back! Harry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ski Vacation Condo

  • 5 of 5

Spent 5 nights in this spacious condo. 4 adults and 5 children slept comfortably. Location is incredible. Sits between main street and Deer Valley resort. Shuttle stops in front of the place. We want to book it again for next year!

  • Review Submitted: 18/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Daniel, Thanks for your review! We do get queries about how many people are comfortably accommodated in this 3-BR, 3.5 BA townhouse condo. It's useful to know that 4 adults and 5 children work out well. Would love to accommodate you again next year! Thanks, Harry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location...comfy for family vacation.

  • 5 of 5

This townhouse was perfectly located between Park City and Deer Valley, about 2 minute drive to both. Indoor garage was very convenient. Each bedroom had its own bathroom, one on each level. Lots of stairs. Kitchen roomy and stocked well for meals, although we mostly just used for breakfast. Family room very comfortable and cozy with large TV that made watching the Super bowl a pleasure. Dealing with the owner was a pleasure... a few days before our stay he called us to let us know what was still in stock in the kitchen! We paid it forward to the next renter by restocking with more coffee and paper goods.

We're sure others will enjoy their stay here...we sure did!

  • Review Submitted: 08/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Daniel, Thanks so much for sharing your review. You like what we like about the house: the location, the privacy of bedrooms and baths but the flow of common space up and down the half-levels. The stairs up to the master bedroom on top reward one with the greatest privacy and views. Some up-and-down is avoided during one's stay by choosing either of the other bedrooms. Do come back again, please! Repeat guests are the lifeblood of vacation condo owners like me. Harry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place to stay

  • 4 of 5

The condo is very centrally located, and very comfortable! All amenities were there!

Thank you Helen for your information before hand, you were very accommodating!

We had a great time and enjoyed your home very much!

  • Review Submitted: 23/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Kathleen. I appreciate your review. Helen and I do try to keep in just enough touch with guests to get you there and accommodated, but not so much that we're pests. Glad you enjoyed, and agree with us that the location is hard to beat! Harry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay at this property. This place has many positives; convenient location (just a short walk to Main Street), free bus stop is right out front, if you have vehicle there is covered parking, ski locker in garage so you don’t have to carry your gear, all bedrooms have their own full bathroom, hot tub has beautiful view of the mountains, with each bedroom on different levels each has its privacy, and the overall feel of the place is just comfortable. On top of all of these positives communication with the hosts was through and prompt. The only thing i could see as a negative to the place is if you have an adversion to stairs. With all the levels, there are a lot of them.

If we make a trip back to Park City we would definitely look to stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 08/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Matt, Thanks for your review, and for being such a gracious guest with seamless interaction. I bought the place because of the flow and feel you wrote about the light, the openness while being cozy, the separate but integrated spaces, and the privacy of the bedrooms with attached baths, plus one half-bath for common use. The verticality of the townhouse is a feature shared with many condos in the area. Whenever I get an inquiry from an older or retired couple or group, I let them know that the place is quite stair-heavy. The problem can be overcome to a large extent by not staying in the upper, master bedroom; that greatly reduces the steps. It's frankly more of an issue out of the ski season, including the summer, when I do get inquiries for long stays by older and retired people. Do stay again! Harry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Birmingham, AL
5

Great location! Very comfortable for our family of five.

  • 5 of 5

The location of this property is ideal for anyone wanting to ski Deer Valley or Park City. The bus stop routes outside the condo are extremely convenient. This made it very convenient for us to travel around Deer Valley and Park City without having a rental car.

We were celebrating a 50th birthday along with New Year’s. The accommodations were extremely comfortable for our family. We really appreciated having a kitchen with basic necessities and all of the cooking supplies that were available.

We found it very easy to work with Harry the owner. We had a conflict and almost had to cancel our trip. However, Harry gave us a few extra days to try and resolve our conflict. Fortunately, we were able to do that and our trip was so much fun. We also appreciated the recommendations for restaurants in the information from Harry.

We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Review Submitted: 07/01/2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Donald! Sorry this response is a little delayed. I'm sure glad you resolved your issue and were able to get the trip in as originally planned. Wherever possible, I work with prospective guests. Why make things harder than they have to be? Glad you found the kitchen adequate. I've asked several guests whether they think it should be upgraded. Uniformly they say no (undoubtedly realizing that this would lead to increased rates). I figure, this way you can show the kids what your first apartment looked like in the early '80s. Seriously, the whole point of the place is to make a comfortable, affordable, bright and cozy home away from home in the Utah mountains, with a few special touches. Glad you appreciated it! Harry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
31 Miles
Salt Lake City
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Main Street / Old Town
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Salt Lake City
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Main Street / Old Town
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Deer Valley (Snowbasin base)

Sunspot, Deer Valley, Utah, USA (Lower Deer Valley / Park City) -- This tastefully decorated, bright townhouse condo is just outside of Park City, on the road to Deer Valley but closer to Park City proper Pull into 1 of 2 covered parking spaces below. Or shuttle up and go car-free! A short walk of under 10 minutes puts you in the heart of historic Main St. with its cornucopia of shops, bars, galleries & restaurants ranging from burger joints to haute cuisine where you'll want to use the card with 12 raised numbers. Three lines of the free city bus stops in front of the complex, and the system easily takes you to town, all 3 ski mountains and pretty much anywhere worth going (4 lines operate in this 'high frequency zone'). After a long day of skiing or snowboarding, soak in the hot tub on the private deck and take in great mountain valley views. The condo has a preferred cable TV package, wifi and printer. No annoying owner lockout closets in the bedrooms or kitchen.

Other Activities: shopping, mountain coaster, disc golf, boating, rock climbing, hot air ballooning, mini golf, health/beauty spa, basketball court, wildlife viewing

Golf: Once the snow melts, the shortish golf season is great on area courses.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday townhome in Deer Valley

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
May
4 May 2018 - 3 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$263
AU$1,578
AU$3,681
 
 
Summer 2018
4 Jun 2018 - 9 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$309
AU$1,841
AU$4,536
 
 
Early Ski 2018
7 Dec 2018 - 17 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
AU$394
AU$2,366
 
 
Holiday 2018-2019
18 Dec 2018 - 2 Jan 2019
4 night minimum stay
AU$703
AU$4,339
 
 
January non-Sundance
3 Jan 2019 - 22 Jan 2019
3 night minimum stay
AU$460
AU$2,761
 
 
Sundance 2019
23 Jan 2019 - 28 Jan 2019
3 night minimum stay
AU$822
 
 
Sundance Back-end 2019
30 Jan 2019 - 4 Feb 2019
3 night minimum stay
AU$690
 
 
Winter 2019
5 Feb 2019 - 15 Feb 2019
3 night minimum stay
AU$552
AU$3,313
 
 
Presidents Week 2019
16 Feb 2019 - 23 Feb 2019
4 night minimum stay
AU$605
AU$3,629
 
 
Winter 2019
24 Feb 2019 - 31 Mar 2019
3 night minimum stay
AU$552
AU$3,313
 
 
Spring Ski 2019
1 Apr 2019 - 14 Apr 2019
3 night minimum stay
AU$394
AU$2,366
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
AU$230
AU$1,315
 

Additional information about rental rates

After-stay cleaning AU$197.21
Refundable Damage Deposit AU$328.68
Tax Rate 10.95%

1. For shorter stays, especially 2 nights, the cleaning / turnover fee is $140 (the actual cleaning fee paid by the owner).
2. Off-ski-season rates are typically negotiated for longer periods.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties