Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Timberframe cabin hidden in Canadian Rockies

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 102 m²
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 - 31 nights

Overview

About the property

Chalet, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Timberframe chalet hidden on 10 wooded acres, with soaring cliffs of the Rockies viewed from the deck or balcony, it is the ideal mountain getaway for families, couples or small groups, and the perfect launch point for your adventures at Kicking Horse and the surrounding National Parks.

Play games in the upstairs nook, relax in the full bath, or listen to music while cooking in the main floor kitchen. Lots of space with two queen-size beds upstairs and a set of bunks. There is also a pull out futon in the living room for you snorers, and a pack'n'play crib for infants/toddlers.

In the winter, ski or snowboard Kicking Horse, Lake Louise, or drive a little further to visit Revelstoke. Cross country ski at Dawn Mtn (base of Kicking Horse) or Field, BC. Head out to the backcountry, either on your board(s) or sled for a day away from the crowds. Or just explore around the chalet with your snowshoes or cross-country skiis, and explore the forest and meadows while enjoying the amazing views.

Looking for more adventure? Within minutes you will find mountain bike trails, whitewater paddling, golfing, fishing, ATV trails, hiking, rockclimbing. Interested in something different? See wildlife at one of the sanctuaries including Bear, Wolves, or Bison. Head off to one of our nearby National Parks, and visit sights like Emerald Lake, Lake O'Hara etc etc. Recreational opportunities are limited only by your imagination.

Keywords: cabin, Balcony, Views, Private, Golden, Whitewater, Biking, Golf, hiking, base camp, Kicking Horse

More Details

Owner
Steve Lougheed
Member since: 2010
Speaks english, french
Response time
Within a day
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 November, 2017

About Steve Lougheed

Steve and Sharon love everything the mountains have to offer, and wanted to introduce their kids to the things they love, so they purchased a secluded lot in the mountains. Since then, they designed their own chalet, and with the help of local contractors, build the chalet of their dreams over the past few years. We hope our guests will have as much fun out here as we do.

Steve Lougheed purchased this chalet in 2004

Why Steve Lougheed chose Golden

Skiing, hiking, biking, fishing, and back to skiing again

What makes this chalet unique

Private getaway with the best view in the valley

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks for the great weekend! The cabin is wonderful and we really enjoyed ourselves… We loved <the> clear directions, outstanding value, beautiful location, lots of bedding, comfortable and clean, <and>complimentary firewood was a big bonus, …the area attractions and travel guides, modern and cozy...great tv/ video equiptment for rainy days, nicely landscaped outside… Thanks again! We'll be booking again in the future!
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet rental in Golden, British Columbia

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 102 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • mobile phone ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • full bath & shower, toilet, sink, storage
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Loft - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 bunk bed
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

85% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Timberframe cabin hidden in Canadian Rockies
average rating of 4.785714 based on 21 reviews
3

Too basic

  • 3 of 5

Home could be cleaner and neater. construction materials under futon and stairs. stairs way too steep. stair rises not even. grass was not cut. broken patio chairs. deck was actually dangerous. question the septic system-sewer smell outside. mattresses should have covers. no bathroom on bedroom level. quiet and peaceful with nice view. kitchen and bath were adequate. no basting brush for grill. no grill brush to clean grill.

  • Review Submitted: 27/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We wish you had enjoyed your stay more. I understand the pumper didn’t seal the lid properly - we have taken steps to prevent that from happening again, and found a more reliable landscaper as this was a repeat problem this summer. We hope however other guests will consider the remainder of your comments in context with other guests’ feedback and the photos provided on the webpage.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Great stay - beautiful spot

  • 5 of 5

We (family of 5) stayed here in July 2017. It's a nice home with enough different places to spread out the snorers (!) from the other people. Whenever I had a question I'd email Steve and he got back to me immediately. Even though you know neighbors are nearby, you absolutely feel like you are surrounded only by trees and mountains. The only thing we struggled with is the wifi - it wasn't very strong and as there were a number of us trying to access it, it was really slow. It was frustrating to try to check emails or google outings when the internet was so slow. But other than that - super nice. I had coffee each morning out on the deck looking at the mountains and each morning a hummingbird swung by to greet me. One night my husband and kids drove to a nearby stream and built a dam and played in the water for quite a while. Kitchen & bathroom are nice and beds are very comfortable. We went to Yoho/Lake Louise (50 minute to Yoho, Lake Louise was just over an hour). We went whitewater rafting in Goden with Alpine Rafting - one of the highlights of our trip - really fun. And 4 of us rented mountain bikes from the shop in town and they directed us to a nearby mountain. Our 17 year old ranks that as the top thing he did on our vacation. Thanks for a lovely stay in the mountains!

  • Review Submitted: 24/07/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you and your family enjoyed the cabin and your stay in the area - it sounds as though you took full advantage of everything it had to offer... in fact, sounds perfect. We are looking at the possibility of increasing the download limits on our sat. internet service. Thanks again for choosing to stay at our cabin.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great cabin with lots of room to relax and enjoy the views

  • 5 of 5

Great experience, lots to do in surrounding area, property set up nice for a comfortable and enjoyable time. A bit of ground maintenance would have been ideal but overall highly recommend the spot.

  • Review Submitted: 25/05/2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thanks Artur, glad you enjoyed your stay! May is a great time to be in the mountains. Wish we'd had the lawn cut for your bocce ball - I was late on getting the mower & trimmer in for their spring tune up. safe travels.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Santa Monica, CA
5

We love Golden and we loved the Chalet.

  • 5 of 5

To begin, look closely at the photos - they are accurate and they represent the Chalet just as it is. I am less concerned about the property - it is a fine place to stay near Golden and Golden itself is WELL worth a visit when you are in the Canadian Rockies. I am much more rhapsodic about the placement of the property itself. It is located on an unpaved road - the road is smooth and graded and gravel covered - yet it appears to be very remote. It's something of an illusion you'll find - this remoteness (and rest assured the directions provided to get you to the place are accurate and foolproof, if you pay attention, and have faith, you will find it easily) but the appearance is that you are in some deer-dappled, alpine retreat with nothing but snow-covered mountain tops for company. It is a rare and wonderful sensation. I don't think we have found a better located VRBO property anywhere else. So much thinking had to go into the placement of the property to achieve this effect so that from every set of windows you have a magnificent view of the snow-covered peaks that surround the Chalet on each side and you appear to be completely alone in a wooded glade. It is thrilling and inspiring and you feel very privileged to have rented the place. Golden is a great little town. It's the kind of place in which I'd like to retire. It's populous enough to provide everything that is needed - grocery stores, a cinema, restaurants, cafes, coffee, other human beings, Great BBQ - yet so close to Yoho and the Canadian Glacier Nat'l Park and a little further afield - Banff - that you are essentially living in an extension of those fascinating places. We discovered the best place in town - Bacchus Books and Cafe - and it was so good that we ate three more meal there. (If you have not had a Nanaimo Bar - we are from Southern California and we had never even heard of them - LOL - silly since they are ubiquitous to every Canadian - you can find the very best one at Bacchus! And we tried them every time we found one - including the petrol stations!) CONS: I cannot get used to windows without shades or curtains - I have only ever lived in big cities and no shades mean someone is standing outside looking in - at the Chalet the only thing looking in will be a deer or two - if even that - but it still bothers me. And I wish that guests had access to the washer and dryer - other than that everything went so well that I am missing the place as I write this... That is quite a Chalet!

  • Review Submitted: 26/10/2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, thanks Chris for the kind words and helpful info for future guests. Glad you enjoyed your stay in the Golden area. Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A fantastic place to stay near Golden.

  • 5 of 5

This property has everything you need for a comfortable stay in the summer. The kitchen was well equipped. The decks and fire pit provided great places to hang out. The beds were very very comfortable. We appreciated the small collection of movies and games for rainy days. Lots of trail guides were on hand for reference when planning hikes and rides.

  • Review Submitted: 25/07/2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great getaway in the woods

  • 4 of 5

We loved our time at Kickinghaus in such a beautiful setting. It was nice to really feel like our family was away from all of it, especially in comparison to where we stayed next in Canmore. We loved the privacy and the decor. The only reason we didn't give it 5 stars is because there were a few things that we think would really make it a 5-star experience: a handrail on the outside stairs and on the deck stairs, and a washer and drier for laundry. But overall, more than worth the stay and would definitely return!!

  • Review Submitted: 21/07/2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Alexis for the kind words - we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We took your feedback to heart, and constructed a new set of timber stairs (with railings) down from the traffic circle. Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
250 Kilometres
Calgary International
Nearest Golf
25 Kilometres
Golden Public Golf Course
Nearest Train
25 Kilometres
Golden BC
Nearest Motorway
3 Kilometres
Hwy 93
Nearest Restaurant
25 Kilometres
Eleven-22
Nearest Ski
35 Kilometres
Kicking Horse Mountain Resort
Nearest Beach
20 Kilometres
Cedar Lake
Nearest Point of Interest
Kicking Horse Mtn Resort
Nearest Point of Interest
Lake Louise Ski Resort
Nearest Point of Interest
Bugaboos
Nearest Point of Interest
Emerald Lake
Nearest Point of Interest
Revelstoke
Nearest Point of Interest
Moonraker MTB Trails
Nearest Point of Interest
Mt.Seven Handgliding Launch
Car: necessary

Located in the Columbia Valley just south of Golden BC, with access to several ski areas, provincial and national parks must minutes away, endless possibilities for adventure sit just outside your door. For example, Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, Golden Public Golf Club, Moonraker Mountain Bike Trails, whitewater paddling on the Kicking Horse, Paragliding from Mount 7, hiking in Yoho National Park, paddling in Kootenay National Park, biking in Bannf National Park...

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday chalet in the Golden, British Columbia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Nightly Rate
15 Dec 2017 - 15 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
AU$206
AU$4,142
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$36 per night, per additional guest
 
Nightly Rate
16 Jan 2018 - 31 May 2018
30 night minimum stay
AU$206
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$36 per night, per additional guest
 
Nightly Rate
30 Jun 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
31 night minimum stay
AU$206
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$36 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
AU$206
AU$4,142
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add AU$36 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning AU$113.93
Pet Fee AU$154.32

Reservations are confirmed upon receipt of funds in our account. Once final payment is received, entry code and directions are forwarded by e-mail. Unless otherwise agreed, cancellation up to 4 weeks before you arrive with full refund. Cancellation on/after this date, up until the date of your arrival, with refund less 50%, or full credit towards a future stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties