Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

SWEEPING VIEWS TO ATLANTIC FROM 4BR/2B HILLTOP CAPE

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 174 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Country House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, six beds , maximum 8 persons

AVAILABLE: mid June to mid September , Weekly Friday to Friday

PAYMENTS: When you are decided I generate a lease for you to sign and declare the occupants. You sign and return the lease with the first payment within a week of its receipt.

MY HOUSE: is in the Middle of South Coast, easy walking distance to Vaill Beach. Five minutes drive to town.

Ten rooms: Upstairs are two bedrooms ( one with queen bed , one with two double beds, large dressing room and a bathroom

Downstairs: Two bedrooms one with a queen bed , one with two twin beds), kitchen, dining room , living room, den and full bathroom.

OUTSIDE: Stone patio with lounge chairs on ocean side, wood deck with picnic table, grills on other side of house which is less windy late in the day when there are onshore breezes.

Four acres with paths, stone walls, large enclosing walls from a barn, a laundry yard.

FURNISHINGS: Kitchen has all the expected large and small appliances and dinnerware as well as washer /dryer

Hot and cold outside shower

Parking for two vehicles

Wildlife ( deer, geese, turtles ) comes through

Grills- gas and charcoal

More Details

Owner
Catharine Kolb
Member since: 2011
Speaks english
Response time
Within 12 hours
Response rate
90%
Calendar last updated:
23 May, 2017

About Catharine Kolb

Retired financier with a passion for sports, a penchant for travel and pleasure taken in cultural activities.

Catharine Kolb purchased this house in 1983

Why Catharine Kolb chose Rhode Island

It's beautiful and unspoiled, easy to get to, and a place to chill out

What makes this house unique

marvelous bird watching, star spotting, rambling on beaches or trails, biking the challenging hills, enjoying the local music scene, taking great photos and being at the beach.

I jog, bike and meander from the front door. I sling a towel around my neck, a beach chair over my shoulder and stuff a book or my watercolors in the chair , walk down the grassy path over the back of the property and am on the beach in less than 12 minutes.

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Block Island

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 174 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Rural
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • mobile phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Upstairs with tub and shower, downstairs with shower. Outside shower near kitchen door is enclosed and has hot and cold water
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed , views to ocean, main floor off living room
    Bedroom 2 - 2 single bed , Main floor in an ell off the den, private
    Bedroom 3 - 1 large double bed , 2nd flr, ocean views, large master br w/ dressing area
    Bedroom 4 - 2 double bed , views, play closet, desk, cozy and bright
  • Queen size Beds (2) one upstairs bedroom, one downstairs bedroom, Double Beds (2) both in second upstairs bedroom, Twin or Single Beds (2) both in downstairs bedroom, Baby Cribs (1) can be rented from an island service and there is space off upstairs master bedroom where it could be put
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • limited accessibility ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Outside Shower with hot and cold water and a view :-), lawn and board games ,bird and astronomy books, emergency rain gear Original outbuildings include a shed, paddock stone walls, a large quiet wind protected barn foundation

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(12 traveller reviews)

75% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
SWEEPING VIEWS TO ATLANTIC FROM 4BR/2B HILLTOP CAPE
average rating of 4.4166665 based on 12 reviews
West Stockbridge, MA
5

Serene setting, superbly equipped.

  • 5 of 5

The house fully lived up to its description/ photos. The owner provided us with tons of useful info especially the fun map with places to explore, and helped us understand the island's weather patterns. Our group of 7, including 5 young adults, had plenty of space for togetherness outdoors and in, and alone time in the quiet den. The lay out of rooms is great. The good-sized dining room has nice serving platters and casserole dishes. The kitchen is big enough for a group to sit on the benches while the cook, both when grilling outdoors and working in the kitchen, has company. Sitting on the comfy chaise longues and admiring the views was heaven, (we appreciated the 4 acres...no traffic noise and a very private feel.) so was bird watching each morning. We sure hope to go back next year!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent stay. We had a great time.

  • 5 of 5

Good quiet location. House had everything you need for a good stay

  • Review Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you came to stay , it was my pleasure to have suchnnice tenants
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

So relaxing easy access to the whole island

  • 5 of 5

Charming so very charming. Hope to be back. Thank you so much for sharing your house.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad it pleased you and thanks for treating my place so well . And do come back .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We Loved It

  • 5 of 5

My family LOVED staying here. My sister came from Illinois, my brother from Sweden, and my 91 year old dad, and myself from Massachusetts. The house was well equipped with plates, utensils, and appliances. The beds were comfortable, and the grounds well maintained. We even saw deer a couple of times. The homeowner was exceptionally pleasant to deal with. Whenever we had questions about where things were or how they worked she got right back to us. (not that we had that many questions) There are detailed instructions for the use of the major appliances, and TV. Most mornings we sat out back with coffee and listened to all the various birds. We would highly recommend this home for anyone looking to get away from the every day.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Look out

  • 2 of 5

Quaint house is in a really nice location and the yard is lovely (loved the blackberries in August). House has a nice open feeling but the decor and furnishings are quite dated. The house is also dirty and has bugs, which may or may not be an issue for you if you are looking that rustic island feeling. We stayed at the house for two consecutive years but will not be staying there this year. Note that the owner is trying to sell the house so there is a lot of deferred maintenance. We had to deal with a leaking sink that made a total mess. You must also look out for the owner; as soon as we had an issue she turned mean and nasty. Blamed us for broken furniture because we did not alert to it right then we arrived. Bathroom situation is bad. Overall, we liked staying there but due to the lack of maintenance and odd owner we will only have our fond memories of friends and family at the house as we move on to a more a suitable place this year and in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: for my Prospective Tenants My home which is listed by Sothebys real estate group, at just under $1million and valued even higher by Zillow at $1, 215, 000 has rented successfully for 33 years. It is only shown during turnovers and off season. The agent who is very personable and broadly liked always defers to my request to leave tenants in peace. My plumber is known for quick response. My head cleaner would be out of business if she left a house less than spotless. My lawn crew has been in business for 30 years . .People like my house. They appreciate the art, the design, the Shaker idiom and the comfort . And they particularly like its setting: four acres, expansive lawns, long views, near a south coast Atlantic beach. . This tenant liked it too, so much he came back the next year for a longer stay. But he broke one of a pair of living room chairs, tried to hide it, lied , had only half of the repair bill held back from his damage deposit . And then trashes, out of embarrassment perhaps, a million dollar house and me. You will see one other , belated, bashing from a tenant. This one reduced my cleaner to tears when she found chairs, lamps, bedding were all destroyed. Some tenants, thankfully very very few , are abusive, of property and then of someone's good name. If any of this review were really true, this guy would not have booked a second year and a longer stay, Sotheby's would never accept my listing, Zillow would never value it so high and seven other kind renters would never have enjoyed it and praised it so highly in their unsolicited reviews. These unpleasant things happen in life . Please come to stay and if you rent my property i will buy you a gift certificate for something you want during your stay .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Andover, MA USA
5

Great vacation rental!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed a wonderful week at this lovely home. We had a party of eight and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is great. The house is very comfortable and fully equipped. The sleeping arrangements are more than adequate for a group of eight. There is a nice view of the ocean from the back patio where we spent much time relaxing and enjoying the sunset. The property is secluded and very quiet. It is a short walk to a nice beach, and the South light house is a short drive away. A perect vacation spot!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Kolb
Car: recommended

Stargazing :join weekly guided outing , bird banding station and Audubon guide, horseback riding, a lot to paint and photograph, paved road near house flat enough and safe enough to roller blade/skike , also a good spot for a kid's lemonade stand.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Block Island

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
June to mid Septemberber
9 Jun 2017 - 15 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
A$5,013
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee A$252.22
Damage Insurance A$74.4
Damage Deposit A$567.49

Given the lack of commercial laundry facilities on the island you can bring your own linens or rent linens from a mainland company which delivers to and picks up from the house . Baby gear can also be rented . All info is contained in the lease.
Get your ferry reservations immediately after confirming your booking with me. The biggest issue with a Block Island vacation is always getting a ferry Rez for your car. Interstate Navigation starts taking reservations by phone the first business day after New Years. Book early therefore

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable