Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Spectacular views pool, walk to beaches with optional 1 bedrom Cabin

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 204 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedroom 2.5 baths pool and pool house with optional 1 bed cabin

Gorgeous split level home with 3 bed full bath and powder room, living room with fireplace, formal dining room and well appointed kitchen with all stainless steel top of the line appliances. The living room opens out to a covered verandah with adjacent outdoor dining area terrace.

On the lower level is the pool, pool house with shower and toilet, extensive outdoor dining BBQ area and landscaped gardens. Also on this level is an optional 1 bedroom 1 bath apartment 'Quarterdeck Cabin' available for an additional $200/night.

Main house has a normal occupancy of 6.

Two bedrooms with one queen size bed and third bedroom with two single beds that can be made together to make a king size.

The separate Quarterdeck Cabin (Listing No. 379619) sleeps up to four guests

Accommodations- : The bedroom has a queen size mahogany sleigh bed and large walk-in closet.

Double sofa-bed in the living area.

Enjoy the outdoor poolside dining area with a commercial BBQ for starlit evening meals or just lazing poolside in the afternoon with your book. Pool is now solar-heated!

Located within walking distance of the Town of St. George, a Unesco World Heritage Site.

Beaches, restaurants, shopping, tennis and transportation are all a short walk from the property.

There are 2 mountain bikes, tennis rackets and an assortment of snorkel gear that you may borrow for your

added convenience and enjoyment.

Enjoy a complimentary chilled bottle of bubbly and beverage on arrival to get your vacation started!

More Details

Property Manager
Robert Spencer Gringley
Member since: 2011
Speaks english
Response time
Within a day
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
16 August, 2017

About Robert Spencer Gringley

Bermuda born world traveller. Having lived in Brasil, Italy, studied architecture in Los Angeles, worked and lived in San Diego Califormia I have a multi-cultural and diverse background.

I enjoy meeting people from all walks of life listening and learning from them.

Robert Spencer Gringley purchased this house in 1990

Why Robert Spencer Gringley chose Bermuda

Million dollar views! So many areas so sit outdoors and enjoy the amazing views relax and dine under the stars or quietly enjoy a book by the pool or in the garden lounge.

What makes this house unique

With the option to rent the adjoining one bedroom Cabin for other couples in your party. Fully equiped amenities for the most fullfilling vacation with friends and family.

We have snorkel gear, mountain bikes, even golf clubs!

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in St. George

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 204 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View
  • Town ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower , bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , Powder/guest bathroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower enclosure , outdoor shower , Pool house bath
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 single bed , can be combined to make king size bed
  • 1 double sleeper sofa in living area for additional persons
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Veranda / Loggia ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • long term rentals available
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We now have an emergency generator in the event of a power failure for running the essentials.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

86% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Spectacular views pool, walk to beaches with optional 1 bedrom Cabin
average rating of 4.866667 based on 15 reviews
5

Breathe

  • 5 of 5

Able to breathe more easily in Bermuda and this home allowed us the time to be as still or as active as we needed to be. Awesome house and owner.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Cheryl, Glad you enjoyed! you are always welcome, thanks for taking such great care of the house and I have your next 2 weeks (4th visit) set aside for you for 2018! Best Regards, Robert
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beyond beautiful views and perfect house/setting for a family or group

  • 4 of 5

We absolutely hit the jackpot when we booked Quarterdeck for our first visit to Bermuda! We traveled with our three adult children, future son-in-law and 80-year-old mother-in-law. Robert was very helpful and responsive as we were doing our research and reassured me that his property would be comfortable and accessible for my mother-in-law. The entire family was thrilled with the house, the location, and all the amenities included. The kitchen is large and well stocked. The pool and all the various places to sit and hang out both inside and outside were beyond expectations. We spent most evenings at the poolside table enjoying the lights from the pool and the perfect ambiance. Even when we had one rainy day we didn't feel cooped up because of the many large windows giving us a beautiful view of the St. George's Harbor.

Thank you for having so many towels! There were plenty of beach/pool towels as well as bath towels for our group of seven adults. The kitchen is well stocked and we ate most of our meals at the property or packed lunches for our days away from the house. I believe Robert is aware of the ant situation - so many ants!!! It was a shock to us to find a mouse in the kitchen but Robert addressed that situation right away and I'm confident he will have that well in hand for future visitors. We would not hesitate coming back to Quarterdeck on another visit to Bermuda.

The house is situated at the top of a steep hill which affords the most spectacular views and the walk into the town of St. George's was easier than anticipated once we got used to the fact there is no shoulder on the very narrow roads. We were able to walk to Tobacco Bay and I know there were many other nearby places that we did not have the chance to explore. We got a taxi for my mother-in-law when we went to Tobacco Bay but she was able to walk back with us because we broke up the journey with a delicious meal at the often recommended Wahoo Restaurant. We had to light her path on the steep hill and stairs back to the property but she did great. We were also able to walk into town for groceries and ice cream.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay at Quarterdeck. We always strive to earn a 5 star vacation experience so it was disappointing to hear about your ant problem on the review. Bermuda is a tropical island and the property is in a garden stetting so there will always be some insects around. I do use traps but never spray pesticides in the house for guests' safety. However I do provide bug spray if they choose to use it. What does attract ants and other pests is food left out or dropped throughout the house by guests of which I have no control. The back door may have been inadvertently left open to let in the other uninvited guest! For certain the home is always completely cleaned and pest free when the guests arrive at the property. Although I was not there at the time I was told by the cleaning service that one group had left an exceptionally large mess for them. The best practice to avoid ants is not to leave food out and general cleanliness.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great time

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay!!!!! Could not of asked for better!!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portage, MI
5

Wonderful vacation home!

  • 5 of 5

The home was very comfortable for our group of six. The kitchen was well equipped and there were two grills to choose from. The hot tub was a big hit with everyone, since it was still a little too cool for the pool. However, this did not phase our 13 year old. The home, pool and yard are clean and well maintained. The center of historic St. George was an easy 5 min. walk, where there were several restaurants and a small grocery store. We did most of our grocery shopping at the larger stores closer to Hamilton on the way home from our island adventures. There is a bus stop very close to the house and the buses and ferries were an easy way to get around the island. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We were happy that we stayed in St. George instead of the city of Hamilton.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent Rental

  • 5 of 5

Quarterdeck was really a great property for our crew of 7...

Well appointed with plenty of room...kitchen was excellent with all necessities...views were incredible...really enjoyed the outdoor grill, pool, and dining area...5 minute walk to town...beaches were 20 min walk...we really were glad to be out of the congested south shore area... It does take a bit of travel time to see other side of island... A highlight was skiff rental out to Castle Point... Also be sure and go to Cooper island Preserve on St David's.. Quarterdeck made us feel part of St George's!! Outstanding!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alexandria, VA, USA
5

The perfect vacation home!

  • 5 of 5

The Quarterdeck and cabin was the perfect vacation home for myself and 8 friends to spend our five days in Bermuda. There was so much space, a gorgeous view that could not be beat, and a pool that served as the ideal spot to end our nights with an evening swim. Robert was so helpful throughout the stay, and gave us the best recommendation for restaurants (go to The Beach House for a fancy meal!). The house was very clean and well-equipped with everything from kitchen wares to tote bags for groceries. The location is perfect for walking to the bus, ferry, Tobacco Bay, and historic St George. I spent the final morning lazing in the hammock, which is situated right in the shade. It was paradise, and I will definitely stay here again when I return to Bermuda!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Bermuda International Airport (BDA)
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Tavern by the Sea & White Horse Tavern
Nearest Ferry
0.1 Miles
St. George Ferry Terminal
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Mid Ocean Club and Tucker's Point Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Wahoo's on Water Street
Nearest Beach
0.4 Miles
Tobacco Bay
Car: not necessary

Located on a hillside in a very private neighborhood in a garden setting but within walking distance to the Town of St. George - a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Besides exploring the local beaches and quaint streets of the old town a must do is to swim in the caves at Grotto Bay and the Blue Grotto your host can provide info on any specific activities you are looking to enjoy.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Rates based on normal occupancy
Optional 1 bedroom Cabin available for $150/night when rented in conjunction with the main house (Quarterdeck)
Reduced Spring and Fall rates for 4 persons max. (special conditions apply during this period)
Property Damage Protection coverage is Required Guests are required to purchase CSA Standard Protect Plan - $79
http://www.propertydamageprotection.com

20% Reservation Deposit (payment via PayPal, credit card or wire transfer)

30% 2nd Payment due 30 days prior to arrival (payment via PayPal, credit card or wire transfer)

Balance is due on arrival in US$ cash or pre-payment via PayPal or credit card (Travelers checks are no longer being accepted)

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made

Other Holiday Properties