check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Spacious,open all windows,over look the lake, pet-friendly

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

About the property

3 bedrooms, 3 bath, upcharge for basement apartment sleeps 18 with upcharge

The house sleeps 10 guests comfortably in 3 bedrooms and 2 pullout sofa beds, with 3 bathrooms in the main area of house.. The basement is a complete apartment that sleeps an additional 8 guests, one king bed and 3 pullout sofa beds with a bathroom and kitchen area.. Every guest over 10, there will be an automatic charge of $25.00 a night with a minimum charge of $100.00 to open up the basement. Our house is one city block from Island Lake State Park, where in the summer you can, walk your dog, bike, swim, picnic, fish, play baseball, horseshoes and have large parties. In the winter you can snowmobile, cross country ski and ice fish. Also there is a large ski lodge only a few miles away. Many many golf courses very close. Kayaks available at the house at no cost, a 16 ft rowboat available at no cost Also there is a 22ft pontoon boat available for rent. There is a large mall 3 miles from the house, many very nice restaurants and quaint shops in downtown Brighton.

We have signed up for Property Manager the Green Icon on our web sight; however WE PREFER PERSONAL CHECKS..


More Details

Property Manager
Jerry Rupp
Member since: 2011
Speaks english
Response time
Within a day
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
14 January, 2017

About Jerry Rupp

(Dee) and Jerry live next door to the property.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(54 traveller reviews)

Spacious,open all windows,over look the lake, pet-friendly
average rating of 4.8703704 based on 54 reviews
Athens, AL

Very Nice House

  • 5 of 5

Very nice house with great views of lake. Check in and check out was quick and simple. House was very clean and well maintained. We would definitely consider renting agin next time we travel to Michigan and highly recommend it to anyone else looking for a short term rental while in the Brighton, Michigan area.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toledo, Ohio

Wonderful accommodations!!

  • 5 of 5

Had a great weekend in this lovely home. Very spacious and perfect for entertaining our family of 9. Also the booking of the home and payments with the owner was very smooth. Thanks again!!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

What a great house! So warm and inviting! Just a short drive to Ann Arbor! Highly recommend!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice home. Perfect for a guys golf trip!

  • 4 of 5

Guys golf trip, a lot of great courses nearby. Owners are great. Inside was big and clean. Outside could've been cleaned up some. We enjoyed our stay, no complaints overall.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful house!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great stay! Jerry and Dee are awesome! Wish we would have had more time to enjoy the boats and fishing at the house. We were in Michigan for a brothers wedding, so we were pretty busy. There were 18 of us and we fit comfortably. My only suggestion would be to fix the basement up so it's as nice as the rest of the house. Not that it was bad, it wasnt, but it could use some tlc.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review . We are glad to hear that you had a great time. You mentioned in your review that the basement apartment needed some tlc. Could you tell us specifically what you see as needed to be done to improve the basement. The house has been booked solid since the end of May,making it difficult to do anything substantial. We would appreciate any feed back that would help us make positive changes . We know some things that we can improve on but would like to hear from you,this only helps us to know what the priorities are that we can improve on and correct. Thank you for taking the time to write to us. Jerry and Dee
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Windows on the Water was Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Windows on the Water for 6 days in July 2016. The house was an outstanding facility for hosting both small and large gatherings that we had during the week. With three large bedrooms and three full bathrooms, we never felt crowded. The hosts (Jerry and Dee) live next door but we only saw them when they were walking their dogs and when we had minor house operational questions, e.g., how do you get the TV to work?

Despite the lack of a beach, water activities were excellent and great fun. The pontoon was loads of fun for all. Randy reports that the fishing was great, although fishing off the dock was a challenge because of the weeds. Three 15-17-inch bass were caught from the dock and many more were probably hooked but lost in the weeds, but he also caught three bullheads and two turtles (the last was about a 20-pound snapper!).

The only down side was the lack of on-site swimming (but that was not a disappointment, since we knew that going in). The lack of onsite swimming was OK though, because there was great swimming on the main lake, accessible from the cottage via kayak, canoe, rowboat or pontoon, and we used ALL of them. We beached on the island when we wanted sandy (also a little pebbly), shallow water and we anchored in the deep (20-25 feet) weed-free water for those who were interested in serious swimming. Fishing in the main lake was also excellent; in just two short outings, Randy caught one 20-inch bass and a couple 16-18 inchers, and there were no bullheads or turtles ! We also rode biked through Island Lake State Park to Kent Lake for additional excellent swimming. Finally, enjoying the star-filled sky from the hot tub was a great way to end the day.

All in all, it was a great place for quiet times and for larger gatherings as well, and we didn't have to go too far from the city and our various friends and relatives. We highly recommend Windows on the Water.

Randy Commissaris and Lydia Muller

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Corner of Academy & Grand River
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Many Many
Nearest Train
16 Miles
Ann Arbor
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
US 23 / 96
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Downtown Brighton
Nearest Ski
6 Miles
Mt. Brighton
Car: necessary

Golf: Many many golf courses very close

Ski: Mt Brighton Ski Lodge very close to the house


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Brighton, Michigan

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Yearly Rate
1 Jan 2017 - 31 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
1 Jun 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
yearly rate
1 Sep 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee A$67
Property Damage Protection A$106
cleaning fee of A$134
Tax Rate 6.0%

There is a cleaning fee of $ 100.00. Yearly rates do not reflect the up charge for the basement apartment.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Brighton, Michigan

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • City Centre ...
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View ...
  • River ...
  • Ski in/Ski out ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • soap
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • local restaurant guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • water cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower enclosure
  • Bathroom upstairs sink, toilet and shower Bathroom downstairs sink, tub,shower and toilet Bathroom in utility room toilet and shower Bathroom in basement shower toilet and sink.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 extra lg. double bed , SLEEP # BED
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double bed
  • 3 bedrooms - 2 with King beds, one with Queen, two sofa beds both Queen. With upcharge, finished apartment in the basement sleeps an additional 8 adults. With one full size bed and 3 pull out couches, and one set of bunk beds.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • video player
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat ...
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • wooden decking
  • Events Allowed
  • long term rentals available
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
One 22 ft. Pontoon Boat Available for rental, terms to be discussed.

Other Holiday Properties