Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

COMFORT COTTAGE - Reduced Winter Rates! - On the Lake and Golf Course View

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom, 1.5 Bathroom (Sleeps 6)

This beautifully decorated one story home, located on the main chain of Portage Lakes, is the perfect place for a romantic get away, golfing weekend, fishing trip or family vacation. With 2 bedrooms and one and a half baths, it comfortably sleeps 6. The great room, with pull out couch, working gas fireplace, eating area, and fully equipped kitchen, all have sweeping views of the lake. A private dock is available on the property for renters use. Location is on the main chain of Lakes for easy boat access to Restaurants.

Comfort Cottage is just a short walk to Turkeyfoot Lake Golf Course and a short distance from restaurants, bars, the metro park, farmers market and shopping; minutes from Firestone Golf Course, and convenient to Canton as well as Cleveland.

More Details

Property Manager
Jeanne Crofford/Property Manager
Member since: 2013
Speaks english
Response time
Within a few hours
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
18 April, 2018

Why Jeanne Crofford/Property Manager chose Akron

Owner grew up in the Akron area and loves the Portage Lakes area.

What makes this house unique

The Great Room has beautiful hardwood floors, wood beams and a big stone fireplace, that makes for a cozy feeling. On either side of the fireplace are huge windows that look out onto the lake and golf course. The house is on a quiet area of the lake with no through traffic. Herons can be seen in the early evening, as well as other birds and wildlife through the day. It is utterly charming!


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Akron

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower , shower enclosure
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double bed
  • Master bedroom 42" flat screen TV Both bedrooms are newly decorated
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • long term rentals available
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • swimming


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(41 traveller reviews)

90% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
COMFORT COTTAGE - Reduced Winter Rates! - On the Lake and Golf Course View
average rating of 4.902439 based on 41 reviews

Yes, we loved it!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second visit, and it was every bit as good as the first one! We are very particular where we stay, and often share our experiences with family and friends. The location is perfect for us, as we have family in Akron and Cuyahoga Falls, as well as in Green. Whoever cleans this cottage does an excellent job and we make every attempt to leave it nearly as clean as when we first arrive. No pet odors or evidence of smokers are huge for us!!! Unfortunately we had to leave earlier than planned due to an unwelcome visitor (Irma) to Florida. The owner offered a refund, which is unheard of these days! We have mixed feelings in writing this review, as this cottage is like a "best-kept-secret"- you want to tell everyone about it, but keep its location confidential!!!

  • Review Submitted: 17/09/2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind words in your review. We loved having you and hope that you return soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

I had to shovel the steps that led to the house. M.B. tv did not work. Sofa bed was broken.

  • 4 of 5

The house was very clean. We enjoyed the view of the lake.

  • Review Submitted: 15/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Janice, thank you for your review. I'm happy that you enjoyed the view and were able to spend time with your family. I apologize that the steps were not clear. The maintenance team who does our snow removal failed to shovel the steps and I spoke with them about that so that it doesn't happen again. The tv in the bedroom was not working because Spectrum changed their service. We have since purchased a box and new remote and it is up and running. The sofa bed in the living room has a bar that you need to lift up on when you pull it out. I now have a note tied to the bed to help future renters understand this. Again, we were happy to have you at the cottage, and we hope you keep us in mind in your future travels.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Love the Cottage on Point Comfort

  • 5 of 5

Visit was perfect! Just not long enough. Love staying here. So peaceful. Beautiful setting watching the sunrise each morning over the lake. Thanks for the great hospitality. We hope to come back next year.



  • Review Submitted: 05/09/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
North Royalton

Another great stay!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed here many times. Excellent location. Well maintained home. The property manager is very responsive.

  • Review Submitted: 08/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. We love having you! Please come back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Excellent stay and easy communication. Thank you !

  • 4 of 5

Exactly what our family of 4 was looking for when we wanted a short vacation.

  • Review Submitted: 07/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very charming and clean home in a great location.

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a place close to the national park. The house was within a half hour. It was beautiful and immaculate. The way the house overlooks the lake is so calming and way more than we expected. We even had use of the garage which was amazing and greatly appreciated. The neighbors were friendly and very tolerant of our five very excited children. Thanks so much for sharing your home and making our trip to Ohio better than we could have imagined!

  • Review Submitted: 18/06/2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind words. We look forward to having you and all your kiddos back real soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
CAK (Akron Canton) -10min. / CLE is 50min.
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Turkeyfoot Lake -Public / Firestone CC -Private
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Turkeyfoot Lake State Park

Pontoon boats and kayak rentals available nearby. Minutes from Firestone Golf Course, restaurants and markets. Close to Canton's Pro Football Hall of Fame, Akron Soap Box Derby. Short drive to many Cleveland sights: Horseshoe Casino, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Cleveland Zoo, The Q, Brown's Stadium, Progressive Field.


Rates & Availability

Contact Manager

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit AU$325.95

*Property to be left in same clean condition. If not, additonal cleaning charge of $100.00 will be deducted from deposit.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.