Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Beautiful Spanish Cottage In The Heart Of Venice Beach walk/bike to beach

Bedrooms 2
Space 725 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Approximately 725 Sq Feet 2 Bedroom 1 Bathroom With Amazing Ocean Breezes

This property has 2 bedrooms with queen size beds , large spa like shower, kitchen has dishwasher, stove, oven, microwave, home comes with wifi connectivity, cable tv , 48 inch flat screen television, washer,dryer, large deck private back yard with jacuuzi, driveway to park several vehicles or use as additional entertainment space. This home is set up to really enjoy as a retreat or for entertaining. Kitchen has been designed for cooking with lots of counter space , martha stewart cabinetry top of the line hans grohe fixtures. The property has weekly gardener outdoor malibu landscape lighting. The property was completely remodeled in 2012

Refundable damage deposits will be returned 7 days after check-out, if no damage is found.

More Details

Member since: 2013
Speaks english, spanish
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
Calendar last updated:
19 June, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Venice, California

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 725 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower enclosure
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
  • each bedroom has queen size bed
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Highly recomend visiting our main st abbott kinney (2-3 walking blocks from my home-they have art galleries open to the public-great cafes like intelligencia(try the espresso) retail shopping Also visit the venice beach canals(mimics that of venice italy) very tranquil for a evening walk to see all the swans and ducks swimming Also of course vist famous venice beach boardwalk to see all the street performers put on a free show for you! along the beach Have fun and enjoy my home!


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(58 traveller reviews)

60% Complete
27% Complete
5% Complete
1% Complete
5% Complete
Beautiful Spanish Cottage In The Heart Of Venice Beach walk/bike to beach
average rating of 4.362069 based on 58 reviews
Los Angeles

Jackie R.

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a wonderful stay at Ryan's house. We really enjoyed the spacious kitchen and bathroom (the shower was especially nice and roomy). My young son thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub and the park across the street. The kitchen was well equipped with a very nice stove, refrigerator and lots of counter space. Ryan was nearby and always very nice and helpful with any questions we had. I would definitely recommend this rental and would enjoy staying there again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: 02/03/2016
  • Date of Stay: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jackie! Your family was a pleasure to meet Look forward to having you back soon Ryan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great house for our family

  • 5 of 5

Our family really enjoyed our time at Oakwood Cottage. The house was exactly as pictured and worked well for our family of 5. We used the hot tub every night and found the amenities quite nice. The kitchen would benefit from some more drinkware and it would have been nice to have extra towels for the hot tub and/or beach--but it helped to have the dryer to dry the bath towels after each use. The location was very residential and quiet and the off street parking was a bonus. We used the 2 bikes provided and easily rented the other bikes we needed at the boardwalk. Overall, the house was perfect for us, thanks!

  • Review Submitted: 05/04/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Do not recommend

  • 1 of 5

We arrived Friday night around 6pm and there was a group of men across the street at the park swearing. Not a big deal, we ignored it and left for dinner. When we got back home from dinner, we decided to go into the hot tub. While we were in the hot tub, we heard what we believed to be firecrackers as the noise from the hot tub muffled any sounds. A few minutes later there was a helicopter flying above us. The helicopter turned on its spotlight and was searching for someone. They shined the spotlight on us in the hot tub, so we got out and went inside. We tried to find out what was happening - turned out what we thought were firecrackers were gun shots and the helicopter was searching for the shooter, or the person that got shot. Not a great feeling knowing they are so close to us, they need to search in the backyard of where we are staying. We contacted the owner immediately. he did not answer, so we decided we felt to uncomfortable to sleep there. We left around midnight for a hotel. Ryan called me back around noon the next day to tell us he partially refunded us and cancelled our stay. I mentioned that i expected to be refunded fully, and he said he didn't have to refund us at all, and he didn't know where we were from, but this happens. No, shootings do not often occur in my neighborhood. Please, research this park and street before staying here, you will see.

I could complain about other things in the house (sink leaked, shower door is uneven so doesn't open right, blankets for the couch bed were dirty etc). Bottom line, we were refunded half - it was expensive for more of an inconvenience than anything. We did not stay there and we did not get a great nights sleep. With the cost of the hotel, we ended up spending way more than we had planned.

On top of all of this, VRBO has been a mess to deal with. I asked to leave a review, they told me i was not eligible. why not? I paid to "stay" here! Then they said I could leave a review and they would email me, never emailed me, then I couldn't leave a review. and on. If i did not fight it, you never would have been aware of this occurrence. The manager at VRBO, Steven, had a response of -I feel differently, I would have felt comfortable staying. They said they cannot refund me because I did not call VRBO as soon as I felt uncomfortable They said not to call the police, to call them.

I was a frequent customer with VRBO, not anymore. This company couldn't care less about you.

  • Review Submitted: 21/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The event in Venice that caused the traveler to want to stay elsewhere in a hotel was unfortunate, and out of my control. It did NOT happen on my property and Homeaway management had advised me that I did not have to refund any dollar amount, however I did anyway. My track record of 56 nice reviews over 5 years speaks for itself. I have a high rating with homeaway. Overall venice is a relatively safe, vibrant area and average home prices are $2.5 million dollars making it one of the most expensive neighborhoods in LA Yes this was a scary and isolated event, however it passed in a couple hours and occurred down the street not in my home. The traveler did not reach out to me until midnight when I was asleep and I returned their call in the morning after getting advice from homeaway. At that point they requested a full refund . In summary I gave them a 50% refund for using my home-more than generous according to homeaway.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice location, enjoyed the jacuzzi. Dog park across street. Clean environment

  • 4 of 5

The home was as advertised. It was very clean and the entering was simple. The dryer came in handy. Jacuzzi was great. There were sugar ants that decided that they should be invited in but the house came equipped with ant spray under the sink so that was taken care of quickly.

We enjoyed our stay and we will return if we are ever in the Venice area again.

  • Review Submitted: 08/03/2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good location, very private and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

I/ we really enjoyed our stay. Having lived in Venice I felt like I was home again. I was able to relax, it was Very clean and had the comforts of home. I would definitely stay again. There are a few very minor items that could be improved. There were a few recessed light bulbs out and many of the window and door blinds were inoperable. Beside that, Ryan and the house are fabulous! Thank you.

  • Review Submitted: 25/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great! Previous reviews were spot on. Owner was very accommodating.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed the outdoor area, great natural light and comfortable beds!

  • Review Submitted: 18/02/2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Erin!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Contact Owner

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee AU$203.18

Refundable damage deposits will be returned 7 days after check-out, if no damage is found.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

Other Holiday Properties