check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Peggy Christian

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks english

Great Family Beach Cottage

28 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


Photos and Description of this Gulf Shores holiday cottage

Relax on beautiful Fort Morgan in Gulf Shores. Capture the perfect blend of nature and relaxation at the Rookery. Park right by your cottage for easy access to your front door. The Rookery has 2 salt water pools with one being a zero entry wonderful for small children. It also has a hot tub, tennis courts, and family grilling area. We are 2 cottages away from the zero entry pool. You will definitely enjoy the beach the way it use to be without the crowds. It is located across the street 0.3 miles away. This cottage does have internet access for your convenience. It is a 3 bedroom/2 bath. It sleeps 9 (king bed in master, queen bed in bedroom #2, full bed and twin bunked in kid's room, and queen sleeper sofa).

This is a non-smoking cottage and pets are NOT allowed.

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Peggy Christian (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Peggy,

I just wanted to say thanks again for allowing us to return to your cottage. It was just as nice as when we stayed the first time, and we definitely plan to get in touch with you again in the future. We had a great time, and we loved seeing the little alligator again, and all the little tree frogs. The only down side was that I had a hard time wanting to pack up and go home!
Oct 2014
  • 1 of 3


based on 28 traveller reviews

Great Family Beach Cottage
average rating of 4.678571 based on 31 reviews

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time in this cottage

The neighbors were all very friendly

Loved the pool

Would highly recommend this house and neighbor hood

  • Review Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Great family time together, love the pool ... Thanks

  • Review Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect for Family Time

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with my mother in law and sister in law and her family. Plenty of room for everyone. Loved to the close proximity to the pool which even in the middle of July was never crowded. The Rookery Community was awesome, everyone was friendly. The beach was so much quieter than the public beach at Gulf Shores. There is a nice market nearby that had any last minute things you may forget. The owner is super nice to work with and is always available for questions or advice about the area. This property is 15 miles from town (Gulf Shores) but if you are looking for some quiet down time this is the place for you!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We love it too.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place! Would stay here again!

  • 4 of 5

This is a great location! Away from the main area of Gulf Shores which is nice. Had the pool just steps away which was a bonus and was very clean! The place is well stocked with dishes. Having a washer/dryer is nice! Also the owners were quick to respond when we had questions during our stay!

Melissa K.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. Come again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Everything was great and what we expected except the tv had no card so no dish :(

  • Review Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rookery was great but a bit disappointed in the unit

  • 3 of 5

I waited a few days to think about our stay before reviewing. Overall I liked it, but was a bit disappointed in a few things.


- The Rookery community was really great. Neighbors were very friendly.

- The pool was great and very close to the unit. With two small kids we spent a lot of time at the pool and it was never crowded.

- Community isn't on the beach but close. And the beach was also never crowded. It was lined with private homes and not high rise condos. So much better than the crowded condo beaches!

- We were able to bring a golf cart and the kids loved it to ride around the Rookery and checkout the wildlife, including a couple of small alligators in the ponds.

- The unit itself was spacious enough for 3 families and we never felt crowded. The bedrooms were a bit bigger than they looked in the pictures with plenty of closet space in two bigger bedrooms.


- The satellite didn't work while we were there. The cleaning lady brought in a new box when she came, but she didn't install it. The owners asked us to put it in, so we did, but it still didn't work. While it's nice to take a break from TV, with small children it was kind of a pain not to be able to occupy them for a few minutes in the morning or at night. Luckily we had a couple DVDs and were able to use though.

- We were not told up front that the unit was for sale. When we got there, there was a sign from a realtor saying it was for sale and not to worry about cleaning up, but that it might be shown while we were there. There's 6 hours between checking out and the next renter checking in. Realtors should show the house during that time, not while someone else is renting it. We went to the beach one day and came back to find a business card on the table. They'd been there while we were gone. I didn't like that. It was an invasion of privacy and we had a lot of valuable things with us. I dont think it was appropriate, especialy without notifying people before they pay to rent it.

- The cleaning lady was there for a couple hours before our check-in. We were told if we arrived early we could drop off our stuff on the porch and go to the pool, but she locked the porch door so we weren't able to.

- When we got in, the unit looked clean. But within a couple hours on the first day of my baby crawling on the floor, his knees were black. Everything else was clean.

Overall we had a great vacation and Ms. Peggy was very nice, just a little disappointed in a few things.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We decided to put the unit up for sale this summer after having a spring renter did a lot of damage. We were so distraught about the damage and thought this was the best solution. We try to arrange showing on the turn around days but during summer it has gotten impossible. We do not always know when the unit is to be shown but if we do we inform the renter. My cleaner usually cleans our unit first, but this does not always finish until right before the check in time. I checked with her and the porch door must have been locked by accident. Everyone that arrives early puts their suitcase on the porch. I am sorry that occurred. The TV modem was out and we ordered a new one. It was delivered, but I was told that it would be 3 weeks before a tech could come install. I was told by satellite company that it is a matter of plugging in. We live 6 hours away so I thought you doing this was the easiest solution to this problem. If you had told me I would have gotten a neighbor to come install it. Again I am sorry for the troubles you had. Peggy Christian
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Pensacola, Florida
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Tacky Jacks-Fort Morgan
Nearest Ferry
6 Miles
Ferry to Dauphin Island located at Fort Morgan
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Kiva Dunes
Nearest Motorway
14 Miles
Highway 59
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
Uncrowded beach
Car: necessary

Wildlife refuge borders the cottage. This is a birdwatcher's paradise. Easy beach access. You can watch dolphins on a daily swim. Visit Fort Gaines and Dauphin Island. Explore the SEA lab Esturary and Bon Secour Trails.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cottage in Gulf Shores, Alabama

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
4 Sep 2016 - 31 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
1 Jan 2017 - 15 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
16 Mar 2017 - 31 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
1 Jun 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning A$196 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit A$261
Property Damage Protection A$77
Tax Rate 6.0%

During the winter period, Snowbirds are welcome. The rental fee will be $1,000 for the first month and $900.00 for the following months.

If you are wanting to travel north for a vacation, look at our property in Marble (near Murphy), North Carolina (Do Drop Inn). Homeaway #3512785
Thank you for considering us!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage rental in Gulf Shores, Alabama

Property Type:
  • cottage
Floor Area:
  • 1135 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , bath with shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double bed , 1 single bed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • ski
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Beginning Supplies Provided: paper towels, toilet paper, dishwashing liquid, and laundry detergent are provided.