check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Rebecca Southwick

Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks english

Handcrafted New England Cape, Private Grounds, Perfect Family Retreat, Worc10min

40 Reviews
Sleeps11
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms1
Half Baths2
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this Leicester holiday chateau / country house

Charming Five Bedroom, Spacious, Beautiful Grounds, Bring the Family

Sarah’s Haven is a Nelson Phipps beautifully handcrafted Cape in the heart of Massachusetts built in 1953 from the lumber milled from the land. All the walls are original pine board walls, handcrafted cabinetry, red oak floors, with a huge central stone fireplace gracing the living room. It has nine rooms, five bedrooms, and can sleep 10-11.

Sarah’s Haven sits on over four acres of pristine privacy overlooking it’s own pond. Daffodils, irises, and lilies abound in the spring, while azaleas, butterfly bushes, orange blossoms, and trumpet vines follow all summer.

Bask in the summer warmth or swing on the rope swing, hike trails, or just enjoy the tranquility and natural beauty surrounding this home. Huge picture windows look out over the pond and the acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. It's the perfect hide-a-way for the whole family.

All this is within ten minutes of downtown Worcester attractions: theaters, colleges, medical facilities, DCU events, and museums.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Rebecca Southwick (Property Manager)
Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks english

Reviews

4.8
based on 40 traveller reviews

Handcrafted New England Cape, Private Grounds, Perfect Family Retreat, Worc10min
average rating of 4.8 based on 40 reviews
5

A great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

This house is one of the most interesting houses I have ever seen. The woodwork and interior design must be the result of years planning and construction. The setting is beautiful. The owner took the time to explain everything including some of the history of the house. A great place to stay.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Pleasant place to stay

  • 3 of 5

Rebecca was very accommodating about meeting us for check in. She gave a thorough review of the house "systems". It was a cold, wet weekend so we didn't get a chance to enjoy the outside of this property (which seemed lovely as we dashed from car to house).

The house is well furnished for cooking and having large group meals. Abundant kitchen utensils, dishes, pots, pans and spices.

Disappointed to find out the fireplace is not functional- it is the lovely centerpiece of the living room, and we would have enjoyed using it during the chilly wet weather. There was also a giant piece of plaster on the living room ceiling in the center of the room that appeared it might come crashing down at any moment. The wi-fi was very dependable, as well as the TV service (had to watch the World Series!).

We were in town to visit my daughter who attends Clark University. The property is an easy driving distance to Worcester.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry that this guest arrived right after a piece of plaster came loose and we did not have time to fix it without disturbing their stay. We thought having plasterers in the living room while they were there for their weekend stay, would not be welcome. The ceiling is fixed and looks beautiful. We do have a fireplace in the living room, but do not advertise it because it is not safe to have a fire there. We thank these guests for staying with us and enjoying all the rest of the things we have to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Millington, MD
4

Property was very comfortable and spotless!

  • 4 of 5

This property met our needs for a large group of athletes rowing in Worcester. Rebecca was easy to work with . Property was convenient and had everything we needed. It was spotless and comfortable!

Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just perfect

  • 5 of 5

We loved everything about this place. So cozy, comfy, clean and well organized. Great location quiet but easy to be in town within a few minutes. Would definitely rent again.

Thank you for sharing you beautiful cottage.

The Hawies

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Immaculate, delightful, comfortable, peaceful. Truly unique.

  • 5 of 5

Sarah's Haven is the most amazing property. We have stayed in several holiday rentals over the past few years, and Sarah's Haven is without doubt the best. The house seems to reach out and welcome you the minute you step inside. Such a beautiful story to accompany it too!

The location is idyllic. The amenities far exceeded any we have encountered before, from kitchen utensils to the extensive book collection, to the game room in the basement, the choice of bedrooms, the laundry room - this house has absolutely everything anybody could need. The swings outside were a huge hit with our two boys. The property was spotlessly clean on arrival, and Rebecca was the most delightful host.

We were all very sad to leave Sarah's Haven, and will return there again in the future.

Highly recommend the Disc Golf facility, which you can walk to from the property. We had so much fun on the beginners course. Fun way to spend the morning. I also very much enjoyed watching the humming birds flitting around the property, and the bats swooping down over the pond in the evening.

Thank you so much for allowing us to spend some time in this wonderful home!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Charming but not as remote as described

  • 3 of 5

I chose this house to stay with friends and our children for a weekend away.

The house is charming as described.

My comments have to do with the property and its proximity to an ultimate frisbee course and a roadway. The property abuts the course and we saw and heard many people playing frisbee from our vantage point in the yard. Then, the house is off a road that gets moderate traffic so you do hear cars driving by.

As a final point, you can't swim in the pond. This was news to me as I'd hoped for at least the ability to wade in with my daughter. Perhaps the vacation manager can note that in the description to clarify for renters.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Worcester 3 miles; Boston Logan International
Nearest Golf
0.25 Miles
Maple Hill Disc Golf; Marshall Street Disc Golf
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Amtrack, Worcester
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Many wonderful Restaurants
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday chateau / country house in Leicester, Massachusetts

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Holiday
1 Nov 2016 - 3 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$302
From
A$383
Fri,Sat,Sun
A$2,016
A$7,459
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add A$47 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
4 Jan 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$302
From
A$370
Fri,Sat,Sun
A$1,835
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add A$47 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
A$336
From
A$396
Fri,Sat,Sun
A$2,016
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add A$47 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit A$403
Cleaning A$128

Rates above are for up to 6 guests. For more than 6 guests add $25.00/guest/night.
Cleaning Fee: $95.00 for up to 6 guests for weekend and weekly stays, $125.00 for more than 6 guests and one month or longer stays.
Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year's week @ $1,500.00/week.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chateau / country house rental in Leicester, Massachusetts

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower , sink, upstairs full bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , sink, downstairs half bath
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , sink; second floor half bath
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 extra lg. double bed , View overlooking the pond
    Bedroom 2 - 1 large double bed , Private, Hide-a-way room
    Bedroom 3 - 2 single bed , Two twin beds, great kids room
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double bed , The Adventure Room
    Bedroom 5 - 1 single bed , Tiny nook of a room
    Bedroom 6 - 1 sofa bed/futon , Study on first floor with a full futon sofa bed
  • Most bedrooms are on the second floor. There is one study on the first floor with a futon sofa bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking