check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

John

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks english

** LAKEFRONT GETAWAY ** AUTUMN LEAVES CHANGING COLORS ** FALL FOR IT !!

50 Reviews
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this Burlington holiday house

SOME LAKE HOMES SIMPLY EXIST THE LAKE HOUSE BECKONS YOU TO NEVER LEAVE

COME FOR THE FUN,

STAY FOR THE MEMORIES !!

Priceless memories await you at this one of a kind lake house on the crystal clear waters of beautiful Powers Lake. Just an hour north of Chicago in Powers Lake, Wisconsin, this location is ideal for your summer getaway. Family reunion? Bachelor or bachelorette party? Guys/Girls weekend away? Holiday retreat?

Sleep steps from your own private sandy beach. This freshly renovated lake home includes all new living area with leather couches, big screen TV, surround sound and awesome views of the water. Your own private bar to serve your friends and a sun room to take it all in are both included on the first floor. The brand new kitchen with breath taking hickory cabinets and large eating area is ready for your inner chef to whip up gourmet meals for the masses. Upstairs enjoy sleeping accommodations for up to 14 people along with a living area including another flat screen TV. Traveling with multiple young ones? No problem! The sleeping arrangements are easily separated so the adults can get their rest while the kids can stay up making childhood memories.

Your boat or wave runners can be launched at the public boat launch steps from the lake house. Powers Lake has great clear water with a fun sand bar in the middle to relax and waste the days away.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
John (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks english

About John

We aim to make your Vacation experience fun!!

John purchased this house in 2007

Why John chose Southern Wisconsin

Unique Lakefront Property with Boat Launch nearby and Sandy Beach with Pier !!!

Powers Lake is 7 miles east of 'Lake Geneva'.

What makes this house unique

Lake is Spring fed and crystal clear with Sand Bar.

Water Ski, Sail, Wake board, Wake Surf, Kayak

SUP Paddle Board for rent

$65 per day

Great Fun..Great Exercise!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

John,It's been quite busy around here so we haven't had a chance to respond to your request for a critique of our stay. The stay was quite good, but too brief. The beds were plentiful and amazingly comfortable, the board games and the ping-pong table kept the kids busy. All in all we had a good time. We all enjoyed the fire pit and the "s'mores." Thanks for the prompt deposit refund. Phil
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.6
based on 50 traveller reviews

** LAKEFRONT GETAWAY ** AUTUMN LEAVES CHANGING COLORS ** FALL FOR IT !!
average rating of 4.6 based on 52 reviews
5

Perfect Bachelor Party Weekend At The Lake!

  • 5 of 5

We had a absolute blast at the Lake House and Powers Lake! John was great to deal with and always very prompt with any and all communication we had throughout the rental process. The house was in great shape and had more than enough room for the 14 guys we had in attendance. We spent most of our time on the large deck and the yard playing games or inside gathered around the huge bar area. We also rented a pontoon from Uncle Ed's so we could hang out at the Rock Bar on Sunday which was also a great experience. We had a couple fun nights at the Sit n' Bull Bar down the road too. I would highly recommend the Lake House to anyone looking for a lake front property that can easily accommodate a large group of people. We had a great weekend, thank you John for sharing your property with us!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the 5 star review!! It is a pleasure to provide accomadations for such gracious guests. The Lake House beckons your return!! John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

So much room for a lot of fun

  • 5 of 5

Great facilities and very spacious. We had a blast

  • Review Submitted: Nov 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago, IL
5

Perfect Weekend Gateway!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay at the Lake House and can not wait to return in the Summer to enjoy the gorgeous sandy beach! I reserved the Lake House for my Golden 29th Birthday Celebration and could not have asked for a better space! The bar area and amazing Powers Lake views were perfect for everyone to meet and celebrate together without being too cramped (the guys loved the ping pong table and were playing it nonstop until the very second we left)! The deck area and grass area were perfect to lounge all day and set up a great Bags Tournament! The fire pit is across the street but there is a nice built in seating around the fire pit, perfect for a late night fire and s'mores. John was very responsive and accommodating to all my questions and concerns prior, during and after our visit! I honestly could not say enough good things about the Lake House and can not wait to schedule another visit in Summer!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kaitlin for your 5 star review!! The crew at the Lake House works hard to create the vacation rental experience you will enjoy!! You are welcome back at any time and we dream of Guests like you that appreciate our effort!! Thank you for choosing the Lake House!! John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Great location - Bad property..

  • 1 of 5

Our stay at Lakefront property wasn't as expected. The property wasn't maintained well from inside. The place has bad/musty smell to it. There were notes all over the property to not use things and warnings of leakages, out of order stuff. Bedrooms looked like converted attic place. Cramped with no windows. If I have to pick, I'd say the upstairs bathroom is one of the scariest things I have seen anywhere. Overall, not a good place to stay if you are looking for a getaway vacation place.

It is not clear from the pictures but the "Lakefront" needs some explanation. The house faces a lake but separated by a road. There is only boat loading/unloading access after crossing the road. DO NOT expect a "Lakefront" that you can sit and watch the sunsets.

The owner John wasn't responsive. When we checked-in, we couldn't open the door lock as per the instructions he gave. We called, emailed and texted the owner and waited for more than 2 hours and no response from the owner. Apparently, the lock got jammed due to the rains previous week. He didn't bother to tell us that or be available on phone on the evening of check-in.

There was a Table Tennis table that we tried to play the on the first day. It looked flimsy and the bottom fell off while tried to play on the first morning. We informed the owner about it on our checkout and were surprised to hear that it was a only a six-month old table and costed over $450, which we were asked to pay. Even if you know a very little bit about table tennis, you can tell it is not worth that much and a quick 30-second search online will give you brand new, better looking table for less than $200. Upon request, John agreed to "repair" the table for $215. You make your own conclusions about how we felt about it.

I have rented many vacation houses over the years and this was definitely the worst. Don't recommend renting it to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Reading all the other 47 reviews, I do not believe your review accurately reflects The Lake House.We work hard at the Lake House to make your stay a great one, but unfortunately we can not control the weather. I am sorry you did not have the stay you were anticipating but I do have to counter many of your comments. Your arrival on a horrible rainy and cold night was at 11:30pm which is not realistic to expect anyone to answer at almost midnight but yet I did answer to assist you in entering the property, no calls were received prior to that time. As you can see in other reviews, the house is across the street from the lake, that is not hidden and was known prior to your arrival. As far as the ping pong table, it is purchased and repaired locally by a trusted company with quality products and the costs I passed along are the same I am charged, there is no up charge whatsoever. Googling ping pong table prices is not an accurate way to compare the quality of the table that is provided at The Lake House. Normally if there was a negative review or negative feedback I would apologize sincerely and contact you directly to make it right. In this instance, I truly believe I've treated you the same way and provided the same quality vacation rental as I do to everyone else who has reviewed here that has been extremely happy, so we will just have to agree to disagree.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Spacious place, great stay on "bachelor party"/guys weekend getaway.

  • 4 of 5

A group of us stayed at the lake house for my brother-in-law to be's bachelor party. The house was perfect for that. The group of us ranged in ages 28-61. My dad and uncle took the two lone bedrooms with full beds. A room with another full bed and two twin bunk beds fit another 6 of us, and in the upstairs living space there is another full bed, futon and 2 twin beds. Plenty of sleeping space. With 2 bathrooms with showers and another half bath, there was plenty of room and we never felt crowded or rushed. Having the lake across the street was not an issue, we built a fire on Friday night, kicked music on, brought a cooler full of beer over and it was a perfect relaxing night. The neighborhood is relaxed and cars do not go zooming by like I've read in some of these reviews. The downstairs living space and kitchen was very spacious and perfect for accommodating a large group of men (10 of us total). One night we enjoyed the charcoal grill for burgers and brats, as well as the large deck with tables and chairs. A small yard was enough to play bags and hang out as well. Plenty of parking here. We had about 6 or 7 cars in our lot. We played golf twice at Geneva National, maybe a 20 minute drive from lake house - not bad at all. Side note: Saturday night we went to Hogs n Kisses - if you're looking for a happenin' place at night where the dj gets after it and a bunch of bachelorette parties flock to, that's your place - we had a great time.

Only knocks to this place:

1) No wifi

2) very LIMITED dish TV (was hoping to get even ESPN - no dice, mostly a few local channels)

3) slight metal smell to the water. I'd bring plenty of bottled water to drink for sure. As for showers, it really wasn't that bad, you'll survive - the water gets warm at least.

Overall, great place for our group. Enjoyed our stay very much. Would recommend to people looking for space!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent place for a bachelor party weekend!

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed at the Lakehouse for a bachelor party and this house is perfect for it. The huge open layout downstairs is great for playing ping pong and hanging out with everyone in your group. The house comfortably sleeps a lot which is a plus. There is a nice outside deck that is large enough to play bags on. It's about a 15 minute drive from downtown Lake Geneva. Great place for a weekend with the guys!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you John for your kind words about your stay at the Lake House!! Our business depends on your review of the quality of your Getaway experience. You are more than welcome to return. John COME FOR THE FUN, STAY FOR THE MEMORIES !!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
OHARE CHICAGO
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
GRAND GENEVA
Nearest Train
16 Miles
FOX LAKE
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
HWY 50
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Mad Dan's
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
GRAND GENEVA
Nearest Beach
20 Metres
PRIVATE LAKE HOUSE BEACH
Car: necessary

VISIT LAKE GENEVA

Falling in love with Lake Geneva is easy… Maybe it’s the way the water shimmers off the lake or the way the sunset hits the trees. Or maybe it’s the amazing sensation of soaring through the air and laughing with friends on a zip line adventure, or going up in a hot air balloon, way above a glistening array of water and beautifully landscaped mansions. Or maybe … it’s just an afternoon of pampering and relaxation at one of the many area spas, or taking a stroll in downtown Lake Geneva, browsing in the unique shops or stopping for a bite to eat. Whatever your choice, Lake Geneva offers events, colors, tastes and wonders for each and every season.

Spring: walk the lake shore path, cruise the lake, browse the shops, and at night, find an outside fire pit to keep you warm. Summer: beaches, boating, paddleboarding, jet skiing, kayaking and a multitude of cruising options – lake living at its best. Fall: view the colorful fall foliage from a hot air balloon, follow the shoreline via cruise boat and enjoy a plethora of events, from Oktoberfest to Halloween Happenings around the lake. Winter: skiing, snowshoe hikes through the woods, snowboarding, sledding and winter ziplining adventures. And when it’s time to come out of the cold, you can relax with a massage, snuggle by a fire or dine overlooking the lake.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house on Burlington, Wisconsin

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Christmas Holiday
22 Dec 2016 - 26 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
A$670
 
 
Summer 2017
1 Jun 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
A$670
From
A$805
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
A$4,702
A$16,122
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
A$402
From
A$536
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
A$2,687
A$10,748
 

Additional information about rental rates

Holding Tank Pump A$134
Refundable Damage Deposit A$672
Cleaning A$222

NO PROM PARTIES!!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Burlington, Wisconsin

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Main level - toilet , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure , Upstairs
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Powder Room Main Level
  • Main level with shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double bed , 4 single bed , 2 Bunk Beds and one full
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double bed , 2 single bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Ping Pong Table Big screen Plasma HD Television Poker set with chips Assorted board games