Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

SALE ON APRIL - MAY * BOOK NOW *AND SAVE $$ TEXT 262.729.9747 FOR DETAILS

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

About the property

Lake Geneva Area *Lakefront* Sandy Beach *Boat Slip*

COME FOR THE FUN,

STAY FOR THE MEMORIES !!

SOME LAKE HOMES SIMPLY EXIST...

THE LAKE HOUSE BECKONS YOU TO NEVER LEAVE !!

Priceless memories await you at this one of a kind lake house on the crystal clear waters of beautiful Powers Lake. Just an hour north of Chicago in Powers Lake, Wisconsin, this location is ideal for your summer getaway. Family reunion? Bachelor or bachelorette party? Guys/Girls weekend away? Holiday retreat?

Sleep steps from your own private sandy beach. This freshly renovated lake home includes all new living area with leather couches, big screen TV, surround sound and awesome views of the water. Your own private bar to serve your friends and a sun room to take it all in are both included on the first floor. The brand new kitchen with breath taking hickory cabinets and large eating area is ready for your inner chef to whip up gourmet meals for the masses. Upstairs enjoy sleeping accommodations for up to 14 people along with a living area including another flat screen TV. Traveling with multiple young ones? No problem! The sleeping arrangements are easily separated so the adults can get their rest while the kids can stay up making childhood memories.

Your boat or wave runners can be launched at the public boat launch steps from the lake house. Powers Lake has great clear water with a fun sand bar in the middle to relax and waste the days away.

More Details

Owner
John
Member since: 2010
Speaks english
Response time
Within a day
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
25 March, 2017

About John

We aim to make your Vacation experience fun!!

John purchased this house in 2007

Why John chose Southern Wisconsin

Unique Lakefront Property with Boat Launch nearby and Sandy Beach with Pier !!!

Powers Lake is 7 miles east of 'Lake Geneva'.

What makes this house unique

Lake is Spring fed and crystal clear with Sand Bar.

Water Ski, Sail, Wake board, Wake Surf, Kayak

SUP Paddle Board for rent

$65 per day

Great Fun..Great Exercise!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

John,It's been quite busy around here so we haven't had a chance to respond to your request for a critique of our stay. The stay was quite good, but too brief. The beds were plentiful and amazingly comfortable, the board games and the ping-pong table kept the kids busy. All in all we had a good time. We all enjoyed the fire pit and the "s'mores." Thanks for the prompt deposit refund. Phil
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Burlington, Wisconsin

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 14
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Main level - toilet , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure , Upstairs
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Powder Room Main Level
  • Main level with shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double bed , 4 single bed , 2 Bunk Beds and one full
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double bed , 2 single bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Ping Pong Table Big screen Plasma HD Television Poker set with chips Assorted board games

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(52 traveller reviews)

SALE ON APRIL - MAY * BOOK NOW *AND SAVE $$ TEXT 262.729.9747 FOR DETAILS
average rating of 4.5384617 based on 54 reviews
5

Relaxing!!

  • 5 of 5

The Lake House on beautiful Powers Lake was great for my husband and I, our 4 children, spouses and 3 grandchildren! The house is updated and has a very spacious main level. The large deck with grill and 2 tables were perfect for us, and the "mud room" was oversized for all of our shoes, and beach belongings for 13 of us! The convenience of being able to keep the pontoon boat on the pier that we rented from "Uncle Ed's" for 3 days was awesome!! The beach front was the right size for little ones to play in the sand and water, and the sand/rock bar in the middle of the lake was our family's favorite place to hang out! We liked the fire pit on the beach at the Lake House, and we were able to enjoy a picnic at the beach with a table and ample benches for us all! The air conditioning was our best friend during our nights there, as all of the bedrooms are upstairs. It kept us very comfortable! It was on a street that had cars going by, but amazingly, it was a peaceful place! We found a park nearby for the grandchildren, too! We thoroughly enjoyed the home. The layout was great for our large crowd with a kitchen that was useable and had enough places inside and out to enjoy our food and each other! Thank you for allowing us to stay in your Lake House!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kathy, The crew at the Lake House works hard to make your Getaway a great one!! We are so happy you enjoyed what the Lake House has to offer a group like yours and hope you will return to the Lake House!! John at the Lake house.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

STAY AWAY!

  • 1 of 5

My men's group and I rented this property for a weekend retreat. While the space downstairs was adequate for our needs, we found it awkward since it clearly used to be a bar/restaurant which was renovated without much thought regarding its conversion. At least half the light bulbs in the common areas downstairs were burned out (making doing anything at night difficult) and the air vents were covered with dust and grime. The real trouble with the house though, was upstairs. The sleeping and bathroom conditions were not acceptable and not at all what we expected. The property description refers to "beds," which we found to mean (in some cases) air mattresses. It also specifically states that all bedding is provided, which is NOT the case; some "beds" had just a mattress pad and/or ancient bedspread which (trust me) you would NOT want touching your skin. This would have bothered me more than it did, however, had my room not been infested with bugs, making it impossible for me to sleep there...bedding or not. To top it off, the owner hides ridiculous charges in the fine print in order to keep the daily rate reasonable for things like pets, cleaning (trust me, nobody's cleaned this place in a while) and a "holding tank pump (I'm guessing if there is really a tank that needs pumping, it doesn’t cost what he charges to pump and I'm guessing it rarely gets pumped) and a service fee. In addition, the owner FINALLY returned our security deposit, but only two days later than promised in the contract and not without prodding. I should note that we could not bring any of the problems to the owner/landlord's attention since we had non-stop activities planned for the short time we were there and did not want to be interrupted; plus we feared he would be less than responsive, given our past communications.

*Note: I have pictures of all items mentioned (bugs included) so don’t believe any denials by the owner.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bruce, Thank you for your reply. We are sad to hear that you do not have an enjoyable stay at The Lake House and wish you would have contacted us sooner so we could personally see these issues you are speaking of. Your comments here came a month after your stay. We definitely disagree with many of the items in your review and so would many other previous guests (look at all or past reviews). In regards to the mattress, there are NO air mattresses in the entire house. Maybe you are referring to the blue casings we put over each mattress underneath the sheets to ensure a sanitary bed between each stay? Also, each bed has a full set up sheets, multiple pillows and full comforters which were all purchased within the last 2 years after the renovation was complete. We walked the entire house before you arrived and did not see any bulbs burnt out but with that said, all you would have had to do was call and we could have replaced anything that was out. We know you were upset with the pet deposit when you added a pet last minute but that is outlined in the contract and upfront. Pets can cause a lot of damage, we have and do own multiple rental properties and have learned this lesson. Your pet did not leave any damage, thank you for that. In regards to the holding tank pump, that is typical for this area near the lake instead of a septic tank. It must be pumped regularly and is. Again, this is outlined upfront and if you did not agree with it you could have stayed elsewhere. The house IS indeed professionally cleaned between each guest, we can provide invoices stating this. We know the weather was not great during your stay but other than that we are not sure why you are so unhappy and would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you so we can review everything. Thank you, The Lake House
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fun house eith a beautiful view of the lake.

  • 5 of 5

This house was formerly a bar that was converted into a rental cabin. It was very cool. We went snow tubing at Wilmot. Parents hung out at the bar..kids played in the apartment up stairs..lots of video games and board games! We are hoping to come back in the summer.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

So much room for a lot of fun

  • 5 of 5

Great facilities and very spacious. We had a blast

  • Review Submitted: Nov 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago, IL
5

Perfect Weekend Gateway!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay at the Lake House and can not wait to return in the Summer to enjoy the gorgeous sandy beach! I reserved the Lake House for my Golden 29th Birthday Celebration and could not have asked for a better space! The bar area and amazing Powers Lake views were perfect for everyone to meet and celebrate together without being too cramped (the guys loved the ping pong table and were playing it nonstop until the very second we left)! The deck area and grass area were perfect to lounge all day and set up a great Bags Tournament! The fire pit is across the street but there is a nice built in seating around the fire pit, perfect for a late night fire and s'mores. John was very responsive and accommodating to all my questions and concerns prior, during and after our visit! I honestly could not say enough good things about the Lake House and can not wait to schedule another visit in Summer!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kaitlin for your 5 star review!! The crew at the Lake House works hard to create the vacation rental experience you will enjoy!! You are welcome back at any time and we dream of Guests like you that appreciate our effort!! Thank you for choosing the Lake House!! John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Great location - Bad property..

  • 1 of 5

Our stay at Lakefront property wasn't as expected. The property wasn't maintained well from inside. The place has bad/musty smell to it. There were notes all over the property to not use things and warnings of leakages, out of order stuff. Bedrooms looked like converted attic place. Cramped with no windows. If I have to pick, I'd say the upstairs bathroom is one of the scariest things I have seen anywhere. Overall, not a good place to stay if you are looking for a getaway vacation place.

It is not clear from the pictures but the "Lakefront" needs some explanation. The house faces a lake but separated by a road. There is only boat loading/unloading access after crossing the road. DO NOT expect a "Lakefront" that you can sit and watch the sunsets.

The owner John wasn't responsive. When we checked-in, we couldn't open the door lock as per the instructions he gave. We called, emailed and texted the owner and waited for more than 2 hours and no response from the owner. Apparently, the lock got jammed due to the rains previous week. He didn't bother to tell us that or be available on phone on the evening of check-in.

There was a Table Tennis table that we tried to play the on the first day. It looked flimsy and the bottom fell off while tried to play on the first morning. We informed the owner about it on our checkout and were surprised to hear that it was a only a six-month old table and costed over $450, which we were asked to pay. Even if you know a very little bit about table tennis, you can tell it is not worth that much and a quick 30-second search online will give you brand new, better looking table for less than $200. Upon request, John agreed to "repair" the table for $215. You make your own conclusions about how we felt about it.

I have rented many vacation houses over the years and this was definitely the worst. Don't recommend renting it to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Reading all the other 47 reviews, I do not believe your review accurately reflects The Lake House.We work hard at the Lake House to make your stay a great one, but unfortunately we can not control the weather. I am sorry you did not have the stay you were anticipating but I do have to counter many of your comments. Your arrival on a horrible rainy and cold night was at 11:30pm which is not realistic to expect anyone to answer at almost midnight but yet I did answer to assist you in entering the property, no calls were received prior to that time. As you can see in other reviews, the house is across the street from the lake, that is not hidden and was known prior to your arrival. As far as the ping pong table, it is purchased and repaired locally by a trusted company with quality products and the costs I passed along are the same I am charged, there is no up charge whatsoever. Googling ping pong table prices is not an accurate way to compare the quality of the table that is provided at The Lake House. Normally if there was a negative review or negative feedback I would apologize sincerely and contact you directly to make it right. In this instance, I truly believe I've treated you the same way and provided the same quality vacation rental as I do to everyone else who has reviewed here that has been extremely happy, so we will just have to agree to disagree.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
OHARE CHICAGO
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
GRAND GENEVA
Nearest Train
16 Miles
FOX LAKE
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
HWY 50
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Mad Dan's
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
GRAND GENEVA
Nearest Beach
20 Metres
PRIVATE LAKE HOUSE BEACH
Car: necessary

VISIT LAKE GENEVA

Falling in love with Lake Geneva is easy… Maybe it’s the way the water shimmers off the lake or the way the sunset hits the trees. Or maybe it’s the amazing sensation of soaring through the air and laughing with friends on a zip line adventure, or going up in a hot air balloon, way above a glistening array of water and beautifully landscaped mansions. Or maybe … it’s just an afternoon of pampering and relaxation at one of the many area spas, or taking a stroll in downtown Lake Geneva, browsing in the unique shops or stopping for a bite to eat. Whatever your choice, Lake Geneva offers events, colors, tastes and wonders for each and every season.

Spring: walk the lake shore path, cruise the lake, browse the shops, and at night, find an outside fire pit to keep you warm. Summer: beaches, boating, paddleboarding, jet skiing, kayaking and a multitude of cruising options – lake living at its best. Fall: view the colorful fall foliage from a hot air balloon, follow the shoreline via cruise boat and enjoy a plethora of events, from Oktoberfest to Halloween Happenings around the lake. Winter: skiing, snowshoe hikes through the woods, snowboarding, sledding and winter ziplining adventures. And when it’s time to come out of the cold, you can relax with a massage, snuggle by a fire or dine overlooking the lake.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Burlington, Wisconsin

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2017
1 May 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
A$655
From
A$786
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
A$4,594
A$15,750
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
A$392
From
A$524
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
A$2,625
A$10,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning A$217
Refundable Damage Deposit A$656
Holding Tank Pump A$131

NO PROM PARTIES!!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable