Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Classic Carriage Barn on the West Shore of Historic Isle LaMotte

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 83 m²
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 full bath, sleeps 4

The carriage barn is a unique rental as it has a mixture of modern and vintage charm. There is a large living room with a game table area at the side. The dining room will seat 6-8 people. There is also a window seat there to look over the vast lawns and gardens. The galley kitchen has all modern appliances. A breakfast bar allows for quick meals or a bar set-up for evenings. The bathroom has a vintage soaking tub or a shower for those that don't want to relax. There is a queen size bed in the master bedroom. The second bedroom has 2 twin beds. The balcony overlooks the lake and is a great place to watch the great sunsets that happen most nights. On the beach, there is a large area to play in the sand or to lay in the sun. A dock is there to sit on or to tie up a boat or kayak. There is also a deck to sit and enjoy the beauty of the lake and the passing of the many boats that use this lake.

The Carriage Barn is set in an area that is just made to vacation in. There are so many things that you can do when you have a beautiful lake. Our grounds and gardens including flowers and berries are well cared for so that you can just sit and enjoy life. The only thing that you have to leave for is to shop for groceries! The drive back will make up for your time away.

Our Carriage Barn is a year round rental so it is a nice winter getaway whether you want to go ice fishing or skiing or skating. The lake is a great place to look at in the winter and read a book or do some handwork -- just a great escape from the real world! Or, spend the holidays here -- Thanksgiving, Christmas, or Valentine's Day just to name a few. Our Carriage Barn is the perfect place to do practically anything or nothing at all.

More Details

Owner
Claire Aldrich
Member since: 2011
Speaks english
Response time
Within 12 hours
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
6 October, 2017

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday barn rental in Isle La Motte, Vermont

Property Type:
  • barn
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 83 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • soap
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • local restaurant guide
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath (no shower) , shower enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 single bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • books - kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • video player
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • deck chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Small Cooler
  • 8 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

71% Complete
21% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Classic Carriage Barn on the West Shore of Historic Isle LaMotte
average rating of 4.5 based on 14 reviews
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

Very nice place, the pictures do not do it justice. We were greeting by the owner when we arrived and accommodations were great.

  • Review Submitted: 15/10/2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful home in great location.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time staying in the Carriage Barn. The house was perfect-right on the lake and extremely clean. It had everything we needed for a weekend getaway at the lake. All we had to do was relax.

  • Review Submitted: 30/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Boston, MA
5

I wish all rentals were like this one

  • 5 of 5

Beautifully developed and maintained; spacious and well laid outa and furnished. Was like being at home, in terms of having everything we could want for kitchenware, housewares, etc. Overlooking the lake across the street, it also has a small deck right on the water where we sat and watched the sunsets. Owners live adjacent and maintain exquisite gardens throughout the spacious property. A real gem.

  • Review Submitted: 16/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Fraudulent posting and uncaring owner! Beware!

  • 1 of 5

After driving for 4+ hours, we arrived to find the posting was fraudulent. The original posting (which they changed after we filed a complaint!) listed air conditioning and lake/waterfront. When we arrive (hot, mid-August) we were told the AC had been removed. Needless to say on the second story of a barn, with hot metal roofing, the apartment was sweltering (even with all fans blowing) and we were so exhausted after the second night of no sleep we had to leave.

Also, according to the listing and pictures, this apartment is lake/waterfront. It's NOT. You are looking at the back of their house (and their central AC). The waterfront is hundreds of feet away, across the street. Don't be fooled by the photos.

Even more insulting was the fact that we were told, "Too bad, you should have left." When we asked for a refund.

On another, positive note, Homeaway customer support was great. They helped us out a lot. We have filed a complaint and they are monitoring this posting. Homeaway gets 5 stars. The property owner on the other hand should be ashamed for lying to people who spend their hard earned cash to get away only to be lied to.

  • Review Submitted: 14/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our Carriage Barn was insulated with spray on foam when it was built as this is the best insulation. We have since added solar shades to keep the heat of the sun out. There are ceiling fans in every room. Combined with the breezes from the lake, we had never had any complaints of "sweltering" heat in over 10 years of business.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, pristine and picturesque location!

  • 5 of 5

This home was incredibly comfortable, beautifully appointed, abundant with respect to amenities and absolutely pristine in the cleanliness department. We had a fabulous time in this picturesque location and would love to come back again in the future!

  • Review Submitted: 05/08/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This property is amazing. Claire and Michael could not be any nicer and welcoming.

  • 5 of 5

We had beautiful bike rides along the lake, boating was phenomenal and the use of their dock was so convenient (boat launch only a mile down the road) and each night we grilled out and then watched the most gorgeous sunsets from their lakeside deck. We will definitely be back.

  • Review Submitted: 05/07/2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Burlington, Vt. or Plattsburgh, New York
Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
Grand Isle Ferry
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Aburgh Country Club
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Route 2
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Ruthcliff
Car: recommended

Isle LaMotte is truly an island with a post office and a store that makes up the center of town with 2 churches and several little places to eat ice cream or a local cafe for breakfast and lunch. There is one restaurant on the island. However, there is lots to see and do if you like to be outside such as the reef or there is St. Anne's Shrine. Or you can use the Alburgh Country Club for some golfing. There is always walking, swimming and bicycling! The lake is a fun place to kayak or canoe as there are always thinks to look at or birds to watch such as the Blue Heron an Osprey or even an Eagle if you are among the lucky people to see one.

Shopping is something that you must leave the island to do unless you use the farmer's markets which have quite a variety of items. Plattsburgh, NY or Burlington, VT have big malls and lots of choices either outlet shopping or just the regular shopping.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday barn in Isle La Motte, Vermont

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
AU$264
AU$1,450
AU$5,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit AU$131.82
Tax Rate 9.0%

We take US currency. A deposit of $250 will hold your rental. The remaining will be asked for in 30 days before your stay. If you want to do a two night stay, it will be $200.00 per night. There is a damage fee of $100.00 for a week and $75.00 for the shorter stays. These are refundable if there are no damages.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Holiday Properties