Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Secluded, Cozy Cottage, Short Walk to Lake Mich., Grand Mere

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 111 m²
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + queen futon, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4-6

Visit our cottage in Stevensville, Michigan - just a short drive to Warren Dunes State Park to the south and to St. Joseph to the north.

The cottage is located on a secluded 3-acre lot with a pond, woods, campfire pit and plenty of space to roam. The cottage is well-equipped, clean, and cozy. Wifi and plenty of board games, puzzles, books and kid videos for down time together.

Take a short walk to two public Lake Michigan beaches; or a 2 mile walk or drive to Grand Mere State Park, where you will find great hiking, cross-country skiing, and huge, clean, beautiful beaches. Or enjoy the local wineries and antique shops.

The cottage offers year-round accommodations for up to six guests. Great for families. Dogs are welcome at no additional charge.

Keywords: Grand Mere, St. Joseph, cabin, beach

More Details

Owner
Jenifer Cartland
Member since: 2011
Speaks english
Response time
Within an hour
Response rate
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 October, 2017

Why Jenifer Cartland chose Southwest Michigan

In Kindergarten, we were asked to draw a picture of our favorite places in the world. I drew the swing set at my grandparents' cottage in northern Michigan. I still have that picture. Whenever we are at our little cottage in Stevensville, I am transported right back there to my grandparents' cottage . . . and only 90 miles from home.

What makes this cottage unique

We love hiking at Grand Mere all year round. In the winter, the sledding is fantastic. In the summer, the beaches are so clean and beautiful (and never crowded).

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage rental in Stevensville, Michigan

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 111 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Clothes washer and dryer in the bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • (2) bedrooms, each with a queen sized bed, (1) One queen-sized futon in the living room; (2) hotel-style cots
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
3 wooded acres, pond, swingset

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(57 traveller reviews)

56% Complete
33% Complete
5% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
Secluded, Cozy Cottage, Short Walk to Lake Mich., Grand Mere
average rating of 4.385965 based on 57 reviews
2

Served the purpose of a place to say near a lot of good outings

  • 2 of 5

Pros - in a great location for seeing the beaches, St. Joseph, Pier, orchards, antique malls. Kitchen is modern and has everything we could need in it. Nice washer & dryer, good shower. So grateful we could bring our small dog too.

Cons - VERY Dated and in bad need of an overhaul both inside and out. Outside the house/gutters in bad shape, overgrown vegetation, uneven walkways, broken lights, shabby deck without railings and with open sides, dirty furniture, crumbling front porch without railings, path too overgrown to hike on, trash by bonfire pit, gazebo by stream a mess. Inside, the kitchen is very nice but the rest is straight out of the 70's...dark and damp with a hodge podge of furniture (and too much of it so it's cluttered), uncomfortable creaky beds and only a window A/C that doesn't reach bedrooms though one has a nice fan. Bathroom light fixture broken, wet rugs from previous tenants on floor, laundry left in dryer and basket (were we to fold and put away?). Owner lives out-of-state and manager was away so no help with non-functional TV situation and made no effort to call Comcast for us, I had to spend hours fixing problem and called Comcast myself to get it going, and owner just said "well, we're not there...". For my elderly mom that we brought as a nice get-away for her, it was completely unsafe and not healthy....no railings, dampness, dark rooms, slippery throw rugs, drop/step in floor height between rooms (we had to cover this for her so she wouldn't trip). She was very scared when going up and down stairs and walking on the path to the driveway despite our helping her. For that reason alone, we can't come back. If owners would just spend some money and muscle on this place it would be a dream due to location.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. We like hearing from our guests and try to make our home as agreeable as possible to a wide range of tastes. We're not the Four Seasons and we don't claim to be. We are in the process of addressing some of your concerns but I would like to respond to others that may give a false impression. As we make clear, the cottage is surrounded by forest. Although we like the rustic feel of that, we do have a bi-weekly lawn service mow the backyard and fire-pit area. We do not try to control the vegetation growing in the forest. The gutters on the house were completely replaced 2 years ago with a no-leaf system that keeps them clear. We, and no other guests that we have heard from, have noticed dampness in the cabin. There are 10 - 15 light fixtures and windows all around so I'm not sure why darkness was an issue. To say the cottage is 'completely unsafe and not healthy' is a serious charge. We meet all Michigan safety standards and receive regular on-site inspections. We understand that elderly guests have particular needs but we don't believe our home has any more obstacles than any other.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Quaint, old cottage

  • 3 of 5

The home is well equipped and large. You get what you pay for, and it was the best price we could find in the area if you want to bring a dog. It's an old home, and hasn't had the latest updates, but is workable. We had what we needed. The owner was responsive and helpful. We were able to check in much earlier than the check in time. Several concerns that were out of anyone's control included lots of mosquitoes on the property, meaning we spent less time in the large, beautiful yard. The screened in porch by the pond had a large whole in the screen, so that didn't provide a bug-free reprieve. Also, the Chicago beach nearby, just a few minutes away walking distance, wasn't really a beach due to higher water levels, and the dune was wearing away, making getting to the beach impossible. But it was a great spot to watch the sunset from the dune! We did bring our dog and had a difficult time finding any nearby beaches that allow dogs. They are allowed at Grand Mere State Park, but the walk to the beach is long and arduous. Chicago beach would have allowed dogs, but as mentioned, we couldn't get to it. Overall, it was a nice home, and we had a good stay.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quiet and Peaceful

  • 4 of 5

Lovely little cottage. Overflowing with anything you might need....condiments, soaps, wine bottle opener etc.

Decorated in a charming retro feel. Close to major grocery and chain restaurants. Lovely backyard. The grounds are in a need of some TLC. Was difficult to find good beaches near by.

Perfect for some R&R though if you were not looking for beach time.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A cute and tidy cottage well equipped.

  • 4 of 5

Quiet area private with large yard. Everything you need is in the home. Lights are well placed for reading and there are excellent coffee making options. The dishes are actually matching and colorful.

My only suggestion would be air conditioning in bedrooms would make this a return rental for me.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We loved the cozy house and the vast, wooden backyard.

  • 5 of 5

Amenities and overall furnishing were great for our family of 5. Kids loved the backyard and the nearby beach.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was exactly what we pictured!!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time and the cottage was exactly the right size for us. Loved the fire pit in the back!! The weather was picture perfect for our stay!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Tosi's; Grand Mere Inn
Nearest Train
6 Miles
St Joseph
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Red Star Highway 63/US 94
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Tosi's; Grand Mere Inn
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
Chicago Ave
Car: necessary

Winery tours/tasting; antique shops; hikes; beaches

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cottage in Stevensville, Michigan

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2018 Summer
10 May 2018 - 4 Sep 2018
2 night minimum stay
A$192
From
A$224
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
A$1,247
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
A$160
A$896
 

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable