check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Zoot Velasco

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks english

On A Cliff Over National Forest Views

15 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Photos and Description of this Lake Arrowhead holiday cabin

Miles of Natl Forest out the back deck w/Game Rm & Media Rm.

Newly renovated A-frame nestled on a cliff over acres of national forest with views of Mt. Baldy at sunset. This party house features party room with new deck, bathroom, pool table, foosball, darts, futon couch (can double as a bedroom), fireplace and oak bar; Loft bedroom converted to media room with loft day beds, poker table/bumper pool; 88' projector, surround sound, recliner couches and DVDs (Connect your game console or computer); separate living/dining area with office/reading area sun porch, log table for 6 diners, leather recliner sofas, day bed Ottoman, and small kitchen; and Lower level 2 bedrooms- one with three twins and master with a queen (share a bath). Miles of hiking, biking and off-roading trails steps away in the National Forest 5 feet from the back door. Lake Arrowhead shops, Snow Summit skiing, Heaps Peak Arboretum, antique stores, great restaurants and Lake Gregory (public lake for swimming) all within 15-25 minute drive. No AC (not needed with canyon winds and low summer temps), no cable (its a cabin not a suburb) and no wifi but cell phones come in well at the cabin (not many other places in the Mountain). BYO WiFi Hot Spot.Parking for 4 cars if you park smartly. House is meant for adults and older kids. NOT child-proofed. Contains railings kids can fit through and is perched on a cliff over forest. No pets. My wife is allergic.

  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Zoot Velasco (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks english

About Zoot Velasco

I run a nonprofit cultural arts center in Orange County. This cabin is one of my loves, my pride and joy. I love sharing it with others. I use it for youth retreats, staff trainings, poker nights with friends, and wrote a book up here last year that is now published. It is a stress free vacation anytime I'm here.

Zoot Velasco purchased this cabin in 2012

Why Zoot Velasco chose Inland Empire

I wanted a place that was easy to get to, but felt isolated in the forest with great views of mountains and no people in sight. This is it! Event though we have neighbors around us, the back is miles of unspoiled forest and that is my muse.

What makes this cabin unique

Besides the view we are low on the snow line, so we don't get socked in, and we are near the high desert as well, so the terrain changes. We are 10 minutes from anything you could want in town or in nature.


based on 15 traveller reviews

On A Cliff Over National Forest Views
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 15 reviews

Beautiful View.. Amazing Stay...

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here for a weekend vacation and had a fantastic time. House was large with all the amenities. View and area were amazing.

Owner was available by text for any questions with tons of helpful information. Will definitely be staying here again and again.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Had a great birth day weekend at your cabin. I don't have many word to say that is great and owner is great person to work with it was a pleasure to stay at the deer lodge.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review! It was a pleasure to have you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very nice house with a great location surrounded by woods.

  • 4 of 5

I had a very nice weekend at the house and had good cell phone reception.definitely would recommend this house to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sherman Oaks, CA

A fantastic getaway for the price

  • 5 of 5

The best thing about this rental home was the owner. Zoot was willing to communicate via text, which was incredible. He was EXTREMELY responsive. Didn’t let a single question slip through the cracks, which goes a long way (especially after we had a pretty bad experience with our last rental in Indio).

We stayed in this house over Thanksgiving weekend and managed to cook an entire dinner without complication. There is a smoker on the premises which made for a very tasty turkey—it looked like a professional food stylist made it for a cooking show. Some of the drawers were a little disorganized, but the kitchen had pretty much everything we needed.

As another reviewer pointed out, the pictures of this cabin don’t do it justice. The house was extremely clean upon arrival and the welcome email that we received covered everything. One of the best parts of the stay was having plenty of extra supplies in the house—paper towels, trash bags, shampoo, toilet paper, etc. This is a frequently overlooked element to many rental homes. There is no WiFi, which could be viewed as a negative to some... but it was a benefit for us. Everyone had cell reception in the house.

The house also features a game room downstairs and a screening room upstairs. Both are really fun additions that make the stay varied and fun. It would have been nice to have the fireplace in the living room since that’s where we spent the majority of our time. Perhaps the game room (which has the fireplace) could be better arranged to accommodate a second dining room table. There was also a great gaming/poker table upstairs in the screening room which feels like it would have been better utilized in the game room.

There were two things that we were disappointed in, however. The lighting throughout the house wasn’t great. Lamps were sparse, and what was there was harsh, not illuminating the room in an attractive way. The other disappointment was the screening room. The projector was incredible, but the sound system left much to be desired (note—Zoot has since informed me that he’s gotten a new sound system, which would be awesome).

We’ve rented a lot of homes over the past few years, but it’s rare to receive the personal touch that Zoot was able to provide. We highly recommend this rental as a place to spend a secluded and relaxing weekend away.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 10, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review! Yes we are working on how to best light the cabin at night, and we did replace the surround sound with a new 300W sound bar. Glad you had a great time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Burbank, California

Exactly what we needed and more!

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing place! The view was spectacular and we spent all weekend watching the colours change across the mountains. We were in much need of a relaxing weekend and this place was just perfect!

The hot tub under the stars, the calm and quiet surroundings, the breathtaking sunsets and everything you could possibly need in the house.

We didn't want to leave!

Might have to come back in the future when we need a break from LA.

Thank you, Zoot!

/Lotta and David

  • Review Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review! Glad you had a great weekend!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing, pictures do not do it justice!

  • 5 of 5

Where to begin? I like detailed reviews so here we go....

The place is absolutely beautiful, trees, birds, amazing sunsets and no bugs (seriously no bugs).

The house is very big and yet cozy, plenty of rooms and additional futons. The game room is great, it has a foosball table, dart board and a really nice pool table a large full bathroom and a small bar with a fridge to keep your drinks which is great because the lower deck is right outside the sliding glass door AND so is the hot tub (for 5 of us with room to spare)!

The main level has the kitchen which has everything you could possibly need, a big living and dining room where we played a few of many many board games available (even Ticket to Ride), a large bathroom, a master bedroom and a room with a full bed and big bunk beds, oh and a deck/balcony with amazing views.

Third level has a home cinema with a projector, good sound and more movies than you could think of and the most comfortable couch ever! Also a couple of extra bed like places to sleep on oh and a poker/ bumper table.

We made use of all the amenities and it made for such a great middle of the year-lets get out of town weekend. We will definitely be coming back in a few months to try out the snow. Can't wait!

Thank you for having us.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the nice review! I'm so happy you enjoyed our cabin!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday cabin in Lake Arrowhead, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
WInter Holiday
17 Nov 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
Ski Season
5 Jan 2017 - 6 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection A$133
Tax Rate 7.0%

BYO cell phones, wifi, gaming consoles, sleeping bags if over 6 people (couches and futons don't have linens), food, beverages.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin rental in Lake Arrowhead, California

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , bath with shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 large double bed
    Bedroom 2 - 3 single bed , Bunk Beds
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sofa bed/futon , Glasssed in porch can be a bedroom with sleeper in ottoman
    Bedroom 3 - 1 single bed , Plus 2 reclining sofas & chase lounge- room plus loft
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sofa bed/futon , Game room- can be a bedroom- Futon.
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • ski
  • swimming
  • water skiing