check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Bookabach

Member since: 2014
Speaks english

Tarawera Home Retreat. Wonderful place to unwind!

8 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this Lake Tarawera holiday house

Bach or holiday home, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, (Sleeps 8)

This is our family's holiday home which we have owned for 25 years, and kept up to an immaculate standard.

There is a cosy lounge with open fire and a bookcase full of interesting books, games and toys for the younger set. The spacious kitchen is set up for catering and entertaining for large groups and we often cater for 20 or more guests. The stove top is gas with a new dual electric oven. (We replaced this in October 2015).

The master bedroom looks out over the lake and has an ensuite bathroom attached. The second bedroom has a sleeping loft and 2 single beds above, which makes it for a family of 4 to share. Just nearby there is a bathroom with bath and a large separate shower, as well as a separate toilet. The third bedroom has a pair of single beds. There is further sleeping accommodation in the garage rumpus room with a bunk set- ideal for teenagers. However please note this area does not have natural light. In this area there is the laundry / bathroom with a toilet and shower.

We have a sky dish Freeview and a flat screen TV. You can also bring your sky decoder if you want extra channels above what Freeview offers. There is also as DVD player and stereo in the house. In addition there is wifi for our guests to use.

Special conditions:

Families Preferred.

Smoking outside only.

Deck can be closed off so small children are safe.

Extras: Cleaning (Optional, NZ$65.00 per stay); NOTE: Under Kiwi bach tradition you are expected to: Bring your own linen (towels/sheets/tea towels);

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Bookabach (Property Manager)
-
Member since: 2014
Speaks english

What makes this house unique

Peaceful and quiet with local bird-life sharing the property with you

Reviews

4.3
based on 8 traveller reviews

Tarawera Home Retreat. Wonderful place to unwind!
average rating of 4.25 based on 8 reviews
4

Lovely house.

  • 4 of 5

Lovely house. It was very comfortable and heaters were supplied for when it got cold at night!

  • Review Submitted: May 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: Bookabach
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic location for family getaway - lovely views of the lake, swimming beach just across the roa

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic location for family getaway - lovely views of the lake, swimming beach just across the road, Rotorua only 15 minutes away. Spacious and comfy. Well-fitted kitchen. Plenty of room for our group of 2 adults and 4 teens.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Bookabach
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Big, old comfortable bach.

  • 4 of 5

Big, old comfortable bach. Great location and fantastic view. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: Bookabach
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing views and great location directly across from the main road down to the beach.

  • 5 of 5

Amazing views and great location directly across from the main road down to the beach. House roomy and comfortable. Our only complaint was the wall oven is old and was not that easy to turn on. The switch needed quite a bit of fiddling/turning and took ages at times to get it going! Also ran out of gas for the barbarque after a couple of use.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2012
  • Source: Bookabach
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback regarding the stove. When we were there just prior to Christmas all was fine. At some time when we had Bookabach guests over Christmas, the switch between Bake and Grill on the oven failed. This has now been repaired and is as good as new. Despite its age it is actually a fantastic stove and bakes really great roasts! Glad you enjoyed the stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The views from upstairs bedroom was absolutely super.

  • 5 of 5

The views from upstairs bedroom was absolutely super. The house is really comfortable and had everything you need for a weekend away. It was a great location. The lake and surrounding bushland is gorgeous. A superb getaway spot.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 4, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2012
  • Source: Bookabach
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice house and lovely area.

  • 5 of 5

Nice house and lovely area. Does not appear to be insulated though so pretty cold in winter. Well set up for larger families.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
  • Source: Bookabach
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this holiday house in Lake Tarawera, New Zealand

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
New Zealand Dollar
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak
16 Dec 2016 - 6 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$281
From
A$281
 
Notes: Rate applies for up to 6 people. NZ$20.00/adult and NZ$10.00/child for extra occupants.   
 
Shoulder
7 Feb 2017 - 9 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
A$215
From
A$234
 
Notes: Rate applies for up to 6 people. NZ$20.00/adult and NZ$10.00/child for extra occupants.   
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house rental in Lake Tarawera, New Zealand

Property Type:
  • house
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • A Master with Ensuite - 1 large double bed
    Family Double with loft - 1 large double bed
    Twin bedroom - 1 child bed , 1 child bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • swimming